blueocean 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2010 hmm ... wah .. you contractor is testing you on HDB regulations ? is it MCQ or short answers ? i think every owner need to study before starting renovations lor ... That is what my good contractor is doing loh.. testing my knowledge in HDB/BCA rules and regulations.. Ha.. contractors need hse owners to pay them to do a job.. hse owners gladly do so since saves alot of trouble.. that's a cycle.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueocean 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2010 Actually, if your contractor is giving you so much problems, why dont you see your friendly Member of Parliament at the meet-the-people session and see what they can do for you. I think consumers deserve more protection and should regulate the renovation industry further. Is there a case of mispresentation or fraud here by the contractor? I dont think doing a renovation should end up being so complex and stressful. After all, you are not even gaining anything from this situation and what you want is simply to get what you paid for. isit so hard to cooperate and just give a full name if the installer? Is there anything to hide? Of coz I am not implying it at all. Who in the right mind would do that right? Forgot to mention that i asked him y he is rushing when he had given me time to oct as mentioned in his email. He said must be mistype. Who In the right mind would gv so long a period. I was thinking also, who in the right mind would say the window is ok, new door wic comes with marks and hole is ok also, scratch on cabinet door is ok, cracked tile is ok. Is so easy to just feigh ignorance while it is written in email and is black and white? I mst wait for him to write another email to void the previous email so can move the date up and down as he pleased. He called me and I was so stupid to pick it up. Tot he called to be nice and cooperate with me so can get things settled asap. End up he is stil the same. Like to talk his own while I was talking. My patient is running thin also. Think I would just send letter of demand to him. Sigh. Some ppl just dun change. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2010 hmm ... wah .. you contractor is testing you on HDB regulations ? is it MCQ or short answers ? i think every owner need to study before starting renovations lor ... Ha.. requirement only the previleged few (those who's head is bad of carrots) bah.. Ha.. Actually, if your contractor is giving you so much problems, why dont you see your friendly Member of Parliament at the meet-the-people session and see what they can do for you. I think consumers deserve more protection and should regulate the renovation industry further. Is there a case of mispresentation or fraud here by the contractor? I dont think doing a renovation should end up being so complex and stressful. After all, you are not even gaining anything from this situation and what you want is simply to get what you paid for. Hmm.. is more of forcing me to pay for damaged goods.. dun know considered mispresentation or fraud or others.. e.g.. i order a bag online.. delivered a patched-up bag.. i feedback say change since i expecting a bag wic has no patches.. boss says bag can carry things... is ok since bag does it's job described as a bag so pay up... Government would do something when more ppl speak up and make noise.. until then, individuals have to defend themselves bah.. I'll consider also the meet-the-people session to bring awareness up.. Also be sending emails to my friends to read this post so they are more aware of the things to watch out for.. Good things must share mah.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueocean 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2010 Yup ! There should be more awareness about all these issues. Recently i was reading the forum about how some people had bad experiences in buying furniture - the shop practiced a form of "bait and switch" sales tactic eg they bait you to put a deposit and then influence you to switch to another product that has a higher profit margin for them. Besides buying a property, the next biggest expense is home renovations (besides wedding) and is something everyone would have to spend. Consumers deserve much better than what we are getting now .... Ha.. requirement only the previleged few (those who's head is bad of carrots) bah.. Ha.. Hmm.. is more of forcing me to pay for damaged goods.. dun know considered mispresentation or fraud or others.. e.g.. i order a bag online.. delivered a patched-up bag.. i feedback say change since i expecting a bag wic has no patches.. boss says bag can carry things... is ok since bag does it's job described as a bag so pay up... Government would do something when more ppl speak up and make noise.. until then, individuals have to defend themselves bah.. I'll consider also the meet-the-people session to bring awareness up.. Also be sending emails to my friends to read this post so they are more aware of the things to watch out for.. Good things must share mah.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2010 Yup ! There should be more awareness about all these issues. Recently i was reading the forum about how some people had bad experiences in buying furniture - the shop practiced a form of "bait and switch" sales tactic eg they bait you to put a deposit and then influence you to switch to another product that has a higher profit margin for them. Besides buying a property, the next biggest expense is home renovations (besides wedding) and is something everyone would have to spend. Consumers deserve much better than what we are getting now .... wonder if any1 compiled a readme online for all these issues on reno.. Read abt it also... wonder how they keep themselves in bz.. Totally agree. Coz everyone would need to reno... that is where those bad contractors/ID comes in to do bz.. THey can just stand there and advertise and some ppl sure walk into your arms.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted May 27, 2010 wonder if any1 compiled a readme online for all these issues on reno.. Read abt it also... wonder how they keep themselves in bz.. Totally agree. Coz everyone would need to reno... that is where those bad contractors/ID comes in to do bz.. THey can just stand there and advertise and some ppl sure walk into your arms.. Maybe it's time for RT to create a wiki for the compilation of the information. It would help the users. Otherwise, they have to sieve hundreds or thousands RT pages. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted May 27, 2010 Maybe it's time for RT to create a wiki for the compilation of the information. It would help the users. Otherwise, they have to sieve hundreds or thousands RT pages. Wonder RT will consider engaging me not? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted May 27, 2010 RT also can engage me for IT consultation for this wiki Wonder RT will consider engaging me not? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2010 (edited) RT also can engage me for IT consultation for this wiki Haa.. RT, if you're reading this... there's a few talented responsible "advisors" here... for employment or part time basis.. Or mayb the "advicers" shld group up and start a new wiki entry? Edited May 28, 2010 by fencer Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2010 (edited) Hmm... My temporary door at the main entrance (aka 1 big plank of wood + 2 hinges + 8 nails) cost $210.. Mayb the majority of the cost went to the chain with number lock? Should have kept the chain for future use.. so sad.. Edited May 28, 2010 by fencer Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jeffcraze 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2010 Hmm... My temporary door at the main entrance (aka 1 big plank of wood + 2 hinges + 8 nails) cost $210.. Mayb the majority of the cost went to the chain with number lock? Should have kept the chain for future use.. so sad.. wah.. wat happended to yr door? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2010 wah.. wat happended to yr door? Oh.. no lah.. is during the period where the old door was taken down and new door ready yet.. Ha.. Mentioned before that i was told is to be hoarding mah.. so tot is that ex.. end up is 1 super big plank only.. but stil same price after i queried.. but hack lah.. there are bigger fires to fight now.. HA.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted May 28, 2010 If we group up, we'll have an new website .. RenoWiki.com To apply for an account, must have a good RT t-blog first. I feel a wiki could be effective to gather all the info. I have been in RT for 6 months (short period) but I have seen ppl keep askign the same questions again and again. Haa.. RT, if you're reading this... there's a few talented responsible "advisors" here... for employment or part time basis.. Or mayb the "advicers" shld group up and start a new wiki entry? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueocean 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2010 Cos difficult to search for info ... so easier to ask again ... If we group up, we'll have an new website .. RenoWiki.com To apply for an account, must have a good RT t-blog first. I feel a wiki could be effective to gather all the info. I have been in RT for 6 months (short period) but I have seen ppl keep askign the same questions again and again. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 29, 2010 If we group up, we'll have an new website .. RenoWiki.com To apply for an account, must have a good RT t-blog first. I feel a wiki could be effective to gather all the info. I have been in RT for 6 months (short period) but I have seen ppl keep askign the same questions again and again. Hi ngunadi.. meaning is a new website? or a subsection in RenoTalk Forum so need a good RT blog? Cos difficult to search for info ... so easier to ask again ... Ha.. i confess i'm also one of them coz is really a hassle to got through entries of over 10 pages of a single blog.. end up i just random pick blog for reading.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites