hcbing 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2010 Hmm.. i also didn't find out abt the certification of the electrician.. so "Cross"my fingers".. Ha.. Comsumers are ignorant on these issues, but that is why there are jobs for contractors and IDs. They are the 1s who are suppose to be better or well versed in such things. If we consumers have the same knowledge, know wic sub-cons to use and how things are done, would there be a need for contractor or ID? But good to learn when information is provided.. Thanks blueocean.. Well, I have a totally different view on this. I make it a point and my goal to find out what goes on and what I need to know about the works, albeit not exactly or as detailed as actual contractors/IDs etc. Why should I bother to find out about this or spend time to learn all these? So that I won't get "chopped" that's why. I really beg to differ that consumers are ignorant about this. That's the very reason why there are so many forumers here that contribute on what they know here. It's because they have learnt it the hard way in the first place or for lots of cases, they researched quite a lot for their own renovation. At the end of the day, why aren't I the one doing all the renovation then? For me, I just feel I can't do it alone...that's why. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2010 Hi all, It is unfortunate that the happy intent to renovate ended up with both parties being adversarial to each other. I think it is inevitable that we sometimes have friction with one another in the course of our work and if we can assume that all are reasonable people, I would like to propose the following: 1. Fencer and Henry speak through a rep (can be a forumer that knows both parties and are willing to help) about the defects and each other side of the story purely from the basis of resolving the impasses rather than assigning blame. Each party giving way to one another is important eg. instead of insisting on 10% payment after solving the defects, Fencer could pay 5% upfront and pay final 5% when the works are completed. 2. The rep gets back to the Fencer and Henry and conveyed what is needed to be done. eg. cut a small hole to drain out water in the alum window frame, etc.. If both parties accept the solution, we have a closure and everyone moves on. There will be no need to spend money to hire lawyers and attend court hearings when the issues could be resolved out of court. Whoever is right is immaterial because both parties lose and lose tremendously when the case is battled in court. If what I suggest don't make sense, feel free to ignore it. Hmm.. i only got til end of May to settle all things. I don't think would be useful to use reps.. coz information from 2 3rd party and back, sure there would be miscomm.. 1) Either he complete everything within these 2 weeks or i ask other contractor to do and minus the expense from the 10%. The rest would be returned to him. 2) They already cut alot of holes.. including the last row wic lets in more water to bath the silicon in rain water wic is covering the rivet to prevent leaks. Well.. i hope it can be settled also coz is affecting my hse wic i bought.. and is causing stress to my wife as well.. But then, he is the 1 sueing me leh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2010 Bro fencer, after following your t-blog for sometime, I do notice one thing that surprises me time and time again. You always seem to write having the impression that Henry does not inspect regularly enough or whenever you feel he should or that he even doesn't know what's going on in your house? I'm not really sure how it actually came about to this, but as far as my reno go (70% done so far)...I have never felt this way even once. Henry always update me on what's going on in my house and vice versa I update him as often on what I do observe or see whenever I'm there. I ask tons of questions...curious questions about what's going on now, what's gonna happen tomorrow or the next few days after. I came up with my own renovation schedule, compares with what Henry has, discuss over it and see what suits best for both parties. I always ask alot of blur questions about reno-related stuff and always have I got an answer that gives me peace of mind at the end of the day. I call Henry every single day. 3-4 times on average daily whenever there are things to be done on that particular day. I go through with him on what's gonna happen, how it's gonna be done and what results would I be expecting. All these are always done in a very friendly way and never to demand just because I'm a paying customer. Now, I do see that things have started to turn ugly. Lots of emotions at play here especially for fencer since it concerns his home. I don't know 'bout you, bro...but for me...what matters most is that I have a home that I'm happy with and to live in. There will be imperfections here and there with my own home but I do have other great things to boast about at the end of the day. I wouldn't want to have someone hounding on me either or have ill feelings thereafter. Don't see the point, if I'm gonna remember this moment in my life when I move in to my first very own home to be a good one to say the least. Just my thoughts on the whole issue. Hmm.. i also asked him dumb questions.. at 1 point, i asked him if the bottom and top of the door covered since my main door kana rain water easily. He said yes. i ask him about other doors also.. he also said yes.. after 2 weeks, i bought a ladder to start cleaning the hse, and discover all the doors top and bottom is open and unprotected.. i asked him again, he said is like that. Cannot do anything oledi.. Last i encounter, he called abt the installation of the broken toilet basin. Day 1, the guy broke it. Day 2, i went to see see. and it was up oledi. Day 3 or 4.. i forgot, Henry called to arrange a time to install basin. i told him is already installed. He said isit.. oh.. ok then.. The last painting rectification.. he told the painter to do this and that.. i checked next day.. not done.. day after not done.. was tinking mayb bz or rescheduled.. wait and wait while i started cleaning the hse.. When Henry called me last fri.. he told me i shld hv told him that it is not done.. means after that day with the painter, he did not come down at all.. And i can say for my hse. he did not know exactly what was done, at least for the 2 month on.. i was there more of the time.. no prob.. when i met him and ask him, there are conflicting answers.. Ha.. mayb he was bz with all other projects loh.. i also dun knw y only i kana this.. when other hses he did is ok.. Imperfection is there.. and me and my wife and agreed to just live with it to save time and effort.. but not those wic would cause us future problem loh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2010 Well, I have a totally different view on this. I make it a point and my goal to find out what goes on and what I need to know about the works, albeit not exactly or as detailed as actual contractors/IDs etc. Why should I bother to find out about this or spend time to learn all these? So that I won't get "chopped" that's why. I really beg to differ that consumers are ignorant about this. That's the very reason why there are so many forumers here that contribute on what they know here. It's because they have learnt it the hard way in the first place or for lots of cases, they researched quite a lot for their own renovation. At the end of the day, why aren't I the one doing all the renovation then? For me, I just feel I can't do it alone...that's why. Sorry.. i was mentioned the details of the window testing, at what angle tiles shld be laid.. where 1st.. etc.. those more technical stuff.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2010 My HP message to him at 11.14am. "FYI. I b going down to the hse tonight to take pics with my bro-in-law. If you wish to discuss the matter, please be at the voide deck of my hse or next block at 7.30om tonight. For any future correspondment, pls contact me via sms or email for transparency sake. Thanks you and have a nice day." I had taken 1 step back. And i hope he do so also.. so now is up to him bah.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted May 18, 2010 Maybe U like to add in the point that henry did mention that he allow u to hold the balance of the window till it is fully rectify and to be fair to him u need to clear the remaining balance of the rest of the item . Never mind. It's alright . Can understand . Story are mean to be told 1 sided . if its me, i will want to hold the balance as well. Wouldn't you if things have gotten to such a ugly stage? If they are still on good terms, can consider lah...but now? Balance for windows should be quite little, probably lower than the cost of issuing a lawyer letter... At this stage, everyone wants to protect their own interest...be it henry or fencer. Hi Simon, i know you are trying to help. Are you sure Henry is telling you everything about the matter? How much is the rectification for window? $100? They had cut more holes and more holes do not mean water can flow upwards. I'm asking for a replacement and to level the window ledge and the frame to be mounted onto the wall. Yes.. is fair to pay him the rest once everything is all good... but isit the case now? Who can assure that i pay him all other money and end up he dun care anymore since left only like a few hundred $$? To clarify 1 more thing . Henry allow fencer to hold the payment on the window (full charges for the window) - not a few hundreds but few thousands (whatever the cost of the window) since fencer didn't happy with the window and make a final decision to accept or reject totally (after meeting the big boss) Again fencer tot that it's the remaining balance of the window (10% of window ?) Miscommunication ? I suppose. But again ? It doesn't matter anymore . Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2010 To clarify 1 more thing . Henry allow fencer to hold the payment on the window (full charges for the window) - not a few hundreds but few thousands (whatever the cost of the window) since fencer didn't happy with the window and make a final decision to accept or reject totally (after meeting the big boss) Again fencer tot that it's the remaining balance of the window (10% of window ?) Miscommunication ? I suppose. But again ? It doesn't matter anymore . Henry did not, at any point of time, say what is the amount i can hold back for the window. I simply don't want accept coz i dun know how much is the total cost of the replacement until i get a quotation. And is temporary told back the amount until the "big boss" decide to rectify or not.. If "big-boss" says is ok and just punch more holes, does it mean i need to pay the rest Henry since is "job well done" and is reno is completed? End? nothing is replaced as request and i pay up all.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueocean 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2010 The holding back of a sum of money as a % of the contract value is within norms of the building industry as it is a form of performance surety. It doesnt matter how much the window cost leh ... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2010 The holding back of a sum of money as a % of the contract value is within norms of the building industry as it is a form of performance surety. It doesnt matter how much the window cost leh ... Agreed. As alot ppl is telling me, wic alot ppl is suggesting as well. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2010 To clarify 1 more thing . Henry allow fencer to hold the payment on the window (full charges for the window) - not a few hundreds but few thousands (whatever the cost of the window) since fencer didn't happy with the window and make a final decision to accept or reject totally (after meeting the big boss) Again fencer tot that it's the remaining balance of the window (10% of window ?) Miscommunication ? I suppose. But again ? It doesn't matter anymore . Henry did not, at any point of time, say what is the amount i can hold back for the window. I simply don't want accept coz i dun know how much is the total cost of the replacement until i get a quotation. And is temporary told back the amount until the "big boss" decide to rectify or not.. If "big-boss" says is ok and just punch more holes, does it mean i need to pay the rest Henry since is "job well done" and is reno is completed? End? nothing is replaced as request and i pay up all.. then you may wanna clarify with henry on the exact cost - if he means full cost of window (or window grills, or both) - rather than "simply dun accept" his proposal. if Simon indeed understands him correctly, then that can easily be 5-10% of your total reno cost liaoz. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2010 then you may wanna clarify with henry on the exact cost - if he means full cost of window (or window grills, or both) - rather than "simply dun accept" his proposal. if Simon indeed understands him correctly, then that can easily be 5-10% of your total reno cost liaoz. Ok. I'll ask him abt this tonite. If he appears in the 1st pl. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2010 My HP message to him at 11.14am. "FYI. I b going down to the hse tonight to take pics with my bro-in-law. If you wish to discuss the matter, please be at the voide deck of my hse or next block at 7.30om tonight. For any future correspondment, pls contact me via sms or email for transparency sake. Thanks you and have a nice day." I had taken 1 step back. And i hope he do so also.. so now is up to him bah.. Still no answer. Have just resend the MSG to him again. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
budgetice 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2010 why dont u tell us how much are u holding back? A letter of demand is cheap... but if they proceed with the writ of summons, then ur legal cost will add up to a few thousands. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted May 18, 2010 why dont u tell us how much are u holding back? A letter of demand is cheap... but if they proceed with the writ of summons, then ur legal cost will add up to a few thousands. If i'm not wrong...$38K reno, holding last payment of 10% = $3.8K, think fencer should be holding close to this amt. So for this amt to source it out for other to do, if need to, for that area only, most likely, others will charge higher than normal. Still need to take into consider of the window grille too and lastly the touch up paintwork after installation. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueocean 0 Report post Posted May 18, 2010 If last payment is only $3.8k, it wouldnt make sense for the contractor to engage a lawyer to serve a writ of summons A lot of time and $ wasted for this amount though ... Anyway, need to file a memorandum within a week on receiving the writ of summons ... Then got 3 weeks to find lawyer to file a defence and counterclaims to magistrates' court ... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites