baby81984

3-room Resale In The West

the ugly trunking for air con...argghhh!!!

DSC05004.jpg

P1050420.jpg

on a happier note, we painted the plywood using the Matex paint, gave it 3 coats, look much better now. :)

Planned to touch up the casings as well. :)

Edited by gimz63251073

Oh dear ... How are they going to rectify those things ?

I remember one contractor was telling me last time that my item was slanted because the wall/ceiling was slanted - although i knew that wasnt the case!

The biggest thing that make my blood boil. The slanted basin. How can a basin be installed slanted?? its so obvious that even a kid would know the difference. Look at the side below the shelf, its so slanted that no matter how chin chye i am, i will not accept this nonsense! Will take a pic with a leveller tomolo. Plumber said he has no leveller. How can a plumber work without a leveller? I had thought that any works that required drilling and installation would need a leveller. Even if he did not have a leveller, using the measuring tape as a ruler would also suffice. Again, bo chup attitude.

today is really not a very good day...... we had high hopes of having a nice toilet, with the plumber coming in and our spray paint guys coming in to touch up.... but all went down the drain.... :(

spray paint issues.....

the entire spray painting of 2 toilet walls, 1 toilet floor and 1 kitchen floor was supposed to be carried out over the course of 4 days... last monday to thursday... we wanted all pipes and a acrylic board to be sprayed as well so gim actually took leave to be on site to tell the workers what to do... i went down on wed and thursday as well to inspect....

minor issues:

back of pipes not sprayed....

walls very rough at certain spots... can see bubbles somemore!

s/s pipes dun even feel as thou there's epoxy on it....

certain obvious spots on pipes not sprayed....

major issue:

OUR VENTILATION FAN WAS SPOILT!!!!

ok... i was not really tt pissed... just sian... we went to the boss, talked to him in person and he got someone to come down today... supposely to rectify.....

shock no 1:

person say they are apparently NOT obliged to spray the pipes... but out of GOODWILL, they spray.. so it seems as thou i shouldn't complain that there are certain spots unsprayed... bear in mind that when i signed up with the company, i asked them if pipes will be sprayed, their answer was "if u wan, we can spray it for you. no problem."

shock no 2:

i had to explain to 3 different ppl that the ventilation fan was working perfectly fine on their 1st day of work and it was damaged only when i inspected my house on the 4th day... in between, no other person had excess to the house... apparently their communication is lacking which explains y i had to explain 3 times or they are just trying to shrink their responsibility....

shock no 3:

my walls are apparently SUPPOSED to be rough... it's definitely NOTHING like what i've felt in person at the company... NOTHING... they insist that it's supposed to be rough due to the flakes....

shock no 4:

ceiling, pipe area will not be a circle (will post up pictures to illustrate) coz apparently their spray gun cannot spray that corner... again, it was not told... in fact, the boss told us small corners oso can spray...

solution:

they just touch up whatever i felt was really too glaring but back of pipes are still undone... the ventilation which took them super long to tinker around? they told mi to take back to the manufacturer since it's under warrenty... i'm definitely not free to do that and i told them i will pass them the warrenty card and they will settle it for mi.... i dun care what they do, i just want a functioning ventilation fan at the end of the day....

had a dispute with them as well over the payment... total payment was 2700 and we paid 300 deposit... he asked for 2k payment for the job completed.... to me, the job is and only will be completed if i dun have to see him again... having a ventilation that is SPOILT by them which is still pending to be installed is definitely nothing like a job completed!!! but we will pass them the 2k cheque along with the warrenty card... but i totally regret goin to them....

service is BAD!!! not to mention quality... and the misinterpretation....

argh!!

Ok.. that's it.Confirmed not spray painting... will hack and retile since the price is abt the same anyway..

hack and retile should be more expensive. Overlay might be cheaper or around the same though.

But tiles comes with grout lines, we are trying to keep our house as maintenance free as possible. It has some advantages over retiling. :) just get a better plumber, or simply spray paint it last. :P

Oh dear ... How are they going to rectify those things ?

I remember one contractor was telling me last time that my item was slanted because the wall/ceiling was slanted - although i knew that wasnt the case!

i oso dunno... haizz.. i see le oso sad... coz there's no way they can take out the mis-aligned stuff and put back without risking more holes!!

oh yah.. the plumber was also telling me that mayb the tiles not level then i told him "like tt ok loh.. i look for ronald... he do the tiles 1..." hahahah....

i really dun wanna be so picky... but small mistakes like that will glare right at me for the next 10 years... every single time i hang up my clothes, i wash my hands, blah blah... it's right in front of my eyes... how to ignore?!?!

oopss... i would say both got advantages n disadvantages.... but dun be fooled by the sales pitch... if u wanna feel what the real thing feels like, dun bother with the samples they show u.... come my house feel.... real life example loh.... definitely nothing like what they show u...

hectic week for us. Long week end but we both ended up totally shagged out.

Ronald, seng and plumber came and sorted out most of the mess created.

Work done:

MBR sink and shower done up finally.

MBR cabinet moved to left aligned :P no choice, thats the best they could do.

Fixed up a kerb to keep dry area dry.

Fixed up the kitchen hob (silicon to kitchen top)

touch up lousy silicone work done to kitchen sink done previously

Fixed up tap @ kitchen for washing machine

Common toilet

Fixed up the slanted common toilet sink. (Using white cement, which looks yellowish). We too tired to say anything, shall try to diy something later to enhance the look.

Changed the drainage pipe, looks neater i guess?

Summary:

New plumber is better than the one yesterday. Would be hard to find a lousier plumber, Seng see his work also shake head. :blink: But i believe got better ones la, he came in holding a cigarette, i see liao also sian. Best thing is he threw cigarette butt down the chute! Common sense is definitely uncommon. Haii...watever la, as long my stuff are up.

To give him some credit, he is actually quite efficient. Ronald and Seng also responsive to our complaints, i guess he sensed the urgency due to the way baby described the previous plumber. :D

Our works are generally straight forward, so i remain puzzled as to how come we always have to rectify things. Isn't it better and more efficient to do it once, do it correct, collect $ and move one? Thankfully, ronald did not shun any responsibility, guess we can take comfort. :)

We did painting works to touch up the electrical casings and we were totally shagged out after that. Took out lots of junk and threw it away, Robina coming on Wed. YAY!!

Was looking for bed base and found exactly what i was looking for:

bedbase197frombedssg.jpg

$197 from Beds.sg. Wrapped using synthetic leather. The legs should allow Roomba to go in to work. :)

Wonder if anyone has bought things from there before? Not so comfortable with buying a bed base without even seeing or feeling it. :P

hack and retile should be more expensive. Overlay might be cheaper or around the same though.

But tiles comes with grout lines, we are trying to keep our house as maintenance free as possible. It has some advantages over retiling. :) just get a better plumber, or simply spray paint it last. :P

Yah... I don't like the grout lines, tat's why thinking of spray painting.. But after hearing your story, I think I may just tile or cement screed the kitchen floor. Strongly leaning towards cement screed for kitchen and maybe retiling the toilets.

haha! i think jaskel had a more pleasant spray painting experience, you can check with him ba.

cement screed for wet areas not good ba, floor may crack easily and you might have alot of problems with your neighbours below. unless u live on ground floor. :P

if not try cement lookalike tiles ba..one ID even told me that got people use metal sheet as flooring.

Some work by the electrician:

DSC04830.jpg

Time for pictures!! :)

Heres how it looks now:

31065_402528268878_520963878_414199.jpg

Difference between a painted and unpainted casing. (look at the area below the beam)

untitled-1.jpg

Now everything looks more uniform:

31065_402529103878_520963878_414203.jpg

DSC05021.jpg

31065_402529088878_520963878_414203.jpg

changed from clear silicon to white cement. 此白非比白? i wished that it could be more 白!

oh well...as long the basin don't drop and choke i'm fine with it. Given that basins don't get spoilt, i am probably going to get used to the level of 白.

Another view:

31065_402529073878_520963878_414203.jpg

we consoled ourselves that its just the common toilet, one whereby we got all the cheapest stuff, cheap basin, cheap tap, cheap showerhead. Main purpose of the toilet is to do our business there. So ok, lets move on.

31065_402529083878_520963878_414203.jpg

is a triangular basin meant to be installed slanted? i still cannot understand. Given that a rectangular (nicer looking) basin of the same dimension is twice the cost, i guess we have to live with it. ;)

haha! i think jaskel had a more pleasant spray painting experience, you can check with him ba.

cement screed for wet areas not good ba, floor may crack easily and you might have alot of problems with your neighbours below. unless u live on ground floor. :P

if not try cement lookalike tiles ba..one ID even told me that got people use metal sheet as flooring.

Different material, different group of ppl. So totally different experience.

First plumber install the basin in such a way that the metal drainage pipe cannot fit straight into the hole:

untitled3.jpg

After several rounds of discussion, we finally decided to move the basin to the right, so that the pipe can be installed. Hey we paid like $30 for this hor...its one of those things that we splurged on. :P

untitled2.jpg

Next up: The kerb to keep our dry area dry. The kerb on the left side is for the shower screen, a hole was left to drain out water, but it could mean our dry area would be wet. So we made a kerb to keep water out, ugly as it is, it serves the function. Hope its not too obvious since its at the bottom?

31065_402529093878_520963878_414203.jpg

A nicer looking, but not branded shower head. No rain shower, to save costs. Luckily though, as the water pressure is not very big. Had we gotten a rain shower, it could only drizzle.

31065_402529183878_520963878_414204.jpg

31065_402529088878_520963878_414203.jpg

changed from clear silicon to white cement. 此白非比白? i wished that it could be more 白!

oh well...as long the basin don't drop and choke i'm fine with it. Given that basins don't get spoilt, i am probably going to get used to the level of 白.

Another view:

31065_402529073878_520963878_414203.jpg

we consoled ourselves that its just the common toilet, one whereby we got all the cheapest stuff, cheap basin, cheap tap, cheap showerhead. Main purpose of the toilet is to do our business there. So ok, lets move on.

31065_402529083878_520963878_414203.jpg

is a triangular basin meant to be installed slanted? i still cannot understand. Given that a rectangular (nicer looking) basin of the same dimension is twice the cost, i guess we have to live with it. ;)

Next time, installed the basin and the tap first then spray paint, so that the spray paint will paint over the silicone and the piping for the water inlet, this way look nicer and also your silicone will not turn black due to mold or mildew. :yamseng:

Edited by jaskel