Zelly

Apacadl On Shoe String

I have to admit we have not been actively meeting ID/contractors/sub contractors for the passed week or so. Our mode operati is in the form of emails and phone calls for the initial contact.

As our scope is pretty small, many contractors I have approached did not return with any quotes. :( . Nevertheless, I will just stick with the ones I have. Based on the existing pool of quotes I have, sans the lights(we told them we will do our own purchasing) and granite top for the bay windows (going to the supplier directly and a psfr is below 100), they ranged from 7k+ to 9k+.

I have to say the most cost ineffective or boh chup quote I have gotten is from submit design, which the bulk goes into ascetics rather than practical. Imagine them quoting me the use of laminated wood for my toilet bay window which will get wet every time when someone bathe! doing a false ceiling when i mentioned repeatedly I want a ceiling fan for my living room. The worse was the tv console, which i said I do not like feature walls and I want to build some storage there. The so called design they gave was a suspended tv console with little storage, and a super duper expensive feature wall with glass cabinets on each end for display pieces. :bangwall: Anyway i threw away their quote.

Impress21 was pretty okie, but I felt that there are some areas where they had put the cookie cutter mold, like feature wall (again!) and charging certain things pretty expensive. But they do have other things which are cheaper.

So far Hup Lam furniture got back to us based on our measurements and the items requested. The carpentry quotes was the cheapest among the ones we received. But the rest of the items is more expensive.

We are still pending a few more quotes, so we are just doing our summary of each quotes before deciding our course of action.

Our furnishings are more or less settled where we would want to buy from, left the electrical appliances to scout around. We can only buy them when we have the keys to our house and measure each area. For curtains we have identified a few mobile curtain maker recommended in RT and some shops along Joo chiat area.

I think our goal of total cost of everything not more than 22k seems to have a ray of hope. :sport-smiley-018:

since u hv minimal things needed to be done, u can actually skip ID altogether. u can either go to a main contractor (like me cos of project management) or go to separate sub contractors to do the different items. Since Hup Lam is quoting u good pricing for carpentry work, my advice is get them and outsource the other items which they are expensive.

I am doing partial flooring and carpentry and my quote as of now is still less than 25K (am adding some more things along the way.... :unsure: so cost definitely going to go up!) so urs is definitely do-able at 22K or less. Good Luck.

since u hv minimal things needed to be done, u can actually skip ID altogether. u can either go to a main contractor (like me cos of project management) or go to separate sub contractors to do the different items. Since Hup Lam is quoting u good pricing for carpentry work, my advice is get them and outsource the other items which they are expensive.

I am doing partial flooring and carpentry and my quote as of now is still less than 25K (am adding some more things along the way.... :unsure: so cost definitely going to go up!) so urs is definitely do-able at 22K or less. Good Luck.

Yeah, we do not really need an ID, but we just pop in to submit as it was along the way to our fave claypot rice place. :P . My CFO would prefer to have logical groupings like false ceiling and electrical and painting into 1 point of contact and carpentry in another. Since we have not gotten our keys, we still have time to source for the cheaper but reliable sources. :notti: Also the RT Liao Jiaos mein and their blogs help me alot in sourcing for certain items and their comments are invaluable lah.

Cool, the work required for yours and the quote provided is really reasonable and managable. But I have strong believe that the cost will not go too high with your sourcing skills and the reviews of the contractor u getting.

My CFO said my 22k budget is including reno, finishings, electrical stuff. :dunno: Maybe when time comes with the visual inspection of the house he will be more gian to top up. :notti:

Yeah, we do not really need an ID, but we just pop in to submit as it was along the way to our fave claypot rice place. :P . My CFO would prefer to have logical groupings like false ceiling and electrical and painting into 1 point of contact and carpentry in another. Since we have not gotten our keys, we still have time to source for the cheaper but reliable sources. :notti: Also the RT Liao Jiaos mein and their blogs help me alot in sourcing for certain items and their comments are invaluable lah.

Cool, the work required for yours and the quote provided is really reasonable and managable. But I have strong believe that the cost will not go too high with your sourcing skills and the reviews of the contractor u getting.

My CFO said my 22k budget is including reno, finishings, electrical stuff. :dunno: Maybe when time comes with the visual inspection of the house he will be more gian to top up. :notti:

haha...u "see me very up" ah...thanks :D hopefully i can really get my dream home at a budget price...

my "boss" also at first say this dun do, that dun need. but after talking to this, looking at that, then he also gian...in fact I din wan to hack flooring for kitchen and toilet but after we talk to Edmund and some opinions here, he is asking me to check with Edmund for quote liao. At first countertop lightings is out of my reach, now he ok to go ahead liao. :D so will lah, 22K is a bit tight if u add in all the stuff, unless u willing to make do with budget appliances, but some things budget long run will cost more wor.... like me, certain things i will get budget, certain ones i will get slightly pricey but better quality so that wun hv to deal with alot of prob in future.

haha...u "see me very up" ah...thanks :D hopefully i can really get my dream home at a budget price...

my "boss" also at first say this dun do, that dun need. but after talking to this, looking at that, then he also gian...in fact I din wan to hack flooring for kitchen and toilet but after we talk to Edmund and some opinions here, he is asking me to check with Edmund for quote liao. At first countertop lightings is out of my reach, now he ok to go ahead liao. :D so will lah, 22K is a bit tight if u add in all the stuff, unless u willing to make do with budget appliances, but some things budget long run will cost more wor.... like me, certain things i will get budget, certain ones i will get slightly pricey but better quality so that wun hv to deal with alot of prob in future.

No lah.. I see you do alot of homework leh, much more than moi at least :D ..

Guys! They everything dun wan dun need, see liao use liao at other pple's place then come back and say want this and that. 8|

Oh we are bringing over our king size mattress, Tv and sound system, maybe our fridge and some others that we can reuse. Use till spoil den buy new one, like tat not so sim tiah. Like that our output can be controlled and stretch over afew months or years before buying.

No lah.. I see you do alot of homework leh, much more than moi at least :D ..

Guys! They everything dun wan dun need, see liao use liao at other pple's place then come back and say want this and that. 8|

Oh we are bringing over our king size mattress, Tv and sound system, maybe our fridge and some others that we can reuse. Use till spoil den buy new one, like tat not so sim tiah. Like that our output can be controlled and stretch over afew months or years before buying.

aiya, guys! to them most impt thing which must splurge is the TV, sound system and lappy...in fact tech stuff they can splurge lor. jus ask angteko, wcseow and el nino anytime. :furious: but to us gals, what is impt is the things we hv to use daily... the kitchen cabinets, the washing machine, the fridge...etc. different priorities lor.

u bring alot of stuff to new place, good lor. no need to spend so much. we diff, cos my previous house was tenanted out and my tenants abuse my stuff so we practically changing everything. siong lor. i promise myself nv nv to tenant out my place again esp now i put in so much effort in the reno....

hey Zelly, was looking for deck tiles also and found some in Teak and Mahogany in Pasir Pajang Road - $11 something per 30 X 30 cm tile. You can check it out

I have to say the most cost ineffective or boh chup quote I have gotten is from submit design, which the bulk goes into ascetics rather than practical. Imagine them quoting me the use of laminated wood for my toilet bay window which will get wet every time when someone bathe! doing a false ceiling when i mentioned repeatedly I want a ceiling fan for my living room. The worse was the tv console, which i said I do not like feature walls and I want to build some storage there. The so called design they gave was a suspended tv console with little storage, and a super duper expensive feature wall with glass cabinets on each end for display pieces. :bangwall: Anyway i threw away their quote.

Maybe u can ready-made console TV console with storage cabinets? :)

hey Zelly, was looking for deck tiles also and found some in Teak and Mahogany in Pasir Pajang Road - $11 something per 30 X 30 cm tile. You can check it out

Hi! those are teak deck tiles or other materials? This is something we want to do after we settle the reno of our house. :D

aiya, guys! to them most impt thing which must splurge is the TV, sound system and lappy...in fact tech stuff they can splurge lor. jus ask angteko, wcseow and el nino anytime. :furious: but to us gals, what is impt is the things we hv to use daily... the kitchen cabinets, the washing machine, the fridge...etc. different priorities lor.

u bring alot of stuff to new place, good lor. no need to spend so much. we diff, cos my previous house was tenanted out and my tenants abuse my stuff so we practically changing everything. siong lor. i promise myself nv nv to tenant out my place again esp now i put in so much effort in the reno....

LOL! I put a quota on my CFO's tech expenditure or else I would need a big storage space for his stuff. but I have to admit i always ask for new stuff for cooking. :D . I have a slow cooker, double boiler, micro wave, toaster, steamer, oven, a wok, a frying pan and lotsa pots and pans. :unsure: Oh one thing i realized, a dryer is very important during the wet seasons. So it was my big wish list.

Duh, tenants do no take care of their rented home stuff. It sucks, but on the hind sight, you can have everything new and get to shop for them too! :yeah:

Maybe u can ready-made console TV console with storage cabinets? :)

I have told my CFO we can just buy the console and diy on the storage. But he said since it is going to be in the living room, everyone comes in will see. Might as well we focus on a nice and useful 1 and delay the purchase on non essential items. Hm... I wonder what is his non essential items..

Hi! those are teak deck tiles or other materials? This is something we want to do after we settle the reno of our house. :D

yes, made of teak.

LOL! I put a quota on my CFO's tech expenditure or else I would need a big storage space for his stuff. but I have to admit i always ask for new stuff for cooking. :D . I have a slow cooker, double boiler, micro wave, toaster, steamer, oven, a wok, a frying pan and lotsa pots and pans. :unsure: Oh one thing i realized, a dryer is very important during the wet seasons. So it was my big wish list.

Duh, tenants do no take care of their rented home stuff. It sucks, but on the hind sight, you can have everything new and get to shop for them too! :yeah:

haha i think all of us females are the same!!!

haha....same lah...cooking stuff impt rite? or else ur CFO and my "boss" how to get full? my top list is a combination microwave that can do steam, grill and microwave. Dryer I started thinking at first but boss says too energy wasting, high bill. I' thought it thru and agree to let go. since we can live without one the bulk of our lives, I suppose we can continue living without it. once u start using, u will start finding excuses to use it cos convenient. :P

yeah, can shop for new thing is fun lah but tiring too. also u c $$ flowing out like water u machiam heart pain some more :(

I have told my CFO we can just buy the console and diy on the storage. But he said since it is going to be in the living room, everyone comes in will see. Might as well we focus on a nice and useful 1 and delay the purchase on non essential items. Hm... I wonder what is his non essential items..

U can tell him that customised-ones are usually constructed using chipboard, plywood, etc. In general, poorer quality material. But ready-made ones can be made from solid wood. Furthermore, more often than not, the finish will be either wallpaper or laminates. Off the shelves can be lacqured painted, power coated, etc. :)

It is a hard to make a choice I guess. :)

U can tell him that customised-ones are usually constructed using chipboard, plywood, etc. In general, poorer quality material. But ready-made ones can be made from solid wood. Furthermore, more often than not, the finish will be either wallpaper or laminates. Off the shelves can be lacqured painted, power coated, etc. :)

It is a hard to make a choice I guess. :)

True, esp when the tv area is my CFO domain, unless I can find one off the shop that my CFO love, there is a high chance it is going to be constructed. Anyway I had to google sketched afew of his ideas out to tell him it will not work! :notti:

Maybe u can show us what u drew. Hee. Although I am not a architect or carpenter, but I think I can still provide some input. Hee. And I believe there are other reno mates who are able to advice. :)