fencer 0 Report post Posted July 7, 2010 thats caused by the lock dropping?? what kind of lock is it? Hmm.. is those that can latch onto the gate type loh.. tink is just coincidence that it dropped at an angle and that part of the step is hollow.. so caused a crack.. But lucky also.. Ha.. then i know is hollow mah.. Ha.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted July 8, 2010 this is serious wor, the hollow part is really too much. it's like jus using the tile to cover a hole and hoping u wun notice! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted July 8, 2010 said by some1 who must be listened.. Ha.. save the trouble.. just buy.. peace... The tiles on my step is the same tiles as the kitchen floor and toilet floor tiles.. definately not the thin ceremic type. Hmm.. the tiles extends further out then the "cement block" for the steps leh.. is hollow near the edge.. isit suppose to be like that? i knock can hear hollow all along the edge of the step. btw, there's a tile at the living room wic had hollow sound at a corner.. no danger of poping or anything right? coz is the tile wic is abit raised and the grouting for that corner is abit gone oledi.. Hmm.. is those that can latch onto the gate type loh.. tink is just coincidence that it dropped at an angle and that part of the step is hollow.. so caused a crack.. But lucky also.. Ha.. then i know is hollow mah.. Ha.. this is serious wor, the hollow part is really too much. it's like jus using the tile to cover a hole and hoping u wun notice! this is horrible workmanship... i am worried for the rest of your tiles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
darkfear 0 Report post Posted July 8, 2010 this is horrible workmanship... i am worried for the rest of your tiles. aiyo you all dun make fencer le.. his lock power man! hahaha.. dammit... i bought some brand less lock.. maybe will upgrade next time haha.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted July 8, 2010 this is serious wor, the hollow part is really too much. it's like jus using the tile to cover a hole and hoping u wun notice! Hmm.. I ask Henry when he comes on monday loh.. se what he says.. hope he dun say his "kou tou chan" again.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted July 8, 2010 this is horrible workmanship... i am worried for the rest of your tiles. Wha.. now getting more worried liao.. really feel like carrothead liao.. Danger of poping tiles if cement is not put properly? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted July 8, 2010 aiyo you all dun make fencer le.. his lock power man! hahaha.. dammit... i bought some brand less lock.. maybe will upgrade next time haha.. Nevermind lah.. HA.. since buy liao.. use 1st loh.. if anything.. then get a better one.. Thinking... shld be happy that i dropped the lock? or else i won't know the hollow part of the steps liao.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jeffcraze 0 Report post Posted July 8, 2010 Nevermind lah.. HA.. since buy liao.. use 1st loh.. if anything.. then get a better one.. Thinking... shld be happy that i dropped the lock? or else i won't know the hollow part of the steps liao.. It's a blessing in disguise.. If not.. Few months down the road u will have more headaches.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted July 8, 2010 It's a blessing in disguise.. If not.. Few months down the road u will have more headaches.. Blessing coz i discovered it.. headache or not, stil depends if it is fixed after i feedbacked on monday. And other tiles wic ossify mentioned.. Hmm.. nd break more tiles??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted July 8, 2010 Wha.. now getting more worried liao.. really feel like carrothead liao.. Danger of poping tiles if cement is not put properly? A tile without any backing (otherwise known as hollow tile) is not strong. It can crack easily (which you realised) and can pop if the air trapped inside expands and contracts. It may not happen within the next 2-3 years though, which is why most reno companies will guarantee you for 1 year A tile with a flat foundation will be very strong as any force would be diffused away. That tile would not have cracked if the foundation was done properly. It may chip, but it will not pop out. Blessing coz i discovered it.. headache or not, stil depends if it is fixed after i feedbacked on monday. And other tiles wic ossify mentioned.. Hmm.. nd break more tiles??? Perhaps it would be prudent to tap the tiles to check for difference in sound. Use something metallic and blunt. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted July 8, 2010 A tile without any backing (otherwise known as hollow tile) is not strong. It can crack easily (which you realised) and can pop if the air trapped inside expands and contracts. It may not happen within the next 2-3 years though, which is why most reno companies will guarantee you for 1 year A tile with a flat foundation will be very strong as any force would be diffused away. That tile would not have cracked if the foundation was done properly. It may chip, but it will not pop out. Perhaps it would be prudent to tap the tiles to check for difference in sound. Use something metallic and blunt. Ok.. that is bad.. will ask Henry to remove the steps and redo.. will spend my weekend knocking on the tiles i can see then.. skirting also? In even that there is hollow-ness in any of the tiles in the hse, i can ask to get it changed right? or would it be the case of "is like that 1" and/or "every household also have 1 or 2" situation? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jeffcraze 0 Report post Posted July 8, 2010 In even that there is hollow-ness in any of the tiles in the hse, i can ask to get it changed right? or would it be the case of "is like that 1" and/or "every household also have 1 or 2" situation? Woah... I hope this is not wat he will say... Hmmm... Think we better check our tiles during the weekend too.. Juz joking nia.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
darkfear 0 Report post Posted July 9, 2010 Ok.. that is bad.. will ask Henry to remove the steps and redo.. will spend my weekend knocking on the tiles i can see then.. skirting also? In even that there is hollow-ness in any of the tiles in the hse, i can ask to get it changed right? or would it be the case of "is like that 1" and/or "every household also have 1 or 2" situation? zzzz heng i never go and get this henry guy... dunno why so many people think he good? good sales pitch more like it! what jason did was knock on various tiles with a coin then you will hear the difference.. sigh! all the best with him on monday! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted July 9, 2010 Ok.. that is bad.. will ask Henry to remove the steps and redo.. will spend my weekend knocking on the tiles i can see then.. skirting also? In even that there is hollow-ness in any of the tiles in the hse, i can ask to get it changed right? or would it be the case of "is like that 1" and/or "every household also have 1 or 2" situation? there is usually no need to test the skirting. you can try to pull it out, it shouldn't move. if it does... it means too little adhesive used. does your invoice state "Supply and install of 60x60cm homogenous tiles (non-hollow)"? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted July 9, 2010 Woah... I hope this is not wat he will say... Hmmm... Think we better check our tiles during the weekend too.. Juz joking nia.. Ha.. for yours, Jaskel wld be checked oledi.. Ha.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites