Hmm..not sure if it is consider exp. Coz mine was like 8.5ft x 5ft was quoted $800 with wood backing.

But in the end i settle for something like at least 8.5ft x 15ft (didnt measure) for $1650. :deal:

Wah that's mega! i'm quite determined to find a lower price than $640..sounds really jacked for a thin piece of reflective glass!

And btw, how can you only like gerrard's long shots?! :o what about his drive? his passion? his never-say-die attitude? even from a non-supporter, you surely must appreciate those points.. :P

Wah that's mega! i'm quite determined to find a lower price than $640..sounds really jacked for a thin piece of reflective glass!

And btw, how can you only like gerrard's long shots?! :o what about his drive? his passion? his never-say-die attitude? even from a non-supporter, you surely must appreciate those points.. :P

Oops, sorry a mistake. I think measurement should be 8.5ft x abt 10ft. My ID told me that mirror actually quite cheap, its the wood backing that is expensive. And the backing is important for huge piece of mirror, as it will ensure that the mirror is stick flatly and its durability.

Hmm..another mistake, I mean I love his long shots in particular. keke :P

But I have to say, I only like him playing in centre and not flank. Its really weird seeing him on the flank doing crossing. Just my own opinion. :D

Y me bring the jinx?? I'm not even a liverpool supporter. haha :bleah:

I only support them when playing against big team. haha

I mean at that point of time and when I'm support Steve mac, he started to play badly.

Tall lanky, yet cannot head, shoot no power, only can hold and dribble. :bangwall:

As for Steve G, I only like his long shot. haha

no wonder we always stutter agst ARSEnal, ChelSh!t and MANUre...now i know why... :notti:

ahahaha...just kidding bro...our fortune have turned of late agst MANUre...looking fwd to Sunday's match! :yamseng:

And btw, how can you only like gerrard's long shots?! what about his drive? his passion? his never-say-die attitude? even from a non-supporter, you surely must appreciate those points..

Lilith, i impress leh...u DO know ur game and players! :bow:

Coz mine was like 8.5ft x 5ft was quoted $800 with wood backing.

is this for the feature wall on ur store room door?

Oops, sorry a mistake. I think measurement should be 8.5ft x abt 10ft. My ID told me that mirror actually quite cheap, its the wood backing that is expensive. And the backing is important for huge piece of mirror, as it will ensure that the mirror is stick flatly and its durability.

Hmm..another mistake, I mean I love his long shots in particular. keke :P

But I have to say, I only like him playing in centre and not flank. Its really weird seeing him on the flank doing crossing. Just my own opinion. :D

oh ok, 10 ft sounds more reasonable..just got another quote for the mirror at the same price of $640 for copper free mirror (will not result in copper oxidation corrosion). the quote also gave an option of using conventional mirror at $576. Well, i'm happy that i can get a better price. but this copper oxidation thing might swing the decision towards the more expensive one. i've seen first hand what copper oxidation can do to a mirror and its NOT pretty.

as for stevie g, ya i also prefer him playing in the middle. however, he did score the most goals in his career playing on the flanks. and since lfc has such lame widemen, i suppose its a practical decision to play him on the flanks. but centre is where he belongs.

el nino..haha don't pray pray. i'm an avid FM player. but honestly, anyone who watches the game or reads TNP will know gerrard's strong traits la. i know part of the reason you're impressed is cos i'm a girl right? - don't deny it! :notti:

oh ok, 10 ft sounds more reasonable..just got another quote for the mirror at the same price of $640 for copper free mirror (will not result in copper oxidation corrosion). the quote also gave an option of using conventional mirror at $576. Well, i'm happy that i can get a better price. but this copper oxidation thing might swing the decision towards the more expensive one. i've seen first hand what copper oxidation can do to a mirror and its NOT pretty.

as for stevie g, ya i also prefer him playing in the middle. however, he did score the most goals in his career playing on the flanks. and since lfc has such lame widemen, i suppose its a practical decision to play him on the flanks. but centre is where he belongs.

el nino..haha don't pray pray. i'm an avid FM player. but honestly, anyone who watches the game or reads TNP will know gerrard's strong traits la. i know part of the reason you're impressed is cos i'm a girl right? - don't deny it! :notti:

copper free? havent heard of it..hmm...i better check on this if its included for me but tinted ones shd have right?

