Engage a PE to endose it can liao.

the reason hdb gave was that we cannot extend the bathroom for wet area use. so i don't know if getting a PE's endorsement will resolve that..

Try to check with Ossify? He managed to do it.

He manage only the basin to extend it outside which is allow, not the WC or the shower area.

Reno Day 11

Met up with our PM last night at the house. Reached early and had a few minutes to look at the place before she arrived. Both of us were pleasantly surprised that they had laid canvas & protective cardboard everywhere, I suppose to prepare for more hacking.

As of last night, the hall + rooms + kitchen floors have been cement screeded. The service yard has also been levelled out and screeded. We really liked the way they did the screed..got nice variations in colours.. :D so happy! Cannot wait to see the effect after they apply the sealer. The annoying little pipe sticking out in the kitchen has also been cut, also makes us very happy! :P

We discussed the bathroom and explored changing the layouts. Finally decided on sticking to the same layout but reducing the entrance walk-in space which in turns reduces the "wet area" that HDB deems we are expanding. PM says this plan should be ok. So they will be re-submitting the permit, hopefully this time HDB grants us the approval. If its still a no-go, we'll have to forgo our bathtub and put a shower in there. :(

Sorry no pictures taken cos didn't know they'd done any work since my last visit. Will be there again this weekend to take some measurements, will try to get some pics taken..!

:) screeded floors how can don't take picture? :P

anyway saw that you were quoted in the papers! :)

good luck for your permit, hope to see the developments soon...

cos last sunday i took pics liao..so i thought they wouldn't have done any work from Mon-Thu since no permit mah..so didn't bring camera along lor! wasted..really so happy with the screeded floors especially at the service yard area.. :D

ya you noticed! wow..very sharp eyes.. i was mis-quoted btw.. :unsure:

thanks we're also hoping this time round our permit will be approved so we can move this project along..

Edited by lilithfiend

cos last sunday i took pics liao..so i thought they wouldn't have done any work from Mon-Thu since no permit mah..so didn't bring camera along lor! wasted..really so happy with the screeded floors especially at the service yard area.. :D

ya you noticed! wow..very sharp eyes.. i was mis-quoted btw.. :unsure:

thanks we're also hoping this time round our permit will be approved so we can move this project along..

Yup, i saw the article too. :) What did they mis-quote??

But i don't like how the article claims that housing is affordable because 54% are paying 25k COV and below.. 25k is still a lot of money!!

Besides that, although they say that the median COV only increased slightly, housing prices have actually increased much more because the current valuation has increased due to last quarter's high COV. It's really a vicious cycle.... :curse: :curse:

Edited by coldflamez

Yup, i saw the article too. :) What did they mis-quote??

But i don't like how the article claims that housing is affordable because 54% are paying 25k COV and below.. 25k is still a lot of money!!

Besides that, although they say that the median COV only increased slightly, housing prices have actually increased much more because the current valuation has increased due to last quarter's high COV. It's really a vicious cycle.... :curse: :curse:

well, for a start, i didn't say we took months to find this unit. i told her we took about a month but before that, we tried our luck at the hdb ballot but was unsuccessful.

and i also never said that we seen many other units..in fact i told her, this was only the second unit we saw. but when we spoke to other agents about our low cov requirements, they always told us it wasn't possible and hence, we didn't view many units. omg, my words were so misconstrued lor! :bangwall: why they never print about our unsuccessful attempt at the hdb ballot?!

yes 25k IS alot of money. they think oh, just because hdb say the median cov paid is 25k, anything below that is cheap. for first-timers like us, 25k is much more than we can pay for our reno, much less the COV!

quoted in papers? where? Straits Times? Tell me and I go c

hey sammy, nothing much la. just a couple of mis-quotes.

The bad habits of journalism. Shaping the quotes to suit their topic.

I agree, 25k COV is very high not the NORM.

We were lucky to pay "just" 23k for our COV. But I still think it's so expensive. I think 10k is still a reasonable amount. Anything after 25k is silly. Might as well rent a flat. At least that's what I think.

well, for a start, i didn't say we took months to find this unit. i told her we took about a month but before that, we tried our luck at the hdb ballot but was unsuccessful.

and i also never said that we seen many other units..in fact i told her, this was only the second unit we saw. but when we spoke to other agents about our low cov requirements, they always told us it wasn't possible and hence, we didn't view many units. omg, my words were so misconstrued lor! :bangwall: why they never print about our unsuccessful attempt at the hdb ballot?!

yes 25k IS alot of money. they think oh, just because hdb say the median cov paid is 25k, anything below that is cheap. for first-timers like us, 25k is much more than we can pay for our reno, much less the COV!

hey sammy, nothing much la. just a couple of mis-quotes.

haha so I'm at the median...i paid 25K for mine...

Edited by samgalz

The bad habits of journalism. Shaping the quotes to suit their topic.

I agree, 25k COV is very high not the NORM.

We were lucky to pay "just" 23k for our COV. But I still think it's so expensive. I think 10k is still a reasonable amount. Anything after 25k is silly. Might as well rent a flat. At least that's what I think.

i suppose its really to each his own, some houses might be worth paying above $25k for..but if we'd paid that kind of money for our place, i wouldn't even be on RT because we wouldn't be renovating.. :P

actually, we've been renting for the past seven years and would continue to rent but because rental prices have been steadily increasing, it became a non-option for us to purchase our own place. can you imagine, we once rented a walk-up duplex 3bdrms unit for just $950?! Today, that money can only get you as far as a HDB master bedroom, at the most.

haha so I'm at the median...i paid 25K for mine...

so both u & ngunadi paid around the median for your flats..so it really must be the median la! at least from the small sample size we got here...lol!