one..but weekend my SIL's 2 terrors also come so babysit 3

pink: already am sleeping to and fro work without reno :P

wow sam, you sound really tired & overworked! you should take turns with your SIL to babysit these 3 kiddos..or at least until your reno is done mah..

nope, i haven't bought my washer yet. but my mother-in-law say don't get front load. i don't know why. but just listen lor. haha. only now i very sian, cos i realise i only got 1 electrical outlet there. so the dryer and washing machine got to take turns using it. must go find a nice 3M hook to put there for the wires.

samgalz: alamak. then u just have to look forward to end of reno for a nice break.

perhaps if u get front load, you might be able to fit the dryer on top. same for us, we wouldn't be able to fit the dryer on top if our washer isn't front load. my MIL also don't like front loads, say got to bend down to put in clothes la, got to bend down to take out clothes la, then her previous washer was an ariston front load that always spoil so she ain't too impressed by them.. but i like front loads! they use less water & are gentler on your clothes.

The front load's main advantage is the water conservaton, while the top load lacks in this category, the front load exceeds. The front load uses up to 60% less water and up to 68% less energy than conventional top loading machines, saving you on those electricity bills. As well as the water conservation front loads are much gentler on your clothes. The main reasons for this are because they have a drum with no agitator, and your clothes will not get caught and stretch.
Source

wow sam, you sound really tired & overworked! you should take turns with your SIL to babysit these 3 kiddos..or at least until your reno is done mah..

perhaps if u get front load, you might be able to fit the dryer on top. same for us, we wouldn't be able to fit the dryer on top if our washer isn't front load. my MIL also don't like front loads, say got to bend down to put in clothes la, got to bend down to take out clothes la, then her previous washer was an ariston front load that always spoil so she ain't too impressed by them.. but i like front loads! they use less water & are gentler on your clothes.

Source

haha....say that to my hubby! my SIL is also babysitting too. cos sundays the 3 kiddos go swimming lesson together so both of us nd to be there. most of the time we are there to make sure no fights or else WWIII! :o

i love front load too. my mum is opp. lilthfiend's MIL. she has always used front load and love it and hates her Whirpool top load to the core cos it always gives her prob.

oh is it, that's good news haha..did u engage him previously?

nope, cos i go straight to the suppliers for most.

n seriously, friends n business never mix well together.

u know wat i mean la. ;)

saw that u just bought a 'new' sofa! congrats :)

let me know if u wan to upholster. i found a cheap upholsterer online.

im letting him do my seat cushions now.

haha....say that to my hubby! my SIL is also babysitting too. cos sundays the 3 kiddos go swimming lesson together so both of us nd to be there. most of the time we are there to make sure no fights or else WWIII! :o

i love front load too. my mum is opp. lilthfiend's MIL. she has always used front load and love it and hates her Whirpool top load to the core cos it always gives her prob.

oh i see, so you & your SIL are around la..i thought she just dump her terrors on you..lol :lol:

nope, cos i go straight to the suppliers for most.

n seriously, friends n business never mix well together.

u know wat i mean la. ;)

ok good, so if anything wrong with my project, you'll get my PM. :P but so far, she's been good la. just occasionally quite hard to get hold of..think she very busy..plus my project is also kinda small..

saw that u just bought a 'new' sofa! congrats :)

let me know if u wan to upholster. i found a cheap upholsterer online.

im letting him do my seat cushions now.

thankyew hahaha..sorry laugh at my own joke. :P

yes been thinking of asking u about your upholsterer. mind sharing his contact? got a rough quote from someone online too, $450. double the price of my sofa. can PM me or just post it here, whichever you prefer. thankyew in advance! :sport-smiley-018:

ok good, so if anything wrong with my project, you'll get my PM. :P but so far, she's been good la. just occasionally quite hard to get hold of..think she very busy..plus my project is also kinda small..

yes been thinking of asking u about your upholsterer. mind sharing his contact? got a rough quote from someone online too, $450. double the price of my sofa. can PM me or just post it here, whichever you prefer. thankyew in advance! :sport-smiley-018:

wa $450 can buy new sofa liao...

