matashi 1 Report post Posted July 30, 2010 Book shelf, husband said not enough. I think would go ikea and get some low shelves. IKEA is having sales, i have been to both this week. Tampines branch gets my vote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ne0mesis 0 Report post Posted July 30, 2010 The shoe cabinet was left behind by the ex-owner. As it was still in gd condition, we decided to keep it. ID got the painter to paint it over. Before the colour change After the paint over wow! looks like a good paint job done! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted July 31, 2010 wow! looks like a good paint job done! yup, we paid extra for it but i think it's worth the $. They took almost 3 hrs just to paint the gals' wardrobe and the shoe cabinet. Cos of the nature of the original material, the paint couldnt stay on. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted July 31, 2010 IKEA is having sales, i have been to both this week. Tampines branch gets my vote So there is diff in the 2 branch? I always go tampines cos its nearer for us and more parking space. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fifteenmay 40 Report post Posted July 31, 2010 wow! looks like a good paint job done! i totally agree! now match your colour theme... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted July 31, 2010 i totally agree! now match your colour theme... ya lor, initally was like banging my head, why we didnt hack it away. Luckily manage to paint it over. BTW remember to lock ur main door even if u are home. Last time when i just shifted in to SK, some1 tried to open my main door when i was home. My husband said maybe ah nai looking for a place to sleep. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fifteenmay 40 Report post Posted July 31, 2010 ya lor, initally was like banging my head, why we didnt hack it away. Luckily manage to paint it over. BTW remember to lock ur main door even if u are home. Last time when i just shifted in to SK, some1 tried to open my main door when i was home. My husband said maybe ah nai looking for a place to sleep. What?? ya, now i am scared liao... locking all my doors tightly afer hearing about the break in. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
matashi 1 Report post Posted July 31, 2010 So there is diff in the 2 branch? I always go tampines cos its nearer for us and more parking space. i found a few sold out things at Alexandra still available at Tampines. was happy to be able to pick up the 3 wooden utensil for baking at $0.90. very very cheap Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted August 2, 2010 Here is another review of 1 shop, Lighting.com.sg! Another good service shop which we would go again. Before we started our reno, we have actually browsed thru quite a few shops along Balestier Rd. Lighting.com.sg is so far the cheapest we have seen. Even Shop A which id recommended also could not match their price. Husband also did not like the attitude and sales talk that shop A's salesman have. Lighting.com.sg may not have many fanciful or those branded lightings but to me the choces are enough. Price wise is cheap. The sales girl is not the pushy type and allow us to think and browse thru. I dunno how many lights we on and off and on again. When we couldnt decide which dining light and we were in a rush, she suggested taking photos then can consider it at home. ID arranged for the delivery and all was delivered promptly. When the electrician told us that the T5 for the gals' study is too long, we went back to change, no questions asked and we just paid for the difference (cos we bought shorter but 2 more T5). One of the 'crystals' was missing on our dining light, they also gave me a new 1 immediately, no dili-dalying. Great Service :good: :good: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tulip23 0 Report post Posted August 3, 2010 Hi May i know where u get those pretty white dining chairs? Thanks! My air con was left behind by the ex-owner. Its a 2 yrs old set. We seldom use air con maybe just the gals will use more often so i didnt check or change the piping. 2day the air con ppl came again. It was actually during the reno, the tilers did something and didnt fix back the pipe properly. Luckily we tried before switching it the whole nite. Imagine the next morning i were to wake up to see a shallow pool in my room. My id got the curtain maker to cme dwn. Came on time and gave us some ideas. But was way above my budget. So my husband told him our budget and ask him to work out from there. In the end, it exceeded by $67 so we are ok with it. Anyway thanks ladies for recommending mr chew. As promised, some pics here... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted August 4, 2010 (edited) Hi May i know where u get those pretty white dining chairs? Thanks! Got it fron ehong furnitures aat Paya Lebar. Its those 1 level like car workshop type of place. Next to Sing Post at Paya Lebar MRT station. They have a website. http://www.ehongfurniture.com/index.htm but they dun list the price on the net. Edited August 4, 2010 by gals_mama Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tulip23 0 Report post Posted August 4, 2010 Thank You!!! Will visit their web! Sorry, may i also know how much it cost you for the chairs??? Got it fron ehong furnitures aat Paya Lebar. Its those 1 level like car workshop type of place. Next to Sing Post at Paya Lebar MRT station. They have a website. http://www.ehongfurniture.com/index.htm but they dun list the price on the net. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted August 6, 2010 Thank You!!! Will visit their web! Sorry, may i also know how much it cost you for the chairs??? I paid $70 for 1 chair. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted August 7, 2010 (edited) Mistakes & Errors This is my gal's top hung study cabinet. Regretted a little doin this or perhaps should have taken the detailed drawing to the site and see the measurements. There is beam at the ceiling, hence a protruding part in the cabinet. Thou looks high from outside but cant put files standing up, got to arrange it lying down. I can choose to take away the shelf but that would mean wasting the space which means less space to put things. Could have also do away with the small display shelf then would have 'eaten' to the space below and have the files being able to arranged standing up. Edited August 7, 2010 by gals_mama Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted August 7, 2010 (edited) Some before & after pics. MBR toilet Before After Shower screen not up yet. Our corner mirror cabinet & mini basin Edited August 7, 2010 by gals_mama Share this post Link to post Share on other sites