PNC 0 Report post Posted March 29, 2010 Hi, since I've benefited from the website, thought I'd give back to the generations to come by sharing my reno experience. Am starting early, so perhaps come back early May to get at the real meat... Getting Quotes So far am not too aggressive in getting quotes, don't want to waste people's time. Have asked 3 parties- 1. Patrick from Ho Bee (my family's usual guy), 2. Henner 3. Yeaker. 4. Vincent (friend's recommendation) So far Yeaker's quote is very attractive and is inspiring to do more as he's stretching my budget. He took 20 days to revert to me and sent the quote on the day itself when I called to remind him the second time. So that's pretty efficient, probably just mad-busy. As for Henner, well, it's been 26 days and only today he mentioned he told his partner to attend to my query- which the partner has yet to. Had visited a big chain reno shop (Changi) and met Hussein- was a very down-to-earth guy who gave practical ideas and opinions but haven't seen his reviews so will stick with the top 4. Visited a couple of IMM where the guys were too slick/ non-experienced for my liking. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PNC 0 Report post Posted March 29, 2010 (edited) Having lived here for almost 4 years, am quite well acquainted with what I like and dislike about my flat- the cracks- the spot where my mom peeled the paint "since i was going to do a reno soon" (that was almost a year ago!) the new path that the trunking should take rather than it's current 'skirt the perimeter' approach which is highly inefficient! My major bugbears are the 1)non-concealed wiring and pipes 2)grooves on the wall (a result of the pre-fab construction?) 3) beams that run across living / dining and former balcony. But that's the beauty of mass public housing- the imperfections that make it so much more affordable. Having said all that, love my location, love my house, love the amenities- the stadium, the pool (though i don't use them). Really do Used to have resident vagabonds downstairs but they've moved on/ the police have relocated them so all's good... Edited April 12, 2010 by PNC Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted March 31, 2010 Hi, PNC welcome to RT! I currently live across the MRT track from you I send my kids for swimming lesson at the pool every Sunday. but we going to move to eastern side in a few months time Going to miss the area cuz spent all of my childhood there. Hussein was also the one who served us when we were at that 'big chain reno shop'! Was quite a nice guy but didn't quite like his pushy tactics (was saying tt special price valid for a few days so must cfm early). And tt time, we weren't sure if want ID or contractor.... Saw him again at Expo last weekend when we went to consult with our ID, I think he recognise us, so we quickly change direction, we so pai seh cuz never came back to him Eh, post your floor plan and pics leh so we can hv better picture of the place. How many rooms is it? This is one of the 'newer' flats right? What do you intend to do? Will it be a major overhaul. My friend told me recently that an EA or EM house at Stirling Road got sold for $900K! Wah liau, crazy price!. Dunno true or not. Price like that cuz the layout is very unique. The bedrooms are all downstairs (?). Do you know what kind of layout is this? Actually, I'm in love with the HDB terraces along C'wealth Ave West, near the CC and mosque. Hope they're still around when I move back there in 15 years' time! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PNC 0 Report post Posted April 12, 2010 Yeah, I heard one of my neighbours bought close to $700K- but it's rumoured it came from Enbloc sale- dunno true or not. then there was a flat nearby where an elderly slightly handicapped couple flush from Enbloc proceeds also put down a lot of $$ for the topmost floor. Think they're a bit crazy- but that works in my favour when I want to sell... As for floor plan, tried once and it didn't work out so will figure out how to post pictures after I sign quote- stay tuned... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PNC 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2010 Finally got round to taking photos of my place, here's a sneak preview... View from living area into foyer View of dining area- an extendable table from OM which can't stay in extended mode (ie spoilt) View of living area (+ ex-Balcony) Love my Lorenzo sofa which can recline at the 2 ends, the teak cabinet with intricate details and the LOVE decal from Home-fix Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PNC 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2010 My Kitchen- but going to tear down the wall with the LOVE decal to increase the dining area Full frontal of kitchen - we have plans to change to L-shape and hide washing machine behind a low wall Plan to put the wavy tiles to make this stretch more interesting, may buy additional thin island to add to coutner area Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PNC 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2010 My walkway to rooms- had a painting at the end, but the 3M hook came off the wall Common Toilet has a drainage issue, water collects in a pool in the shower area as there is only one drainage point (below the sink) Spare room- has gone through various looks, preparing it for the move... Study/ Dresser area- can't fit the dresser into MBR due to layout issues Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PNC 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2010 MY MBR - king size bed and teak furtniture... May try to varnish the bedside tables to make them darker.. A TV used to reside there: Wardrobe, still in good condition but look dated MBR Toilet - fortunately, no huge pipes here- just in the Common toilet shower area. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PNC 0 Report post Posted April 20, 2010 My Floor layout and some annotations Undecided about kitchen- whether to have a L shape with sink protruding or galley style to maximise storage (ie instead of paying for top cabinets, place the cabinets along the empty wall. then more countertop) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PNC 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2010 Have settled on using Mr Yeak as my contractor. But it wasn't easy. Made an appmt with him to meet on Apr 17 but then on Apr 14 he sms-ed me to tell me he couldn't take my job- i actually got quite mopey after that- felt we didn't move fast enough to grab him- too cautious. In the evening he told me he had reconsidered and did not want to disappoint me so took on my job- which at that time was about 1 month away. So yay! will be meeting him next Sat to sign and choose tiles In general, his quote is cheaper than the other quotes I received and so far it looks like I may be able to stay within my budget for reno! However, the lighting, toilet and kitchen fixtures are threatening to destroy the boundaries of my budget... But the more I think about the reno, i get excited at having a place to call my own- my design (though it may end up being really simple) and not a 'hand-me-down'. Am even thinking of adding on false ceiling to LR & DR and plastering the walls- just for aesthetics rather than practicality. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted May 1, 2010 Have settled on using Mr Yeak as my contractor. But it wasn't easy. Made an appmt with him to meet on Apr 17 but then on Apr 14 he sms-ed me to tell me he couldn't take my job- i actually got quite mopey after that- felt we didn't move fast enough to grab him- too cautious. In the evening he told me he had reconsidered and did not want to disappoint me so took on my job- which at that time was about 1 month away. So yay! will be meeting him next Sat to sign and choose tiles In general, his quote is cheaper than the other quotes I received and so far it looks like I may be able to stay within my budget for reno! However, the lighting, toilet and kitchen fixtures are threatening to destroy the boundaries of my budget... But the more I think about the reno, i get excited at having a place to call my own- my design (though it may end up being really simple) and not a 'hand-me-down'. Am even thinking of adding on false ceiling to LR & DR and plastering the walls- just for aesthetics rather than practicality. 1st stage settle time to go for next stage .... buy buy buy ... but furniture and stuff time Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PNC 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 Yep, the lighting budget has just grown- after taking into account installation of downlights/ maybe cove lighting and non-conventional pendant lights. It seems that lighting really plays a difference and moer hsould be invested in those areas- just hope to get some good deals... Major purchases - WC/ basin/ mixer, shower mixer/ head, bathroom acessories x 2 - Kitchen hood and hob - hubby wants a chimney - Kitchen sink and mixer Please let me know if any of the forumers mention they found a good deal (eg: special promo) on any of the items above... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PNC 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2010 Hi Rondy, How was your overseas trip? I'm startin on 17 May- so your friend's job and mine will overlap- my house should take 6-7 weeks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
PNC 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2010 My almost- finalised quote ($32,100): 1 Whole house hacking walls & floor tiles except store room 2 To supply & lay 2 toilets wall tiles up to ceiling height 3 To supply & lay 2 toilets flooring 4 To construct 2 no of shower kerb in toilets 5 To supply & install 2 set of 10mm tempered glass shower screen 6 To supply & install 2 no of aluminium bi-fold door at toilets 7 To supply labour to install 2 WC, basins, storage heater & bathroom accessories. 8 To supply & install laminated vanity cabinet for 3 ft in master toilet 9 To supply & install granite top for 3 ft in master toilet 10 To supply & lay kitchen wall tiles up to ceiling height 11 To supply & lay homogenous kitchen flooring 12 To construct cabinet base only 13 To connect in/oulet piping for sink 14 Waterproofing for kitchen, 2 toilets flooring 15 To replace stainless steel piping for kitchen & 2 toilets 16 To run 3 hot pts for shower & master bathroom basin 17 To construct low wall come with tiling finish at behind sink area 18 To construct construct concrete sink support for 5 ft 19 To supply & install laminated kitchen cabinet for 17 ft 20 To supply & install solid surface top estimated for 12.5 ft 21 To box up existing drainage pipe at kitchen with laminated doors 22 To demolish existing L shape wall c/w patch up at kitchen entrance 23 To erect new hollow block wall at kitchen entrance 24 To dismantle existing kitchen cabinet 25 To supply & install 10mm tempered glass swing door at kitchen entrance 26 To plaster one wall between dining & bedroom 3 only 27 Whole house painting ( ICI pentalite ) incl. doors, frames & pipes 28 To dismantle existing wardrobe in master, study & guest room 29 To supply & install laminated casement wardrobe for 6.5 ft in MBR 30 To supply & install laminated casement wardrobe for 6.5 ft in s/room 31 To dismantle existing air-cond trunking in 3 bedrooms 32 To supply & lay homogenous flooring ****,,dining & 3 bedrooms come with skirting 33 To supply & install homogenous flooring at balcony c/w skirting 34 Wiring cost estimated for 35 To box up existing drainage pipe at balcony with partiton board 36 To supply & install false ceiling at foyer only 37 To supply & install L box at livng hall ( entire 4 sides of wall ) 38 To supply & install false ceiling cum cove lights for 2 walls at dining 39 To supply & install 3 no of solid nyatoh doors at bedrooms 40 To box up existing drainage pipe in master bathroom 41 HDB permit fee 42 Haulage & debris disposal 43 Acid washing for whole house walls & floor tiles 44 Floor protection during renovation 45 To box up chimmy top with laminate finished 46 Additional charge for toilet tiles & floor tiles Quite happy with Mr Yeak as he's quite pro-client. He makes recommendations based on what's nice (aesthetic) and tries to dissuade us from making 'bad' choices for the sake of saving $, even to the extent of lowering the charge. Submitted our selection of tiles on Sat. As it turned out we chose tiles above budget. For the budget conscious- be careful of bursting your budget with the recommendations from LSH sales asst- but the tiles do look quite good. Almost wanted to rechoose tiles but because of looming deadline Mr Yeak struck a compromise with us- which we appreciate. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted May 18, 2010 Hi!!I suppose u already start doing the reno for few days with all the hacking and mess around your place by now... Well,My friend will start his reno next Monday (24/05) Was given 6 weeks to complete reno too... But his is not overhaul... Doing up Kitchen wall/floor tiles with cabinet Hall,console/wall feature. Wiring revamp of 2 toilets Changing of kitchen window Bedroom wardrobe I think his quotation around 20k. ha . our common friend Share this post Link to post Share on other sites