Zelly

Apacadl On Shoe String

After listening to all the comments, i have done up some sketchups. Still cannot decide. CFO said since I am the ID i should decide.. :bleah:

Console A

seven5.jpg

Console C

seven3.jpg

Console D

seven2.jpg

I'll go for A or D. C is definitely a no no. If given more choices, I would not include that tall cabinet, to make it looks more spacious, and that area could have used for deco area or placing your xmas tree etc.

looks cramp with the 2 door cabinet...my suggestion still stands...if LL wan cabinet then do one door

CFO wants storage. We do not have much storage area except the living room. Now trying to have max storage yet looking good. Now we toying to build a small partion to separate the living and dining room to enable more designs for the storage area. The cabinet is about 1.4m wide, so cannot do 1 door. :P

'll go for A or D. C is definitely a no no. If given more choices, I would not include that tall cabinet, to make it looks more spacious, and that area could have used for deco area or placing your xmas tree etc.

I also dun wanna add that, but boh pian, CFO wants to hide everything away. Need to see more designs for storage tv console. I like console A sans the big cabinets too.. :D

After listening to all the comments, i have done up some sketchups. Still cannot decide. CFO said since I am the ID i should decide.. :bleah:

Console B

seven4.jpg

Console E

seven1.jpg

My turn for inputs! :D

I'd select consoles B and E. Reasons being, there seems to be a 'flow' with regards to these two designs. i.e B looks like steps from tall cabinet to the drawer, then console then platform at the end and vice versa for E.

I think if LL ur hubby wants storage space hence the tall cabinets, u can minimise the probable cramped look by using glossy laminates or a more costly option put mirrors or mirror-like surfaces (tinted or otherwise) on the tall cabinets.

hmmm i like the idea of C, coz there won't be a large storage area that would greet your guests when they enter... unless you can use it as a design feature with a painting/nice laminates?

Thanks all for the various comments. It has provided ideas to my CFO and I. I did not know that this is going to so tough to decide on the designs and size for the tv console, and trying to flow the dining area to the living room. After much discussion, we are now leaning towards breaking up the 2 spaces. :)

The dining room we will keep the table simple with black wood table with extra glass on the top. no mirrors but simple off white walls and no false ceiling. The main feature will be the dining lights. We sorta like the innermost lighthouse and a halogen light that have 5 movable circles that lookes like the solar system orbiting around the sun from VLUX. We will really decide on what we want when we start doing the reno.

The living room we are going t use the Lbox a small partition wall to break the room. The LBox will start from the walk way from the room and box up the living room with thick LBox near the dining are and tv console and slimer Lbox at the balcony and sofa side. A small partition wall about 70 - 80 cm wide will be on the left wall align to the living room Lbox. I do not know if I am making sense though.

Behind the partition wall, the tv console will be built. We are thinking of going for a asymetric design with cabinets of different size and depth. This side wall will be painted dark blue grey to give the illusion of depth. I do not know if this will work into reality and still look good.

seven6.jpg

Thanks all for the various comments. It has provided ideas to my CFO and I. I did not know that this is going to so tough to decide on the designs and size for the tv console, and trying to flow the dining area to the living room. After much discussion, we are now leaning towards breaking up the 2 spaces. :)

The dining room we will keep the table simple with black wood table with extra glass on the top. no mirrors but simple off white walls and no false ceiling. The main feature will be the dining lights. We sorta like the innermost lighthouse and a halogen light that have 5 movable circles that lookes like the solar system orbiting around the sun from VLUX. We will really decide on what we want when we start doing the reno.

The living room we are going t use the Lbox a small partition wall to break the room. The LBox will start from the walk way from the room and box up the living room with thick LBox near the dining are and tv console and slimer Lbox at the balcony and sofa side. A small partition wall about 70 - 80 cm wide will be on the left wall align to the living room Lbox. I do not know if I am making sense though.

Behind the partition wall, the tv console will be built. We are thinking of going for a asymetric design with cabinets of different size and depth. This side wall will be painted dark blue grey to give the illusion of depth. I do not know if this will work into reality and still look good.

seven6.jpg

At least this is so much better than b4. :good:

Bleah! :bleah: my brains very sq mah, so must go through a few rounds of thoughts and talking to IDs. We are revising our designs weekly lah. I think we will do this till we actually have the key and have to commit to the design. :P

seven6.jpg

To draw a relationship between the 2 areas, I would recommend painting the wall that u intend to paint white to be painted with the same paint color for the wall holding the tv and carpentry. White (if u consider it as a color) matches any other colors but it is not ideal to have 2 different paint color on the sane side of the wall. Just my thought.

