fencer

Reno @my Simei 4a Resale Flat

No la...this is the completed product already.

Is that your cupboard at your home? Ha.. very nice design leh..

Wah.. Looks like more problems popping up for u, fencer.. :jawdrop:

yup.. :unsure:

wow. that's a nasty email. if window is not installed properly, don't pay for it :)

I also think so.. That's why i'm checking with the authority now on the standard for window installation.. likely i'll ask an officer to come down to take a look..

Henry's version.. looks nice, no leak, all sui sui.. checked with experts that the leveling is within tolerance level..

If officer says is ok.. then i pay up loh.. like Henry said mah.. he has been in this bz for so long.. so anyting wrong, he won't run away. But thinking, i also live there mah.. also won't run away.. what's the diff? Henry used an example for buying car also.. buy car liao.. got prob.. bring to fix, won't exchange new car.. is a norm.. tinking back (how come i didn't think it on the spot).. i buy a car.. if i say aircon not strong enuf, the machanic drill a few holes at some places and seal some to let air in.. also same? as long the car is cooler can oledi?

HI fencer, how many airconds are u getting? do u have any airconds in your living or dining? if yes, what is the BTU of your living room aircound?

How about the BTU in all the 3 bedrooms?

Thank u in advance..

HI reuben82, i don't have aircon in living/dining area coz mine is open concept so tink is too hard to cool the whole pl down and more possible of leaks. Got a big fan in the living room though.. Ha..

I only got 3 aircon in 3 rooms.. Hmm.. the paperwork is not with me leh..

not very sure abt the BTU.. think for compressor is like 24 BTU? master bedroom is 12 and the 2 other room is 9.. something like that.. i guess only huh.. Ha..

Have you all been following this trend regarding U&B renovation at :

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...c=23378&hl=

Interesting as it chronicles the rise and fall. From contractors' promises, more promises, apologies, threats and abandonment. From homeowners' dreams, hopes, despair and finally anger.

Wow.. really worth reading it.. i ask him for a quote before also.. but he didn't reply.. Heng..

I just wonder if it is common for contractors not to reply for request for quotations ...

Personally, I dont think it is surprising because renovations are quite labour intensive and most sole proprietorships or small companies cannot scale up their resources.

So, in the end, you just need to obtain many requests for renovation work and just "cherry pick" the best one to do - One that has the highest profit margin to make or the most extensive renovation to do.

And also time it such that you are able to jump to the next project so that you can minimize the days where there is no work. It also means that if there is some delays that occurs in one's home renovations, it will affects their project work downstream.

I like it when contractors say they are starting work, it just means shifting materials and stuff into your house without anything else being done. And then they start the following week ...

There are the 3 "C"s in choosing the right contractor :

1. Credibility eg credit and trust worthiness

2. Capacity eg are they so busy that they dont have the manpower to work on extra projects

3. Capability eg their workmanship

No point having a capable contractor but has no credibility or capacity ... ;)

looks like the pic is taken from a pinnacle unit...right?

Clever :good: ...HO the hse last mth.

Is that your cupboard at your home? Ha.. very nice design leh..

No, one of my customers....just HO last mth.

Have you all been following this trend regarding U&B renovation at :

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...c=23378&hl=

Interesting as it chronicles the rise and fall. From contractors' promises, more promises, apologies, threats and abandonment. From homeowners' dreams, hopes, despair and finally anger.

this pattern is not just found in reno, it's also observed in the rise and fall of civilizations and the recent rise and fall of the financial markets, and perhaps even the rise and fall of mankind :D

I just wonder if it is common for contractors not to reply for request for quotations ...

Personally, I dont think it is surprising because renovations are quite labour intensive and most sole proprietorships or small companies cannot scale up their resources.

So, in the end, you just need to obtain many requests for renovation work and just "cherry pick" the best one to do - One that has the highest profit margin to make or the most extensive renovation to do.

And also time it such that you are able to jump to the next project so that you can minimize the days where there is no work. It also means that if there is some delays that occurs in one's home renovations, it will affects their project work downstream.

I like it when contractors say they are starting work, it just means shifting materials and stuff into your house without anything else being done. And then they start the following week ...

2. Capacity eg are they so busy that they dont have the manpower to work on extra projects

most contractors have various sub-cons so if one can't work, the other will. so sometimes, workmanship by the same contractor can vary between projects.

And yeah ... the stock market is in free fall again ... ;)

this pattern is not just found in reno, it's also observed in the rise and fall of civilizations and the recent rise and fall of the financial markets, and perhaps even the rise and fall of mankind :D

And yeah ... the stock market is in free fall again ... ;)

But our housing price is not.. :(

don't worry :) euro and us housing prices already free-fallen. ours did also but that was last year :) we may see it in the near future too.

Just to share.. again.. that BCA guy called me last few days ago abt the window. HE mentioned that the window shld be leveled (didn't know the degree or tolerance, if there is any) and be tilting "forward" slightly ABIT to enable water to drain out. He would help to contact HDB on this to assist since is HDB's responsibility and get back to me on what HDB replied.. nice guy..

Wrote to Henry on tuesday on suggested updates of the quotations.. e.g last tm the quotation including a bar top counter wic end up i gave up doing, and also the double charge.. Wednesday msg him to remind to check my email.. Hnery sick so next day then can check.. quiet.. fri i msg him again to update the quotations to reflect the changes.. sat nite got email from him..

Our window supplier are certified and well trained and also with HDB licence .

Please proof with black & white by QP for not proble installation !!!!

Other wise Mr Pang should pay full amount.TQ !

Please mind your word and remove incorrect rumors. other wise legal action will take against you !!!

Note : Remaining balance of $ 3520 should settle by 24/05/2010 since project was done and hand over by 30/04/2010

HOw come i as the owner dun know the handover was completed on 30 April 2004?

Sigh.. mayb shld just pay everything up and get it over with.. most pay more to get things fixed.. good idea?

SHould also edit the blog to praise more of Henry for all the good work.. and remove all the bad postings..

what does he mean by incorrect rumours? is he refering to this forum? :unsure:

Rumours are also often discussed with regard to "misinformation" and "disinformation" (the former often seen as simply false and the latter seen as deliberately false, though usually from a government source given to the media or a foreign government).[4] Rumours thus have often been viewed as particular forms of other communication concepts.

So incorrect rumours does its mean incorrect misinformation or disinformation? Which in term means correct information? :unsure:

Edited by Lovely

Misinformation and disinformation can occur from any source.

Rumour is defined as "a currently circulating story or report of unverified or doubtful truth".

I think the concern is about libel which is the publication of a false statement that is damaging to a person’s reputation. However, libel will be hard to claim if the statements that were made were written in good faith and there were reasonable belief they were true.

Rumours are also often discussed with regard to "misinformation" and "disinformation" (the former often seen as simply false and the latter seen as deliberately false, though usually from a government source given to the media or a foreign government).[4] Rumours thus have often been viewed as particular forms of other communication concepts.

So incorrect rumours does its mean incorrect misinformation or disinformation? Which in term means correct information? :unsure:

Personally speaking, the 3Cs can only be proven until the reno is complete and HO.. before quotation or during reno.. is hard to judge since the contractor had never worked for you.. He could have been the best in the past, but very bad now.. He could have just started bz in reno but raise to the expectation of the owner in afte a few reno.

No, one of my customers....just HO last mth.

Another happy customer.. Ha..

Hmm.. i suppose so..

Ha.. chim leh..

Misinformation and disinformation can occur from any source.

Rumour is defined as "a currently circulating story or report of unverified or doubtful truth".

I think the concern is about libel which is the publication of a false statement that is damaging to a person’s reputation. However, libel will be hard to claim if the statements that were made were written in good faith and there were reasonable belief they were true.

Hmm. unverified or doubtful truth.. i dun know how to verify or how doubtful it can be if the evidence/pics is there and i'm in the midst of it...

How to prove leh.. pay another sum to reno again?

The comments in this blog is certaninly written in good faith and with reasonable belief.. Ha.. all the good and bad of coz..

Eh.. pics of my wrought iron gate w stainless steel lockset...

Can ask if i'm suppose to see rust appearing? didn't really check the whole gate though..

tot is made to withstand the weather?

4633545557_deb52ca42b.jpg

Edited by fencer