hahaha, don't worry about it. you're not the only one talking footy here. i think the italians exude tons of class when they play..no hard aggro ('cept maybe from gattuso, lol). having said that, my views are based on watching them play during the last world cup. i don't watch international footy so haven't seen them play since then..things might have changed..

there aren't many available worthy replacements for rafa, but i don't think we'll be able to get a top class manager from the bootroom anytime soon. what might work is to have one of the old-timers come in as assistant managers to sort of keep the foreign manager's feet on the ground, if you get what i mean. sort of like what sammy lee is doing with rafa now..

moan-inho is one of those managers that you love to hate. he's good if he's your club's manager. he's bad if he ain't. some people said he was good for english football. i don't disagree..as long as he's not coaching any of the other top teams. :P

Let's hope the Italians can play with much gusto in this World Cup. But I hate to tell you this: The Italians are crooks and full of dirty tricks. Fair play was and is never on their agenda when winning is concerned. Watch them and watch with a discerning eye, you will be disappointed.

Many would want Mourinho to replace Benitez though they hate to admit it. The conventional wisdom that a local lad to work as an assistant to a foreign manager is flawed. Look at the failed partnership between Thompson and Houllier, it didnt stop Houllier spending on second rated french players. In the same context, Sammy Lee is just a translator to the team. This works if you have a large number of local bred players and a foreign manager. But the current squad speaks Spanish more than Scouse so a local bred assistant hasnt got much of a role to play, much less a translator. But hey, you got a Pelligrini working behind the scene for this.

When is the renovation for SOHO gonna take place?

i like the way they play but think they are relying too much on fabregas...still consider a 3 horse race at the moment cos anything can still happen for the remaining games.

Haha..it would be interesting if they manage to turn the game around with a few more games.

This thread become a EPL thread sia ..... ha

Btw , me a gunner fan here ..... ha

hi simon! haha ya not much progress on my reno yet so start talking football. lol..

i like arsenal, i like wenger's youth policy - its how i play on FM! hahaha..but seriously, if i weren't a lfc supporter, i'd probably be an arsenal one.

Let's hope the Italians can play with much gusto in this World Cup. But I hate to tell you this: The Italians are crooks and full of dirty tricks. Fair play was and is never on their agenda when winning is concerned. Watch them and watch with a discerning eye, you will be disappointed.

Many would want Mourinho to replace Benitez though they hate to admit it. The conventional wisdom that a local lad to work as an assistant to a foreign manager is flawed. Look at the failed partnership between Thompson and Houllier, it didnt stop Houllier spending on second rated french players. In the same context, Sammy Lee is just a translator to the team. This works if you have a large number of local bred players and a foreign manager. But the current squad speaks Spanish more than Scouse so a local bred assistant hasnt got much of a role to play, much less a translator. But hey, you got a Pelligrini working behind the scene for this.

When is the renovation for SOHO gonna take place?

yea i know about the dirty tricks the italians have..its like they have this mafia blood in them or something..lol. i think the spanish and argentinean teams can also play quite dirty.

hey, maybe sammy lee's there to translate carragher - he has a different language of his own! :rofl:

we're waiting for our second appointment on 21 Apr so renovations will begin immediately after that! :thumbs up: can't wait..!

Weekday Hunting

singaporeas-brightest-streets1.jpg

Walked out to Balestier Road last evening and stopped by a few shops:

1) Lightings.com.sg - Seen their website and heard about them on here before visiting their shop. Johnson served us, young guy but knows his stuff. He kept asking if we read about the shop on Renotalk..haha...

We were mainly looking for ceiling fan with light for the hall. I know, its a tacky idea which I wish we had a choice about, but we need an overhead light and we need a ceiling fan. Bo pian. Anyway, we saw their fans selection but nothing really suited, they were all either very embellished or just too "Transformers" for our liking.

Their track lighting seems pretty reasonable - $15/fitting and $15/1m track. Add $18/fitting to change to LED.

Their downlights cost $22/pc for a square stainless steel one, their most basic.

2) Evov Living - Met a lady we assumed was the shop owner, Linda. Very nice and friendly..we love their stuff though its a bit pricey. I like the idea of customising everything. Linda said we could even email her pictures of furniture and they would see if they could produce similar items. Obviously, it'd come at a price. They did have a few promo items going at cheap(er) though, like a $888 3-seater fabric sofa which was really nice..

3) Palace of Lights - The guy who attended to us was a stark contrast to Linda, especially since we had just came over from there. He was so off-putting and rude. Sheesh, we don't owe you a living leh. Anyhow, hb found the light for his office, one of those office-industrial types with two tubes and a open casing. Cost $110. We got out of there pretty quickly cos the guy was just so unfriendly.

4) Chan Huat Lighting - My favorite shop of the night. Jilvan was the person who attended to us, very patient with my onslaught of questions and fickle-mindedness. I think I might have found the ceiling fan/light that would be the least eyesore:

11004%20PMNANO-Fresh-BI-W.jpg

Also saw the KDK bathroom ventilation fan, they were selling it for only $65. Jilvan told me installation will cost maybe around an additional $50 and gave me the contacts of two installers. The rest of their lights were pretty pricey..as much as I'd like to give the business to Jilvan.

5) Asia Excel - Last stop of the night. Perhaps its was late, but the guy (Desmond) came across as curt and uninterested. Won't be getting anything from here.

Edited by lilithfiend

Stove Searching

Viking_stove.jpg

I am looking for a commercial cooker (Gas/4 burner) like the above. If you know someone selling it (either new or used), please let me know!!

Hi Lilithfiend,

ceiling fans with lights which look nice are indeed hard to find, i think only the V6 fan looks nice...

Went to A Lighting @ Geylang before? Their fans are cheaper than lightings.com. They have some nice lights as well.

btw, are you serious on getting such a cooker? It looks damm pro... :)

Hi Lilithfiend,

ceiling fans with lights which look nice are indeed hard to find, i think only the V6 fan looks nice...

Went to A Lighting @ Geylang before? Their fans are cheaper than lightings.com. They have some nice lights as well.

btw, are you serious on getting such a cooker? It looks damm pro... :)

hey gimz...the v6 isn't really my cup of tea... it's really difficult to find a nice and affordable one. i heard of A Lighting, never been there though..

and yes, we're serious about the stove! my hb likes to cook, and i like the stainless steel look! the americans use them in their homes alot:

MH%20WS%205.jpg

it's **** expensive...the cheapest new one i can find is almost $3k and can go up to $9k! :jawdrop: i want it so much, i'm willing to settle for a secondhand one..

Hi Lilithfiend

The ceiling fan is black?...can tell how much...i think it look nice.....

I think I saw those stove/oven in Courts Tampines. I remember jokingly telling my wife can get this lah.......if I drop by there these few days, will pay attention and let u know.....:)

hi wcseow, yea the ceiling fan is black..ok the fan itself is $165, the light is separate ($65 incl bulbs). does not include remote control though (add $85 if you want)..

The stove i want cannot be found in consumer stores like Courts cos its actually meant for commercial use in restaurants. those sold in Courts/Gain City/HN probably be something like this:

85w742des.jpg

El Cheapo!! But of course if you do see something nice, do let me know! :)

hi wcseow, yea the ceiling fan is black..ok the fan itself is $165, the light is separate ($65 incl bulbs). does not include remote control though (add $85 if you want)..

The stove i want cannot be found in consumer stores like Courts cos its actually meant for commercial use in restaurants. those sold in Courts/Gain City/HN probably be something like this:

85w742des.jpg

El Cheapo!! But of course if you do see something nice, do let me know! :)

Wah, its really super classic stove loh. I think my family got this when I was like baby time. Really suits your theme! :good:

Nice fan with lights really limited. I want to get one for my common rm, in the end give up, coz the nice one are exp. Rather change to ceiling light with standing fan.

Wah, its really super classic stove loh. I think my family got this when I was like baby time. Really suits your theme! :good:

Nice fan with lights really limited. I want to get one for my common rm, in the end give up, coz the nice one are exp. Rather change to ceiling light with standing fan.

Hi Sis,

You should be able to get the stove directly from the distributor. The primary concern here might be the $$$ rather. I am not sure if the cost of repairing is high in the event if it breaks down considering that it is meant for commercial rather than residential use.

Hi Sis,

You should be able to get the stove directly from the distributor. The primary concern here might be the $$$ rather. I am not sure if the cost of repairing is high in the event if it breaks down considering that it is meant for commercial rather than residential use.

u can go look up straits times classified. sometimes they hv adverts for commercial equipment...2nd hand as well...though i rmb seeing a old old equipment shop along the stretch opp Singapore Casket....

hey ang, the "super classic stove" isn't the one i'm looking for la! that's a cheaper cousin to the commercial stove i want. i don't like standing fan..so have to try to get ceiling fan. actually i don't want ceiling light either, but hb insists... :(

Hi Sis,

direct from distributor = $$$! yea the cost of maintenance might be an issue. heard from my cousin who's a chef that this stove cannot be used in domestic premises because of the lower gas pressure. tried contacting citygas, they ask me to check with supplier. i checked with the local distributor for Viking (which is the brand of the stove in the pic) and they say theirs is semi-commercial so shouldn't be a prob. *crosses fingers* but their viking range costs $9k. :jawdrop:

u can go look up straits times classified. sometimes they hv adverts for commercial equipment...2nd hand as well...though i rmb seeing a old old equipment shop along the stretch opp Singapore Casket....

yep i know sometimes the classifieds have restaurants closing down and trying to clear their equipment. long time never look at classifieds liao. must have a look this weekend. thanks anyway!

direct from distributor = $$$! yea the cost of maintenance might be an issue. heard from my cousin who's a chef that this stove cannot be used in domestic premises because of the lower gas pressure. tried contacting citygas, they ask me to check with supplier. i checked with the local distributor for Viking (which is the brand of the stove in the pic) and they say theirs is semi-commercial so shouldn't be a prob. *crosses fingers* but their viking range costs $9k. :jawdrop:

ur cousin chef, ask him lah. maybe he will hv lobang.

ya he was the first person i asked! haha..his response was "why you want to put a commercial stove in your house?!" :rolleyes:

that was why he told me after he checked with the supplier, the supplier say cannot. i refuse to believe leh..i shall get second (and third) opinions..good news is that i found a second hand one for $900..but not sure what brand and what it looks like. have to go down to see first....