- Kitchen cabinet, pantry cabinet & fridge bases all up
oh u got fridge base? must take note that you got electrical point within reach and not behind the fridge. or else when u want to do fridge cleaning, very hard to switch off the power. my friend teach me one.

hv u checked contat, yontat and door plus?

hard to describe the design on the phone so i emailed them but so far no responses. thanks anyway...

oh u got fridge base? must take note that you got electrical point within reach and not behind the fridge. or else when u want to do fridge cleaning, very hard to switch off the power. my friend teach me one.

yep, we had to do a fridge base cos the fridge is positioned above the existing floortrap. thanks for the tip, we've planned for the power point to be at the side of the fridge like you said.

hey gimz, i know the grilles are such a spoiler, right. i told my hb: since we cannot do scissors grilles, then just do normal windows lor. but after seeing the locking mechanism, our interest has been piqued again. So now our next best solution is to do a 3-track one, so the panels are slimmer. and we'll be using mild steel for the grilles as well, not as cheapo-looking compared to aluminium.

our mild steel gate design - we're still working it out. we're going to go for minimal, some verticals some horizontals. definitely no flowers or dolpins. :P

well, we can't get everything we want, but that's life right...

what is mild steel?

I got a window that is very opened but the height needed to be grilled up is like 2350mm x 550mm. Is there any customised grill makers to intro?

Reno Day 50
Happy to see progress - things are moving along!

1.jpg
Sealing up of original common room entrance completed

2.jpg
View of kitchen from hall - notice the new pantry wall is up

3.jpg
Pantry wall up, along with base for pantry cabinet.
Slightly longer than we wanted but still okay.

4.jpg
Fridge base up. Notice the "canal" to the floor drainage cannot be seen in this pic.
It's actually hidden where the yellow pail is. Cannot be seen on first glance - I like!

5.jpg
The new entrance to bath completed

6.jpg
Extended waterproofing for the bathroom walls.
Floors also were waterproofed a second time.

7.jpg
Drainage dug out on the floor leading the sink to the existing floor trap.

8.jpg
Where the WC will be. Ventilation fan not up yet.
The walls were newly screeded just yesterday.
So smooth like plaster!

what is mild steel?

I got a window that is very opened but the height needed to be grilled up is like 2350mm x 550mm. Is there any customised grill makers to intro?

hey zelly, from wikianswers:

It is the most common form of steel.

It is not brittle. its really hard.

It is cheap.

It is often used when large amounts of steel are needed. Mild steel is a carbon steel typically with a maximum of 0.25% Carbon and 0.4%-0.7% manganese, 0.1%-0.5% Silicon and some + traces of other elements such as phosphorous, it may also contain lead (free cutting mild steel) or sulphur (again free cutting steel called re-sulphurised mild steel)

these are some of the guys i contacted for grilles, they all do custom grilles:

- Alex Ong 9100 8767

- Aaron 8399 3791

- Ah Lee 9457 0677

hey zelly, from wikianswers:

these are some of the guys i contacted for grilles, they all do custom grilles:

- Alex Ong 9100 8767

- Aaron 8399 3791

- Ah Lee 9457 0677

Thanks for the contacts! Which one is reasonable cheap and does pretty good work?

So for the mild steel it is also rust proof? I need to put somewhere will get rain and wet often.

5.jpg
The new entrance to bath completed

6.jpg

Extended waterproofing for the bathroom walls.
Floors also were waterproofed a second time.

7.jpg

Drainage dug out on the floor leading the sink to the existing floor trap.

8.jpg

Where the WC will be. Ventilation fan not up yet.
The walls were newly screeded just yesterday.
So smooth like plaster!

Hi Lilithfiend,

Congrate that your renovaiton almost come to the end and I believe it's a lovely transformation!

Can you please PM me your contractor, electrician, plastering technician?

I am now planning to renovate my resale 3i flat and am in the crossroad as to how to go about it! :unsure:

Thank you and regards,

Thanks for the contacts! Which one is reasonable cheap and does pretty good work?

So for the mild steel it is also rust proof? I need to put somewhere will get rain and wet often.

hey zelly, all three are pretty reasonably priced. in terms of workmanship, i cannot vouch for any of them as i have not used them. however, alex was recommended on these forums (need to dig up the threads) and ah lee was recommended by someone on myhometown. as for aaron, i happened to chance across his ad on an online classifieds.

mild steel itself isn't rust proof. i believe the maker will have to apply some sort of protective sealant to prevent it from rusting. i think we're pretty limited in terms of supply in singapore. when you think of window grilles, you only have aluminium or wrought iron. even mild steel seems to be pretty hard to come by. btw, if u wanna see an example of mild steel gate, can have a look at Ripple's blog. he used it for his main gate. hope this helps! :)

Hi Lilithfiend,

Congrate that your renovaiton almost come to the end and I believe it's a lovely transformation!

Can you please PM me your contractor, electrician, plastering technician?

I am now planning to renovate my resale 3i flat and am in the crossroad as to how to go about it! :unsure:

Thank you and regards,

hi pcomaster, thanks for your kind words..my reno still got some way to go though. stick around on RT, start a blog or read others and you will become more familiar with the process. if u need any help, feel free to ask around. there are many 3-roomers around here who will be happy to help. Will PM you what you asked for, but not my electrician cos he's too busy to take on new projects till sept.

hey zelly, all three are pretty reasonably priced. in terms of workmanship, i cannot vouch for any of them as i have not used them. however, alex was recommended on these forums (need to dig up the threads) and ah lee was recommended by someone on myhometown. as for aaron, i happened to chance across his ad on an online classifieds.

mild steel itself isn't rust proof. i believe the maker will have to apply some sort of protective sealant to prevent it from rusting. i think we're pretty limited in terms of supply in singapore. when you think of window grilles, you only have aluminium or wrought iron. even mild steel seems to be pretty hard to come by. btw, if u wanna see an example of mild steel gate, can have a look at Ripple's blog. he used it for his main gate. hope this helps! :)

hi pcomaster, thanks for your kind words..my reno still got some way to go though. stick around on RT, start a blog or read others and you will become more familiar with the process. if u need any help, feel free to ask around. there are many 3-roomers around here who will be happy to help. Will PM you what you asked for, but not my electrician cos he's too busy to take on new projects till sept.

Hey Lilithfiend, thank you for the contacts. I think you missed out 1 digit for Kow Yee HP, only 7 digits including the 9 in front leh ? :rolleyes:

May I ask the price which you need to pay for your nenovation? I do not have big budget lor therefore must check check.

Thank you

Hey Lilithfiend, thank you for the contacts. I think you missed out 1 digit for Kow Yee HP, only 7 digits including the 9 in front leh ? :rolleyes:

May I ask the price which you need to pay for your nenovation? I do not have big budget lor therefore must check check.

Thank you

oops, sorry paiseh. PM-ed you again..

Reno Day 51
Had a minor heart attack yesterday evening when PM called to say
our bathtub had been built but differently from our dimensions.
So went down to have a look at night, turned out fine.

1.jpg
Taken from bathroom entrance.
Will be increasing height of it by 3.5" so as to have enough water for a proper soak.
Hb calculated the cost of a bath is $0.88.

3.jpg
Close-up of the tub internal. I had a test-sit,
lots of space for one but maybe a 'lil cramped for two.

2.jpg
These pipes to be boxed up.
Still considering if we should have a cabinet between the pipes.

ohh i thought building a bath tub is not allowed?

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10324p.nsf/w/...ow?OpenDocument

From HDB:

Examples of Renovation Work Not Allowed

Hacking and removal of structural members such as reinforced concrete wall, columns, beams, slabs, staircases within maisonette flats, etc.

Excessive overloading of the floor slab with a load greater than 150 kg for every metre square of floor area.

Plastering of ceilings.

Partitioning with combustible or toxic emission materials (e.g. plywood, plastics, asbestos etc.)

Raising of floor level exceeding the allowable thickness of 50mm (inclusive of floor tiles) using concrete.

Extending floor area by covering over void deck areas (e.g. covering over void deck areas within maisonette flats)

Constructing water tank in bathroom except ready-made fibreglass bathtub.

if i known it can be done, would have seriously considered it. :(