You going for those industrial type of look?

errrr.. i wouldn't say we're going for the industrial look. not really...there's no "theme" we're gunning for. just trying to build a home office that's cozy, sophisticated and modern..

nice...i was keen on screeded floors and walls also but my wife agst it. :(

so i relented and wanted to do only for the store aka cat's room to appease both parties...

but after seeing them lay the homo tiles in my hall and study room, decided to do for the store also...haha :sport-smiley-004:

guess ur house will be monochromatic, colour wise?

must be full of greys, blacks, whites eh? dun forget the silvers and stainless steel materials!!

haha...sorry too excited..:P

ya cement screeded floors can be quite a sensitive topic for certain people.. we had to fight off alot of resistance from family as well..but since it's our house *evil laugh* its our choice.

er, i don't think it will be monochromatic. cos i really like colours... and natural raw wood! :P of course, its easier to just go for a standard palette of grey black white silver..but boring la... :P

hacking and re-screed is cheaper? i thought u wanted cement screed becos u like the look! :P

laminate is using supreme is like $2.7k based on quote given to me. How much is it to hack n re-screed? Sorry i just curious to know... :)

i do like the look! i like the look + i like the cost (or lack of)... :D we're thinking maybe in the future if we get sick of the cement floors, we can either tile it or laminate it..i really like the look of raw wood flooring..

our entire hacking cost is $2.4k so flooring alone should be about half that..screeding of floors is $1k..hb wasn't keen to overlay since it's a rather old house..

ya cement screeded floors can be quite a sensitive topic for certain people.. we had to fight off alot of resistance from family as well..but since it's our house *evil laugh* its our choice.

er, i don't think it will be monochromatic. cos i really like colours... and natural raw wood! :P of course, its easier to just go for a standard palette of grey black white silver..but boring la... :P

i agree! my fave red and grey colours also had some objections but since it will be my house, i let all those naggings go out the other ear. hah! :D

u can still add a dosh of colours here and there to liven up the monochromatic look. although i think ur tilt to natural raw wood shd give a nice contrast with the industrial feel u will have with the screeded flooring. :thumbs up:

i agree! my fave red and grey colours also had some objections but since it will be my house, i let all those naggings go out the other ear. hah! :D

u can still add a dosh of colours here and there to liven up the monochromatic look. although i think ur tilt to natural raw wood shd give a nice contrast with the industrial feel u will have with the screeded flooring. :thumbs up:

I also agree with el nono. Go for those really raw look with all matted wood or metal furnishing. Must have some office like space or furniture hor. :P

Then you can have those rugged looking colorful rugs and brightly colored deco pieces.

This will bring out the soho feel.

My color scheme is going to be from white to black. That includes different shades of gray. Boring yeah, but i like to add in colors with my deco, rugs, pillows and such. I like to buy flowers once awhile too. If red must go for hot chilli red den nice! :lol::jammin:

Edited by Zelly

yep, that's what i'm planning to do with adding the colours..being inclined towards natural raw wood is not the same as actually having the budget to get it lah... :P

I also agree with el nono. Go for those really raw look with all matted wood or metal furnishing. Must have some office like space or furniture hor. :P

Then you can have those rugged looking colorful rugs and brightly colored deco pieces.

This will bring out the soho feel.

My color scheme is going to be from white to black. That includes different shades of gray. Boring yeah, but i like to add in colors with my deco, rugs, pillows and such. I like to buy flowers once awhile too. If red must go for hot chilli red den nice! :lol::jammin:

hey zelly, you're pretty spot on with your ideas there..we'll be converting the utility room to an office so will definitely have office furniture lol... your place sounds like its going to turn out exciting with all the accessories! i also like to buy flowers once in a while!! :D if only they don't die so fast..fake flowers are just not the same..

thanks simon! pity henry didn't work out for us.. ;)

yep yep..fast right? in a couple of pages, our house will be done! :sport-smiley-004:

SBH is better, their tiles are laid out better for your selection. Or maybe that day we went the place was not as crowded as LSH so we had more space to move around. :P they have a few locations, check our their website: www.sbh.com.sg

hey infinitie, i'll also be keeping tabs on your reno progress! but most prob mine will be almost done when you start yours.. :D

we'll only be tiling our bathroom, so i only have 1 floor tile and 1 wall tile..i'll post a pic once we've confirmed them..

the electrician we'll be using isn't from B&E. we're outsourcing our electrical, plastering works, painting to save costs..

Me too... already tabs yours.. kekekeke.... can't wait to see your transformation.

Oh... i tot their price for electrician quite reasonable, i have the list... pm me your email add if you want it.

I was quoted $900 for plastering, sealant, painting w/house, ceiling, piping, door frame, doors, varnished main door(unlimited colours since ID said you cant have rainbows colours for every wall) basically, anywhere we want to paint also can.

Me too... already tabs yours.. kekekeke.... can't wait to see your transformation.

Oh... i tot their price for electrician quite reasonable, i have the list... pm me your email add if you want it.

I was quoted $900 for plastering, sealant, painting w/house, ceiling, piping, door frame, doors, varnished main door(unlimited colours since ID said you cant have rainbows colours for every wall) basically, anywhere we want to paint also can.

Brother,

Seems like $900 can do wonders. Is the service provider independent? Or it comes in a package from the contractor?

Hey sis fiend,

Thanks for the Soon Bee Huat contact. I think before you know it, your renovation would have been completed already going at this rate.

I predict the hardest part of this renovation process is not the renovation per se but the selection of the ideal furniture to fit into your SOHO theme instead.

Brother,

Seems like $900 can do wonders. Is the service provider independent? Or it comes in a package from the contractor?

Hey sis fiend,

Thanks for the Soon Bee Huat contact. I think before you know it, your renovation would have been completed already going at this rate.

I predict the hardest part of this renovation process is not the renovation per se but the selection of the ideal furniture to fit into your SOHO theme instead.

kekekeke... england kor,

It's quoted from my ID so should be alright bah.

er maybe cos we have alot of power points..hahahaha abit kiasu. hb don't wanna use extension plugs anymore, he say collect dust (which i hate to clean).

we were quoted much higher by B&E for plastering but maybe cos our walls really jialat, everywhere is bumpy and lumpy. last night met up with our PM, she offered to see if she can meet our outsourced contractors' prices. hopefully she can, then saves me the trouble, no need to coordinate here and there..

Brother,

Hey sis fiend,

hey england, no problem about SBH. ya my hb & i were just talking about how fast this thing was going. much faster than i'm expecting it to. in fact, i'm ready to take it nice and slow but our PM is like "oh tomorrow, i need to order cement already" and "you need to get your electrician to come in and remove the electric wiring by thursday" OMG!! too fast...she's making me very kan chiong. :wacko:

we're going to check the place out tonight. apparently, all floor and wall tiles have been hacked but debris hasn't been cleared..

Thanks babes... :D

Thanks Ang! No la, there was no "official" inspection since we had the keys earlier and already went to the flat countless of times. After our final visit with the contractors, we wanted to give the keys back to the seller so they can clear their furniture. Then agent say no need, they have spare keys. Ok lor...then yesterday the seller's agent told us they don't have spare keys. :bangwall: Ah whatever, anyway small matter. Luckily they don't have fridge, sofa etc..

We requested the shortlisted contractors to give us a drawing of our bathroom because quite a lot of modifications are to be made there. We told the contractors their drawings can be just a first draft for us to have an idea. We weren't expecting any 3Ds but B&E managed to give us that. Here are the 3Ds that they submitted:

bathv7.jpg

bathv3.jpg

bathv4.jpg

bathv6.jpg

We won't be tiling all walls as per the drawings, only the bathtub area. Obviously, the above are all subjected to HDB's approval *prays hard*

We waited for their drawings for quite a long time and I was getting ready to go for the other contractor liao. But thankfully, the drawings finally came through. I must say we were impressed with the drawings and their willingness to bend their rules (they usually only draw for confirmed projects only).

Hi Lilithfiend

Check with you hor, you confirm getting the rain shower with your bath tub? i wanted the same but when i went to buy the rain shower, the guy in the shop told me that it's not practical cos when standing on the bath tub, your head will knock on the rain shower.

I was so disappointed...

Hi Lilithfiend

Check with you hor, you confirm getting the rain shower with your bath tub? i wanted the same but when i went to buy the rain shower, the guy in the shop told me that it's not practical cos when standing on the bath tub, your head will knock on the rain shower.

I was so disappointed...

how tall are u and hubby? rainshowers u can mount the bracket abit higher so long it doesnt hit the pipe or the ceiling above. Normally abt 2m from floor. HDB ceiling ard 2.4m liao...

bathtubs, standalone shd give up a gap of 10cm from the floor. built in u can put on the floor and just tile the front so saves u in terms of height space? Tub height depends on the depth u go for ranging from 30cm to 60cm deep but is irrelevant since u will be standing in there.

therefore, unless u both are above 2m...then not practical la... :)

Edited by El Nino_Al Nito

Hi Lilithfiend

I was so disappointed...

hey joleena, wow..it didn't cross my mind, i just assumed there should be sufficient space...****! i better check with my PM about this, especially since my bath ceiling like super low. :bangwall: thanks for letting me know...

how tall are u and hubby? rainshowers u can mount the bracket abit higher so long it doesnt hit the pipe or the ceiling above. Normally abt 2m from floor. HDB ceiling ard 2.4m liao...

bathtubs, standalone shd give up a gap of 10cm from the floor. built in u can put on the floor and just tile the front so saves u in terms of height space? Tub height depends on the depth u go for ranging from 30cm to 60cm deep but is irrelevant since u will be standing in there.

el nino, will u be using rainshower + bathtub too?

Edited by lilithfiend

it's an EC and the ceiling looks much lower than our current HDB.. :rolleyes: see lights at end of tunnel... maybe tat's hope for me!! cos we shorties!! :D

Great! will go measure again! tks El Nino_Al Nito

el nino, will u be using rainshower + bathtub too?

Yup, BUT...my rainshower will be outside the tub...

my concern is not abt height but rather maintenance of the tub. :)

to me not worth to clean and wash off the soap and shampoo suds in the tub after a quick shower.

the tub is exclusive for me or wife's moment of solitude so dun like the idea of standing in there.

but different ppl different preferences mah...although i think with the way u restructuring ur bath area like got space to separate tub from rainshower? :D

have HDB approved the hacking of that space?

it's an EC and the ceiling looks much lower than our current HDB.. :rolleyes: see lights at end of tunnel... maybe tat's hope for me!! cos we shorties!! :D

Great! will go measure again! tks El Nino_Al Nito

Lol...good for u but measure first just in case! :sport-smiley-018:

even then, most ceilings are no lesser then 2m mah...even our graves will be 7ft deep...haha :P

Yup, BUT...my rainshower will be outside the tub...

my concern is not abt height but rather maintenance of the tub. :)

to me not worth to clean and wash off the soap and shampoo suds in the tub after a quick shower.

the tub is exclusive for me or wife's moment of solitude so dun like the idea of standing in there.

but different ppl different preferences mah...although i think with the way u restructuring ur bath area like got space to separate tub from rainshower? :D

have HDB approved the hacking of that space?

not yet la. they are soooooooo slowwwwwwwww.. i check the status on their website every day. i also told my PM last night to sms me immediately once they receive the approval. i'm very kan chiong know! once its been approved, i can order all my bathroom stuff and tiles liao... :sport-smiley-004:

we don't have enough space for a separate shower (the 3ds are deceptive), though i'd have preferred it. like u said, maintaining the tub is no joke. but due to space constraints, bo pian have to combine bath & shower into one. luckily its just the two of us in the house, imagine if we have old folks or kids having to climb in and out of the tub to shower... :huh: