Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted March 23, 2010 Just wanted to share my experience when I sold my HDB flat and was looking for a new condo. I had put out a posting on property****.com telling of my interest to look for flats in my current estate. After some time, an agent contacted me, offering his services. By that time, I had a change of plans and wanted to upgrade to pte property. I was sooo goondu, I told this agent X, that I was trying to sell my flat and told him if he has potential buyers maybe can bring them down to see my flat. I oso told him that I already hv exclusive agent. He said never mind, he can help bring down his clients, so he asked for my block, unit no. valuation, etc etc. So, as I said I was a goondu, so I told him my block no, what flat type, floor area, valuation. He asked me what was my ask price but I never reply him. So he called my agent and got info from her (mbe pretending to be a buyer agent). So, weeks passed and I happen to surf the property****.com website again. For fun, I did a search on flats being marketed in my area just to check what was the market asking price. To my surprise and shock, I saw a posting for my very own unit, posted by this Agent X!!!! He 'stole' the info that I gave him on good faith so that he can tell his buyers. He pretended to be helpful but actually he was trying to dig for info so that he can market my unit himself. So unscrupulous. Good thing I never told him my actual unit no. I never told my agent cuz scared kena scolding Other bad experiences I had: 1. One agent whom I had contacted to view a condo unit he was marketing, also tried to be 'helpful' when he said he got ready buyer for my unit. I gv him some info about my unit then gave my agent's number to him so he can arrange for viewing. After that, he called my agent and told her that I ASKED HIM TO MARKET MY FLAT ALSO. Which is an outright lie! Thank goodness, my agent very experienced, told him to go fly kite. 2. You know those junk mail from pple who say they are desperate for a unit in your estate (want to stay near parents lah, or near their workplace etc etc) and they have good $$ to pay? And they always say 'No Agents Please' at the end? Well, I got 'conned' by such junk mail. I called up the number given in the paper cuz I thought I want to help them. I got a flat to sell, mah, and they want a flat to buy, right? Turns out, the pple who write these sob stories are actually agents themselves. And they will only deal with sellers who dun hv agents yet. When I told them I already hv exclusive agent, they won't give me the time of day. Sigh, I was soooo innocent back then. Now, more experienced and battle-scarred, Know how to spot a fishy agent from the genuine ones. Just sharing battle stories to help those who may need it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted March 23, 2010 how about this. My house has been sold out by Agent A while Agent B claim the unit was sold by him at his website. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted March 23, 2010 how about this. My house has been sold out by Agent A while Agent B claim the unit was sold by him at his website. LOL. I hv a friend who complained abt this oso. She's oso an agent and she get real p****ed off by agents who state high selling prices in their junk ad, when in fact they never even sold those units. The purchase of my condo was oso a nightmare. I was shown the unit (that I eventually bought) by agent A who was co-broking with Agent B who is the exclusive seller agent. On the same day, Agent C also arranged some viewings for me at the same devt, including this unit, but since I already saw it, he didn't bring me to see it again. Then a few days later, Agent C called me to say seller was willing to let go of the unit at such-and-such a price. Later in the day, Agent A called me up very angry that Agent C had undercut him cuz he was the original one who showed me the unit. He angry at Agent C but he shouted at me. I buyer dunnoe anything, I just go with the agent who can negotiate good price for me. To make matters worse, I actually oso hv my own agent (not the agent who sold my flat). I need to work with her cuz she's my financial planner and will be handling all my financing (CPF, bank loan etc etc). We wanted to get rid of Agent C cuz he's just a middleman but since we dun hv the contact for Agent B, we had to go thru him anyway. In the end, my agent had to deal with Agent C to give him a small cut of the commission, since he was the so-call link with the exclusive agent (even tho he did nothing except make a few calls). Aiyah, I am just glad that whole episode is behind me. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jonathan.81 0 Report post Posted March 23, 2010 Hahaha, seems like a lot of complains about horrible agents here these couple of days. Check out the thread below. Also about screwed up agents...Hahahaa Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted March 23, 2010 The purchase of my condo was oso a nightmare. ................. Aiyah, I am just glad that whole episode is behind me. Wow.. how come so many agent come into the picture. Very complicated. Good that every thing went well to you. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted March 23, 2010 Hahaha, seems like a lot of complains about horrible agents here these couple of days. Check out the thread below. Also about screwed up agents...Hahahaa horrible agent is better than horrible lawyer Horrible agent , still can don't engage him horrible lawyer, how to dis-engage in the middle of transaction Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ywtlhc 0 Report post Posted March 23, 2010 (edited) horrible agent is better than horrible lawyer Horrible agent , still can don't engage him horrible lawyer, how to dis-engage in the middle of transaction Hi, I 100% agree with you. I had a horrible lawyer while purchasing my apartment in Dec'09 and i have to end up paying more. What's more, he didn't know the procedure and everything when screw up! Advise to all: Beware, get to know how the lawyers charge.. there are hidden cost u never know. Edited March 23, 2010 by ywtlhc Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted March 23, 2010 Hi, I 100% agree with you. I had a horrible lawyer while purchasing my apartment in Dec'09 and i have to end up paying more. What's more, he didn't know the procedure and everything when screw up! Advise to all: Beware, get to know how the lawyers charge.. there are hidden cost u never know. But we don't get a choice on our lawyers do we? The bank where we get loan from dictate which lawyer to use. For me I am stuck with this law firm with a nice fancy office at Cecil Road, but their service sucks. I was supposed to hv appt with a senior member of the firm, but the one who served me was this new kid who gave me wrong info on the penalty I hv to pay for paying stamp duty late. And the one who was actually very helpful and has the right answers is the secretary! I am kept in the dark on the status, and when I ask them for updates, never reply even after reminders, and when they do reply, its to ask me to sign some papers and give me 4 days notice to do it! Wah, like my hubby and I can just take time off to go down their office anytime issit??? Talking abt fees, I never did get an official 'quote' from them how much this is going to cost me. The bank only give subsidy up to $2,000. I no choice also hv to appoint them as my lawyer for my HDB transaction and tt's going to cost me $1K I better ask them to tell me in black and white how much this is going to cost. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted March 23, 2010 But we don't get a choice on our lawyers do we? The bank where we get loan from dictate which lawyer to use. not truth. You had a choice. Bank has panel of lawyer. You can use your own lawyer and ask the Bank, is your lawyer in their panel? Bank don't dictate which lawyer. Normally your banker will recommend a lawyer to you if you don't have. If you happen to use the lawyer your banker recommended. Your banker has referrer commission Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted March 23, 2010 Hi, I 100% agree with you. I had a horrible lawyer while purchasing my apartment in Dec'09 and i have to end up paying more. What's more, he didn't know the procedure and everything when screw up! Advise to all: Beware, get to know how the lawyers charge.. there are hidden cost u never know. mine is 1st. He miss the exercise OTP time. But in the end, don't know how he manage to sweet talk until the seller agree to take in the late exercise 2nd, No communication during the whole transaction. We SMS, Email. No reply 3rd, End of the transaction. NO KEY was given. They claim seller didn't give. So not their issue. In the end, we had to ask the property agent to make a copy of key for us 4th, The condo management office don't even know the unit has change owner. Until my spouse shown up at the management office to pay the maintence fee 5th, previous seller didn't return the car park device. Condo Management manager told us. If the seller don't return the device, we need to pay $200+ to get a new device. 6th, Try to charge us GST in their invoice. Luckily I check their invoice before I sign and remember the quotation does not subject to GST. more n more Lesson learn. 