Whoa so much to catch up after a week.

Hey brother coldflamez, when and where is the featured article? Working 5 years ahead, I will know Sam's age and that will gives us a rough guide what it takes to be a champion. Hahahaha.

Peace.........

haha...bro england. prob u will win me on the age issue??? ;)

no chance to be champion already, am so tied with work. likely to log in only in the morning before the swarm of work comes or end of the day. so u wun hear much from me. also the running ard for the reno is getting to me....am already starting to be sick...in fact my whole family is down with something or another.

Your keys are not collected yet ler ...

You better take care, once the reno start, you'll be even busier.

ya, he is a rather strict man. so if ur ID is lazy, she will be in trouble haha :)

oh is it, that's good news haha..did u engage him previously?

Cool price for lights and electrical appliances! Did you take any pics on the lights?

I was at mega discount on saturday! Went to check out the washers and dryers, the sales man said that there is package if you buy the washer and dryer. We were seeing Brandt. I dunno if Brandt is a good brand or not but just see loh. :P

May I know where is A Lighting enterprise? I was walking along Geylang road on the city plaza side and dun remember seeing the shop.

nope, no pics of the lights! they are pretty standard lights so no pics la..anyway this shop's prices can beat lightings.com.sg. It is on the right side if you go down Geylang Road. First shop after Lorong 25.

hey u were at mega discount on saturday too? we could have passed each other lol! i was there around 3-4pm if i recall correctly..

i am older than u by 5 yrs so to me it's a big gap :D...shhh...dun say out ah.

orh i know liao! haha, not that old la sammy.. :P

sounds pretty bad..you ought to take it easy! reno haven't start you already falling sick...tsk tsk tsk.. :no:

"I always say shopping is cheaper than a psychiatrist." - Tammy Faye Bakker

Citygas Gallery (Somerset)

Finally confirmed our water heater + dryer on Saturday morning! Now facing an issue of how to run our gas pipes because we don't have top kitchen cabinets... :(

Damage:

Water heater: $128 + $60 installation

Dryer: $630 + $100 installation

Gas piping for stove: $100

hmm, consider painting the pipes so its not so obvious? cos the pipes they use are copper. tt's wat i did for mine for the pipes which cannot be covered by my top cabinets. ohh, and do think about where you place your dryer, i had a tough time deciding cos my yard area quite small. and there wasn't enough space to place it above my washing machine. end up do side by side.

sounds pretty bad..you ought to take it easy! reno haven't start you already falling sick...tsk tsk tsk.. :no:

cos now busy with choosing laminates and went choosing tiles yesterday plus additional bathroom & kitchen accessories, it's one whole day running outside lor. plus weather no good so more easier to be sick. PLUS work load is horrible. but there will be a major turning point come july so hopefully all will work out in the end. meanwhile am loading myself with vit and mental willpower to not fall sick.

hmm, consider painting the pipes so its not so obvious? cos the pipes they use are copper. tt's wat i did for mine for the pipes which cannot be covered by my top cabinets. ohh, and do think about where you place your dryer, i had a tough time deciding cos my yard area quite small. and there wasn't enough space to place it above my washing machine. end up do side by side.

thanks for the suggestion! yes..will most likely have to paint any exposed pipes..depending on how ugly the copper is. might turn out well though..can't really visualise yet :P . i saw your pipes..you also have the same citygas water heater + dryer right? we'll be putting our dryer above the washer..we measured already, should have enough space..

cos now busy with choosing laminates and went choosing tiles yesterday plus additional bathroom & kitchen accessories, it's one whole day running outside lor. plus weather no good so more easier to be sick. PLUS work load is horrible. but there will be a major turning point come july so hopefully all will work out in the end. meanwhile am loading myself with vit and mental willpower to not fall sick.

you must drink loads and loads of water. this kind of weather very easy to fall sick. when we're out running about, i try to stay out of the sun as much as possible and really drinks lots of water..at the end of each weekend, i always find myself staring in to space while my energy bar refills..lol.

thanks for the suggestion! yes..will most likely have to paint any exposed pipes..depending on how ugly the copper is. might turn out well though..can't really visualise yet :P . i saw your pipes..you also have the same citygas water heater + dryer right? we'll be putting our dryer above the washer..we measured already, should have enough space..

you must drink loads and loads of water. this kind of weather very easy to fall sick. when we're out running about, i try to stay out of the sun as much as possible and really drinks lots of water..at the end of each weekend, i always find myself staring in to space while my energy bar refills..lol.

envy u that u still hv time to star into space to recharge. my weekends is full with sending kid to music & swimming... then taking care of kid :(

yea leh. now reno is dangling in mid-air while we await hdb's approval. we got no kids so not as busy as you...how many have you got?

yaya, standard heater & dryer package from them lor. but they charge 3 times for each installation lor. -_-"

so good u can place it above the washer! dun forget the dryer got some funny pipe thing coming out the top to vent out the heat or smth. i have white tiles, so the copper pipe really very very ugly. I'll see if i can get a pic of my painted pipes tonight.

samgalz: ya, i think its natural to feel exhausted from the reno process, and plus u got kids to take care of. i dun have kids, but alr feel so tired and also falling sick, cos any offday and all weekends are reno-related. all of us must really rest more and recharge our battery whenever we can. for me, tt's sleeping on my way to & back from work. haha.

yaya, standard heater & dryer package from them lor. but they charge 3 times for each installation lor. -_-"

so good u can place it above the washer! dun forget the dryer got some funny pipe thing coming out the top to vent out the heat or smth. i have white tiles, so the copper pipe really very very ugly. I'll see if i can get a pic of my painted pipes tonight.

samgalz: ya, i think its natural to feel exhausted from the reno process, and plus u got kids to take care of. i dun have kids, but alr feel so tired and also falling sick, cos any offday and all weekends are reno-related. all of us must really rest more and recharge our battery whenever we can. for me, tt's sleeping on my way to & back from work. haha.

yes i know, we're paying $260 for installation in all..they very good to earn lor. we won't be tiling our kitchen so the copper might blend well, not sure yet.. did u get a front load washer?

Furniture Post #1

Due to our shoestring budget, furnishing was one component we agreed to save on.
Through our years of rentals, we've always used second-hand furniture that were bought online.
There's an unexplainable thrill of buying stuff at such cheap prices that always compensate for not having something new.

And this morning, we just put down the payment for our first second-hand item for our new home:

sofa.jpg
2.5 Seater Designer Fabric Sofa
Original Price: $2,800
Purchased At: $238

We like the unique angle the sofa has and that it is a very solid piece, not cheapo.
Might re-upholster it, see how it goes.

- To be collected month end -
Edited by lilithfiend

pipes paint already will blend in well, no worries...

painters will usually just paint the pipes as it is difficult to paint the kitchen without touching the pipe

i must say the sofa is a very good buy! where you find the lobang...never share? :P

wanted to try city gas dryer as well but decided to shelve it due to budget.. :( so will be using bamboo sticks for the time being...

hey gimz, its not so much a matter of blending that we're worried about. its more of how to run the gas pipes past the hood when we don't have top cabinets..? not sure if have to install the hood below the gas pipe or is it must cut a hole in the hood to fit the pipes. sheesh..details details details.

anyway, yes we think the sofa is also a good buy..haha its off ebay. we went down to the seller's place to view the sofa over the weekend cos we were afraid it might be too big for our place.

yep the citygas dryer is a lil' pricey..compared to the normal dryers. but i really cannot stand the smell of food on my clothes so i prefer not to hang laundry in the kitchen..and hanging outside is not an option for towels and bedding..so luckily we got budget for dryer...

yea leh. now reno is dangling in mid-air while we await hdb's approval. we got no kids so not as busy as you...how many have you got?

one..but weekend my SIL's 2 terrors also come so babysit 3

pink: already am sleeping to and fro work without reno :P

Edited by samgalz

yes i know, we're paying $260 for installation in all..they very good to earn lor. we won't be tiling our kitchen so the copper might blend well, not sure yet.. did u get a front load washer?

nope, i haven't bought my washer yet. but my mother-in-law say don't get front load. i don't know why. but just listen lor. haha. only now i very sian, cos i realise i only got 1 electrical outlet there. so the dryer and washing machine got to take turns using it. must go find a nice 3M hook to put there for the wires.

samgalz: alamak. then u just have to look forward to end of reno for a nice break.