fencer 0 Report post Posted May 11, 2010 Hey brother fencer, Sympathise with you here after reading your post. Nevertheless, I Thank You for sharing with us especially to those who engaged Henry's service. Regards. Hi england, no prob.. just sharing what i had encountered.. Hope all hse owners learn from my bad encounters.. and be better informed for their reno.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 For old flats where the compressor is just outside the window at the master bedroom, please remember that when raining heavily, water would splash on the compressor and back to the windows. Making the water accumulate alot faster at the base of the windows and therefore drainage needs be good. For drainage to be good, the windows base of the windows NEED TO BE LEVELLED. The problem cannot be solved by drilling more holes near centre and esp when the base is tilted backwards. And dun believe when contractors say; - is "like that 1". All sliding windows sure flood one.. - My hse also like that. Cannot go complain to HDB mah. - Already drill additional holes liao so is ok. No leak liao mah. - Got warranty so dun worry. - If got things spoil then can pay but now nothing spoil. Wonder when the silicon on the "magic" rivet would dry up and crack.. and causing leaks.. Hope i'm home when it happens.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mickey M 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 For old flats where the compressor is just outside the window at the master bedroom, please remember that when raining heavily, water would splash on the compressor and back to the windows. Making the water accumulate alot faster at the base of the windows and therefore drainage needs be good. For drainage to be good, the windows base of the windows NEED TO BE LEVELLED. The problem cannot be solved by drilling more holes near centre and esp when the base is tilted backwards. And dun believe when contractors say; - is "like that 1". All sliding windows sure flood one.. - My hse also like that. Cannot go complain to HDB mah. - Already drill additional holes liao so is ok. No leak liao mah. - Got warranty so dun worry. - If got things spoil then can pay but now nothing spoil. Wonder when the silicon on the "magic" rivet would dry up and crack.. and causing leaks.. Hope i'm home when it happens.. I believe reno mates will appreciate your advice. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 I believe reno mates will appreciate your advice. Thanks Mickey M.. Hope some would find the info useful.. Sorry abt things all over the pl. Ha... was trying hard to recall those "unreasonable" reasoning Henry gave. I'm tried taking some of them with a pinch of salt but some is just too far stretched for me to accept. Henry called me on Sunday. Was quite+very nice and asked me if my house still have any faults. Hmm.. was thinking, should i tell him that the 4th painter did not even rectify anything that was agreed after i last meet him and the painter. BUt then, he could had given me reasons beyond what i can accept so what the heck.. Also wanted to tell him, i shld be asking him if there is any more faults.. since he is the 1 deciding what to, or not to, rectify. Also said he would send me the last modified quotation and would arrange a date to meet me.. Nice leh.. BUt i already told him 3 times, over period of 2-3 weeks, to send me the quotations.. sigh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 Ehh... Any1 know where i can find nice black (Shiny surface?) shoe cabinets? or white? or combo of both colors? Thanks huh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gimz63251073 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 For old flats where the compressor is just outside the window at the master bedroom, please remember that when raining heavily, water would splash on the compressor and back to the windows. Making the water accumulate alot faster at the base of the windows and therefore drainage needs be good. For drainage to be good, the windows base of the windows NEED TO BE LEVELLED. The problem cannot be solved by drilling more holes near centre and esp when the base is tilted backwards. And dun believe when contractors say; - is "like that 1". All sliding windows sure flood one.. - My hse also like that. Cannot go complain to HDB mah. - Already drill additional holes liao so is ok. No leak liao mah. - Got warranty so dun worry. - If got things spoil then can pay but now nothing spoil. Wonder when the silicon on the "magic" rivet would dry up and crack.. and causing leaks.. Hope i'm home when it happens.. this info is useful..my new house's compressor also mount on S/S bracket 1...have to take note of this.. not true that all sliding windows flood...my bed is beside the window in my current house. Never flooded before.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 this info is useful..my new house's compressor also mount on S/S bracket 1...have to take note of this.. not true that all sliding windows flood...my bed is beside the window in my current house. Never flooded before.. Ha.. mayb i look like a person who had never been to a HDB flat before in my whole life.. and of coz never seem or entered 1. I was at the hse 1 day during a heavy downpour recently, and the water flooded til 3/4 of the height at the window base.. so afraid that it would outflow into the room.. luckily the holes are abt that height.. But when rain stop, 1/2 level of the water is stil there.. nd to wait for it to dry up or sip out.. sigh.. Know where i can get anything to put on the cmpressor to minimize splatter during heavy downpour? of coz nd to have enuf vendilation for the compressor as well.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 Ehh... Any1 know where i can find nice black (Shiny surface?) shoe cabinets? or white? or combo of both colors? Thanks huh.. try S&C or hommage. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coldflamez 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 Ehh... Any1 know where i can find nice black (Shiny surface?) shoe cabinets? or white? or combo of both colors? Thanks huh.. Mine is a tall shoe cabinet with shiny black surface. You can take a look here. It's shown at the corner of the living room. I can take a close up picture if you want. Got it for $180 plus delivery if i remember correctly. There was also another taller one (1.8m) that was selling at $200+. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 try S&C or hommage. Thanks huh.. would go take a look.. but tink S&C no website one leh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 Mine is a tall shoe cabinet with shiny black surface. You can take a look here. It's shown at the corner of the living room. I can take a close up picture if you want. Got it for $180 plus delivery if i remember correctly. There was also another taller one (1.8m) that was selling at $200+. Very the nice leh and cheap also.. i wanna put under the dining room's windows leh.. max height is 115cm only.. can give me the dimensions? try see if can fit into the space next to the windows.. where u got it from? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coldflamez 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 Very the nice leh and cheap also.. i wanna put under the dining room's windows leh.. max height is 115cm only.. can give me the dimensions? try see if can fit into the space next to the windows.. where u got it from? Oh, then it definitely won't fit... Mine is 1.6m tall. I got it from Beng Tuan Trading near macpherson road, they got some cheap and nice furniture. However service wasn't that great.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 Oh, then it definitely won't fit... Mine is 1.6m tall. I got it from Beng Tuan Trading near macpherson road, they got some cheap and nice furniture. However service wasn't that great.. Can give me the width and depth also? i go over take a look when i got time.. Ha.. in what way was the service not good? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted May 12, 2010 Can give me the width and depth also? i go over take a look when i got time.. Ha.. in what way was the service not good? just went hommage and got some furniture there. I saw some lower shoe cabinets in white glossy which is very nice. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 13, 2010 just went hommage and got some furniture there. I saw some lower shoe cabinets in white glossy which is very nice. ok.. Thanks huh.. likely sat aftern would go take a look. and rush over to the pl coldflamez recommended also.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites