Zelly 0 Report post Posted May 9, 2010 (edited) wah ur CFO is more fickle than me wor.... LED lights...shhh...dun let my boss hear that....$$ will be siong wor...so how u manage all in total 22k...i'm looking forward to c how it's going to be done. That 22k is my CFO's wish. But I already said it is very hard liao. I would think about 25k for all. We have not buy most of the things but we already know the places which have the items we want. We will try to bargain more and hopefully to drop abit of the price for each item. LOL. " Anyway if really thinking about using LED lights, dun try going to lighting shops. They charge so much higher. You can see the same thing sold in Sim Lim Towers instead CFO wanna have things that are low maintenance and flexible. He is not so keen in spending all at once either, so we are doing the more commonly used stuff. Of course we have some expensive quirks like, both of us prefer granites over solid surface or laminates for our baywindows and my CFO latest, LED lightings. Edited August 4, 2010 by Zelly Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zelly 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2010 (edited) CFO and I have decided to go via 1 main contractor to perform the carpentry, painting and electrical works, and sub contractors for wall paper and granite for bay windows. Since we have decided on the contractor path, we have to decide the layout and color scheme we are going to use, the choice of materials we are going to take. Selection of colors and textures and designing of the wood works will be taken up by me. The CFO will do the light sourcing, lighting plan, ceiling fan size, and electrical work planning etc. The (full height on long side)living room tv console, using fomica 2mm black and white gloss and colored interior. We have to discuss about soft closing, etc with the contractor. It will have a small display area at the left side of the cabinet for some small stuff we would wanna put or show. The design is like 2 L 1 slimmer inverted L and a fatter L on its back. The console side wall will be covered from the door way to the balcony door with wall paper. Console Living room wall paper (8.2m x 2.6m). The Master bedRoom, we are going to build our 2 full height side tables besides our King Size bed to have extra personal storage space as we have a L shape window that is like 5+m long. There will be an indent at bed level to about 60+cm above the bed level for us to place our stuff when we go to sleep. The wall side will be covered with wall paper. full height Bedside table. Bed room wall paper (6m x 2.6m). The wall paper has a pearlescent sheen but the iphone camera cannot seem to pick it up. Edited May 19, 2010 by Zelly Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lilithfiend 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2010 does this mean u've decided on your contractor? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zelly 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2010 does this mean u've decided on your contractor? Oui, but this guy belongs to a old school type of contractor. No shop front and basically keeps everything in his mobile office, aka van. He has renovated my CFO's previous place and knows my CFO for pretty long time loh. CFO wants him so i gave in. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lilithfiend 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2010 Oui, but this guy belongs to a old school type of contractor. No shop front and basically keeps everything in his mobile office, aka van. He has renovated my CFO's previous place and knows my CFO for pretty long time loh. CFO wants him so i gave in. interesting..mobile office haha.. so when does reno start? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zelly 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2010 interesting..mobile office haha.. so when does reno start? When I get the keys. . I should be getting them in June hopefully. Now to confirm the stuff we need and when the keys come it is execution time. Our reno should be pretty fast, about 4weeks max. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted May 19, 2010 so in the end u will also finish before mine? *sob* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zelly 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2010 so in the end u will also finish before mine? *sob* I think yours will complete before the 8 weeks up. Mine is a smallish reno and the amount of work is like 1/3 of what you are doing. So mine is considered long liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lilithfiend 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2010 so in the end u will also finish before mine? *sob* aiya sam. don't be so downhearted! look at mine. start so early but have to wait so long ding-dong-ding-dong with hdb. now still waiting..i'm sure edmund only told u 8 weeks as a maximum. like zelly said, most likely before 8 weeks.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zelly 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2010 (edited) For someone who have not gotten the house, it is strange that we have some lights already. . We have gotten a 9W 3in1 box MR16 cool white. Pretty defused 600 to 700 lum and a maga bright light of 12W cool white which have a 40deg angle i think suppose to be more defused liao. It should be about 1000lum. 3 in 1. This will be used in most areas as this provides a good defused lighting to replace the plc lighting. 12W round light. This will be used in the L box that separates the living and dining area and the common toliet. We are thinking about buying a roll of ambience LED strip and put it behind our beam near the window (small space where they put in the curtains tracks) to have that lighting effect. I wonder will it work or not. I am still looking for a nice LED pendant light for my dining area. I can't find something within my price range that i feel it is really pretty and bright. Edited August 4, 2010 by Zelly Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
infinitie 0 Report post Posted May 19, 2010 aiya sam. don't be so downhearted! look at mine. start so early but have to wait so long ding-dong-ding-dong with hdb. now still waiting..i'm sure edmund only told u 8 weeks as a maximum. like zelly said, most likely before 8 weeks.. hahaha.... i think we (Zelly, lilithfiend, Samgalz and myself) will be renovating almost at the same time. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted May 20, 2010 (edited) hahaha.... i think we (Zelly, lilithfiend, Samgalz and myself) will be renovating almost at the same time. yeah, more or less but likely lilth will finish first bah Zelly, nice leds. so these are the ones which u buy from sim lim or china direct? Edited May 20, 2010 by samgalz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zelly 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2010 yeah, more or less but likely lilth will finish first bah Zelly, nice leds. so these are the ones which u buy from sim lim or china direct? I still waiting for my letter to go collect keys leh, I dunno when then release. Scali end June then can get. We will have to rush to reno within 3 weeks liao so can move in before 7th month.. The LED is from china direct. The first one is equal to 1 down light, but can difuse out the light better den 1 down light as u can choose the angle of shine. 9W power in total. The other one is really blindingly bright. Good for contained areas u need to be super bright, you can also choose angle of shine. It is 12W only. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueocean 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2010 Oh yeah hor ... 7th month is coming ... Time flies back so quickly. For your LED lights, how easy is it to replace the bulbs if required ? On 2nd thoughts, when i did my house up, i should have used LED instead of the halogen lights. Can LED be put on a dimmer switch ? I still waiting for my letter to go collect keys leh, I dunno when then release. Scali end June then can get. We will have to rush to reno within 3 weeks liao so can move in before 7th month.. The LED is from china direct. The first one is equal to 1 down light, but can difuse out the light better den 1 down light as u can choose the angle of shine. 9W power in total. The other one is really blindingly bright. Good for contained areas u need to be super bright, you can also choose angle of shine. It is 12W only. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zelly 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2010 Oh yeah hor ... 7th month is coming ... Time flies back so quickly. For your LED lights, how easy is it to replace the bulbs if required ? On 2nd thoughts, when i did my house up, i should have used LED instead of the halogen lights. Can LED be put on a dimmer switch ? Dun remind me about time! I am getting older liao. For the gang of 3 the bulbs are wired in serial manner as led uses DC power. So dun think you can replace it, or at least i dunno how to. The thing to note is, LED suppose to be able to last at least 10000hrs, which is like more than 5 years usage time liao. I bought mne non dimable, I think there is one type that can be done, but we like brighter place and we would play around with the switches to on part or on all the lights in the room to make it less bright or brighter. Paiseh, me give all my electrical knowledge back to teacher liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites