Thanks lilithfiend ...

My parents never used these bathroom ventilation fans before so i never thought of them. Are they the kind that you turn on and off when you need to use them like a normal fan ?

I just wonder what contributes to the humidity in the bathroom ... i think that even when you dont shower ... and if the house warms up enough, doesnt water evaporate from the toilet bowl to cause more humidity ?

I close my house windows in the day when i'm out, and when i get back the air feels quite stuffy ...

you're welcome! ya the older generation typically will not bother with such stuff..its only us who will bother. yes, you can turn it on and off with a switch as and when you need. some people wire it together with a light, so when they turn on that light, the fan also turns on. for us, we'll be wiring it on its own.

singapore is a humid place, no escaping the amount of moisture in the air! plus our hdb toilets are not exactly the best ventilated.

oh I see. Definitely require to have 1 in master bathroom. Will seek ID for help then. Thanks!

you're welcome! :) there are a few models to choose from, depending on your needs. for us, we picked the strongest one in terms of "air-change" volume. other models with smaller air-change volume would be cheaper.

Hi lilithfiend,

How the progress of your reno work?

er....not much has moved so far. went down last night to have a look, the only thing that has been done is the plumbing to change our squat wc to a sitting one. we are expecting the quote to do our bathtub today, hopefully once that is confirmed, the works will move faster. according to B&E, tiling can only start when the ventilation fan has been installed. so still waiting for that to be done i suppose..

on another note, when we arrived at the flat last night, we noticed our corridor was wet. we thought they washed the living room floor cos the living room floor was also wet! only when we went into the house did we realise the pail they placed in the hall was overflowing with water... the workers didn't turn off the tap completely!! no idea how many hours the tap was left running.. :bangwall:

Finally received price quote for our bathroom plan last night. The amount quoted was much higher than we expected...so sadly, we have to revert to our original plan of using a 1.3m bathtub.

Now trying to arrange for a meeting with our PM to sort out the quote. We want to get this finalized by this weekend so they can start work on Monday.. it's already been two weeks since our reno permit was approved........... getting a little impatient...... :(

er....not much has moved so far. went down last night to have a look, the only thing that has been done is the plumbing to change our squat wc to a sitting one. we are expecting the quote to do our bathtub today, hopefully once that is confirmed, the works will move faster. according to B&E, tiling can only start when the ventilation fan has been installed. so still waiting for that to be done i suppose..

B&E sounds familiar, are they affiliated to Propnex? We kept getting a call from them saying that we have a free $200 voucher but need to go down to their office to collect...ya right i told them to keep it :P They even sent a photocopy personal testimonial of Mr Mohd Ismail who was apparently very pleased with his work.

Finally received price quote for our bathroom plan last night. The amount quoted was much higher than we expected...so sadly, we have to revert to our original plan of using a 1.3m bathtub.

Now trying to arrange for a meeting with our PM to sort out the quote. We want to get this finalized by this weekend so they can start work on Monday.. it's already been two weeks since our reno permit was approved........... getting a little impatient...... :(

thought the beginning was fast n furious? why they suddenly stop...

I aso think u shd get the PM to buck up the reno, or else really might be i finish and u still not finish wor. :unsure:

B&E sounds familiar, are they affiliated to Propnex? We kept getting a call from them saying that we have a free $200 voucher but need to go down to their office to collect...ya right i told them to keep it :P They even sent a photocopy personal testimonial of Mr Mohd Ismail who was apparently very pleased with his work.

yes, they're sort of affiliated to propnex. though i didn't know that when i first contacted them..your agent also from PN?

thought the beginning was fast n furious? why they suddenly stop...

I aso think u shd get the PM to buck up the reno, or else really might be i finish and u still not finish wor. :unsure:

ya lor, at the beginning was really whirlwind speed and i felt like i couldn't catch up. but i think maybe cos of the 1 month break for reno permit, they had to reallocate their workers to other projects and now that we're ready again, we have to sort out the pricing for the changes to original contract and maybe wait for their workers to free up again. delays left and right.

thats why i said you gonna catch up with me liao!! still say won't...... :bangwall:

Just got a call from my PM...she is sick today! but very nice of her, she will still try to get to my office by 12.30pm later to meet me.

during our conversation, she picked up several calls from her workers - can hear her talking in the background. they are already at our place and will be sealing up the old common bedroom entrance and putting up the new wall in the kitchen. i can feel her urgency again..hopefully this will last a while.

yes, they're sort of affiliated to propnex. though i didn't know that when i first contacted them..your agent also from PN?

yea my agent is from PN, in the beginning I was abit upset that PN anyhow give our our info to these reno firms. B&E on their first call was like "congratulations on your purchase at bishan blk xxx". so freaky you know. i'm sure they are nice ppl, but the telemarketing girl put me off so we strike them off our list.

hahaha yea i know. i would have had the same reaction, 'cept that thankfully i contacted them before they even contacted me. so when they called me, i was like "i already have a quote from your company. but since you're calling me now, does it mean that PN customers got further discounts?" hahaha the guy was like, "er no........". he was trying to get me to visit their showroom.

ya lor, at the beginning was really whirlwind speed and i felt like i couldn't catch up. but i think maybe cos of the 1 month break for reno permit, they had to reallocate their workers to other projects and now that we're ready again, we have to sort out the pricing for the changes to original contract and maybe wait for their workers to free up again. delays left and right.

thats why i said you gonna catch up with me liao!! still say won't...... :bangwall:

aiya, who knows mah...at that time u already finish so many things and i haven even started.

now hor i started tiling liao leh, so jia you! let's complete together!

the fan will be mounted on a fixed glass panel. the existing louver windows will be replaced with the glass panel..didn't know pinktini also had one...off to go and see hers now!

you're welcome! :) there are a few models to choose from, depending on your needs. for us, we picked the strongest one in terms of "air-change" volume. other models with smaller air-change volume would be cheaper.

Ger, my ID said we cannot have the ventilation fan fixed on a "push up" window intheMBR bathroom.

Does it mean the fan has to be mounted onto a 'fixed' window panel which is then approved? :unsure:

Edited by infinitie

Ger, my ID said we cannot have the ventilation fan fixed on a "push up" window intheMBR bathroom.

Does it mean the fan has to be mounted onto a 'fixed' window panel which is then approved? :unsure:

yes..you'll need to change your window to a fixed panel one. mine already approved liao, going to be up soon...

Reno Day 46
Went up to the flat last night.
It was so dark I had to take photos to see what was around me.
Thank god for flash!

1.jpg
Our new common room door frame up

2.jpg
Sealing up of original common room entrance

3.jpg
Kitchen cabinet base up. Hb says very good, very neat. :)

4.jpg
Surprised to find our tiles have already been delivered!

5.jpg
Bath floors and ceilings smoothened out after walls were hacked

looking good~ :good:

Two thumbs up! Progress looking good. :) Very soon, tiles will be up. I find that the slowest thing in a reno is carpentry leh.

not much progress girls...but thanks for the encouragement anyway lol...

we're in the midst of finalizing the changes to the contract so they cannot do tiling yet..i don't have much carpentry leh..so shouldn't be too much of a problem. only my kitchen cabinet..