gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2010 Will mild steel rust ? surely. would have to paint over or apply some coating as with most metals. hdb shud be fine. If landed property might be different. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lilithfiend 0 Report post Posted June 17, 2010 haha, have to credit baby's dad for the lobang. true that you won't stare at it....maybe after a while you would be immune to it as well? mild gate is $188+$140? I suppose if the absolute amount is not that big, you could actually get what you like. Rather than get one that you don't like, end up have to console yourself everyday. yea the cheapest mild steel gate i can find is $320. most likely will go for that lor. even though $140 isn't much, when your budget is tight, a little saved here and there can add up to quite a lot... ya $180 +140 is still alright IMHO, if u can live with that amt might as well get something u like. dun regret it later since u gonna stay that for at least 5 yrs. my hubby says that all the time to justify the need to redo all the flooring. wahahaha.... wah sam, your turn to poison me now! haha just thinking that after the novelty of a new house passes over, we won't even notice the gate anymore lol. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted June 17, 2010 yea the cheapest mild steel gate i can find is $320. most likely will go for that lor. even though $140 isn't much, when your budget is tight, a little saved here and there can add up to quite a lot... wah sam, your turn to poison me now! haha just thinking that after the novelty of a new house passes over, we won't even notice the gate anymore lol. jus do it the El nino way, If u dun lose slp without it then u can do without it. If u lose slp without it, u jolly well get it! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lilithfiend 0 Report post Posted June 17, 2010 jus do it the El nino way, If u dun lose slp without it then u can do without it. If u lose slp without it, u jolly well get it! muahaha i'm a pig. i don't lose sleep over anything. sorry gimz & baby for hijacking ur thread! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
matashi 1 Report post Posted June 17, 2010 hey hows reno going? Ronald doing a good job for you? haha...we gonna Handover and pay him this week. now doing floor tiling liao. so far so good. hope to be able to move in before chinese 7th month! haha how is your new flat? move in liao? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted June 17, 2010 muahaha i'm a pig. i don't lose sleep over anything. sorry gimz & baby for hijacking ur thread! no worries.. i also hijack urs mah... hahah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted June 17, 2010 now doing floor tiling liao. so far so good. hope to be able to move in before chinese 7th month! haha how is your new flat? move in liao? ohh no updates on ur tblog.. we not going to move in officially so soon. But we gonna spend this saturday night there. Its like a dream come through after so many months. I think we started reno in 3rd week of Feb, after CNY. Soooo long le. next big thing is to eat steamboat there...haha... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
baby81984 1 Report post Posted June 17, 2010 did some hard work with our hob last weekend... my hob at the 1st glance... on a closer look... the edges...... after 1.5 hours of hard work... now all edges look like this.... it's super hard work.... but it's really satisfying when i see everything nice and neat... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted June 17, 2010 did some hard work with our hob last weekend... my hob at the 1st glance... on a closer look... the edges...... after 1.5 hours of hard work... now all edges look like this.... it's super hard work.... but it's really satisfying when i see everything nice and neat... wat did u use to cover the peeling? it looks great~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coldflamez 0 Report post Posted June 17, 2010 (edited) oh bumps as in like this? there is a cheaper option, $188 for hollow wrought iron. for once we did not get the cheapest option! My gate is from CNS also. Initially wanted to get the $188 gate but was advised by the staff that it is not very secure as it is hollow. So i got the slightly better one at $238 loh. Dunno if it is the same quality as yours, it looks the same from the pic. Just simple horizontal with the bumps loh. But i don't know why they must have the bumps, would like it more if it is just smooth.. But what to do, save $$ mah. Haha... Edited June 17, 2010 by coldflamez Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted June 17, 2010 samgalz, those are excess silicon done by the plumber... had a lot more of those at the sides sink as well. my poor baby.... coldflamez, urs by CNS too? same design as mine but at $238? arghhh....! Code is CNS102. did you bargain? actually i don't mind the bumps...haha for me as long as design is simple, colour match, price match its enough le. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
baby81984 1 Report post Posted June 18, 2010 wat did u use to cover the peeling? it looks great~ i used a penknife to trim and scrape off the excess peeling parts... then polish the edges... back breaking work... but at least it looks way better now... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted June 18, 2010 This is a great ikea hack: http://lapsushumanus.blogspot.com/2010/06/...my-drawers.html so many creative people around... i shall attempt to copy it... heee.... gotta figure out kitchen needs and play with this hack. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
matashi 1 Report post Posted June 19, 2010 ohh no updates on ur tblog.. we not going to move in officially so soon. But we gonna spend this saturday night there. Its like a dream come through after so many months. I think we started reno in 3rd week of Feb, after CNY. Soooo long le. next big thing is to eat steamboat there...haha... yeah must feel very shiok right? i also anxiously waiting for my turn to move in. waiting waiting waiting.... dun wanna rush Ronald too much, scare later miss out some details. better let him do nicely with ample time. wah you took 3 months for reno? btw i finally update my t-blog. lol Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted June 19, 2010 yeah must feel very shiok right? i also anxiously waiting for my turn to move in. waiting waiting waiting.... dun wanna rush Ronald too much, scare later miss out some details. better let him do nicely with ample time. wah you took 3 months for reno? btw i finally update my t-blog. lol yesh...not sure about others, but we do feel a deep sense of satisfaction. looking at the works, the flaws, the nice kitchen..etc, it definitely is a very rewarding experience. (Though very very tiring our reno took very long....yes...so long such that our neighbours above who started way later than us had already completed theirs! Primarily becos we outsourced alot of stuff to save some money...little bit here and there goes a long way. today we went to collect our glass from carlton glass, its a big factory with like 14-18 CCTVs in the office. They have 3 fierce looking dogs there...luckily all in cage... there are tons of glass sitting there waiting for collection. While waiting for the workers to pick up mine, i walked around and looked. Saw that they labelled the owners name at the side of the glass. Guess whose name i found?? "Besglas"!!! so i am getting Besglas quality? haha workers helped to load it up our car. had to push the seats way in front, so only Baby can drive as i had no room to lift my legs. Long way home and had a great workout carrying the glass back. Its very very very heavy!! We were so tired that no more strength to do anything....now baby is sleeping so soundly, like a baby.... i love the glass...glad we made the effort to use clear instead of frosted. Shall put the pics later! think i rested enough...now shall do some spraying... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites