no la! go malacca for makan + shopping. not to find contractor... :rofl: so funny..lol

ya my place is vacant, so sellers passed us keys on the first appt. i'm not sure if the kaypoh will come to the house and check, hopefully they just do it at their desk. we won't be applying for permit before 21st cos don't wan so mah fan must get seller to sign this and that. we'll just wait lor.

alamak lilith...! paiseh paiseh...i thot u really wna go malacca source for contractor since we were on that topic mah.. :bangwall: who knows maybe u also got Angteko's 'malaysia boleh' spirit...haha.. :P

think if hacking adjoining walls they will send someone down to inspect right?

some PE fella (not physical educator...professor of engineering if im not wrong... :unsure:)

important behind the walls must have no pipes and urs is not a pre-fab unit like mine... :thumbs up:

alamak lilith...! paiseh paiseh...i thot u really wna go malacca source for contractor since we were on that topic mah.. :bangwall: who knows maybe u also got Angteko's 'malaysia boleh' spirit...haha.. :P

think if hacking adjoining walls they will send someone down to inspect right?

some PE fella (not physical educator...professor of engineering if im not wrong... :unsure: )

important behind the walls must have no pipes and urs is not a pre-fab unit like mine... :thumbs up:

hahaha..actually, i did consider contacting jb contractors/carpenters. cheaper mah..we're very realistic..haha..but we won't go all the way to malacca to find for contractor la. so far..aiyo.

from HDB website:

Demolition of non-load bearing reinforced concrete (RC) elements such as stiffeners, lintols and hangers etc.

Flat owner needs to engage a Professional Engineer (PE) for Civil or Structural works to inspect and supervise the demolition works

er, i think mine doesn't fall under that category la. its just a wall, not a stiffener, not a lintol nor a hanger. *prays hard* hire PE must pay money wan leh... :(

It would be a red flag for me.

We only confirmed our contractor few days (less than 1 week) prior to start of the reno.

When a contractor/ID (or even anyone) is telling me something like this, I know he's desperate. Maybe you can nego for better price with him.

yeah, i think so too. have this feeling...

anyway, will take my time. if CLC cannot wait for my answer then too bad for them. I dun wan to be pressure to make a decision which I might regret later.

that's right! there are too many reno firms around for you to be bullied into signing a contract..

hey ang, did u hv the same experience with leslie? even just now when they send the revised quote to me got promo items offered provided i sign up by a date.... and keep asking me to confirm early wor.

hey ngunadi, lina's doing your house right? i met her on tuesday, together with her tiler. she promised to send me her quote by tmr. i like her, she made a good impression..how's she doing for you?

Yeah, she's doing my place. Should finish by end of next week.

Both my wife and I quite like her. There was a hiccup due to miscomm (on her tiler part and our part of not able to speak Chinese) regarding the toilet tiles arrangement. But this could happen to anyone.

However, her work is on schedule and could be even faster. I also notice that she's not picky and reasonable.

Few notable instances:

- Some cornices in our MBR dropped and some are missing (previously a bedroom fixture). This might be because we did some hacking on a bedroom fixture. She helped us to do the same cornices FOC.

- After we hacked the half-height kitchen wall, we forgot to quote this to be part of work. She helped to find the similar one and put it back for us. Although this area is very small but it's still nice.

- She helped to talk to the PD Door and negotiate a package with guardian lock for us. She might/might not get any profit for that. I suspect, she didn't.

hahaha..actually, i did consider contacting jb contractors/carpenters. cheaper mah..we're very realistic..haha..but we won't go all the way to malacca to find for contractor la. so far..aiyo.

from HDB website:

Demolition of non-load bearing reinforced concrete (RC) elements such as stiffeners, lintols and hangers etc.

er, i think mine doesn't fall under that category la. its just a wall, not a stiffener, not a lintol nor a hanger. *prays hard* hire PE must pay money wan leh... :(

haha...sure...but u'd rather go all the way there for a meal and shopping... :P

thats more clearer then...yah, heard u gotta pay like $400 or so for them to come down, knock knock against the wall etc etc...Yikes!

Lets hope u get the approval to tear down that wall! :good:

else will get ur hopes high for nothing like how i wanted to have open concept kitchen but cant coz mine is a toopid pre-fab unit.. argh! :(

yeah samgalz, we shdnt be pressured into making a decision, considering one that requires very large amounts of $$...i hate this kind of deadlines they wna impose on us...but when u give deadline back, say for HO, then their turn come up with excuses...Lol *im not referring to CLC specifically yah.... :P

Yeah, she's doing my place. Should finish by end of next week.

Both my wife and I quite like her. There was a hiccup due to miscomm (on her tiler part and our part of not able to speak Chinese) regarding the toilet tiles arrangement. But this could happen to anyone.

However, her work is on schedule and could be even faster. I also notice that she's not picky and reasonable.

Few notable instances:

- Some cornices in our MBR dropped and some are missing (previously a bedroom fixture). This might be because we did some hacking on a bedroom fixture. She helped us to do the same cornices FOC.

- After we hacked the half-height kitchen wall, we forgot to quote this to be part of work. She helped to find the similar one and put it back for us. Although this area is very small but it's still nice.

- She helped to talk to the PD Door and negotiate a package with guardian lock for us. She might/might not get any profit for that. I suspect, she didn't.

reviews of her have been pretty consistent so far..i'm looking forward to receiving her quote! :) thanks for sharing..

haha...sure...but u'd rather go all the way there for a meal and shopping... :P

thats more clearer then...yah, heard u gotta pay like $400 or so for them to come down, knock knock against the wall etc etc...Yikes!