tell u wat, when i get back my cushions, i see the workmanship then i tell u gd not.

cos i dun wan later u go do liao not nice u come find me!

this upholsterer works from home. he's an old malay man so his prices r v cheap.

i got quotes from $200 to $400 for one piece of cushion! his is only a fraction of the prices.

i will show u the pics once i get them back within this few days.

ho bo ;) ?

wa $450 can buy new sofa liao...

tell u wat, when i get back my cushions, i see the workmanship then i tell u gd not.

cos i dun wan later u go do liao not nice u come find me!

this upholsterer works from home. he's an old malay man so his prices r v cheap.

i got quotes from $200 to $400 for one piece of cushion! his is only a fraction of the prices.

i will show u the pics once i get them back within this few days.

ho bo ;) ?

ok sounds good! :good: wah old malay man can advertise online ah? lol..

you be guinea pig first la k? let me know how it goes..

Furniture Post #1

Due to our shoestring budget, furnishing was one component we agreed to save on.

Through our years of rentals, we've always used second-hand furniture that were bought online.

There's an unexplainable thrill of buying stuff at such cheap prices that always compensate for not having something new.

And this morning, we just put down the payment for our first second-hand item for our new home:

sofa.jpg

2.5 Seater Designer Fabric Sofa

Original Price: $2,800
Purchased At: $238

We like the unique angle the sofa has and that it is a very solid piece, not cheapo.
Might re-upholster it, see how it goes.

- To be collected month end -

wow.. congras. Very nice sofa set and good price. I think some cleaning would make the set look very good.

ok sounds good! :good: wah old malay man can advertise online ah? lol..

you be guinea pig first la k? let me know how it goes..

His son advertised de ma. he brought all the sample skins let me choose n he quotes on the spot.

infact i was surprised at the price cos my barcelona cushions r quite mahuan to make!

wow.. congras. Very nice sofa set and good price. I think some cleaning would make the set look very good.

thanks! took me a while to warm up to the sofa..hb liked it just abit more than i did..ya might reupholster it cos the colours aren't really what i was looking for..

His son advertised de ma. he brought all the sample skins let me choose n he quotes on the spot.

infact i was surprised at the price cos my barcelona cushions r quite mahuan to make!

wow, sounds like fast & good service! now i'm looking forward to seeing your redone cushions. when finishing?

he said one week so shd be thurs or fri! i cant wait as well :D

Source

i ask my hubby bout the washer ytd, he told me he don't want. he mentioned if some mechanism don't work, later the cover cannot open? I don't know what he talking abt la, but since he's the one washing the clothes, i leave it up to him. wahahaha. :yeah:

anyway, here's a pic of my gas pipes painted in white.

IMG_0202.JPG

thanks! took me a while to warm up to the sofa..hb liked it just abit more than i did..ya might reupholster it cos the colours aren't really what i was looking for..

I oso want to see when it's ready!

i ask my hubby bout the washer ytd, he told me he don't want. he mentioned if some mechanism don't work, later the cover cannot open? I don't know what he talking abt la, but since he's the one washing the clothes, i leave it up to him. wahahaha. :yeah:

anyway, here's a pic of my gas pipes painted in white.

IMG_0202.JPG

he washes the clothes? :jawdrop: wah..where you find such a husband ah? i oso want! :sport-smiley-004:

is your water heated located in the bathroom? looks like the bathroom but i know citygas don't allow installation in enclosed spaces..or is that the service yard? anyway, i think the white pipes look much better painted white, especially since your wall tiles are white..less of an eye sore, definitely..

he washes the clothes? :jawdrop: wah..where you find such a husband ah? i oso want! :sport-smiley-004:

is your water heated located in the bathroom? looks like the bathroom but i know citygas don't allow installation in enclosed spaces..or is that the service yard? anyway, i think the white pipes look much better painted white, especially since your wall tiles are white..less of an eye sore, definitely..

found him courtesy of the government. haha, we used to work together in the civil service. not only wash, he also iron and cook. hahaha, now i feel so evil. but since i knock off early, i'll be the one preparing dinner in future. ;)

my water heater located in the service yard. you're right, i wanted to put in bathroom, they don't allow.