samgalz 2 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 (edited) [edited] Edited May 5, 2010 by samgalz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joseeng 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 yes, infact i think the last payment should not be paid cos rectification was not done to standard and some more u DIY so much. pardon me if i am too niao i second tat...how much % are you holding for the last payment? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hcbing 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 i dun think you are the only one with negative feedback, kiven78 also had such experiences...hope your issues can be resolved amicably soon...wish you luck. Guess that makes two. Anyone else? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 yes, infact i think the last payment should not be paid cos rectification was not done to standard and some more u DIY so much. pardon me if i am too niao my colleague also told me not to pay the remaining sum.. Ha.. i second tat...how much % are you holding for the last payment? about 10% left for last payment.. the amount for electrical rewiring i paid directly to Ah Liang coz i deal with him directly. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 Guess that makes two. Anyone else? I hope there is no one else.. HA.. but then it could also happen to other contractors or IDs you may work with.. Suggest adding in a clause in before you sign on the dotted line, if not to my satisfaction, would delay payment until things are rectified. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Supersimon27 2 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 din expect Henry to be so sloppy in work. He should know it's his reputation in stake here. u being recommended by RT will sure feedback RT. tsk tsk.... I aso cannot tahan if paint drip all over and no effort made to clear the mess. it's a sloppy attitude and cannot be condone. What is "it's very good liao" "Bo Bian"? ask him if u pay hard earned money to get all these can or not? I feel for u, bro.... I always believe it take 2 hand to clap and there is always 2 side of story. Don’t think it’s right to comment “sloppy attitude” when 1 didn’t see the real thing. Hope everyone can look at from the third view rather then taking any side at the moment i dun think you are the only one with negative feedback, kiven78 also had such experiences...hope your issues can be resolved amicably soon...wish you luck. Kiven78 did have negative feedback before the handover , however thing eventually sort out well during the handover . He did remove few of his comment after all the miscommunication had been sort out. Pls revisit his thread if u miss that out. Thanks joseeng. I setting this Friday as the last day for any rectification to be done. I'll deduct what i think is not to my standard from the last payment. I did help alot in cleaning up the mess so i deserve to be paid also right? HA.. When doing renovation , we the house owner should at least do our part for cleaning our house up. Don’t think anyone should be pay for cleaning our own house isn’t it? Even small stuff like mirror finger print or protective cover not remove ? Been keeping silent all the while , as I know most pp will feel that I will tend to side Henry. However just hope everyone to look at the whole incident in another view. How many happy henner are there and how many unhappy henner are there ? When we got henry , did he help us to save money in any way to another ? Did he ever run away with anyone money ? Did he ever reject whatever rectify if he can do it ? Whoever we engage for renovation , we don’t get 100% job done , not even the most expensive ID. There tend to be hipcup along the way but it really depend on how the owner and the contractor sort thing out in the best way. “Give and take” had been a quote all the while. I can only say that the working style of Henry and fencer just didn’t match well therefore all the hipcup accumulate and accumulate. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dmay 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 I hope there is no one else.. HA.. but then it could also happen to other contractors or IDs you may work with.. Suggest adding in a clause in before you sign on the dotted line, if not to my satisfaction, would delay payment until things are rectified. Hmmm... sorry to hear what you are going thru'... actually my reno with him is not one without hiccups, think I've also mentioned in my t-blog... not very very serious kind... all can be rectify. The only one remaining (yes, still doing...) is my balcony flooring. Water seepage issues, wood all turn dark now, he say will replace... window guy coming down tmr to inspect again... sigh... I feel that one thing bad abt him is his mouth. He like to shoot words without thinking. Words which are not pleasing to house-owner, like those you have mentioned. He like to say nobody do things like that one lah, like that nevermind lah, a little bit only... so I'll tell him, ya, but I'm staying here, and it matters to me... or something like, yalor, $100 only mah, don't charge also never mind mah... that kind of sarcastic words, then he will shut his mouth and get his worker to do it... And trust me, we speak to his sub-con directly most of the time (painter, electrician, wood flooring guys) cos no point telling him, he will tell you cannot this, cannot that, so don't bother. But one thing I must agree, he can be contacted quite easily, he will not ignore your call lor. I've moved in since Feb, and whenever I call him, he will still reply me I hope you will be able to settle the outstanding issues with him soon... peacefully... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 I always believe it take 2 hand to clap and there is always 2 side of story. Don’t think it’s right to comment “sloppy attitude” when 1 didn’t see the real thing. Hope everyone can look at from the third view rather then taking any side at the moment Kiven78 did have negative feedback before the handover , however thing eventually sort out well during the handover . He did remove few of his comment after all the miscommunication had been sort out. Pls revisit his thread if u miss that out. When doing renovation , we the house owner should at least do our part for cleaning our house up. Don’t think anyone should be pay for cleaning our own house isn’t it? Even small stuff like mirror finger print or protective cover not remove ? Been keeping silent all the while , as I know most pp will feel that I will tend to side Henry. However just hope everyone to look at the whole incident in another view. How many happy henner are there and how many unhappy henner are there ? When we got henry , did he help us to save money in any way to another ? Did he ever run away with anyone money ? Did he ever reject whatever rectify if he can do it ? Whoever we engage for renovation , we don’t get 100% job done , not even the most expensive ID. There tend to be hipcup along the way but it really depend on how the owner and the contractor sort thing out in the best way. “Give and take” had been a quote all the while. I can only say that the working style of Henry and fencer just didn’t match well therefore all the hipcup accumulate and accumulate. Well.. diff ppl have diff opinions. Right or Wrong, i am the one who have to live with all the problems (Possible leaking windows, pipes). I know cleaning is inevitable. And i did help out when i could so things could be go smoothly. But not the excuses given for every single things that went wrong with his workers. Like i said, Paying close to $40k for reno, i would expect some level of standards. Give an example. Henry is the 1 who said the protective cover is easy to remove so i left it there until reno in kicthen had finished. When i cannot remove it "easily", i told henry and he tried. He give up after trying abit and said he would call his ppl to remove and clean it. He writes it down. During next meet up, i remind him again. He write it down again. This had gone on for 3 weeks. End up yest then ask the painter guy to help remove. Can ask why i can't remove it myself? I can but if is a bit is ok.. is covering the whole front of the dustbin.. So i dun tink i'm at fault to assume Henry should ask some1 to help since he assume is easy to remove. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 (edited) Hmmm... sorry to hear what you are going thru'... actually my reno with him is not one without hiccups, think I've also mentioned in my t-blog... not very very serious kind... all can be rectify. The only one remaining (yes, still doing...) is my balcony flooring. Water seepage issues, wood all turn dark now, he say will replace... window guy coming down tmr to inspect again... sigh... I feel that one thing bad abt him is his mouth. He like to shoot words without thinking. Words which are not pleasing to house-owner, like those you have mentioned. He like to say nobody do things like that one lah, like that nevermind lah, a little bit only... so I'll tell him, ya, but I'm staying here, and it matters to me... or something like, yalor, $100 only mah, don't charge also never mind mah... that kind of sarcastic words, then he will shut his mouth and get his worker to do it... And trust me, we speak to his sub-con directly most of the time (painter, electrician, wood flooring guys) cos no point telling him, he will tell you cannot this, cannot that, so don't bother. But one thing I must agree, he can be contacted quite easily, he will not ignore your call lor. I've moved in since Feb, and whenever I call him, he will still reply me I hope you will be able to settle the outstanding issues with him soon... peacefully... Ha.. i dun mind what he wants to say as long he gets things rectified.. But now is he says what he wants and major things like broken tiles and possible leaking windows is not going to be fixed at all and things are dragging for the last 3 weeks until now is too late for any major rectifications liao. So of coz i have no mood to hear his remarks which is not useful at all.. Edited May 5, 2010 by fencer Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 Well. For record purpose, I did try to remove the stains on the mirrors. What I cannot remove is fingerprints on the frosted part of the mirror, dispite using Jiff, mama lemon, sponge from daiso for removing stains. And I dun think I nd to explain how strong Jiff is. And the painter did try wipe the mirror, using cloth and tarapin or something wic is used to remove paint. Do any1 use thus on your mirror? Besides using it to remove paint? And I certainly hv been more then patient for things to be rectified. But dispite waiting for few weeks, things are not. And it is not me dragging things on until is too late to be rectified. Also giving reasons for it. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 LG aryclic solid top.. i topup to change to this coz the design for the default is 90% not nice. I mentioned the buffering is done by the workers. not me. There's some reference online on how to maintain solid top. You need to remove the stain asap or else it would "eat" into the top. As long as your solid surface is not 100% acrylic.....stain will "eat" into it within seconds. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 Yup.. White top has it's disadvantage also.. Anyway all tops need to be careful loh.. Ya white top also have their disadvantage too...same cons as for black top. Got to be more careful. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 Well. For record purpose, I did try to remove the stains on the mirrors. What I cannot remove is fingerprints on the frosted part of the mirror, dispite using Jiff, mama lemon, sponge from daiso for removing stains. And I dun think I nd to explain how strong Jiff is. And the painter did try wipe the mirror, using cloth and tarapin or something wic is used to remove paint. Do any1 use thus on your mirror? Besides using it to remove paint? And I certainly hv been more then patient for things to be rectified. But dispite waiting for few weeks, things are not. And it is not me dragging things on until is too late to be rectified. Also giving reasons for it. Like to ask, does the fingerprints had removed? What cause the fingerprint marks to be there? If still ard, can post the pic for me thks. Relax fencer, alot of things are not as bad as you see. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jaskel 2 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 I always believe it take 2 hand to clap and there is always 2 side of story. Don’t think it’s right to comment “sloppy attitude” when 1 didn’t see the real thing. Hope everyone can look at from the third view rather then taking any side at the moment Kiven78 did have negative feedback before the handover , however thing eventually sort out well during the handover . He did remove few of his comment after all the miscommunication had been sort out. Pls revisit his thread if u miss that out. When doing renovation , we the house owner should at least do our part for cleaning our house up. Don’t think anyone should be pay for cleaning our own house isn’t it? Even small stuff like mirror finger print or protective cover not remove ? Been keeping silent all the while , as I know most pp will feel that I will tend to side Henry. However just hope everyone to look at the whole incident in another view. How many happy henner are there and how many unhappy henner are there ? When we got henry , did he help us to save money in any way to another ? Did he ever run away with anyone money ? Did he ever reject whatever rectify if he can do it ? Whoever we engage for renovation , we don’t get 100% job done , not even the most expensive ID. There tend to be hipcup along the way but it really depend on how the owner and the contractor sort thing out in the best way. “Give and take” had been a quote all the while. I can only say that the working style of Henry and fencer just didn’t match well therefore all the hipcup accumulate and accumulate. I do agree with u simon. There are no 100% perfect renovation done and no one able to said that their unit was done 100%. Human do make errors, regardless is big or small, it may not be Henry, it may be the workers. If was to really compare, fencer u are much luckier than those AS's or Jason Goh's victims already. There are sure some hipcups and I do hope u can solve it peacefully with Henry. I'm not siding to anyone and I've no right too. Having meeting with the worst contractor and the worst house owner before, I know how both parties may feel but not knowing the full picture, its not good to comment at all but to give advise. If need to be angry and face it, why not be happy and face it and things may turn out to be good also. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fencer 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2010 (edited) As long as your solid surface is not 100% acrylic.....stain will "eat" into it within seconds. Ha.. tot all stain would eat into any solid top.. didn't know 100% acrylic is so resistance.. thanks for the info.. Ya white top also have their disadvantage too...same cons as for black top. Got to be more careful. yup.. agree.. didn't really research properly what color is better... coz just go with the theme.. Like to ask, does the fingerprints had removed? What cause the fingerprint marks to be there? If still ard, can post the pic for me thks. Relax fencer, alot of things are not as bad as you see. You mean if the fingerprints had to be removed? Well, i buy mirrors is to see myself mah, not other ppl's fingerprint though. Ha.. looks white so think is those white powder bah.. not sure if camera can capture the prints is not like black against white. i'll try take pics during weekends. Cheers to you jaskel!! At least you bothered to try to help... I do agree with u simon. There are no 100% perfect renovation done and no one able to said that their unit was done 100%. Human do make errors, regardless is big or small, it may not be Henry, it may be the workers. If was to really compare, fencer u are much luckier than those AS's or Jason Goh's victims already. There are sure some hipcups and I do hope u can solve it peacefully with Henry. I'm not siding to anyone and I've no right too. Having meeting with the worst contractor and the worst house owner before, I know how both parties may feel but not knowing the full picture, its not good to comment at all but to give advise. If need to be angry and face it, why not be happy and face it and things may turn out to be good also. Well. It maybe the worker's fault, but now is the case of Henry saying everything is as it was to be. Or in the case of broken tile, bo bian. Yup. There are ppl who are worse off then me and there are ppl who are better off. I have been trying to be patient and let Henry arrange his resoources but things had been dragging for weeks. Basically, he is solving small things like paint jobs but not those crack tiles, crooked pipes (solved for the moment coz his workers pushed the pipe all the way up to ceiling, and let me emphersis this.. is at the pipe joint, until it stays there) and my possible leaking window. The way he is solving things, i see it as either delaying til i have to take over the flat coz i no time to wait liao so he won't incurring additional cost. No offence to everyone but mind i ask why should i spend so much $$ to reno a hse after which, it has cracked tile, window that may leak coz a rivet is in it and is patched with silicion and pipes done this way? and look at the reasons he gave.. Last to check is the solid top. 2morow is going to be buffered 3rd tm. And i really hope it turns out well. Edited May 5, 2010 by fencer Share this post Link to post Share on other sites