fencer 0 Report post Posted June 4, 2010 WOW. first thing... i just spend 2hrs reading through.. and WOW what a journey for you fencer.. just wanna let you know you got another neighbour in me! My wife and I just bought a HDB in Simei Road as well.. and the lay out is the exact mirror image of yours! was abit apprehensive because of the funny shape where our 2 bathrooms pop out into the kitchen and mbr.. but I can see you have managed to do a good design with it (not withstanding all the heartaches the ID put you through) Just wanna let you know thanks for sharing all there is to know.. all the little nitty gritty details that will help new owners like me! And I totally empathize with you... The ID should be responsible and do a good finish with the entire house.. regardless whether the cost is 40k or 4k! It's something called professionalism, apparently missing in the ID you engaged. PS: MY FIRST POST HERE!!!!! PPS: Jaskel, if you are reading this... could you PM me?? I would like to get a quotation from you Hi darkfear, welcome welcome.. paiseh abt the 2 hrs.. HA.. whaa.. got another neightbour oledi.. Ha.. wic block u at? me at 157 leh.. near the DBSS being built. NO lah.. dun tink got design at all... we left most part of the places empty coz dun like alot of fixed things in the hse and wanna leave it spacious... so most things is just bought off the shelves as and when needed.. Ha.. me and my wife also dun know how to design and mix colors so end up alot is just last min.. Henry's a contractor, not ID.. Ha.. some things i post, some would think is acceptable.. so see who looks at it bah.. All the best to your reno huh.. Rem to create a blog as well to share share... Haa.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
darkfear 0 Report post Posted June 5, 2010 To Jaskel: Hmmm... since June to Mid Jul is not packed for you how about end Jul, Aug and Sep? That's actually the time I'm looking to start work on the house too! Would it be ok I send you the house plan and then you just gimme a rough quotation as well? Thanks in advance! To fencer: yep yep i'm in block 160! abit deeper inside... it's such a headache to walk to the MRT I swear.. But I like the environment la peaceful and not as many people as tampines! could you post some pictures of your completed home? I was looking at how your basin is an L shape with your counters, and boy i'm glad it can be done! I was worried if the basin pops out will it be leaving too little space between the toilet and the basin to walk pass.. lol i see.. maybe i will try other contractors like patrick from ho bee. it seems he hasn't gotten anything bad...yet! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jeffcraze 0 Report post Posted June 5, 2010 To Jaskel: Hmmm... since June to Mid Jul is not packed for you how about end Jul, Aug and Sep? That's actually the time I'm looking to start work on the house too! Would it be ok I send you the house plan and then you just gimme a rough quotation as well? Thanks in advance! To fencer: yep yep i'm in block 160! abit deeper inside... it's such a headache to walk to the MRT I swear.. But I like the environment la peaceful and not as many people as tampines! could you post some pictures of your completed home? I was looking at how your basin is an L shape with your counters, and boy i'm glad it can be done! I was worried if the basin pops out will it be leaving too little space between the toilet and the basin to walk pass.. lol i see.. maybe i will try other contractors like patrick from ho bee. it seems he hasn't gotten anything bad...yet! Welcome to Simei & RT! Me also living in Simei.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
darkfear 0 Report post Posted June 5, 2010 Welcome to Simei & RT! Me also living in Simei.. HI Jeff! Thanks thanks... cool to get to know people from the neighbourhood now without even having moved in yet haha! which block are you at?? maybe we can all meet up for dinner someday lol... not that simei has alot of food to offer unfortunately... but i'm really glad that there's a phoon huat there (baking needs place) cos my wife and I like to dabble in desserts and stuff lol! so how's reno coming along by the way?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
titanax 0 Report post Posted June 5, 2010 (edited) To Jaskel: Hmmm... since June to Mid Jul is not packed for you how about end Jul, Aug and Sep? That's actually the time I'm looking to start work on the house too! Would it be ok I send you the house plan and then you just gimme a rough quotation as well? Thanks in advance! congratulations! i see a fan club forming Edited June 5, 2010 by titanax Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jeffcraze 0 Report post Posted June 5, 2010 HI Jeff! Thanks thanks... cool to get to know people from the neighbourhood now without even having moved in yet haha! which block are you at?? maybe we can all meet up for dinner someday lol... not that simei has alot of food to offer unfortunately... but i'm really glad that there's a phoon huat there (baking needs place) cos my wife and I like to dabble in desserts and stuff lol! so how's reno coming along by the way?? It's cool to know ppl in the neighbourhood even b4 shifting! Me at 13x there. Phoon huat? Got ma? Think I have been missing it.. My reno? Starting carpentry next week, if I am not wrong.. Also electrical, air-con and plumbing works ba.. me also blur blur.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jeffcraze 0 Report post Posted June 5, 2010 congratulations! i see a fan club forming Hurhur... Jaskel's fan club eh? Muz start collecting advertising fees from jaskel le.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
darkfear 0 Report post Posted June 6, 2010 wah... u can blur blur means jaskel super duper on the ball.. hahaha sounds good! hope your house would be fantastic man! anyway do you guys think around simei not many amenities ah... i mean there's only eastpoint/ntuc, then nothing liao.. I am hoping maybe we can speak to town council and get them to build like a supermarket or something similar in the empty plot of land next to 155! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted June 6, 2010 To Jaskel: Hmmm... since June to Mid Jul is not packed for you how about end Jul, Aug and Sep? That's actually the time I'm looking to start work on the house too! Would it be ok I send you the house plan and then you just gimme a rough quotation as well? Thanks in advance! To fencer: yep yep i'm in block 160! abit deeper inside... it's such a headache to walk to the MRT I swear.. But I like the environment la peaceful and not as many people as tampines! could you post some pictures of your completed home? I was looking at how your basin is an L shape with your counters, and boy i'm glad it can be done! I was worried if the basin pops out will it be leaving too little space between the toilet and the basin to walk pass.. lol i see.. maybe i will try other contractors like patrick from ho bee. it seems he hasn't gotten anything bad...yet! Ha.. no lah.. is depending how big the sink u wanna get, can get smaller ones if you wan.. for mine, 2 person can passby it side by side although abit cramp.. HA.. stil ok lah.. i like simei coz centre of upper changi road also mah.. can go either way.. walking distance of coz is only east point.. can take bus to tam side there also.. the tam cc there..ok.. my hse stil not "complete" leh.. HAha.. can arrange a day for u to come see see if u wan.. but things not packed yet though.. congratulations! i see a fan club forming HA.. SImei fan club or Jaskel fan club?.. if Jaskel fan club.. i cannot join liao leh.. HAhaha.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
titanax 0 Report post Posted June 6, 2010 HA.. SImei fan club or Jaskel fan club?.. if Jaskel fan club.. i cannot join liao leh.. HAhaha.. Do an extreme makeover & you can join, you can call it "The Dos & Don't of home renovation - Positive & Negative Demonstrations brought to you exclusively by Fencer"!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted June 6, 2010 (edited) Do an extreme makeover & you can join, you can call it "The Dos & Don't of home renovation - Positive & Negative Demonstrations brought to you exclusively by Fencer"!! Ha.. already burn a super big and deep hole oledi.. nd to save up again for reno loh.. but sure Jaskel would be on my top guy to do reno next tm round.. HA.. Hmm.. or i re-define Jaskel fan club as 1 who appreciates Jaskel as a contractor.. Ha.. good right.. then sure alot ppl more ppl wld join oledi.. Edited June 6, 2010 by fencer Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jeffcraze 0 Report post Posted June 7, 2010 (edited) Ha.. already burn a super big and deep hole oledi.. nd to save up again for reno loh.. but sure Jaskel would be on my top guy to do reno next tm round.. HA.. Hmm.. or i re-define Jaskel fan club as 1 who appreciates Jaskel as a contractor.. Ha.. good right.. then sure alot ppl more ppl wld join oledi.. Yup! Edited June 7, 2010 by jeffcraze Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
darkfear 0 Report post Posted June 7, 2010 Ha.. no lah.. is depending how big the sink u wanna get, can get smaller ones if you wan.. for mine, 2 person can passby it side by side although abit cramp.. HA.. stil ok lah.. i like simei coz centre of upper changi road also mah.. can go either way.. walking distance of coz is only east point.. can take bus to tam side there also.. the tam cc there..ok.. my hse stil not "complete" leh.. HAha.. can arrange a day for u to come see see if u wan.. but things not packed yet though.. HA.. SImei fan club or Jaskel fan club?.. if Jaskel fan club.. i cannot join liao leh.. HAhaha.. hmm don't mind I ask how big your sink ah? haha... is it comfortable to use and wash maybe a wok in it? hai now very very headache on what to do.. re-tiling or epoxy painting or spray coating!!!??? so many questions.. sigh! thanks so much for the offer!!! i will definitely drop by when i finally get my keys haha.. btw im 162 lol! not 160.. even deeper in zzzz.. but i tink in 5 years time got value leh when the 4th uni pop up! hopefully they will upgrade the area too! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted June 7, 2010 (edited) hmm don't mind I ask how big your sink ah? haha... is it comfortable to use and wash maybe a wok in it? hai now very very headache on what to do.. re-tiling or epoxy painting or spray coating!!!??? so many questions.. sigh! thanks so much for the offer!!! i will definitely drop by when i finally get my keys haha.. btw im 162 lol! not 160.. even deeper in zzzz.. but i tink in 5 years time got value leh when the 4th uni pop up! hopefully they will upgrade the area too! Is about 800mm width.. 1 big and small sink.. can pm me your email and i'll send u the brochure for it.. got the dimension also.. Hmm.. wok can.. but depends how big is your wok bah.. 1 of the prob having the L shape with the sink at the corner is water tend to splash to the floor if u on the water full blast.. so u need to be careful loh.. my tap is water saving so max is also small.. HAhah.. got good and bad loh.. bad is wash things slow.. good is minium splashing of water.. you can get those single sink also.. not sure the biggest what's the size.. You need to decide some things 1st bah.. e.g heavy cook? therefore heavy washing as well. using induction cooking? etc etc.. with these then u can decide what u wanna have.. Ha.. can have water resistance spary on walls like jeffcraze.. so no nd tile the whole kitchen? can read up on more blogs to get ideas and what can be done.. 162 also near lah.. Ha... upgrade the pl but hope dun make it too noisy.. coz alot ppl like it coz is peaceful there.. HA.. Edited June 8, 2010 by fencer Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted June 7, 2010 Yup! Ha... jeffcraze.. tink u can be the president of Jaskel Fan Club.. since your hse is done by Jaskel... dun know who's hse is also done by Jaskel mah.. Ha.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites