Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted May 14, 2010 Maybe U like to add in the point that henry did mention that he allow u to hold the balance of the window till it is fully rectify and to be fair to him u need to clear the remaining balance of the rest of the item . Never mind. It's alright . Can understand . Story are mean to be told 1 sided . Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2010 Henry said that the last 1 i talked to on his phone is the supervisor (Only). Now call "big boss" to come down liao.. i ask why last tm no ask directly some1 who can make decision. of coz skipped the answering part.. and said is the same to all mah.. nd some1 to come down to see what to rectify. i ask isit if tile got prob, i need to talk to tile company boss. Piping got prob, i need to talk piping company boss. And not surprisingly, he said of coz.. he like that 1 mah.. blah.. blah.. i would say he is very irresponsible to say that. U engaged him to coordinate, but u still need to liaise with the respective bosses? How can it be? Coordinating is HIS job. The whole purpose of hiring an ID is to coordinate for you so that we only talk to 1 person. Its quite sad that things have to get to such a stage, take care man... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2010 Maybe U like to add in the point that henry did mention that he allow u to hold the balance of the window till it is fully rectify and to be fair to him u need to clear the remaining balance of the rest of the item . Never mind. It's alright . Can understand . Story are mean to be told 1 sided . if its me, i will want to hold the balance as well. Wouldn't you if things have gotten to such a ugly stage? If they are still on good terms, can consider lah...but now? Balance for windows should be quite little, probably lower than the cost of issuing a lawyer letter... At this stage, everyone wants to protect their own interest...be it henry or fencer. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
budgetice 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2010 Maybe U like to add in the point that henry did mention that he allow u to hold the balance of the window till it is fully rectify and to be fair to him u need to clear the remaining balance of the rest of the item . Never mind. It's alright . Can understand . Story are mean to be told 1 sided . just curious, how come you know the details as well? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted May 14, 2010 just curious, how come you know the details as well? Cos I like to hear 2 side of story. Lesson learn after plastering issue . It's alright . Nothing matter anyway cheer. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
budgetice 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2010 I see... no offence... just curious. Communication is very impt in renovation especially when there are so many calls and sms each day. My ID removed our wrought iron gate from our reno plan.. luckily we saw it and have it reinstated. Just hope things can get sorted out here. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted May 14, 2010 I see... no offence... just curious. Communication is very impt in renovation especially when there are so many calls and sms each day. My ID removed our wrought iron gate from our reno plan.. luckily we saw it and have it reinstated. Just hope things can get sorted out here. No lah . Y must I feel offence ? Glad that you have it reinstall That it's serious if they throw it away sia. But nothing serious as compare to Possible window leakage after 3 yrs warranty period . Possible leakage sia . That's serious u know Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2010 i would say he is very irresponsible to say that. U engaged him to coordinate, but u still need to liaise with the respective bosses? How can it be? Coordinating is HIS job. The whole purpose of hiring an ID is to coordinate for you so that we only talk to 1 person. yea this is the ideal situation, but there are still times when there is a need to talk to subcons directly. see my explanation to fencer in a later post. on the other hands, there are some pple who prefer to talk to subcon cos things can get done faster. it really depends on individual preference. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marshmallow 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2010 fencer, just would like to suggest some possible scenarios. could it be that the window subcon is insisting their product has no problem? this is the reason why "the big boss must see for himself". sometimes, the subcon does not feel the heat of complaint from customer becos they are shielded by the main con (like Henry, who will get your first round of firing). Main con needs customer's help to pressure the subcon so they will buck up and get the job done. in this case, henry needs your help to push the window guy. if you insist on a timeline that he can't commit (he can't chain the window guy to your house, rite?), or if you do not want to meet the window subcon, then you're not helping yourself, brother... well, i'm a noob at house reno too, just that this kind of situation happens in real construction projects, it can happen to HDB reno too. i'm not trying to defend henry here, i just hope to offer a different perspective for you. reno is a lot of money and emotions involved, sometimes we need to step back and look at the bigger picture. now your focus should be to get the window problem solve, though it may not fit your schedule, but these few days delay is better than living with possible leaking windows, rite? my $0.02 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
infinitie 0 Report post Posted May 15, 2010 Hi Fencer, Is that a drop down? I tot this is not approved by HDB? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hcbing 0 Report post Posted May 15, 2010 Hi Fencer, Is that a drop down? I tot this is not approved by HDB? Hi infinitie, drop-down at shower area is approved. That's usually where the shower screen is placed. Cheers! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
infinitie 0 Report post Posted May 15, 2010 Hi infinitie, drop-down at shower area is approved. That's usually where the shower screen is placed. Cheers! oh really, that's good. Our ID told us it's approved as well and even mentioned that they take the risk if it's not. However, it also depend on the level between the wet and dry area as well as floor level outside the toilet... something like that. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueocean 0 Report post Posted May 15, 2010 I was reading this trend with interest ... Most of the work that is done by IDs are in fact general contractors offering consumers a "design and build" contract, whereby the the contractor undertakes the responsibility to design and build. The consumer therefore only needs to have one contract with one company to renovate his place versus having multiple contracts with different companies (eg painter, ceiling works, tiling company). The purpose of having one main contractor is so that the responsibility is clear - the design and completion of the project to a reasonable workmanship standard. This avoids the situation whereby where there are multiple contracts involved and each one with blame each other for the problems. Would it be funny if we bought a house from the developer (who develops it via sub-contracting it to builders etc) and when you collect the keys and the window falls apart, tells us that we have to speak to the individual sub-contractor instead ? Fortunately for new houses, consumers are also protected by the Housing Developers Act which provides for a defect liability period. Back to the original point, consumers are usually on the losing end when doing renovations as most contracts are one sided and does not include any liquidated damages clauses. Most contractors also "cherry pick" the least knowledgeable consumers as there is so much work available for them to do. In building projects, developers are well protected because there is so many safety mechanisms for them eg performance bonds whereby the contractors are not paid if specified standards are not met. fencer, just would like to suggest some possible scenarios. could it be that the window subcon is insisting their product has no problem? this is the reason why "the big boss must see for himself". sometimes, the subcon does not feel the heat of complaint from customer becos they are shielded by the main con (like Henry, who will get your first round of firing). Main con needs customer's help to pressure the subcon so they will buck up and get the job done. in this case, henry needs your help to push the window guy. if you insist on a timeline that he can't commit (he can't chain the window guy to your house, rite?), or if you do not want to meet the window subcon, then you're not helping yourself, brother... well, i'm a noob at house reno too, just that this kind of situation happens in real construction projects, it can happen to HDB reno too. i'm not trying to defend henry here, i just hope to offer a different perspective for you. reno is a lot of money and emotions involved, sometimes we need to step back and look at the bigger picture. now your focus should be to get the window problem solve, though it may not fit your schedule, but these few days delay is better than living with possible leaking windows, rite? my $0.02 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 15, 2010 (edited) Maybe U like to add in the point that henry did mention that he allow u to hold the balance of the window till it is fully rectify and to be fair to him u need to clear the remaining balance of the rest of the item . Never mind. It's alright . Can understand . Story are mean to be told 1 sided . Hi Simon, i know you are trying to help. Are you sure Henry is telling you everything about the matter? How much is the rectification for window? $100? They had cut more holes and more holes do not mean water can flow upwards. I'm asking for a replacement and to level the window ledge and the frame to be mounted onto the wall. Yes.. is fair to pay him the rest once everything is all good... but isit the case now? i would say he is very irresponsible to say that. U engaged him to coordinate, but u still need to liaise with the respective bosses? How can it be? Coordinating is HIS job. The whole purpose of hiring an ID is to coordinate for you so that we only talk to 1 person. Its quite sad that things have to get to such a stage, take care man... fencer, just would like to suggest some possible scenarios. could it be that the window subcon is insisting their product has no problem? this is the reason why "the big boss must see for himself". sometimes, the subcon does not feel the heat of complaint from customer becos they are shielded by the main con (like Henry, who will get your first round of firing). Main con needs customer's help to pressure the subcon so they will buck up and get the job done. in this case, henry needs your help to push the window guy. if you insist on a timeline that he can't commit (he can't chain the window guy to your house, rite?), or if you do not want to meet the window subcon, then you're not helping yourself, brother... well, i'm a noob at house reno too, just that this kind of situation happens in real construction projects, it can happen to HDB reno too. i'm not trying to defend henry here, i just hope to offer a different perspective for you. reno is a lot of money and emotions involved, sometimes we need to step back and look at the bigger picture. now your focus should be to get the window problem solve, though it may not fit your schedule, but these few days delay is better than living with possible leaking windows, rite? my $0.02 There are times when we need to talk to the sub-con directly, wic i am willing. Like electrical rewiring, wic i met and discuss the layout and any changes i call him straight and is rectified immed (Luckily i coordinate the rewiring.. Phew..). If from the start i need talk to the guy in charge who can make decision, i dun mind.. after dragging the matter on the window for so almost 1 month, now Henry says "big-boss" nd to come down and see what to rectify. y? And i said to ask the "big-boss" to call me straight so i can expedit the matter.. can discuss w him, send him pics etc.. Henry die die dun wan him to contact me.. is there something to hide? Is Henry, whom i employ to be my contractor, working his best for my interest to get the window fixed? Who can assure that i pay him all other money and end up he dun care anymore since left only like a few hundred $$? Henry mentioned that if i feedback, he wld get some1 down to fix immed.. wic is not his character to drag.. wic i dun see.. yes, he get things fixed quick.. but is those wic require quick fix. I insist crack being replaced.. Is stil not mah.. isn't he the person who is in charge and deciding? Now he is mixing all the things (decide to fix what, when, drag, decid i nd talk to big boss) to his own benefit. whre's mine? I dun mind paying all the $$, i just what a proper reno.. so hard? btw... i had not mentioned abt the scratches on almost all the cabinet doors in the kitchen, either the gate or the main door frame is crooked, water wld accumulate (coz tile is tilted) behind guest room door, fridge corner and base and washin machine corner where it shld be levelled so that water is drained towards the drainage hole. And to clarify, i had 2 or 3 times volunteered to take lve to supervise and ensure things are done sui sui.. wic he said no need. He changed his saying once a while to suit him.. Is my interest as a paying customer protected? Shld i just pay him the rest of the $$ just coz he said the hse is good to live in and to him, nothing else nd to rectify? even though i do not think so? And threaten me w a lawyer letter? So since i have not much time left, i shld just accept it? Who can assure that i pay him all other money and end up he dun care anymore since left only like a few hundred $$ and i am stuck with the window? My qn, if things had dragged for so long, y cannot just wait for a while til the window is fixed before paying all the rest? is not as if i had hold on $10k payment. I had infact paid him $30k++ already.. Edited May 15, 2010 by fencer Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 15, 2010 oh really, that's good. Our ID told us it's approved as well and even mentioned that they take the risk if it's not. However, it also depend on the level between the wet and dry area as well as floor level outside the toilet... something like that. Hi infinite, sorry for the late reply. It can be done.. the level of my 2 toilet is not the same. dun post any problem since is just to prevent water from flowing onto the toilet, basin area.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites