budgetice

Tiring And Tedious

This has been a very long and tedious journey.

House hunting is **** tiring and a lot of agent will just tell you the house is nicely renovated but when you are there,
the house looks very run down. A lot of wasted time but we were lucky enough to get a 4A in Yishun from the sale of balance flat excercise.

We started our ID / Contractor process as early as end Jan'10.

1) Mr Yeak - received our quote when we drop by his shop email and SMS not very useful, usually no reply. Very busy but very knowledge for a contractor
2) ID note - totally no reply despite sending email and going to their shop to submit floorplan as well as discussion on our requirement.
3) Homely Image - very prompt, chance upon them in a magazine
4) Inspiration living - very attractive package
5) CJ ambience - very creative but haven't receive quotation yet.
6) Ranger design - attractive package but final quote quite high
7) Ideal House - quotation high and a lot of items not in the final quote

Went to Expo last saturday to look for laminate flooring and was approach by
8) Chew interior - quite expensive

10) Unimax - person keep telling us to buy off the rack, dont know why also.

Went asia excel last Sunday to look at hoob and hod and was informed to check quotation with
11) Vogue

haha.. didn't realised we have visited 11 ID/contractors in a short span of 2 months. ohmy.gif
Will stop at 11 because too many quotes make it more confusing.

Things that we have bought so far ;
1) Isisah Mattress with bedframe from OM

Things that we have shortlisted;
1) Cuizino Cooker, hob and oven
2) round coffee table from Mondi

Went shopping today.. wallet becoming lighter. :(

bought the following at Mega Discount Store;

1) Brandt 7kg front load washer WFE1077A

2) Brandt 8kg Dryer EFE 118A

3) Brandt built in oven FE811Xs1

4) Samsung Fridge RT-72KASE

Shortlisted the following:

1) Natalie Sofa from Mondi

2) OMI - R from Mondi

Square living with long kitchen..

Floor Plan

hi budgetice, I went to expo too, did you go to ciseern and inner room?

Just out of curiosity, where are you going to put all ur new stuff? Am planning on doing up my new home and considering whether to up my budget or not. Might want to reduce my furniture/appliances budget.

nope.. we were looking for Kronotex and Pergo at the expo.. Chew and was drag into Unimax..
the kitchen package they have are all Blum system..

For us hor, we set out with one budget and is trying our best to stick to it. Think we failed miserably... tongue.gif

Even for the renovation quote, its way off our budget.

If you are tight, then i suggest u take those comprehensive package that include all accessories. (There are some of them in the market, but dont blindly take also)

That way, you will have better control of your budget. IF not, you might want to try and liaise directly with the different contractor .. eg electrical work

Edited by Leyenda

Ya I saw the anti-slam Blum system for the kitchen cabinets and like them alot. Judging by the packages I've seen, prolly will exceed budget too :P

any 'before' photos to share?

collecting keys next wednesday.

I think we will use non-blum slow closing for our drawers. Will only use BLUM for the dish cabinet because we can adjust the height of

the opening.

The package is abt 6.8k for i think 20 ft which works out to be $340 per feet. That is very expensive.

Any ideas whats the difference in cost if you opt for a normal setting? No slow closing or whatever? Coz I can't imagine the kitchen cabinets being slammed from regular usage...

hi there budgetice..

1stly, congrats for getting a nice squarish 4A layout from HDB sales. :thumbs up:

saved u some money lor...which part of yishun is urs?

mine is a 4A too but kinda L-shaped hall area...:bleah:

2ndly, thot its better i reply ur pm here yah...

Here is the breakdown of the HTS i purchased from KEC...

Denon AVR-1910 - $699

DefTech ProCinema 600 - $1399

Installation + Configuration - $80

Pair of Sanus brackets for front R/L Speakers - $30

After bargain, total up to - $2100

:D:dancingqueen::D

*Upgrading from ProCinema Center600 to 1000 = +$160

*Upgrading to Velodyne CHT8Q Sub = +$500

Hope this helps man! :)

hi there budgetice..

1stly, congrats for getting a nice squarish 4A layout from HDB sales. :thumbs up:

saved u some money lor...which part of yishun is urs?

mine is a 4A too but kinda L-shaped hall area...:bleah:

2ndly, thot its better i reply ur pm here yah...

Here is the breakdown of the HTS i purchased from KEC...

Denon AVR-1910 - $699

DefTech ProCinema 600 - $1399

Installation + Configuration - $80

Pair of Sanus brackets for front R/L Speakers - $30

After bargain, total up to - $2100

:D:dancingqueen::D

*Upgrading from ProCinema Center600 to 1000 = +$160

*Upgrading to Velodyne CHT8Q Sub = +$500

Hope this helps man! :)

El Nino, got pic of your bracket??

my blk is ard the 400+ area, near to lilydale.. quite ulu..

im looking at onkyo 607 or denon at the moment..

still cant decide between the 2 if them.. so ur current system has no sub?

my blk is ard the 400+ area, near to lilydale.. quite ulu..

im looking at onkyo 607 or denon at the moment..

still cant decide between the 2 if them.. so ur current system has no sub?

oh...ave 6 there then

the package comes with a ProSub 600 but im looking to upgrade to the Velo sub :)

do drop by KEC to audition..ultimately its ur own ears that will let u make an informed decision :good: