reuben82

Our Dream House @ Jurong West

BTW, this few days I'm quite free. Anyone got recommendation for me to go see see look look? Plan to visit some furniture mall to do some window shopping...especially on the Sofa, dining table and bedframe. Any good places?

One more thing, for the cinema sound system thing, where should I go again ak? Got address or any sales person to recommend (I think wcseow can answer me this...hehehehe).

lol...furniture window shop.....pls remember, do not bow down to pressure. Many furniture shops apply "Last day sale price", "Order first lah, later can change", "Today price only hor"...........

alamak...I just went down today to place the order....or else can invite u to go audition too.....

like what joseeng mention, KEC is one. Just tell them ur budget and they will work something out........

alternatively while u are at Adelphi....try the following

KEC KHT3005SE : Showroom on 1st Floor (u would not miss it)

Anthony Gallo : Artcoustics also on 1st floor (this one u may miss it if u drive, just watch out for the alley in the middle)

There is another shop AV1 (which I used the last time round) but I always prefer to go to the Kaki Bukit HQ rather than the shop in Adelphi. Personally I find the sales person is there is friendlier and not pushy.

Wish u luck...:)

you can try KEC at adelphi, if you like to tok to boss level, look for clarence...haha, otherwise can look for alan or dennis...fyi, they just open a new showroom at level 4, go listen and your budget may change after tat.... :D

OK. Going there this Sunday.

I've met up with Plush Living Darren, got the quote from him and he even provided me the 2D dwgs.. Was impress by his expertise. I wanted to appt him as my ID but I've after reading the contract terms, i dun like it.... So now having a big headache if i still want to sign up with him now. I've gaven some comments back to him regarding the unfriendly contract but he had yet get back to me... sure see how it goes...

I would like to seek advice from people who had their house done up by Plush Living. All comments and advice are welcome..

Had reply you my opinion in HongWen thread...hehehehe...

lol...furniture window shop.....pls remember, do not bow down to pressure. Many furniture shops apply "Last day sale price", "Order first lah, later can change", "Today price only hor"...........

alamak...I just went down today to place the order....or else can invite u to go audition too.....

like what joseeng mention, KEC is one. Just tell them ur budget and they will work something out........

alternatively while u are at Adelphi....try the following

KEC KHT3005SE : Showroom on 1st Floor (u would not miss it)

Anthony Gallo : Artcoustics also on 1st floor (this one u may miss it if u drive, just watch out for the alley in the middle)

There is another shop AV1 (which I used the last time round) but I always prefer to go to the Kaki Bukit HQ rather than the shop in Adelphi. Personally I find the sales person is there is friendlier and not pushy.

Wish u luck...:)

So, where you placed your order? KEC? Will be going Adelphi this Sunday noon. My wife drop my budget to SGD2000 or lower. sigh...Will see how the things go...lol...As Joseng mentioned, after audit too much, your budget will changed as well right? Going to grab my wife there as well! hahahaha....

OK. I went to Adelphi last Sunday. So many shops are closed!! Sigh....Should go there during Saturday. Anyway, shortlisted my choices.

1) Morel MT-0.5 5.1 Speakers with Yamaha 565 AV Amplifier (SGD 2699) Inclusive of cable, mounting everything. From AV1

Pro: Speaker very very nice design. Round and small. Looks good.

Cons: Not sure if the AV Amplifier is a good one. lol. Any recommendation?

2) Acoustic Energy AegoT 5.1 Speakers with Denon AVR1910 AV Amplifier (SGD2350) Inclusive of cable, mounting everything.

Pro: Cheap. Good AV Amplifier I guess since I saw this model being mentioned inside wcseow threads. lol...

Cons: Old fashion design. Squarish but compact.

3) KEF KHT3005SE speakers (SGD2500) Inclusive of cable & mounting BUT EXCLUDE AV AMPLIFIER.

Pro: Best speaker design among all the 3 choices.

Cons: Expensive. Moreover haven't include the AV Amplifier! lol....

Please leave your comments/recommendation if you find those speakers/AV got problem!!! I'm a noob in these things!!! lol...

Now come to conclusion. Anyone got any recommendation for me to grab a good AV Ampliefier? The denon 1910 they quoted me is around SGD630. Expensive or cheap? Or I can get better model with this price? hehehe...thankz thankz!

OK. I went to Adelphi last Sunday. So many shops are closed!! Sigh....Should go there during Saturday. Anyway, shortlisted my choices.

1) Morel MT-0.5 5.1 Speakers with Yamaha 565 AV Amplifier (SGD 2699) Inclusive of cable, mounting everything. From AV1

Pro: Speaker very very nice design. Round and small. Looks good.

Cons: Not sure if the AV Amplifier is a good one. lol. Any recommendation?

2) Acoustic Energy AegoT 5.1 Speakers with Denon AVR1910 AV Amplifier (SGD2350) Inclusive of cable, mounting everything.

Pro: Cheap. Good AV Amplifier I guess since I saw this model being mentioned inside wcseow threads. lol...

Cons: Old fashion design. Squarish but compact.

3) KEF KHT3005SE speakers (SGD2500) Inclusive of cable & mounting BUT EXCLUDE AV AMPLIFIER.

Pro: Best speaker design among all the 3 choices.

Cons: Expensive. Moreover haven't include the AV Amplifier! lol....

Please leave your comments/recommendation if you find those speakers/AV got problem!!! I'm a noob in these things!!! lol...

Now come to conclusion. Anyone got any recommendation for me to grab a good AV Ampliefier? The denon 1910 they quoted me is around SGD630. Expensive or cheap? Or I can get better model with this price? hehehe...thankz thankz!

lol....ur budget went up liao....:).....see what I mean......

The most important thing is ur ears....that is ur best judge......:)

1. Morel MT 0.5----lol....maybe I am mountain tortoise, cause only know MT 1 and MT 2. Never realized there is a MT 0.5. Is this the Nova MKII?

2. Spend some time on a non-Sun and listen to Anthony Gallo Micro (for ur budget) and see whether u like what u hear.

3. Amongst the 3 mention, IMHO an my ears, KEF KHT3005SE is the best value for money.

lol....ur budget went up liao....:).....see what I mean......

The most important thing is ur ears....that is ur best judge......:)

1. Morel MT 0.5----lol....maybe I am mountain tortoise, cause only know MT 1 and MT 2. Never realized there is a MT 0.5. Is this the Nova MKII?

2. Spend some time on a non-Sun and listen to Anthony Gallo Micro (for ur budget) and see whether u like what u hear.

3. Amongst the 3 mention, IMHO an my ears, KEF KHT3005SE is the best value for money.

How about AV Amplifier? Which one I should grab? Or you got better and yet cheap to intro? hehehe...

oops...I just realized u posted that u are going down on Sunday, should have let u know some shops there do not open on Sunday.

Anyway, a bit belated,but I bought my speakers at Artcoustics. (if u read my PM, the directions are there...:)..)

For home theatre, Denon, Yamaha and Onkyo are popular. IMHO, the Denon 1910 is a good start. Pricing is all around there. But pls remember, if u buy these AV receivers, make sure ur TV console design cater for the additional depth and height...:).

Its good u decide on the speakers first. If u can audition the speakers with the AV receiver, that will be good also at least u got to hear what it is like. E.g. if u want to buy Morel and u like what u hear from the morel/yamaha combination, then u can go for it. Alternatively, if the sales is nice, u can request him to connect to a Denon and then u hear again.........:)

OK. Thank you for your advice. I will go for Denon 1910 and KEF sound system. Make it easy. hahahaha....

Next, I want to shop for fridge, air-cond and washing machine. Firstly, where should I go to get a lot of variety to choose? Any recommendation? Then after lock down my target, where should I go to purchase all these stuff? Any idea? hehehe..

Thank you in advance!

OK. Thank you for your advice. I will go for Denon 1910 and KEF sound system. Make it easy. hahahaha....

Next, I want to shop for fridge, air-cond and washing machine. Firstly, where should I go to get a lot of variety to choose? Any recommendation? Then after lock down my target, where should I go to purchase all these stuff? Any idea? hehehe..

Thank you in advance!

Actually try not to buy any electrical stuff till you start doing your reno or when you get your keys. The price of appliances drops when new model comes in. When it is almost time for you to get them, the price may have drop pretty significantly. Also some shops may not want to hold on to your good for too long.

You can try mega discounts at kallang leisure park. Remember you can still haggle the price down from what is quoted (more u get from them the more u can haggle for further discounts).

Actually try not to buy any electrical stuff till you start doing your reno or when you get your keys. The price of appliances drops when new model comes in. When it is almost time for you to get them, the price may have drop pretty significantly. Also some shops may not want to hold on to your good for too long.

You can try mega discounts at kallang leisure park. Remember you can still haggle the price down from what is quoted (more u get from them the more u can haggle for further discounts).

OK. Thank you for the recommendation and advice!

BTW, any other places to recommend? I need to go those places that has a lot of variety to look at in order to lock my target! hahaha....Especially on the fridge, washing machine & air-cond!

OK. Thank you for the recommendation and advice!

BTW, any other places to recommend? I need to go those places that has a lot of variety to look at in order to lock my target! hahaha....Especially on the fridge, washing machine & air-cond!

I think many pple bought their aircon from gain city. Basically the usual recommended electrical applicance shops are Mega discount Store, Everjoint and gain city.

If you wan variety and ask alot of questions, be very thick skin and just go any best denki, courts, harvey norman store etc to ask for recommendations till you found the things u :wub:. Take down the brands and model number and price and go to mega discount, everjoint and gain city to check out if they have those items in stock and price.. :notti:

My hubby is ultimate lazy. He googles the brands he likes, goes to model for the size and color, makes a call to hong liang (rumor said that this shop owner is father of mega discount owner) and just haggle the items. He pays them on delivery via cheque. Yeah, he got his parent's home fridge/washing machine and our current home fridge this way. :bangwall:

I think many pple bought their aircon from gain city. Basically the usual recommended electrical applicance shops are Mega discount Store, Everjoint and gain city.

If you wan variety and ask alot of questions, be very thick skin and just go any best denki, courts, harvey norman store etc to ask for recommendations till you found the things u :wub:. Take down the brands and model number and price and go to mega discount, everjoint and gain city to check out if they have those items in stock and price.. :notti:

My hubby is ultimate lazy. He googles the brands he likes, goes to model for the size and color, makes a call to hong liang (rumor said that this shop owner is father of mega discount owner) and just haggle the items. He pays them on delivery via cheque. Yeah, he got his parent's home fridge/washing machine and our current home fridge this way. :bangwall:

Hahahaha..i love your hubby style!!! If I got the money...i will do exactly like him! lol......

Yesterday meetup with CLC. Leslie showed me some very impressive and special design on my kitchen and living hall! Like it so much! So currently, both my wife and myself is having an open debate on who we should go for......Either Plush Living or CLC! hahahaha.....Lets make a summary on the first round debate:

1) Plush Living

Pro: Friendly & Experienced boss. Fast & furious style.

Cons: Super busy. Reno concept quite common

2) CLC

Pro: Showed us the passion to work with us as he come out 2 special designs for kitchen and living. Handsketch. This is showing us he did some homework!

Cons: Price on the high side.

Going to ask Angteko more about CLC. hahaha...but he seems like very busy!

But the role of the "real ID" is to be able to provide 3D rendering, sketching etc Before computer designing became so popular ... being able to do up a sketches is a necessary skill of a "real ID" person ... now it is easier with computers.

There is always much confusion of whom IDs are .... Most of the IDs consumers meet are actually general contractors but have a retail shopfront. The bigger ones employ sales people (or called "Design Consultants") who also do the co-ordination work and have an internal interior designer team. For the designs, some use "recycled" designs or have a small team of overworked interior designers to churn out designs or outsource it to freelance interior designers ... So your co-coordinator or sales person will act as the middle person to the company's team of interior designers. If the client is not really bothered with 3D work, designs ... the sales person is even happier ! At the end of the day, the sales person has to meet his sales quota.

