reuben82

Our Dream House @ Jurong West

Tomorrow onwards will be super busy for me....

Tomorrow meeting with Ciseern, Wednesday with Defong, Thursday with Plush Living, Friday with CLC. OMG...so packed! hahahaha....

Hopefully I can settle with the ID by end of May. Want to end this nightmare ASAP!!!!

With the rate you're going, i guess you have no problem to settle before end of May... good luck~ :D

ya lah, mai gan chiong. must enjoy the reno process. when the flat is finally completed, u c the end results swee swee, u will feel that the effort put into getting it into that stage is worth it! :yamseng:

Hi Reuben82,

My house was renovated by Jeremy and William of Defong. For laminates they are using Formica laminates (Formica is just a brand name, just like ladies go for Prada or Gucci). I have no complaints for their carpentry workmanship. Price wise I do agree that initially I also have reservations on how come the price are that cheap after comparing with the other IDs. The diff can be as huge as $6-7k! Due to my tight budget and still wanting to have every items I wanted for my first home. I decided to risk my money... I even went to one of their showflats in Sengkang and was actually quite pleased with their works.

No regrets I would say and so far I have already recommended to few of my friends as well as reno forumers. The IDs are very nice and responsible people. Now we already become very good friends through this renovation period. My house even becomes one of their show rooms for couples to view. Their carpenters are also one bunch of friendly and **** experienced carpenters. Workmanship is cool. After work services are also important as they had already came to rectify very minor defects for me (one of which is the false ceiling which Jeremy think is not smooth enough which I did not even notice it).

Toking about the price is too cheap to be true. They did mentioned to me before that they were afraid such cases will occur whereby customers will think their stuff are sub-standard thus cheap. But again when it comes to such matters, it really depends on individuals, you never try u never know. It really brings down to the same concept of why people would want to buy Levis jeans compare to Hangten jeans. It is just a matter of personal feel. Till now i have never regretted getting a hangten jeans for myself.

But again, eventually the house is urs, the money is urs, just go by your own comfort zone. Maybe go for a few more quotations with the same items which you want and also like what the others were saying, for electrical points etc, get a pricelist from them and compare the price yourself. I would say compare as a overall amount, there will be cases where ID A have some items cheaper than B and vice versa. So it really depends on the final quotations.

Sorry for being so "lo so". :) all the best for your reno.

No no lo so! thank you for informing about this ID. Appreciate alot. Meeting Jeremy tomorrow night. And again, I found out there are quite alot of Jeremy in ID field. Sigh....hehehehe...

Eh...becoz I requested for it mah. hahaa

U got 3 bedsheet already wor, u still asking for more?? keke

I'm getting their movers to help me move my bedding, coz I scare other movers dont know how to squeeze the king size bed into the lift and spoilt my bed.

Reason y I bought the so call "exp" bed, is becoz I think it is a good investment to get a good bed. It probably can last for 10-20 yrs with no sleeping issue?

And a good sleep always give u a good new day! :D

WAh..u already treating it as nightmare? When u reno start then more nightmare. hahah

I hate to see pricing...that's why i said is nightmare. Once done with ID, I think shouldn't be much left. Afterall, I paid the ID to help me worry things right? lol....

Thank you!!!! I wish to! Need to settle by end May as I am going to change my job on Jun. So, might had less time to study on reno stuff as need to pickup in the new company....

ya lah, mai gan chiong. must enjoy the reno process. when the flat is finally completed, u c the end results swee swee, u will feel that the effort put into getting it into that stage is worth it! :yamseng:

TBH, I will look into end result....progression is not important! hahahaha....Everytime I read a novel, after first few chapters, I will flip over to the last few chapters to read first....same goes to watching drama...first few episodes, then straight away to last episode...then got an idea how it is...lol....

I hate to see pricing...that's why i said is nightmare. Once done with ID, I think shouldn't be much left. Afterall, I paid the ID to help me worry things right? lol....

Thank you!!!! I wish to! Need to settle by end May as I am going to change my job on Jun. So, might had less time to study on reno stuff as need to pickup in the new company....

Reuben, you're getting keys in June iirc, rite? mine should be in June too :) wah if you're changing job then you'll be super busy...

Same here! At least after confirming ID, can zoom into proper planning and not wasting any more time on comparing quotes LOL~

Haha i think i'm equally gancheong... guess we're just excited to be new home owners and wanna settle things chop chop :P

Reuben, you're getting keys in June iirc, rite? mine should be in June too :) wah if you're changing job then you'll be super busy...

Same here! At least after confirming ID, can zoom into proper planning and not wasting any more time on comparing quotes LOL~

eh...first appointment in June....Getting keys....i guess will be July...hehehe

Wah, so fast got headhunted ah?? Change from what industry to what industry?? What co?? Got lobang for me? keke

after you see the result swee swee, must still work hard to maintain it swee!!! that's what i am finding out now.... :bangwall:

haha....

Wah, so fast got headhunted ah?? Change from what industry to what industry?? What co?? Got lobang for me? keke

i got!! i have lobang for you! want to babysit my Goro for a week?? :notti:

im thinking of taking a break in Australia after the World Cup...and maybe hunt for a pedigree cat there as companion for him...IF my wife agrees to it lor...:unsure:

haha..i'm not a animal person, dont know how to take care of one, only know how to torture. wahaha

Wah..u want do import again huh?? Its going to be exp and troublesome to import one in isnt it??

Which part of Aust u going??

From marine industry to aerospace....hahahaha....I'm engineering field lar...super sian jobscope....see no future....lol...

Talking bout torturing the animals.....this is reminding my childhood time.......lol......want me to help you take "care" of him? :P

OK. I got question to ask.

Regarding to Plumbing Stainless Steel Pipe and Copper Pipe.

According to one of the ID, firstly, Copper pipe is more expensive than stainless steel pipe.

Stainless Steel Pipe

Pro: No corrosion.

Cons: Can't properly join together 2 pipes.When the water pressure is high, the stainless steel pipe will be burst. According to the ID, SS Pipe is very hard to do the threading. Even with threading, you can't lock it properly as it won't be fully tight.

Copper Pipe

Pro: Can properly join. Will sustain high water pressure.

Cons: Corrosion will happened after ~10 years.

Anyone can enlighten me on this?

According to one of the ID, firstly, Copper pipe is more expensive than stainless steel pipe.

Stainless Steel Pipe

Cons: Can't properly join together 2 pipes.When the water pressure is high, the stainless steel pipe will be burst. According to the ID, SS Pipe is very hard to do the threading. Even with threading, you can't lock it properly as it won't be fully tight.

Copper Pipe

one of the ID which I saw also say similar thing. but some say stainless steel is more ex, so this part i cannot tell :unsure:

yes, stainless steel needs to be joined together with a joint threading and if the plumber is not skillful, the problem will be leakage. bursting of pipes is very very rare lah. but hor if the plumber is skillful then u wun nd to worry so much. my mum in law lay stainless steel pipes and her's is already 10 yrs and still ok ah (*touch wood*)

Stainless Steel Pipe

Copper Pipe

i also heard something similar from the contractors i met. but the difference is that all of them told me copper is cheaper!

Reason being: SS pipe-to-pipe joints are done by a fitting and its threading is weaker than copper, so its easier to have water leakage. As such, for SS pipe, contractor will need to run a leakage test to ensure the installation is done properly, and this test incurs extra cost. Some contractors are willing to do it for free though.

Some ID told me SS is only for aesthetic so if you wanna paint over the pipe, just use copper one and save $.

however, for us in engineering field, SS is always good for water application due to corrosion resistance... so imho, i'll go for SS over copper~ :P my suspect is that these common home use SS doesn't have threading as properly done as those industrial grade one, hence the leakage problem. What i heard is that if initial installation is done properly, leakage problem should be minimal.

So far my home SS piping has been used for 13 yrs and totally problem-free :)

IMHO..........just go for Copper pipes.U are re-doing ur whole piping I assume, so it will be become brand new. The key thing is to get a good contractor. And if u are not concealing it, repairing it is easy.

So far, I have not heard of copper pipes leaking due to wear and tear........

Edited by wcseow