1. Use the lawyer that ppl has use before and recommended 2. Check and ensure the person who you interact is a lawyer. Not a business manager or whatever Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted March 23, 2010 (edited) not truth. You had a choice. Bank has panel of lawyer. You can use your own lawyer and ask the Bank, is your lawyer in their panel? Bank don't dictate which lawyer. Normally your banker will recommend a lawyer to you if you don't have. If you happen to use the lawyer your banker recommended. Your banker has referrer commission For my case, I didn't hv a choice cuz the bank insisted that we take this particular lawyer. And because we needed a bridging loan and time was not on our side, bo pian, have to follow along mbe because the seller (which was a company, not an individual) was using big shot lawyer Khattar Wong, the banker also wanted a big shot lawyer, and so I have to pay big shot fees Edited March 23, 2010 by Umaisarah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ywtlhc 0 Report post Posted March 23, 2010 mine is 1st. He miss the exercise OTP time. But in the end, don't know how he manage to sweet talk until the seller agree to take in the late exercise 2nd, No communication during the whole transaction. We SMS, Email. No reply 3rd, End of the transaction. NO KEY was given. They claim seller didn't give. So not their issue. In the end, we had to ask the property agent to make a copy of key for us 4th, The condo management office don't even know the unit has change owner. Until my spouse shown up at the management office to pay the maintence fee 5th, previous seller didn't return the car park device. Condo Management manager told us. If the seller don't return the device, we need to pay $200+ to get a new device. 6th, Try to charge us GST in their invoice. Luckily I check their invoice before I sign and remember the quotation does not subject to GST. more n more Lesson learn. 1. Use the lawyer that ppl has use before and recommended 2. Check and ensure the person who you interact is a lawyer. Not a business manager or whatever Haiz.. My story.. Bought the apart in Dec'09. Agent ask if can early completion (8weeks) as seller requested it. I have no problem regarding when the completion as i have a existing shelter. Agent recommand his lawyer and said his lawyer was able to do it. Documents was submitted as when the lawyer requested. During the 7weeks, lawyer called and said could not complete in time. No problem for me, he have to settle it. Thenn got a call from the lawyer again, he told us that the seller is charging us for the late completion! Amount to near $1k! I was super firmed of it and tell him off that I would not pay a single cent for the late charge! Guess what he said to me.. he said' oh, then your agent will bear the late charges! Some agent need to tought a lesson. Pls, is not the agent fault at all. Anyway, my agent was nice enough to bear the fine. More.... 1) Completion done, when to his office to collect keys. Handled us the invoice immediatey.. got shock to see the final figure! Duplicate document charge.. etc! 2) When to apartment, it was suppose to be empty possesion.. but all the funiture was still there 3) When to mgt office, previous owner maintence fee still have outstanding. 4) Missing gate key. & More.... You know, during the collection of keys, he mentioned that the bank subsidy cheque would come in and he will issue us a cheque back in abt 2-3week. Till now, it have been almost 3months,i have not collect anything or hear from them. Called the banker, banker say not his dept. Call lawyer, push to the bank! Just for sharing lah.. was really upset abt the standard of lawyer here... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
therat 18 Report post Posted March 23, 2010 sigh! ywthc, wondering, if we create a thread call horrible lawyer. To warn the rest, don't know will we get sue or not Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ywtlhc 0 Report post Posted March 23, 2010 (edited) sigh! ywthc, wondering, if we create a thread call horrible lawyer. To warn the rest, don't know will we get sue or not Sound good.. think as long as we did not mention the lawyers/firm should be ok. We are just giving our point of view & experience.. hehe Anyway, we have already used them and had no choice... have to used them till the completion. That time, i even want to to CASE to review on this case! haha We can't change them like agent.. lols Edited March 23, 2010 by ywtlhc Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Umaisarah 2 Report post Posted March 23, 2010 sigh! ywthc, wondering, if we create a thread call horrible lawyer. To warn the rest, don't know will we get sue or not that's a good idea. I support. As long as we nvr mention lawyer name or firm okay mah. This is 1st time I evr nd to use lawyers n had nobody to advise wats the procedure. My agent fren oso not sure. They asked us to sign so many docs I feel like I'm selling my soul to e devil Share this post Link to post Share on other sites