jeffcraze

Our Love Nest In Simei

went up juz now to check on the progress of the renovation. Common toilet tiling seems to be completed (Jaskel, correct me if i am wrong). MBR tiling still ongoing, wall tiles 3/4 way up le, flooring not done yet. Actually, we had not even seen carefully enough, until the pics tat jaskel posted shows that the tiles run nicely in a straight line, unlike some homes with tiles not in line.. :bangwall:

Jaskel, got a qn to ask.. Wat are the small tag like pieces of papers in between the wall tiles for? :dunno:

they are spacers for the grouting :)

relax bro, i'm just a consultant, not a labourer :D

the materials etc i trust my foreman to handle it. my concern is safety and long-lasting. like you, i don't believe in cutting corners for short term gains :)

in fact, because my aim is not to gain from the business, that's why i can do that :D

if there are 2 methods to do it and one is better but materials cost more, of course i'll choose the better one (they don't really cost that much more anyway). :D

interesting...will we all also get the privilege of following your "live updates" with your clients too? :)

if you want "live updates", i can't maintain my rates liao. i will have to charge jaskel's price :D

i have one client at the moment, just hacked finish.

i wonder if anybody knows who my client is yet? :D

*scratch head* :unsure: Erhm, wat's spacers? super blur lehz.. :P

mm so as to create the space between individual tiles for you to put grouting. actually the function is to allow the tile adhesive to dry. dry = strong. then after dry, you put grout to cover the gaps :) grout = fine powder, usually similar colour to the tile

Edited by ossify

if you want "live updates", i can't maintain my rates liao. i will have to charge jaskel's price :D

i wonder if anybody knows who my client is yet? biggrin.gif

Oh..I wasn't aware jaskel's charges are premium coz of his daily photo uploads, I assumed it was part of his value add to his customer, but it would be definitely be nice to see your customer's t-blog as well :D

no, i never said jaskel's charges are premium. what i mean is that my charges are too minimal :P

if you scan through all the blogs here, you'll see it :P

aiyoh! don't need to be paiseh, be steady & proud of your work! hehe its ok i won't press further :P

Edited by titanax

juz to clarify, jaskel's charges did not include the photography.. he juz did it of his own accord in an effort to update us on the progress.. :D

-> ossify: who's yr customer? muz go scan thru all the blogs le.. ;)

relax bro, i'm just a consultant, not a labourer :D

the materials etc i trust my foreman to handle it. my concern is safety and long-lasting. like you, i don't believe in cutting corners for short term gains :)

in fact, because my aim is not to gain from the business, that's why i can do that :D

if there are 2 methods to do it and one is better but materials cost more, of course i'll choose the better one (they don't really cost that much more anyway). :D

Wow....a consultant, that's mean u r more knowledgeable than a main contractor, more design scent than a designer, know more about pros and cons on material.

Like to ask, for doing tiling works, what is the percentage of normal cement + water + bonding agent(W1) + tile adhesive cement do they mix with? My contractor told me that some tiles need to soak with water some don't need...so what are the tiles need to soak with water and how we owners know the tiles need to soak or not? TIA. :D

I thought BCA's standard is that tiles need to be soaked with water so that they are well hydrated and will not draw more moisture from the cement ?

Sounds like a cooking recipe for tiling ;)

But the contractors will always say that there is always more than one way of cooking or roasting something rite ?

Yesterday very tired so rest very early after posted the pics. Just drop by to see so many posts will update tonight as still busy on another site. ;)

i wonder if anybody knows who my client is yet? :D

mm so as to create the space between individual tiles for you to put grouting. actually the function is to allow the tile adhesive to dry. dry = strong. then after dry, you put grout to cover the gaps :) grout = fine powder, usually similar colour to the tile

Your client now is someone from JW a resale unit...hacking completed not long rite, 1st project u done is in clementi? By the way I don't charge for "lives updates" cos I'm not professional in taking photos. :)

woww ... didnt know jaskel and ossify are contractor. Now I wish my ID can do the same for me ... taking photo on my behalf :)

Also gather a lot of info from here. like water proofing for a start. Is it standard to do 3 layer or I have to insist ?

woww ... didnt know jaskel and ossify are contractor. Now I wish my ID can do the same for me ... taking photo on my behalf :)

Also gather a lot of info from here. like water proofing for a start. Is it standard to do 3 layer or I have to insist ?

ossify was a consultant not contractor. Will ans your qn when I'm back from meeting the owner or maybe ossify can ans this for me?

Edited by jaskel

ossify was a consultant not contractor. Will ans your qn when I'm back from meeting the owner or maybe ossify can ans this for me?

A consultant for house reno...hmm, is something new to me, there is designer, contractor, project coordinator,

and now consultant. Boy, what is your charges for a 4 room HDB flat can you advise?