2D layout is easy to come up and you can always plan it yourself with freely available software around. 3D rendering is even easier to come up with too (like Intericad software which comes complete with lighting, ceiling designs) and you dont need to learn how to use complicated software

A real ID is someone who has a training in that area and necessary experience. They have a passion for coming up with designs adapted to the client's likes and not some "recycled" designs. They help to do space planning (inclusive of dimensions of your individual spaces in your cabinet and what you can put there), lighting plans (they calculate whether there is sufficient lighting for that area and not just a rough estimation that you need these X number of lights there), colour and material selection etc

I wish companies would stop using the term "interior design" when in fact they dont even employ people with the necessary training and background ...

if u noticed,those ID who can come out with 3d sketches and pictures,price are ALWAYS at the high side,cos in other words,

u are paying for their designs ma.

But the role of the "real ID" is to be able to provide 3D rendering, sketching etc Before computer designing became so popular ... being able to do up a sketches is a necessary skill of a "real ID" person ... now it is easier with computers.

There is always much confusion of whom IDs are .... Most of the IDs consumers meet are actually general contractors but have a retail shopfront. The bigger ones employ sales people (or called "Design Consultants") who also do the co-ordination work and have an internal interior designer team. For the designs, some use "recycled" designs or have a small team of overworked interior designers to churn out designs or outsource it to freelance interior designers ... So your co-coordinator or sales person will act as the middle person to the company's team of interior designers. If the client is not really bothered with 3D work, designs ... the sales person is even happier ! At the end of the day, the sales person has to meet his sales quota.

2D layout is easy to come up and you can always plan it yourself with freely available software around. 3D rendering is even easier to come up with too (like Intericad software which comes complete with lighting, ceiling designs) and you dont need to learn how to use complicated software

A real ID is someone who has a training in that area and necessary experience. They have a passion for coming up with designs adapted to the client's likes and not some "recycled" designs. They help to do space planning (inclusive of dimensions of your individual spaces in your cabinet and what you can put there), lighting plans (they calculate whether there is sufficient lighting for that area and not just a rough estimation that you need these X number of lights there), colour and material selection etc

I wish companies would stop using the term "interior design" when in fact they dont even employ people with the necessary training and background ...

Very good piece of advice. To me, ID or whatever being called, is just a coordinator. We pay him/her to help us coordinate things. Of course, they doing (or copying) design job as well in order to sell.

Anyway, coming to this stage, I just hope that I got the luck to get the right person to help me to do reno. All I want is fuss-free as I'm not perfectionist. I mean yes, there are problems arise through out the progress but as long as you handle it and solve it, it's all good to me.

There is a plus point for CLC as he did a hand-sketched perspective drawing for my kitchen and living room. Well, I don't know if the idea is from somewhere or from himself, anyway, both my wife and myself found out that design is really something special and uncommon.....hehehehe....Well, we're going to have 2nd round debate tonight...hahahaha....need some comments from those who deal with plush living and clc before.

Very good piece of advice. To me, ID or whatever being called, is just a coordinator. We pay him/her to help us coordinate things. Of course, they doing (or copying) design job as well in order to sell.

Anyway, coming to this stage, I just hope that I got the luck to get the right person to help me to do reno. All I want is fuss-free as I'm not perfectionist. I mean yes, there are problems arise through out the progress but as long as you handle it and solve it, it's all good to me.

There is a plus point for CLC as he did a hand-sketched perspective drawing for my kitchen and living room. Well, I don't know if the idea is from somewhere or from himself, anyway, both my wife and myself found out that design is really something special and uncommon.....hehehehe....Well, we're going to have 2nd round debate tonight...hahahaha....need some comments from those who deal with plush living and clc before.

Why not get CLC work within ur budget to propose things that you will need and incorporate the previous ideas u like. No need to fan so much now. Make the ID work for your money. :P

Reuben,

Like to share with us what is the design for the kitchen? :)