We are going to build the partition wall between the 2 areas and it is to be a full height cabinets shape of a C about 2/3 of the wall with the tv on the lower cabinet top. We wanna segmentate the areas though.

Okie. Not to worry, I think if not nice, can repaint the wall or something. Take one step at a time. :)

seven6.jpg

looks good. Like the idea of the shelf in console E for you to display items. :)

Currently, we have slowed down our reno preparations as CFO had decided that he wanted to go energy saving with full LED down lights and pandant lights. Had gone to Sim Lim towers and online to search for afew suppliers, he is now evaluating for the better option.

Now it is back to the begining of the house designs again as the lightings is now different and we would need to match it.. Duh! Men! :bleah: Anyway I have complained loud and clear that he had stripped my reno, furnishing and electrical appliances budgets for his led lights. Yup. It is still grand total of EVERYThing to be 22k. :bangwall:

Anyway we have found some contacts which will be around ave cost of a downlight of 9W of 720luminence of about 1.5 more expensive than a PLC lights of the same brightness. We have found a scholer (dunno how to spell lah) crystals led pandant lights with 30 over high powered LED cool white and yellow white lights with 4 E14holder(energy saving or halogen lights). The good thing about this light is it can light up a 3m x 3m room just by the led lights and if you wanna it really bright, the 4 halogen or energy saving lights comes in handy. It has like 6 modes of lighting programmed. Too bad we cannot shake off the salesman to take any photos. :unsure:

On a happy note, cfo has contacts for a cheap supplier for wall paper works who usually use left over wall papers from commerial and showrooms, hopefully we can get the wall paper we like for the MBR and 1 side of the hall with the price we can afford. :notti:

We have sorta finalised what we want for our carpentry works with drawing and came out with the detailed specifications required (Yeah, big part of my regualar job is to write specifications. :rolleyes: ).

We are more or less going for modern zen design with some contemp and zen funishing. The carpentry are basically high gloss laminates with wood lines. I am thinking of EDL piano gloss. The color is still black and white and shades of silver and gray.

Then CFO casually said, "eh I like that red ceiling fan, lets get that." Duh... :bangwall: .

Currently, we have slowed down our reno preparations as CFO had decided that he wanted to go energy saving with full LED down lights and pandant lights. Had gone to Sim Lim towers and online to search for afew suppliers, he is now evaluating for the better option.

Now it is back to the begining of the house designs again as the lightings is now different and we would need to match it.. Duh! Men! :bleah: Anyway I have complained loud and clear that he had stripped my reno, furnishing and electrical appliances budgets for his led lights. Yup. It is still grand total of EVERYThing to be 22k. :bangwall:

Anyway we have found some contacts which will be around ave cost of a downlight of 9W of 720luminence of about 1.5 more expensive than a PLC lights of the same brightness. We have found a scholer (dunno how to spell lah) crystals led pandant lights with 30 over high powered LED cool white and yellow white lights with 4 E14holder(energy saving or halogen lights). The good thing about this light is it can light up a 3m x 3m room just by the led lights and if you wanna it really bright, the 4 halogen or energy saving lights comes in handy. It has like 6 modes of lighting programmed. Too bad we cannot shake off the salesman to take any photos. :unsure:

On a happy note, cfo has contacts for a cheap supplier for wall paper works who usually use left over wall papers from commerial and showrooms, hopefully we can get the wall paper we like for the MBR and 1 side of the hall with the price we can afford. :notti:

We have sorta finalised what we want for our carpentry works with drawing and came out with the detailed specifications required (Yeah, big part of my regualar job is to write specifications. :rolleyes: ).

We are more or less going for modern zen design with some contemp and zen funishing. The carpentry are basically high gloss laminates with wood lines. I am thinking of EDL piano gloss. The color is still black and white and shades of silver and gray.

Then CFO casually said, "eh I like that red ceiling fan, lets get that." Duh... :bangwall: .

I think the LED lights will cost quite a bit liao... :)

wah ur CFO is more fickle than me wor.... LED lights...shhh...dun let my boss hear that....$$ will be siong wor...so how u manage all in total 22k...i'm looking forward to c how it's going to be done. :D