Some good news, some bad news.

Yesterday was a day of mixed news. Let me start with the bad:

Bad News #1

Window Grilles - As a recap, we were previously looking for these kind of grilles:

window-security4.jpg

Quote came in but was far, far, far too costly to do. So sadly, we have to use normal grilles (which I absolutely hate).

Bad News #2

Main gate - PM told me they cannot do the mild steel gate we want. So I have to find someone else to do it for us. I refuse to use wrought iron/aluminium gates! Refuse.

Good News #1

Bathroom - Managed to get our PM to reduce her bathroom quote, so we are now back to business! Though it's still more costly to do the custom bath, the difference is not much and we feel the payoff will be worth it.

Good News #2

Windows - Understand from my PM yesterday that the permit to install our windows have been approved. As a recap, we are only replacing the windows in the hall and common room since the other windows have previously been upgraded by HDB. And, if you read this blog from Page 1, you'll know that I was looking for the American-style double-hung windows which is non-existent in Singapore:

double-hung-window-4.jpg

B&E will be fabricating the windows for us. We requested to see the locking mechanism before they fabricate the windows and yesterday, our PM left it at our place for us to collect. We've seen it and are now even more intrigued! We were actually ready to sacrifice the windows since we couldn't do the grilles we wanted (see Bad News #1) and to save some cost.

Bad News #2

Main gate - PM told me they cannot do the mild steel gate we want. So I have to find someone else to do it for us. I refuse to use wrought iron/aluminium gates! Refuse.

look for yick hong, alex. he might be able to do.

Good News #1

Bathroom - Managed to get our PM to reduce her bathroom quote, so we are now back to business! Though it's still more costly to do the custom bath, the difference is not much and we feel the payoff will be worth it.

so jap bathtub for u then? ;) good for u!!!

look for yick hong, alex. he might be able to do.

so jap bathtub for u then? ;) good for u!!!

already met alex & his bro before we began reno. yes they can do..but i found someone else at a lower price. so most likely will be going with this one. save > $100!

wow, so many posts today. :)

whats your ideal mild steel gate design?

the windows look great...but put grilles le.. :unsure:

glad that you could have what you dreamt of earlier, im sure when you look at it everyday in future, u will smile. Its always a blessing to be able to get what you want! :)

looks like everything is going rather smoothly, your bad news aren't that bad la. :P

wow, so many posts today. :)

whats your ideal mild steel gate design?

the windows look great...but put grilles le.. :unsure:

glad that you could have what you dreamt of earlier, im sure when you look at it everyday in future, u will smile. Its always a blessing to be able to get what you want! :)

looks like everything is going rather smoothly, your bad news aren't that bad la. :P

hey gimz, i know the grilles are such a spoiler, right. i told my hb: since we cannot do scissors grilles, then just do normal windows lor. but after seeing the locking mechanism, our interest has been piqued again. So now our next best solution is to do a 3-track one, so the panels are slimmer. and we'll be using mild steel for the grilles as well, not as cheapo-looking compared to aluminium.

our mild steel gate design - we're still working it out. we're going to go for minimal, some verticals some horizontals. definitely no flowers or dolpins. :P

well, we can't get everything we want, but that's life right...

hey gimz, i know the grilles are such a spoiler, right. i told my hb: since we cannot do scissors grilles, then just do normal windows lor. but after seeing the locking mechanism, our interest has been piqued again. So now our next best solution is to do a 3-track one, so the panels are slimmer. and we'll be using mild steel for the grilles as well, not as cheapo-looking compared to aluminium.

our mild steel gate design - we're still working it out. we're going to go for minimal, some verticals some horizontals. definitely no flowers or dolpins. :P

well, we can't get everything we want, but that's life right...

hmm yeah, no grilles sounds a bit dangerous for corridor units.. hmm...tough choice..

ohhh have fun designing... im lousy at designing so i cannot comment... haha...

think el nino's grilles not bad. Can copy and modify... haha..

Some good news, some bad news.

Yesterday was a day of mixed news. Let me start with the bad:

Bad News #1

Window Grilles - As a recap, we were previously looking for these kind of grilles:

window-security4.jpg

Quote came in but was far, far, far too costly to do. So sadly, we have to use normal grilles (which I absolutely hate).

I read an old home & deco mag last year where some guy who did these scissors/accordian grilles for his windows got his in Thailand. So if you are ever Thailand, you can go ask around.

Good News #2

Windows - Understand from my PM yesterday that the permit to install our windows have been approved. As a recap, we are only replacing the windows in the hall and common room since the other windows have previously been upgraded by HDB. And, if you read this blog from Page 1, you'll know that I was looking for the American-style double-hung windows which is non-existent in Singapore:

double-hung-window-4.jpg

B&E will be fabricating the windows for us. We requested to see the locking mechanism before they fabricate the windows and yesterday, our PM left it at our place for us to collect. We've seen it and are now even more intrigued! We were actually ready to sacrifice the windows since we couldn't do the grilles we wanted (see Bad News #1) and to save some cost.

Hooray!! can't wait to see it!

Edited by curryqueen

yes..you'll need to change your window to a fixed panel one. mine already approved liao, going to be up soon...

okok... take pict and post hor.TQ!

hmm yeah, no grilles sounds a bit dangerous for corridor units.. hmm...tough choice..

ohhh have fun designing... im lousy at designing so i cannot comment... haha...

think el nino's grilles not bad. Can copy and modify... haha..

was quoted $16psf for mild steel window grilles, which is out of our budget. PM said she has a aluminium-wrought iron hybrid which can be used for the gate & grilles, and most importantly, does not have the "bumpiness" of normal wrought iron. Shall wait to see it, hopefully it looks like mild steel.

I read an old home & deco mag last year where some guy who did these scissors/accordian grilles for his windows got his in Thailand. So if you are ever Thailand, you can go ask around.

Hooray!! can't wait to see it!

Thailand ah? i doubt grilles will be on my mind when i'm there lol. but thanks for the tip anyway..just for reference, for anyone who's thinking of doing scissors grilles - the cost ranges from $450-$650 per set.

okok... take pict and post hor.TQ!

i surely will! :P

Some updates.

Visited the flat yesterday, pleased to see that the following works have been completed:

- Sealing up of original common room entrance

- Kitchen cabinet, pantry cabinet & fridge bases all up

- New pantry wall up

- Second coat of waterproofing for bathroom

Worked out this week's schedule with our PM:

- Additional waterproofing to be done today

- Tiling & building of bathtub to be done Tue-Thu

- Hall & common room windows to be replaced Fri

- Plastering to be done Fri-Sat

- Aircon trunking & Citygas pipes to be run Mon

wow, scissors grilles are REALLY expensive!

still got aluminium and wrought iron hybrid...hmmm can take pic of it if got chance? just curious how it looks..haha

Just kpo only since i already "caged" up my house. :P

wow, scissors grilles are REALLY expensive!

still got aluminium and wrought iron hybrid...hmmm can take pic of it if got chance? just curious how it looks..haha

Just kpo only since i already "caged" up my house. :P

ya i know, right. sigh........ still dreaming of those scissors grilles.

i also never heard of such a alu-wrought iron hybrid till she mentioned it. will take pic of it when i get the sample.

Can you share with me your electrical wiring contact, Jaskel please?

Thank you! :)

hey magyarposta, Jaskel's a member of this forum. you can try PM him, see if he's available. he seems pretty busy lately...

Main Door

Fell in love with this one:

lowland.jpg

But the price is madness at $1.2k. Anyone seen this similar design at a cheaper price? Please share....

Edited by lilithfiend

Main Door

Fell in love with this one:

lowland.jpg

But the price is madness at $1.2k. Anyone seen this similar design at a cheaper price? Please share....

hv u checked contat, yontat and door plus?