ngunadi 2 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 Solid top - after polish, the lines are even more obvious.. sigh.. 2morow come and polisg again.. How do you polish your solid surface if i may know? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 all hsehold the same? i am pretty sure he would not let his house have as many defects as you! contractors know that as consumers we are at the losing end as we often hate to drag the reno process and thus would be willing to accept less than acceptable standard. Thats why at the end, we LL accept what they have...and console ourselves to move on... we can only look on the bright side i guess.... btw, i was not able to steal knowledge on wall putty...electricial just apply using a plastic scrapper then use a cloth to clean...look so easy! Well.. like u said, we're always at the losing end, time and money wise. I can say the last 3 weeks had dragged while things could had been done in a week or so.. Once handover, i will post the good and bad pics of the complete hse.. or what's leftover.. Thanks gimz63251073. No prob though.. thanks for the effort.. Ha.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 How do you polish your solid surface if i may know? Hmm.. ok lah.. not exactly polish, buffering? What can happen right? Thinking worse case is after round 2 of buffering, the line is gone but a lighter tone black that is 1cm think.. Ha.. and of coz standard answer.. every solid top is like that mah... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 Hmm.. ok lah.. not exactly polish, buffering? What can happen right? Thinking worse case is after round 2 of buffering, the line is gone but a lighter tone black that is 1cm think.. Ha.. and of coz standard answer.. every solid top is like that mah... Sigh ... what brand do you use for your solid top? How do you buffer it? cuz i made some stains on my white solid top:( Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coldflamez 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 Sigh ... what brand do you use for your solid top? How do you buffer it? cuz i made some stains on my white solid top:( You can try the melamine sponge from daiso. i tried it for my white solid surface and it's quite good. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 You can try the melamine sponge from daiso. i tried it for my white solid surface and it's quite good. You have picture of it? I'm not sure which one is melamine sponge... thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 Sigh ... what brand do you use for your solid top? How do you buffer it? cuz i made some stains on my white solid top:( LG aryclic solid top.. i topup to change to this coz the design for the default is 90% not nice. I mentioned the buffering is done by the workers. not me. There's some reference online on how to maintain solid top. You need to remove the stain asap or else it would "eat" into the top. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joleena 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 LG aryclic solid top.. i topup to change to this coz the design for the default is 90% not nice. I mentioned the buffering is done by the workers. not me. There's some reference online on how to maintain solid top. You need to remove the stain asap or else it would "eat" into the top. So glad that we have this forum we almost ordered the black surface solid top but decided to do a test on the sample BIG WHITE LINE!! my hubby finally agrees to change to a white top.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 So glad that we have this forum we almost ordered the black surface solid top but decided to do a test on the sample BIG WHITE LINE!! my hubby finally agrees to change to a white top.. Yup.. White top has it's disadvantage also.. Anyway all tops need to be careful loh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 (edited) The Bad And the Ugly. Part 2. Guys who Paintings - Talked to 4 painters over 1 month period. - Henry repeated remind me to be careful coz if dirty 1 part of the wall, need to repaint whole wall coz color wld be uneven. BUT painters would paint small parts only if needed. - Painted whole house + wastage pipes. - Some parts can see dried paint "ripples" effect (was told is old paints). Some kana the grills. Some kana the window frame (guest room2 , he painted the whole left side window frame (aluminium part), was nt removed at all (feedback but was ignored, DIY of coz). Some places next to windows not painted properly at all (can see the previous paints). Ceiling painting kana tiles. Some kana newly changed window. Paint kana my stainless steel bamboo holder (was not removed until 2 weeks later). - Small groove in wall not patched before painting. - Removed 90% of the stains. Some stains on tiles, windows, grills, on skirting which is under the aircon piping etc not removed. - Asked to change painter. - Touched up. Groove still not filled in dispite reminder again. - Groove filled finally and painted over but stil can see the patch. Feedback. New guy painted over the groove, only. - I asked for white shiny paint so i can touch up myself. Henry volunteered to paint, no prob.. End up, small section of wastage pipe in common toilet not painted. Wastage pipe at kitchen not painted all the way up and painting dripped down on the black tiles, creating a puddle. Master bedrm toilet not painted so color is different. - Yest 4th painter came to help touch up. Repainted entrance to master bedrm coz paint cracked on 1 side from top to bottom. Going to repaint all pipes and doors so hv even color. - Asked to help take out the sticky protective cover for dustbin. Done in 30 mins when i reminded Henry to settle over 3 weeks period. The rest can be found in Some Useful Points or all over my blog. My thoughts, - Dun be so naive in believing all feedbacks wld be taken care of. - What is promised is verbal only. It can be forgotten or too late to do anyting oledi. (even though is written down by contractor) - Contractor may not know what is going to be done by workers/other contractors like window installers, although claim would be done this way, that way. - Once you decid to reno, you are at the losing end already. Time and money. And at mercy of contractor. - Volunteering your own time to assist or/and watch does not help if contractor does not admit is a fault and do not rectify the fault. May end up "now canot do anything liao" situation. What i heard and don't like (and likely some of u may hear also), - Is like that 1 - All household is the same, u go see loh - Is very good already, don't know what else to fix liao - My house also like that - Bo bian, now cannot do anything liao - You ask your friends to come and see, they sure say is very nice - People won't notice 1 lah. - Put curtains loh, ppl won't see one.. - I can't tell the difference also leh.. - Arrange for meeting to discuss what needs to be rectified, last min call and say cannot meet. Just email him what needs to be fixed or talk to his guy. (i tried before and things dragged for 2 weeks wo 100% fix) Edited May 6, 2010 by fencer Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coldflamez 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 You have picture of it? I'm not sure which one is melamine sponge... thanks check out the daiso website: http://www.daisojapan.com/c-241-melamine-sponges.aspx It's written clearly on the package that it is melamine sponge. Just need to add water to it and it will clean most stains away easily. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 (edited) [edited] Edited May 5, 2010 by samgalz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 din expect Henry to be so sloppy in work. He should know it's his reputation in stake here. u being recommended by RT will sure feedback RT. tsk tsk.... I aso cannot tahan if paint drip all over and no effort made to clear the mess. it's a sloppy attitude and cannot be condone. What is "it's very good liao" "Bo Bian"? ask him if u pay hard earned money to get all these can or not? I feel for u, bro.... Henry did say i'm the only 1 who had bad feedback for him.. So made me thinking, was i really too particular on the details coz of the $38k i paid? I can say the 1st painter did clean up majority that can be "seen" easily.. Can say he's not good w details.. Thanks samgalz.. that's why i was so pissed off these 2 weeks. esp when i Already said my furniture is coming soon. and things are not rectified.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 Henry did say i'm the only 1 who had bad feedback for him.. So made me thinking, was i really too particular on the details coz of the $38k i paid? I can say the 1st painter did clean up majority that can be "seen" easily.. Can say he's not good w details.. Thanks samgalz.. that's why i was so pissed off these 2 weeks. esp when i Already said my furniture is coming soon. and things are not rectified.. i dun think you are the only one with negative feedback, kiven78 also had such experiences...hope your issues can be resolved amicably soon...wish you luck. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 i dun think you are the only one with negative feedback, kiven78 also had such experiences...hope your issues can be resolved amicably soon...wish you luck. Thanks joseeng. I setting this Friday as the last day for any rectification to be done. I'll deduct what i think is not to my standard from the last payment. I did help alot in cleaning up the mess so i deserve to be paid also right? HA.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites