porcupine12trade 0 Report post Posted March 11, 2010 totally understand! am not so much of a blogger too.. but this time need help coz am doing this all by myself me too... my hb is leaving the thinking to me. I dont intend to get an ID, just a reliable carpenter coz most of the works will be carpentry. Mayb after all, I have to start a T blog to post my flr plan to get expert advices. "lazy" to start Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
patsy_sg 1 Report post Posted March 11, 2010 me too... my hb is leaving the thinking to me. I dont intend to get an ID, just a reliable carpenter coz most of the works will be carpentry. Mayb after all, I have to start a T blog to post my flr plan to get expert advices. "lazy" to start hehe i dun have hb leh the stuff i need to do are: 1. paint whole house 2. living room tv console and feature wall (only cause I wanna hang the tv) 3. master room feature wall, head board, side tables and dressing table. 4. small Lbox in the living room 5. install some lights/fans actually dun need ID hor? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porcupine12trade 0 Report post Posted March 11, 2010 ya dont need ID but if he/she a friend n dont charge u for the ID svc then no harm mah, can use the ID brains heh. As for feature walls, if u hv in mind what you want, otherwise an ID can give you some nice ideas. For myself, i'll make cabinets/wall paper as feature wall. my objective is functional over beauty (but cant be too orbit la) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
patsy_sg 1 Report post Posted March 11, 2010 ya dont need ID but if he/she a friend n dont charge u for the ID svc then no harm mah, can use the ID brains heh. As for feature walls, if u hv in mind what you want, otherwise an ID can give you some nice ideas. For myself, i'll make cabinets/wall paper as feature wall. my objective is functional over beauty (but cant be too orbit la) the feature walls will be as simple as possible, not really a fan of wall paper in this humidity, so will probably go for laminates. still like the idea of the storage in the dining area but do realize it will make the space look soooooooooooooooooooo small! ****, can't have everything i guess. Will just go and look for a nice sideboard/hutch for that area. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porcupine12trade 0 Report post Posted March 11, 2010 the feature walls will be as simple as possible, not really a fan of wall paper in this humidity, so will probably go for laminates. still like the idea of the storage in the dining area but do realize it will make the space look soooooooooooooooooooo small! ****, can't have everything i guess. Will just go and look for a nice sideboard/hutch for that area. ya i can imagine the amount of storage u'll get from that whole stretch of cabinets!!! SHIOK. ay but i read alot of mags, alot of IDs put plenty of cabinets along the wall, doesnt look tt bad and they mentioned it will make the hse look clutter free, hence "bigger"..how about make a 1 ft deep one rather then the 2ft one? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
patsy_sg 1 Report post Posted March 11, 2010 ya i can imagine the amount of storage u'll get from that whole stretch of cabinets!!! SHIOK. ay but i read alot of mags, alot of IDs put plenty of cabinets along the wall, doesnt look tt bad and they mentioned it will make the hse look clutter free, hence "bigger"..how about make a 1 ft deep one rather then the 2ft one? will talk to my friend again.... he was saying since i have 3 bedrooms and will technically only use 1 (masters) I can really store the rest of the stuff there, plus the HS also, which is true..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted March 11, 2010 Hi ossify are you in reno trade? I love to hv long cabinets too n have the same worry it will clutter the place, basically i need alot of storage (fam of 5) and clutter free space. What do you mean by almost full height? meaning suspended or leaving gap btw the ceiling n the top of cabinet? thanks leave a gap between the ceiling and the top of the cabinet, and brighten up the space so that it looks spacious hehe i dun have hb leh the stuff i need to do are: 1. paint whole house 2. living room tv console and feature wall (only cause I wanna hang the tv) 3. master room feature wall, head board, side tables and dressing table. 4. small Lbox in the living room 5. install some lights/fans actually dun need ID hor? no need, can be done under 8k Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted March 11, 2010 I agree with ossify. No need ID. IDs might not even entertain you since the amount of work is minimal. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted March 11, 2010 I agree with ossify. No need ID. IDs might not even entertain you since the amount of work is minimal. not true, she mentioned she was quoted 15k Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
patsy_sg 1 Report post Posted March 12, 2010 hmmmm... tempting! but will it be a hassle to find carpenters, electricians?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ngunadi 2 Report post Posted March 12, 2010 hmmmm... tempting! but will it be a hassle to find carpenters, electricians?? If you ask ossify's help, he would help you source for all these. Right, bro ossify? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
patsy_sg 1 Report post Posted March 12, 2010 If you ask ossify's help, he would help you source for all these. Right, bro ossify? bro ossify, will PM you! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
annjoy 0 Report post Posted March 12, 2010 Ya I agree with Ossify! no need ID for sure Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
patsy_sg 1 Report post Posted March 12, 2010 Went to the IT show today to get a TV/HTS.... was too crowded so went to Harvey Norman in Millenia instead, got my TV, Fridge, HTS and oven! Finally done some shopping!!!!!!! Will try to get my dining table and chairs over the weekend. After that it can all wait coz it'll be soft furnishings/accents! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ossify 1 Report post Posted March 12, 2010 btw, i'm serious about the 8k quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites