highest quote i ever got for 1/2 hr fire rated is $850.

yours is super fire resistant? :)

classified got many advert, can try?

yeah, am deciding to try sourcing the door myself. one even more ridiculous to quote me $1650 for a fire-rated door!! :furious:

will call up Yon Tat and ask them to quote. but mine will definitely be more expensive them Ripples lah cos my door is the new Sengkang one, bigger than the old 3" x 7" ones.

Ikea Kitchen Cabinets

We also went to Ikea after that to check out their kitchen cabinets. For those who might be thinking of using Ikea for their cabinets, Ikea now contracts the kitchen installation to a company named CitiArt. Their installation charges are $25/ft and they charge $40 for going down to your house to take measurements (will be waived if you buy a kitchen above $1k). I loved their soft closing mechanism, but the stainless steel work top that I was eyeing didn't look as good as I thought and the next best thing was a $115/ft acrylic solid surface top named "Artic Granite". So pricey! Hence, we've decided to check out this carpenter contact I got whose style is apparently "raw and natural". Shall see. Update again next week!

If you are thinking about IKEA Kitchen cabinets, please think twise :D

1. According to ossify blog, their solid surface is not high quality and pricey. For $115/ft run, you might as well get LG.

2. Their wire-basket is $25 and only from metal. You might as well get some stainless-stell ones for similar price.

3. Their RATIONELL basket is supposedly from blum (although 2nd rate one). However, it's more expensive than original blum ?? (yet to verify). Their 600 mm drawer set is around $90-100. Blum's 25 kg one is around $75-80 ?? (all these need to be re-verified).

I thought if i use IKEA for my kitchen, i could save money, but actually it's not.

1. According to ossify blog, their solid surface is not high quality and pricey. For $115/ft run, you might as well get LG.

2. Their wire-basket is $25 and only from metal. You might as well get some stainless-stell ones for similar price.

3. Their RATIONELL basket is supposedly from blum (although 2nd rate one). However, it's more expensive than original blum ?? (yet to verify). Their 600 mm drawer set is around $90-100. Blum's 25 kg one is around $75-80 ?? (all these need to be re-verified).

I thought if i use IKEA for my kitchen, i could save money, but actually it's not.

thanks for the heads up, but we're most likely gonna go for a custom made one instead. ikea is just too pricey for the quality. think most of us assume they'd be cheaper than a carpenter but they aren't.. :unsure:

I don't think IKEA is a very high-quality product. I would post more in my t-blog about the prices once they are confirmed.

But I suggest to steer away from IKEA. Go straight to BLUM or standard stainless steel basket.

I don't think IKEA is a very high-quality product. I would post more in my t-blog about the prices once they are confirmed.

But I suggest to steer away from IKEA. Go straight to BLUM or standard stainless steel basket.

I also do not have very good impression of IKEA stuff, esp things that are wood made. Mostly are low quality product.

But wonder why still so many pple go to them. :unsure:

ok thanks ngunadi.. :)

on another note, has anyone seen this light before and know the price:

T1UElnXllDXXa5Uy78_071142.jpg

Nice! Looks class :good:

But have not seen something like that. Mostly are hanging with 3 strings.

I guess it would have range from 200-400 for similar one?

Guest Goobii
Wah ossify, you are really fast! :lol:

I suppose most 3-room flats are more or less that kind of layout, except the newer ones. I wish the layout was better and less long-ish, and more squarish. I think no matter how you "arrange" this layout, it always ends up looking about the same..

mine layout is not the same.. check out my T-blog and how I coverted it and make full use of the area....

Only a few ikea stuff can buy... the rest is not so durable...

GO there for the hotdogs and the chicken wings ~! Cheap Cheap~! Got aircon...

Edited by Goobii

Nice! Looks class :good:

But have not seen something like that. Mostly are hanging with 3 strings.

I guess it would have range from 200-400 for similar one?

thanks! i'm eyeing it for my MBR... :)

mine layout is not the same.. check out my T-blog and how I coverted it and make full use of the area....

Only a few ikea stuff can buy... the rest is not so durable...

GO there for the hotdogs and the chicken wings ~! Cheap Cheap~! Got aircon...

hey goobii, i've already read your blog from start to end! like what you did to maximise the use of the space..intending to merge my shower & WC like what you did. when my contractors tell me it cannot be done, i show them before & after pictures of your toilet. :P

Edited by lilithfiend

And I got a bad habit, I only like to buy players with photos. haha

Till now, I still cant imagine how the network thingy work, coz not all player will be online together. :unsure:

Or each of us play our own portion by per turn or per day basis?? then the game will be very long to finish one season wor.

hah! me too! ever since SI put in player photos, i get 90% of players with photos also!

its like if im pissed with his performance, i can look him in the face and tell him off...although that does make me look like a nutcase to my family members..haha..i always download photopacks man...

oh, can assign 1 or 2 game days per week lor so that everyone can make time to play at the same time...if that someone cant make it then their team must be put 'on holiday' whilst the rest play on on a per turn basis...think 5 to 6 player enough wor else will really slow down...haha :D

the network game will only work when everyone's online together, i think. and yes, the more players, the longer it will take to finish the season. my hb always get very fedup cos i take so long to buy players during pre-season and always end up holding up the game cos he cannot move on until i press continue. muahaha..

tell ur hubby, this kind of game must have patience one...im not sure but i think we can set time limit on how long we can take before we press continue...if dun have this, SI should seriously put this in.

normally when me and my game buddy plays this, we simultaneously play FIFA on ps2 on the tv beside...so we LL must finish doing whatever to the team by the time the other finished his FIFA match.

hehe... ;)

sorry, too much soccer and gaming talk this morning... :P

argh! what'll i do for this season to end right now! the misery Rafa is piling to us Reds!!! :bangwall::furious::help:

yeah, am deciding to try sourcing the door myself. one even more ridiculous to quote me $1650 for a fire-rated door!! :furious:

will call up Yon Tat and ask them to quote. but mine will definitely be more expensive them Ripples lah cos my door is the new Sengkang one, bigger than the old 3" x 7" ones.

YIKES! $1650 for a fire rated door???

Perhaps u shd try asking him if for this price, ur door can survive a napalm attack anot? :o

or maybe he will tell u fire rated front and back of the door with heat resistant door handles?? :rolleyes:

try asking Contat Decor too if u have not...

thats good info ngunadi. :good: actually, i been anti ikea ever since my previous ikea stuff failed on me after a few months usage.

i did consider their non wood products but now that u mentioned abt the rationell...gotta think twice.

Ask u all, when u say Blum drawer, does it mean buying the drawer with runner? then if im having a particular laminate for my cabinets, can this Blum drawer front be laminated or come in that given colour? paiseh...havent really consider Blum drawer coz my contractor said he giving me soft closing runners (Irex, if im not wrong)...

oh, another question...for the stainless steel baskets (for kitchen cabinets), is it worth paying over $200 for Welmi stuff? the lady told me its just 18/8 grade...saw some at Hoe Kee with lifetime warranty going for much much lesser...wonder whats the catch? :dunno:

argh! what'll i do for this season to end right now! the misery Rafa is piling to us Reds!!! :bangwall::furious::help:

sigh. sigh. sigh! i can't agree with you more. so demoralising watching them play on sunday. i think rafa should just resign, i can't believe some fans are still being so supportive of him. top four this season looks like a dream right now. :(

Site Visits - Round Two (B)

crooked-contractors-00.jpg

Last Saturday was Round Two (B). Prior to going down to the flat, we dropped by at Adamas to check out their hood/hob packages.

Their cheapest package with a chimney hood was a Cuizino one at $588.

chimneyhood.jpg

uglyhob.jpg

But the hob is **** ugly, and we'd have to top up $100 to get a glass hob instead.

glasshob.jpg

And their cheapest oven is also a Cuizino one @ $448:

oven.jpg

Also found a sink which I really liked - an industrial sink 540mm width at $360. No picture for this one..

We also stopped by Hoe Kee, which was just opposite Adamas. But didn't really fancy anything there. Their hob/hood packages are all costly since they stock only Tecno and another expensive brand, can't remember.

Anyway, off we went to the flat and met with:

1) Deco-Reno

This guy's one of the few I've met who can communicate in fluent English and Hokkien, lol. I will never be able to pull that off. Anyway, we've already communicated over email and he had also given me a preliminary quote. His company seems to have experience with cement screeded floors, which was a plus point. He was also the first person that came armed with a camera to take photos of the place. I asked him

2) Racha

This contractor was recommended by my property agent, who told me she had her 3-rm unit done for only $13 or $14k. So we met, but weren't too impressed. She sounded like she had tons of experience, but the working chemistry just wasn't there. She did bring up a potential problem in the bathroom layout, and also told me how the re-routing of the airvent could be done. Anyway at point of typing this, I've already received her quote and it's ridiculously expensive. So, next!

3) Freshlook

This contractor was recommended by coldflamez. Alan wasn't available so he we met Jason instead. Friendly and easy to talk to, he was also meticulous and detail-oriented. He suggested to box up our rubbish chute so it will be flushed with our kitchen cabinet - we were actually ready to leave it in the open. But nevertheless, took him up on his suggestion. We're expecting his prices to be relatively high since they are a hybrid ID-contractor.

We ended the day with final meetings with a carpenter and a window guy. We'll be ending our first round site visits by this week and will be shortlisting next week. Now still trying to check out the prices of individual items like electrical rewiring, plastering, painting, doors, windows & gates to see if we can save some dosh outsourcing these instead. If anyone has a lobang for these items, please please please drop me a PM! :thumbs up:

On a side note, have spoken with Yeak and he didn't have time to visit but sent me a quote over email instead. He wasn't really confident/comfortable with cement screeded floors so quoted me for tiling instead. His prices are comparable to the other contractors I've spoken to. So at this point, we'll have to KIV him since we don't think he can do the flooring we want. But if we do decide to do tiles instead, he'll be at the forefront of the pack, I'm sure.

Edited by lilithfiend

thats good info ngunadi. :good: actually, i been anti ikea ever since my previous ikea stuff failed on me after a few months usage.

i did consider their non wood products but now that u mentioned abt the rationell...gotta think twice.

Ask u all, when u say Blum drawer, does it mean buying the drawer with runner? then if im having a particular laminate for my cabinets, can this Blum drawer front be laminated or come in that given colour? paiseh...havent really consider Blum drawer coz my contractor said he giving me soft closing runners (Irex, if im not wrong)...

oh, another question...for the stainless steel baskets (for kitchen cabinets), is it worth paying over $200 for Welmi stuff? the lady told me its just 18/8 grade...saw some at Hoe Kee with lifetime warranty going for much much lesser...wonder whats the catch? :dunno:

I have managed to make my contractor + carpenter confused by either choosing IKEA/Blum/Normal ones.

I have decided not to use any of IKEA or Blum drawer/track. I instead opt for the normal ones that the carpenter provide. Reasons are cost and I can always change it another time.

So my kitchen would be using:

- Doors for all the cabinets with inner drawers, except for 1 column of drawer.

- Soft-closing for all the doors.

- Stainless steel drawers/baskets for under the hob to store the pots and pans.

- Standard inner drawer with standard track for the rest of the cabinets.

And, i think it's NOT worth it to pay over $200 for Welmi baskets. Why? As much as their have a super grade of stainless steel, it's useless because you will not put any wet items in drawer right? You will dry your plates, pots and pans before you put on top of the drawer. So, your basket would not be in contact with water at all. Why bother with stainless steel?

However, I would suggest you use the song-cho brand for the dish drainer for the same reason as above.