curryqueen 0 Report post Posted June 15, 2010 hahahah.. gim beat mi to the reply... spray paint is alot nicer and smoother effect... thou there's really a wastage... but no choice lah..... by the way, matt black is **** cool!! i nearly went nuts when the shop i got the matt black spray had onli 1 bottle in stock!!! arghhh... and i search the whole bras basah but could not find it!! haizzzz... my bird cage is a mixture of matt black and glossy black (which is lacquer over the matt black) and i kinda like the effect! hee... good luck and remember to show ur DIYs!! I'm going to spray paint mine white. I'll see if I can take a picture of the one I painted with brush.. Painting by brush is not very nice... can see where the paint dripped but I figured if I hang it above, you can't really see the details.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pcomaster 0 Report post Posted June 15, 2010 I'm going to spray paint mine white. I'll see if I can take a picture of the one I painted with brush.. Painting by brush is not very nice... can see where the paint dripped but I figured if I hang it above, you can't really see the details.. Hi Curryqueen, what are the problems you encountered in your DIY reno? I plan to have my done in this way too to save cost! I guess it's the coordination work?? coz the sequence is crucial yah? Want to share your experience with me? Regards. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted June 15, 2010 I'm going to spray paint mine white. I'll see if I can take a picture of the one I painted with brush.. Painting by brush is not very nice... can see where the paint dripped but I figured if I hang it above, you can't really see the details.. wow, white cage...u going to paint a wall/ceiling in black right? yesh, must take pictures for us ok... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
curryqueen 0 Report post Posted June 15, 2010 wow, white cage...u going to paint a wall/ceiling in black right? yesh, must take pictures for us ok... only walls black..Ceiling will still be white Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
baby81984 1 Report post Posted June 15, 2010 I'm going to spray paint mine white. I'll see if I can take a picture of the one I painted with brush.. Painting by brush is not very nice... can see where the paint dripped but I figured if I hang it above, you can't really see the details.. oh yah.. i totally understand wat u mean... the paint kinda pools into a lump at the corners... end up the shape looks not so sharp..... i originally wanted to painted the cage gold... but end up i didn't like the effect of painting it... lucky i onli painted the top part... end up i spray paint it black... spray paint definitely looks way better.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted June 15, 2010 May i know where u get ur main gate from? $250 is super cheap. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted June 15, 2010 May i know where u get ur main gate from? $250 is super cheap. main gate is from CNS. http://cnsmetal.blogspot.com/ There colour/product code is CNS102. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
matashi 1 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 Grilles are up, i feel safer leaving windows open now. Baby says she feels like its a jail. All horizontal, no design ones. As plain as it can get. hi possible to pm me the price and contact for your main door gate? i intend to do same Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
matashi 1 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 oops just saw your last post. thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 wow, CNS so popular suddenly? must warn u guys...after they install the door, they spray touch up paint. And they did not put newspaper to protect the flooring, end up my laminated floor got lots of tiny dots of black paint. after that, we had to scrape it off using finger nails. havent scrape finish somemore... Luckily we already put 2 huge cardboard around the window grille areas to protect the flooring. If not i think they will also bo chup and throw stuff on the floor le. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lilithfiend 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 wow, CNS so popular suddenly? must warn u guys...after they install the door, they spray touch up paint. And they did not put newspaper to protect the flooring, end up my laminated floor got lots of tiny dots of black paint. after that, we had to scrape it off using finger nails. havent scrape finish somemore... Luckily we already put 2 huge cardboard around the window grille areas to protect the flooring. If not i think they will also bo chup and throw stuff on the floor le. muahaha gimz, cheap prices surely popular. i called up ginette from CNS myself earlier today after i saw your post. checked if they got mild steel gate/grilles. prices around the same as the others i called. but now i'm seeing your gate, and looking at the $188 price, i'm very tempted to just settle for the wrought iron gate. i mean, its outside the door and i only see it when i go in/out the house....so maybe should just save $140 and go for it. dilemma!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 muahaha gimz, cheap prices surely popular. i called up ginette from CNS myself earlier today after i saw your post. checked if they got mild steel gate/grilles. prices around the same as the others i called. but now i'm seeing your gate, and looking at the $188 price, i'm very tempted to just settle for the wrought iron gate. i mean, its outside the door and i only see it when i go in/out the house....so maybe should just save $140 and go for it. dilemma!! haha, have to credit baby's dad for the lobang. true that you won't stare at it....maybe after a while you would be immune to it as well? mild gate is $188+$140? I suppose if the absolute amount is not that big, you could actually get what you like. Rather than get one that you don't like, end up have to console yourself everyday. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 oops just saw your last post. thanks! hey hows reno going? Ronald doing a good job for you? haha...we gonna Handover and pay him this week. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 ya $180 +140 is still alright IMHO, if u can live with that amt might as well get something u like. dun regret it later since u gonna stay that for at least 5 yrs. my hubby says that all the time to justify the need to redo all the flooring. wahahaha.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
strawberry8 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 haha, have to credit baby's dad for the lobang. true that you won't stare at it....maybe after a while you would be immune to it as well? mild gate is $188+$140? I suppose if the absolute amount is not that big, you could actually get what you like. Rather than get one that you don't like, end up have to console yourself everyday. Will mild steel rust ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites