jeffcraze 0 Report post Posted April 24, 2010 Our comments on the IDs/contractors that we have met up are: 1) Sam - Classic 3D: We received a flyer and went to look for this company. Sam was quite nice and frenly and gave us advices on some of the things tat we initially wanted but was not feasible. Quote came back in less than a week. Was one of the most expensive ($40k), perhaps because he put in a lot of things juz to let us know his pricing and included plumbing and electrical works also. We are still thinking of shortlisting him or not. 2) Andrew - Inspiration Living: 2nd person to meet up, till now, almost 3 months from meet up, no quotations and no follow-up calls from him. **** disappointed and angry! What kind of service is this?! Oh, actually, my husband did call him and made an appointment to view our flat one day @ 7pm. But guess wat? He called my hubby at 6.30pm to inform him that he wun be able to meet on that day! Definitely OUT for us! 3) Louis - *****: He did up one of my hubby's colleague's house and his workers' workmenship is quite good. Quotation came back within a week. But we wun be shortlisting him as his quote was way above our budget. 4) Alexane - -: Hubby and me went to the exhibition held at Expo towards the end of March and walked in to talk to Alexane. He was helpful and discussed abt the ideas we had in mind but was unable to povide us with fresh ideas. He promised to get back to us within a couple of days but well, no news from him till now. 5) Henry - Homesuccess: Henry's the second and last person we talked to at the Expo exhibition. He gave us a lot of new ideas that we had not thought off (like doing store room in bedroom 2) and was frenly and helpful. We spent close to 2 hours to talk to him and he did up a rough quotation using the package price for us. He followed up with a quotation within the week. Quotation was a little higher than we budgeted and had not included the additional stuffs that we wanted, thus unlikely to select him. Henry recommended this thing called "Ace design hub", which supposedly, one juz has to pay a refundable deposit of $50 and they will get 3 ID companies (including Homesuccess) to contact us and come up with quotations for us to compare and will refund us the deposit shd we not decide to engage any of the 3 companies. Sad to say, to date, we have only heard from 2, including Homesuccess, the 3rd one had apparently became non-existent, so u all shd be able to know tat I'm sorely disappointed. 6) Iz: Was recommended by one of the forumers (stray801). He was slightly late, but informed us early. Think he's more of a contractot though he did give us some recommendations on the way we wanted to do the new store room. Though he was highly raved to be quite reasonable in his pricing, IMHO, I think he was a little expensive as his quotation was one of the more expensive ones amongst the ones we received. 7) Ben - Summit Design: Very popular in the forum. My hubby called him and told him he got his contact through the forum and will only meet him and not anyone else from his company (after I told him how some forummers were unable to get him and was recommended to other ppl in his company). He was punctual and he give recommendations on the type of doors we can use for the store room. His quotation came back rather fast and seemed to be within our budget but he missed out a couple of things that we wanted him to quote. 8) Freddy - Homesuccess: Same company as Henry but he is more of a contractor than ID. He was working on one of hubby's fren house. Quotation was reasonable, after deducting the lump sum discount that he said will give us. Hubby's fren had highly recommended him, but still not sure if we should shortlist him. 9) Jack - The Interior Place: Turns out he's my hubby's army mate when we reached our flat and saw him. Jack was quite pushy and recommended a lot of stuffs to us to do, which we didn't really wanna do. Quotation was a little on the high side, thus hubby doesn't wanna select him. On a side note, TIP is the second company we heard from the Ace design hub thing. 10) My sec sch fren: He was alerted to the news that I was looking for reno contractors and contacted me to meet up. He didn't give us much recommendations as he was juz a contactor, not ID, only recorded down wat we wanted. Was a little slow in giving us our initial quotation. But as his quotation was approx the amt we budgeted, we will be shortlisting him. 11) Jason: My hubby's buddy called him and got to know we were looking for reno, thus he recommended his buddy to come up and see our flat. He seems quite experienced and nice, thus was a bit surprised when he told us he has only been in this biz for a year or so. Wun comment much as we are shortlisting him for revised quotations. 12) Steven: My father's fren. Nice uncle who's a contractor. So far, his quotation is the lowest one and fits our buget the best, amongst all that we have received. He is definitly on our shortlisted list. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Lovely 0 Report post Posted April 27, 2010 Jason.....hope not the Jason Goh used to be from U & B... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jeffcraze 0 Report post Posted April 27, 2010 Jason.....hope not the Jason Goh used to be from U & B... Haha.. No lah.. Read enuff of his "famous" name in the forum le.. Will reveal this person's "real identity" soon.. Am on the verge of confirming him le.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jeffcraze 0 Report post Posted May 2, 2010 Some updates: Decided on using Jason and am now in the midst of finalising the quotation with Jason and hope to apply for the renovation loan by next week.. Had met up with Jason twice during the week, once late on Fri nite to show us his 2D floor plan and once on Saturday to come to our house to take some measurements and brought us to view tiles at Harfary and Soon Bee Huat.. Huge headache on the tiles to decide on.. Selected one from each place and Jason helped us to get the samples for us to see and decide. Will take pics and post soon for some opinions from all! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jeffcraze 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2010 It's been a week since my last update. Anyway, reno is starting on Mon le! So excited and apprehensive abt how everything will turn out.. Well, we have decided on using Jason (aka Jaskel) for our reno as we felt most comfortable talking to him. To date, he has been very accomodating with all our meet up timings to discuss the details. Which is a big plus point to us as we had heard of (and nearly wanted to engage) this particular contractor cum ID who made his customer waited for him for one plus hour past the meeting time! Went up to our house on Sat to do the "dong tu" rituals @ 1pm and was quite surprised that Jason was already there with his partner, Keith to do the floor protection and preliminaries. We had originally arranged to meet him at 1.30pm, after the rituals, thus was quite surprised. But luckily they were there before us, if not, my parents who reached the flat before us will be Been bz selecting tiles and finalising the layout with Jason. Now hoping that HDB will approve us to hack the storeroom walls. Below are the tiles we chosen from Harfary and Soon Bee Huat for our floor tiles and wall tiles Toilet floor tiles for both toilets MBR toilet wall tiles Kitchen floor tiles (hope this will turn up nice as hubby likes this colour a lot ) Didn't managed to take pics of the living room floor tiles and the common toilet wall tiles thou. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jeffcraze 0 Report post Posted May 10, 2010 Today is the first day of hacking.. Popped by after work to take a look at the progress.. Took some pics but can't upload coz didn't bring the camera wire back! The 2 toilets' floor and wall tiles have been totally hacked and also a small part of the kitchen floor.. The hackers managed to save the toilet bowls and basins! Good job! The good news is that HDB has approved the hacking of our store walls this morn! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted May 10, 2010 Today is the first day of hacking.. Popped by after work to take a look at the progress.. Took some pics but can't upload coz didn't bring the camera wire back! The 2 toilets' floor and wall tiles have been totally hacked and also a small part of the kitchen floor.. The hackers managed to save the toilet bowls and basins! Good job! The good news is that HDB has approved the hacking of our store walls this morn! So u must remember to take them back. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted May 11, 2010 it's interesting to see both owner and contractor toking in the forum...hope it will be a smooth reno for both sides... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jeffcraze 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 it's interesting to see both owner and contractor toking in the forum...hope it will be a smooth reno for both sides... Haha.. Yup.. Think it'll be interesting too.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 Didn't knew she is one of the forumer till she confirmed with me. Its just a small world as my partner was recommend by her hubby's friend. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jeffcraze 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 3rd day since reno started. Hacking has almost been fully completed. 1st day, both MBR and common toilets were fully hacked, and a bit of the kitchen Here's a pic of one of the saved toilet bowl. Still not sure if we wanna save costs and re-use it or not.. 2nd day, the whole kitchen was done hacking and also, a portion of the storeroom Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jeffcraze 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 3rd day, the living room and storeroom are fully hacked Now the kitchen cum dining area looks so much bigger without the storeroom! The MBR toilet door frame has not been hacked yet though, and also a portion of the storeroom external wall in the living room.. hmmm.. guess the hackers will have to use hammers to hack those items tomolo instead.. Had originally thot all works will stopped after the hacking is done as our FSM advised us to place something only next week, but jason said tat they will do the toilets first as the toilets are not affected.. Thus, we saw tat the bags of cement in our house today le, as work is to commence tomolo.. Cement for laying the hacked floors. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 Pls be careful when u entering your unit. The hacked wall have those protruding metal bar and brackets. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 (edited) Tml u will see your tiles arriving. And one more thing, I've confirm with the workers today and they told me they are from malaysia, I'm sorry about that as I've told u that the hackers will be local cos I did told the boss I want local hackers. As such thing happened, I will had to accept that its my fault to overlook on the workers being provided to me. To show my sincerity, I'll personally supply and install a new rubbish chute for you FOC. And also the hollow block walls for your dryer will be done without adding any extra cost. Edited May 12, 2010 by jaskel Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
titanax 0 Report post Posted May 13, 2010 Tml u will see your tiles arriving. And one more thing, I've confirm with the workers today and they told me they are from malaysia, I'm sorry about that as I've told u that the hackers will be local cos I did told the boss I want local hackers. As such thing happened, I will had to accept that its my fault to overlook on the workers being provided to me. To show my sincerity, I'll personally supply and install a new rubbish chute for you FOC. And also the hollow block walls for your dryer will be done without adding any extra cost. hi, just curious here...why preference for local worker where hacking is concerned? pardon my kaypoh! hehe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites