hdb technical officer called me. not approved again!! :furious: very pissed off now!

asked him what was the reason, he said same reason, cannot extend wet area. argh!! i told him hdb built a wall outside the toilet which cannot be hacked. and all we're asking is to close up that wall. he said he can only relate what their engineers say. after repeatedly insisting that others have merged and expanded their bathrooms before, he finally said he would speak to the engineers again.

sian!! another waiting period. we've already waited two weeks for them to approve........ :bangwall:

update: he just called me again to tell me the engineer is on leave! :fire: always on leave! last time delay 1 week say engineer on leave. now also on leave...ARGH!

Hey lilithfiend,

Don't get too upset, we are on the same boat now.. I need to wait for another 3-4 weeks for seller to HO keys to me.

Let's wait tgt bah! *sob*sob*

oh no...i thought as long as the wall is not a beam means can hack..? mmmm

anyway, we went to mega discount store, couldn't find your $399 washer le... :(

though it was advertised..

aiyo! i also want that washer leh. Saw it at ntuc hypermart at amk hub. Selling at $500+.

oh no...i thought as long as the wall is not a beam means can hack..? mmmm

anyway, we went to mega discount store, couldn't find your $399 washer le... :(

though it was advertised..

hey gimz, did you quote the brand & model number? its a Samsung Front Load Washer WF8650.

bathroom expansion is a bit more tricky than beams, i s'pose. they're taking into consideration the extension of wet area, expansion to accomodate bathtub etc. we're prepared to hear a negative answer today when the hdb technical officer calls me back. :bangwall: just need to make some changes here & there till they approve lor.

Hey lilithfiend,

Don't get too upset, we are on the same boat now.. I need to wait for another 3-4 weeks for seller to HO keys to me.

Let's wait tgt bah! *sob*sob*

thanks dear, its a good thing we can wait..if we have to move in by a certain date, then we'll be really gone case liao.

aiyo! i also want that washer leh. Saw it at ntuc hypermart at amk hub. Selling at $500+.

try mega discount store, gain city or everjoint..should be able to find around the same price..

hdb technical officer called me. not approved again!! :furious: very pissed off now!

asked him what was the reason, he said same reason, cannot extend wet area. argh!! i told him hdb built a wall outside the toilet which cannot be hacked. and all we're asking is to close up that wall. he said he can only relate what their engineers say. after repeatedly insisting that others have merged and expanded their bathrooms before, he finally said he would speak to the engineers again.

sian!! another waiting period. we've already waited two weeks for them to approve........ :bangwall:

update: he just called me again to tell me the engineer is on leave! :fire: always on leave! last time delay 1 week say engineer on leave. now also on leave...ARGH!

har, on leave again? he got a lot of leave to clear hor. i hope it turns out well. am sure he could find some other engineers in the department to take a look, then won't drag yours again. but better have some changes in mind, so in the event really rejected, you can straightaway submit the changes for approval?

we also hope it will turn out well..sigh..

yep, already have backup plans. i doubt the news will be good today.

Plan A

ToiletPlanA.gif

Submitted 23 Apr 10

Rejected 6 May 10

Plan B

Toilet-Plan-B.gif

Submitted 11 May 10

Rejected 17 May 10

Plan C - To be submitted

ToiletPlanC.gif

Plan C - To be submitted

ToiletPlanC.gif

I am afraid plan C may not work because your bathtub is extended outside your previous "wet area"

Edited by ossify

I am afraid plan C may not work because your bathtub is extended outside your previous "wet area"

yep apparently, right? but plan b's bathtub is within the so-called wet area and they still rejected our application!

Reno permit update

No. of Days Awaiting Permit: 18

4.15pm: No call from HDB technical officer, so i called him. he said whole day the engineer phone engaged. He said he'll try again and call me back in 5 mins.

4:30pm: Called me back to say he spoke to the engineer liao. Same answer - cannot. Reason: cannot extend toilet to accomodate bathtub. He told the engineer the bathtub is still in the existing shower area. Engineer still maintained "Cannot", ask HDB officer to submit appeal. HDB officer told me he already submitted on our behalf but he thinks chances not very high. Say the main engineer on leave until Friday, most likely Monday then will know. ON LEAVE AGAIN. He then went on a tirade about how its not advisable to put bathtub blah blah blah. Then say if not approved and we still install, next time they come and check, both lessees and contractor will kena. LESSEES.

Edited by lilithfiend

yep apparently, right? but plan b's bathtub is within the so-called wet area and they still rejected our application!

I guess they're worried you'll flood the floor :D

we also hope it will turn out well..sigh..

yep, already have backup plans. i doubt the news will be good today.

Plan A

ToiletPlanA.gif

Submitted 23 Apr 10

Rejected 6 May 10

Plan B

Toilet-Plan-B.gif

Submitted 11 May 10

Rejected 17 May 10

Plan C - To be submitted

ToiletPlanC.gif

How about you don't put in a tub but build a partition wall( to the usual height of a tub), tile the floor area and the partition wall, so that it becomes your tub? That way, it's technically still a "shower area" but one with a REALY HIGH curb. I've seen an old H&D magazine that did it, let me see if I can find it and scan it for you.

i know what you're referring to..my PM also suggested it. we're keeping that as a extreme last option. we still prefer the normal white tub! thanks for the suggestion anyway :D

thanks! i would have preferred a stainless steel fridge but wasn't willing to pay extra :P . just have to make do lor.

S/s fridge? So, usually those like samsung, panasonic are made of? Sorry for my noob question..

Can your washer wash quilt, queensized bedsheet at the same time?

I was told to get at least 8kg top loader for 1 complete wash.

S/s fridge? So, usually those like samsung, panasonic are made of? Sorry for my noob question..

Can your washer wash quilt, queensized bedsheet at the same time?

I was told to get at least 8kg top loader for 1 complete wash.

hey babe, s/steel fridge like this:

es-refrigerator.jpg

no idea if the washer can wash quilt + queensized bedsheet at the same time..but i prefer to wash them separately anyway..bedsheet + pillow cases + quilt cover, quilt on its own..

Trying to do up a schedule, can anyone please advise if this is the correct order of things?

- all masonry works completed

- aircon trunking installation

- electrical rewiring

- run water pipe

- run gas pipe

- plastering

- replace windows, doors, gate & grilles

- false ceiling, lbox etc

- painting

- kitchen cabinet installation

- install sanitary fittings, lights

- aircon blower installation

- painting touch up

- cleaning, acid wash

- handover

Edited by lilithfiend

I think painting need several rounds.

Because after you install your false ceiling, l-box, and electricity, your painter need to do touch up.

Your aircon-work can be combine right? why need to separate the aircon blower work?

No carpentry work? (I can't remember your reno works :D)