hah! the portsmouth match was our strongest attacking line-up all season. cant believe it took rafa till the 30th match to realise this. and what'll he do next? calm down he says, "we must think of next opponent and score some goal, keep a clean sheet and do good football things." <- this can only mean that his lovechild Lucas and Kuyt will be back in the team again. Rafa, stop worrying abt the opponents!! and let them worry abt us instead!!! sheesh! :bangwall:

Ehhh...wrong, i was a lil impress then coz yah u are a lady but now im even more impressed sia! u play FM too!?!?! :jawdrop::bow:

ur hubby also right? then we shd gather a pool of players and network it out! im dying to have an online FM tournament but due to crappy PC and broadband, it was a no go. hope to get a system ready to play online FM by the time FM 2011 comes out in Nov!

btw, did i say i was very impressed that u are an avid FM gamer??? :good: hahaha

no wonder we always stutter agst ARSEnal, ChelSh!t and MANUre...now i know why... :notti:

ahahaha...just kidding bro...our fortune have turned of late agst MANUre...looking fwd to Sunday's match! :yamseng:

is this for the feature wall on ur store room door?

Orhh, sunday away to ManU. Unable to watch. :bangwall:

No, the mirror was for my dining area all the way to living. :dancingqueen:

Copper free?? I didnt know got such things. And how do we know its copper free?? Btw, in what circumstance will it get oxidation?

I also very impressed leh, esp when u are a FM player. keke :good:

I want to see Aquilani play, 1 of my fav FM player also. Havent watch him playing for liverpool since he came over.

copper free? havent heard of it..hmm...i better check on this if its included for me but tinted ones shd have right?

hah! the portsmouth match was our strongest attacking line-up all season. cant believe it took rafa till the 30th match to realise this. and what'll he do next? calm down he says, "we must think of next opponent and score some goal, keep a clean sheet and do good football things." <- this can only mean that his lovechild Lucas and Kuyt will be back in the team again. Rafa, stop worrying abt the opponents!! and let them worry abt us instead!!! sheesh! :bangwall:

Ehhh...wrong, i was a lil impress then coz yah u are a lady but now im even more impressed sia! u play FM too!?!?! :jawdrop::bow:

ur hubby also right? then we shd gather a pool of players and network it out! im dying to have an online FM tournament but due to crappy PC and broadband, it was a no go. hope to get a system ready to play online FM by the time FM 2011 comes out in Nov!

btw, did i say i was very impressed that u are an avid FM gamer??? :good: hahaha

Hey hey, dont left me out. I'm a FM supporter since 2003 or 2004. Still have all the original game with me. haha.

My only miss is 2010 which come with online thingy. My fren told me not that nice, so I didnt buy it. Partly also due to busy schedule. I only downloaded the demo, and yet to try out the 3D match. How to play online together? Can get to watch 3D match with online? :sport-smiley-004:

Edited by Angteko

i dunno if tinted ones will be copper free. you should check, just to be sure..

lol, your "rendition" of rafa's favorite phases is so funny. i could actually hear him say those words. he sounds like a freaking tape recorder at every press conference he holds. as if someone pressed a button for "Answer Option 1" or "Answer Option 2". boorrrring! "We must fokus" - oh please.

omg, girls cannot play FM meh! i have a girl friend who has been playing FM since she was 12! at that time, it was CM la. yep my hubby is the one who introduced me to CM! i used to think the game was so boring until i got hooked. we can stay awake all the way until 7am next morning playing FM on network! lol...so nostalgic the memory..long time never play until like that liao. play network is gonna be tough. i mean, how many of us wants to play lfc? haha..

Orhh, sunday away to ManU. Unable to watch. :bangwall:

No, the mirror was for my dining area all the way to living. :dancingqueen:

Copper free?? I didnt know got such things. And how do we know its copper free?? Btw, in what circumstance will it get oxidation?

I also very impressed leh, esp when u are a FM player. keke :good:

I want to see Aquilani play, 1 of my fav FM player also. Havent watch him playing for liverpool since he came over.

Hey hey, dont left me out. I'm a FM supporter since 2003 or 2004. Still have all the original game with me. haha.

My only miss is 2010 which come with online thingy. My fren told me not that nice, so I didnt buy it. Partly also due to busy schedule. I only downloaded the demo, and yet to try out the 3D match. How to play online together? Can get to watch 3D match with online? :sport-smiley-004:

A quick google gave me this info:

Copper Free Mirror - Naugatuck Glass can supply a copper free version of our second surface mirror product, providing an advantage to the end user where corrosion resistance is a key requirement in the mirror's use. Our copper free process incorporates a paint system that uses 100% lead-free or a low lead two coat paint with a copperless chemistry. The mirrors offer excellent resistance to humidity and corrosion, including CASS and salt spray testing requirements. Ideal for exterior and bathroom applications.

And if your mirror is copper corroded, you will see patches of this on the mirror, like "seh gor" like that:

oxide_flaking_3.jpg

Aquilani is one of your fave FM player? I have not bought him before leh, even before he joined lfc. I like to scout for wonderkids, i can spend hours looking for wonderkids to buy..haha! i dunno how to play online together, i only know how to play on network..fm2010 is not bad la, every year they try to improve and improve. your machine needs to be able to take it..

Main door & main gate

We need to change our main door & gate, and we really like this one (photos courtesy of Ripples):

P8040002.jpg

One company came back with the following prices:

1) solid core recon veneer ply flush door ( thk 42mm or 45mm ) complete with installation , varnishing and hardware shown in your picture.size : 900 x 2130 ht

Price : $ 530 + 7% G.S.T

( NON FIRE RATED )

2 ) W . I GATE 3' X 7' HT

( SIMILAR TO YOUR PICTURE )

Price : $ 500 + 7% G.S.T

Is this expensive? What do you guys think?

He quoted us for wrought iron gate, will mild steel gate be cheaper (that's what Ripples used)?

Main door & main gate

P8040002.jpg

1) solid core recon veneer ply flush door ( thk 42mm or 45mm ) complete with installation , varnishing and hardware shown in your picture.size : 900 x 2130 ht

( NON FIRE RATED )

He quoted us for wrought iron gate, will mild steel gate be cheaper (that's what Ripples used)?

lilith, ripples' main door and gate is one of the two me and my wife shortlisted too! :thumbs up:

but we have decided to go with the other one coz seemed more unique and in lieu with my decor.

My nyatoh or veneer main door complete with lockset, handle, peep hole etc was quoted at $450 and wrought iron main gate quoted at $420. Ur quote can definitely be lesser and ideally insist on them absorbing the GST.

Cant comment on mild steel gate pricing tho. Maybe u can pm Ripples for his contact and compare from there?

thanks for the explanation on copper free mirror thingy..think this will affectly mainly humid area right?

will check with Mr Yeak nonetheless... :)

lol, your "rendition" of rafa's favorite phases is so funny. i could actually hear him say those words. he sounds like a freaking tape recorder at every press conference he holds. as if someone pressed a button for "Answer Option 1" or "Answer Option 2". boorrrring! "We must fokus" - oh please.

omg, girls cannot play FM meh! i have a girl friend who has been playing FM since she was 12! at that time, it was CM la. yep my hubby is the one who introduced me to CM! i used to think the game was so boring until i got hooked. we can stay awake all the way until 7am next morning playing FM on network! lol...so nostalgic the memory..long time never play until like that liao. play network is gonna be tough. i mean, how many of us wants to play lfc? haha..

Aquilani is one of your fave FM player? I have not bought him before leh, even before he joined lfc. I like to scout for wonderkids, i can spend hours looking for wonderkids to buy..haha! i dunno how to play online together, i only know how to play on network..fm2010 is not bad la, every year they try to improve and improve. your machine needs to be able to take it..

hahaha...its true! he really did say that. oh, its a Fakt...Lol! :P

paiseh..paiseh..didnt intend to sound like im discriminating la...just shocked coz first time i heard local gals play FM mah...normally its some FPS or strategic or online games on pc only mah... :bow:

its addictive hor...Hmm...if play network nobody can play the top teams la...more shiok mah..:D

or else i do custom leagues of the top teams in the world or start a database with all players on free transfer..

then we chiong for the players like GSS or at some IT show lor...hahaha.. :sport-smiley-004:

my fave seasons was using Luton in FM09 when they had -29 deficit in league 2 and leeds in FM08 when they were in league 1 with a -9 deficit if im not wrong...my gaming bud is a duku...always using non league teams...i gotta admire his patience tho... :good:

online or network not same meh? k, let me rephrase it...lets gather players and play on an online network.

hahaha.. :P I skipped FM10 coz my pc was dodgy..always crashed on FM09 (bloated capacitator on the motherboard)...i know the graphics in most game are very demanding...will get a system (with DX10 graphics since DX11 cards are pricy and still new with few contents to utilise it) that can support Modern Warfare 2 or Crysis (my benchmark) at its finest so running FM shd be a piece of cake!

My only miss is 2010 which come with online thingy. My fren told me not that nice, so I didnt buy it. Partly also due to busy schedule. I only downloaded the demo, and yet to try out the 3D match. How to play online together? Can get to watch 3D match with online?

dun worry la bro...we wun leave u out! ;)

orh...need to create some server or network to play as a group la...same like lan gaming..im not very sure how this works but i know i wanna play it! haha...gotta read up more to learn tho... :unsure:

3D match ur pc setup must be able to support else will lag like siao...alternatively just stick with 2D lor... :D

A quick google gave me this info:

And if your mirror is copper corroded, you will see patches of this on the mirror, like "seh gor" like that:

Good info! My dining area should be quite safe in this case right? If thats the case, toilet mirror probably will be the 1st victim?? hmm :unsure:

Main door & main gate

We need to change our main door & gate, and we really like this one (photos courtesy of Ripples):

P8040002.jpg

I like ripples door and gate as well. :good:

Too bad no extra $ to change already.

paiseh..paiseh..didnt intend to sound like im discriminating la...just shocked coz first time i heard local gals play FM mah...normally its some FPS or strategic or online games on pc only mah... :bow:

its addictive hor...Hmm...if play network nobody can play the top teams la...more shiok mah..:D

or else i do custom leagues of the top teams in the world or start a database with all players on free transfer..

then we chiong for the players like GSS or at some IT show lor...hahaha.. :sport-smiley-004:

my fave seasons was using Luton in FM09 when they had -29 deficit in league 2 and leeds in FM08 when they were in league 1 with a -9 deficit if im not wrong...my gaming bud is a duku...always using non league teams...i gotta admire his patience tho... :good:

online or network not same meh? k, let me rephrase it...lets gather players and play on an online network.

hahaha.. :P I skipped FM10 coz my pc was dodgy..always crashed on FM09 (bloated capacitator on the motherboard)...i know the graphics in most game are very demanding...will get a system (with DX10 graphics since DX11 cards are pricy and still new with few contents to utilise it) that can support Modern Warfare 2 or Crysis (my benchmark) at its finest so running FM shd be a piece of cake!

dun worry la bro...we wun leave u out! ;)

orh...need to create some server or network to play as a group la...same like lan gaming..im not very sure how this works but i know i wanna play it! haha...gotta read up more to learn tho... :unsure:

3D match ur pc setup must be able to support else will lag like siao...alternatively just stick with 2D lor... :D

haha..i like to start using non league team as well, then slowly climb up. By the time reach Premier league, all the good player die already. :D

And I got a bad habit, I only like to buy players with photos. haha

I havent try the demo on my PC yet, but my newly bought laptop able to play it. So I still have a backup. keke

Till now, I still cant imagine how the network thingy work, coz not all player will be online together. :unsure:

Or each of us play our own portion by per turn or per day basis?? then the game will be very long to finish one season wor.

Main door & main gate

P8040002.jpg

( NON FIRE RATED )

Where u get the quote from ah? the contractors who quote me, cheapest is $998(non fire-rated)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! probably mine is bigger?

lilith, ripples' main door and gate is one of the two me and my wife shortlisted too! :thumbs up:

but we have decided to go with the other one coz seemed more unique and in lieu with my decor.

My nyatoh or veneer main door complete with lockset, handle, peep hole etc was quoted at $450 and wrought iron main gate quoted at $420. Ur quote can definitely be lesser and ideally insist on them absorbing the GST.

Cant comment on mild steel gate pricing tho. Maybe u can pm Ripples for his contact and compare from there?

thanks for the explanation on copper free mirror thingy..think this will affectly mainly humid area right?

will check with Mr Yeak nonetheless... :)

oh you shortlisted ripples' door and gate too? What a coincidence..got picture to show of the one you went for in the end?

Yep, think the copper oxidation has a higher chance of happening in humid and moist areas like the bathroom. My mirror is not going to be in the bathroom so think should be ok la..save $$$!

its addictive hor...Hmm...if play network nobody can play the top teams la...more shiok mah.. :D

:rofl: that's so funny! i've never played FM using a non-EPL team before, but must concede there's a certain amount of satisfaction to be gotten from bringing a lower division team up to the PL.

and you lost me on all the techie terms..haha..

Good info! My dining area should be quite safe in this case right? If thats the case, toilet mirror probably will be the 1st victim?? hmm :unsure:

I like ripples door and gate as well. :good:

Too bad no extra $ to change already.

haha..i like to start using non league team as well, then slowly climb up. By the time reach Premier league, all the good player die already. :D

And I got a bad habit, I only like to buy players with photos. haha

I havent try the demo on my PC yet, but my newly bought laptop able to play it. So I still have a backup. keke

Till now, I still cant imagine how the network thingy work, coz not all player will be online together. :unsure:

Or each of us play our own portion by per turn or per day basis?? then the game will be very long to finish one season wor.

yea, as i said above, bathroom mirror will have the highest chance of such a corrosion.

lol..funny habit of only buying players with photos - like that you must go download the photo pack of all the players in the world la. otherwise you'd be missing out on alot of good players! when i play, i want instant success. i hate to lose..i'm a sore loser.. :P

the network game will only work when everyone's online together, i think. and yes, the more players, the longer it will take to finish the season. my hb always get very fedup cos i take so long to buy players during pre-season and always end up holding up the game cos he cannot move on until i press continue. muahaha..

Where u get the quote from ah? the contractors who quote me, cheapest is $998(non fire-rated)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! probably mine is bigger?

the quote was from www.goodhill.com. wah, your quote is super ex leh! i thought hdb doors more or less the same size? not sure, maybe you measure yours is it around 3 x 7 ft? thats the size the guy quoted.. even if bigger also cannot be almost $1k right? not as if your door is twice the size! :D

Site Visits - Round Two (A)

crooked-contractors-00.jpg

We met with a contractor who was recommended by stray801. We wanted to meet him on Saturday but he couldn't make it so we had to meet him on a weekday night instead.

He came slightly late but no biggie. Young guy, very easy-going, his favorite phrase was "Not a problem". Went through our requirements with him. He told me levelling the kitchen floor should not be a problem (see?). He was honest and told us that he had never done cement screeded floors before, but his tiler has. He was more meticulous than any other contractor we've met, took alot of notes and measurements. Suggested we box up the big momma sewage pipe in the kitchen but I told him since we won't be doing top cabinets, won't it look weird with the box suspending on its own at the top? So his solution was to create a small storage below the pipe so it looks like a tall unit. Sounds good.

Apart from that, he didn't really offer us much ideas or options. Hb wasn't impressed but I thought he was nice and according to stray801, this guy goes the extra mile for clients. Before leaving, he asked why this place was named Everton Park, "Everton used to play here ah?". We laughed and told him no, but we are Liverpool fans. And he turned and smiled and said, "Ya, me too." 1 point to this guy. :lol: I told my hb that if he had said he was a Man U fan, he can forget about it. Lol..

Round Two (B) will be happening tomorrow. Will be meeting with another 4 contractors, 1 window/gate guy and 1 carpenter. Getting very shagged speaking to so many people..starting to feel like a broken tape recorder repeating the same old story again & again.. zz

Ikea Kitchen Cabinets

We also went to Ikea after that to check out their kitchen cabinets. For those who might be thinking of using Ikea for their cabinets, Ikea now contracts the kitchen installation to a company named CitiArt. Their installation charges are $25/ft and they charge $40 for going down to your house to take measurements (will be waived if you buy a kitchen above $1k). I loved their soft closing mechanism, but the stainless steel work top that I was eyeing didn't look as good as I thought and the next best thing was a $115/ft acrylic solid surface top named "Artic Granite". So pricey! Hence, we've decided to check out this carpenter contact I got whose style is apparently "raw and natural". Shall see. Update again next week!