Lets hope u get the approval to tear down that wall! :good:

else will get ur hopes high for nothing like how i wanted to have open concept kitchen but cant coz mine is a toopid pre-fab unit.. argh! :(

yes, i would go all the way for food + shopping. lol!

we're also going to hack the wall separating kitchen + hall as well. that one should not be a prob. the sensitive one is the bathroom. is there any way to know if the unit is pre-fab or not? i mean before applying for permit lah.

yes, i would go all the way for food + shopping. lol!

we're also going to hack the wall separating kitchen + hall as well. that one should not be a prob. the sensitive one is the bathroom. is there any way to know if the unit is pre-fab or not? i mean before applying for permit lah.

forgot urs is SOHO so must be all in one the space right? haha :D

got 2 ways:

1) from floorplan if the lines separating ur rooms are thick bold lines, then cannot hack ler..

2) if eyesight fail to differentiate thick and skinny lines, call ur hdb technical officer lor.

i did the 2nd one since my eyesight failed me. the fella told me on th spot.

i also called citygas and they also confirmed the bad news i couldnt have PUB piping...

talk abt double whammy in a day sia back then! :bangwall:

no la! go malacca for makan + shopping. not to find contractor... :rofl: so funny..lol

ya my place is vacant, so sellers passed us keys on the first appt. i'm not sure if the kaypoh will come to the house and check, hopefully they just do it at their desk. we won't be applying for permit before 21st cos don't wan so mah fan must get seller to sign this and that. we'll just wait lor.

hey samgalz, have you selected your ID already? You very kan chiong leh! first appointment haven't reach and you already shortlisting contractors/ID liao.. :bow:

Wah..today everyone so free ah...so many update until i cant catch up..wahaha :bangwall:

The permit are send by my ID, dont need the owner signature or approval leh.

On my 2nd appt, I received a letter from HDB which it stated that need that letter to apply for reno permit, but at the point of time, my permit already approve and ready for reno. Funny. Dont know how CLC did it. :dunno:

No lah, haven't select yet lah. in the process of shortlisting. just that when I talk to leslie, feels like he more kanchiong than me. he say must cofirm 2 months prior to reno start date...which is approx....NOW.

Not kan chiong lah, jus want to give myself more time to think and decide before confirm reno. in fact to start early sourcing is an advice by RT old birds wor.

The reason why he say 2 months b4 reno, so that u have ample of time for the 3D, color, tiles selection and finalized most stuff etc

Then he will then be able to concurrently do all his reno stuff. There is really no time in between reno to change anything. I rem i had an idea of changing my kitchen cabinet on 1st wk, but he say he already start building liao. :bangwall:

Lol...u ahh...really pro JB one leh...lights buy there...undergarments buy there..contractor also u really go there to source ah?? haha... :bow: lucky they all no hdb license...else sg contractor stay home sell grapes lor... :no:

too bad me and wife dun like (crossing over into) msia, else i get all the lobangs from you man! :P

haha..i didnt say undergarment buy there lah! :curse:

Undergarment I prefer to buy in aust. haha

I like do foreign import like u do mah..wahaha :sport-smiley-004:

from HDB website:

Hacking wall will take abit longer for permit to go thru. From wat i know from ID, it could take up to 2wks-4wks depending on which wall u hacking.

PE mayb needed also depend on your top and bottom neighbour if they are hacking the same wall as well. The flat cant support if everyone hacking the same wall. Like my rooms wall, lucky no need PE, if not have to pay like 500-600 for PE endosment.

hey ang, did u hv the same experience with leslie? even just now when they send the revised quote to me got promo items offered provided i sign up by a date.... and keep asking me to confirm early wor.

Orh, not that they cant wait, they just want to have enough time for both parties. U should tell them that u are not in a hurry to move in and your reno start date can be push back, if not they will base on your reno start date and calculate backwards the time required to settle all stuff.

I also got promo items leh..haha

But I think those are their marketing gimmicks lah, even if u sign after that, i'm sure they will still give u those offered prices.

Even now when we are in mid reno, we are still bargaining for cheaper prices and discount which he did give us abit, and throw in freebies.

No hurry in confirmation.

forgot urs is SOHO so must be all in one the space right? haha :D

got 2 ways:

1) from floorplan if the lines separating ur rooms are thick bold lines, then cannot hack ler..

2) if eyesight fail to differentiate thick and skinny lines, call ur hdb technical officer lor.

i did the 2nd one since my eyesight failed me. the fella told me on th spot.

i also called citygas and they also confirmed the bad news i couldnt have PUB piping...

talk abt double whammy in a day sia back then! :bangwall:

haha ya we try to stick to the soho concept as much as a hdb flat allows us to.

those walls i wanna hack are not bold in my floorplan. i also called citygas a while back about gas piping, they checked up my address and told me how much it would cost. so meaning no problem in having govt gas. heng ah. you must have felt so frustrated on that day!

Wah..today everyone so free ah...so many update until i cant catch up..wahaha :bangwall:

The permit are send by my ID, dont need the owner signature or approval leh.

On my 2nd appt, I received a letter from HDB which it stated that need that letter to apply for reno permit, but at the point of time, my permit already approve and ready for reno. Funny. Dont know how CLC did it. :dunno:

hmm ok never mind, i think we'll still stick to the "wait until completion date to start reno" plan. good for you that you managed to start reno earlier! :D