sazeryn 5 Report post Posted June 23, 2010 Thanks! We choose a little more darker shade hope it will still turn out nice. Initially i also dun want WIW, cos it will be messy. But somehow it came to this stage... at first .. am contemplating to get a WIW.. but due to lack of space as I've had relocate the store room then no space already.. good lah .. if not extra $$$$.. any 3Ds of yr kitchen? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sazeryn 5 Report post Posted June 23, 2010 The kitchen. The fridge not so big la, cos i seldom cook. :P sorry sorry .. i missed this pic.. ermm.. nice.. the bottom cabinet black color? the total cabinet more than 10ft? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ne0mesis 0 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 lol, ok thanks. i have been searching high and low for white granites but no luck. now looking at compress marble liao. cannot use solid top cos wife cook a lot and scare scratch and not so durable. now narrow down to left this white marble nia. just hope it can last thanks a lot for your reply granites are limited color. at the extreme both ends are those light creme, beige to those black galaxy granite if i'm wrong. if i may to my earlier comments, compressed marble artificially made by binding the resins or quartz inside that make it so attractive. having said that, it should be quite dense and shouldnt stain so easily. but then curry could be an exception. again, for better and longer lasting, introducing a sealer or stone impreganator ya. hope it helps! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ne0mesis 0 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 (edited) hi ne0mesis can ask what is a stone impregnator? when is this layer done? after the laying or is it some kind of regular maintenance thing? also how do we tell how porous a marble is? other than seeing which marble looks nicer, we don't really know how to tell the difference between quality? Price wise, the few we see are also about the same price thanks hmm in very layman terms, stone impregnator acts like some kind of water repellent agent but not water proofing per se. and as the name suggests, is suppose to impregnate the stone after applying so your marble or stone looks the way it should be even after applying. if i'm not wrong, is one time application. better to follow the manufacturers' instructions when you buy the product. in this example, the stone impregnator would be applied on the exposed and the four sides. the back side of the compressed marble which I believe is laid on top of the carpentry (right?) need not apply. marbles are either natural or artificially made. whereby the former are usually 20mm thick and the latter is at the region of 12mm, 14mm thick thereabout. natural marbles are all subject to certain degree of porousity because they're from nature, just a matter of how porous. very porous co-relate to very susceptible to moisture staining and from what I understand, the white marbles (carrara, volakas, polaris, jupiter white etc) are more prone as in it is very easily noticed if there's any staining. also, for a white marble floor, you may see some tonal difference i.e some are whiter, some duller. to achieve better tonality for the floor, better to go with a fast-setting adhesive. but that's another matter altogether. for a start, you may like to check with supplier how porous the marble is and also the origin of the marble, i.e spain, italy, china. and if able to probe further (which I don't know if the supplier will be able to answer that too), check if the batch of marble are from the origin and from the same quarry. hope it helps. my disclaimer ah.. above are just my views and understanding at 2 cents worth k. Edited June 24, 2010 by ne0mesis Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lachesis 0 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 Initially i also dun want WIW, cos it will be messy. But somehow it came to this stage... Yeah, there are pros and cons for WIW, or non-WIW. Acutally one of the IDs we spoke to suggested a WIW for us too but it would have made the overall room look smaller, plus the cabinet length would have been much shorter (12 feet) than if we'd just gone with a regular wardrobe along one wall (17 feet - see picture). Since it's so long we're gonna do 'His' and 'Hers' - i.e. I only have to keep my side nice and tidy. Heh heh heh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 sorry sorry .. i missed this pic.. ermm.. nice.. the bottom cabinet black color? the total cabinet more than 10ft? bottom cannot be black in color cos my feng shui master said my kitchen cannot have black. So in the end we chose something in brown. i think total length of cabinet is abt 15 ft. Initially we wanted to squeeze the dinning table at the same side of kitchen cabinet then the fridge at the opp of cooker hob area. In the end we decide to go with May's idea. Just like the 3d drawing. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 Yeah, there are pros and cons for WIW, or non-WIW. Acutally one of the IDs we spoke to suggested a WIW for us too but it would have made the overall room look smaller, plus the cabinet length would have been much shorter (12 feet) than if we'd just gone with a regular wardrobe along one wall (17 feet - see picture). Since it's so long we're gonna do 'His' and 'Hers' - i.e. I only have to keep my side nice and tidy. Heh heh heh. Wah so good, mine only less than half of urs. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
matashi 1 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 granites are limited color. at the extreme both ends are those light creme, beige to those black galaxy granite if i'm wrong. if i may to my earlier comments, compressed marble artificially made by binding the resins or quartz inside that make it so attractive. having said that, it should be quite dense and shouldnt stain so easily. but then curry could be an exception. again, for better and longer lasting, introducing a sealer or stone impreganator ya. hope it helps! oh ok thanks. but i still cannot decide cos the marble not exactly very white Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
froggy 0 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 hmm in very layman terms, stone impregnator acts like some kind of water repellent agent but not water proofing per se. and as the name suggests, is suppose to impregnate the stone after applying so your marble or stone looks the way it should be even after applying. if i'm not wrong, is one time application. better to follow the manufacturers' instructions when you buy the product. in this example, the stone impregnator would be applied on the exposed and the four sides. the back side of the compressed marble which I believe is laid on top of the carpentry (right?) need not apply. marbles are either natural or artificially made. whereby the former are usually 20mm thick and the latter is at the region of 12mm, 14mm thick thereabout. natural marbles are all subject to certain degree of porousity because they're from nature, just a matter of how porous. very porous co-relate to very susceptible to moisture staining and from what I understand, the white marbles (carrara, volakas, polaris, jupiter white etc) are more prone as in it is very easily noticed if there's any staining. also, for a white marble floor, you may see some tonal difference i.e some are whiter, some duller. to achieve better tonality for the floor, better to go with a fast-setting adhesive. but that's another matter altogether. for a start, you may like to check with supplier how porous the marble is and also the origin of the marble, i.e spain, italy, china. and if able to probe further (which I don't know if the supplier will be able to answer that too), check if the batch of marble are from the origin and from the same quarry. hope it helps. my disclaimer ah.. above are just my views and understanding at 2 cents worth k. hi neomesis is this something called epoxy? The marble salesman was saying for marbles that are porous, need to do epoxy polishing, but for less porous ones, just normal polishing will do. on this issue on porosity, is there any way we can tell? Not sure if the salesman will bluff? So do i assume that the more porous, the "less good" it is? And I learnt something new - that marble will turn mouldy if enclosed, so was advised to leave some windows open if away for long period of time. Don't know true or not? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 We met up with our id at Soon Bee Huat (Balestier branch). Due to my wk commitment, we had to meet after 5. Luckily id already had the idea of the colours to suit so it took us ard 1 hr plus. We were very happy with the recommendation and the selections. Cant wait to see the tiles up! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
revolushun 0 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 Hi, Just settled my OTP, wondering if you can recommend your ID? Seems you were pretty satisfied Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted June 24, 2010 (edited) Hi, Just settled my OTP, wondering if you can recommend your ID? Seems you were pretty satisfied She is May from The Interior Place. Also recommended from a fellow forummer here. I pm u her contacts. Welcome to RT! Where is ur new place? Edited June 24, 2010 by gals_mama Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2010 (edited) Hacking started on Wed, 23rd June. Only 2 ah nay came to do hacking. (with all the pro looking equipment). I must it say very funny. 1 ah nay saw my marble flooring, asked me whether am i hacking it. I replied 'No'. Could see in his face that he was relieved. 2day is 3rd day of reno, according to my husband who was at the hse with id & elctrician, quite a lot done. But no worker on site, it was 11 plus. So our id immediately called the boss to . Then not lng after, the workers came and they will finish the hacking 2day, incl my new MBR entrance. Tiles which were selected yesterday, were delivered to the new hse. Thanks to my diligent id. Tiling will start on Mon and id has requested us to go on site on that day to confirm the tiles. Some pre-reno pics. common toilet (all hack) MBR toilet (all hack) MBR (laminate fl) Study room (remove table & top hung cabinet, only polishing marble) Edited June 25, 2010 by gals_mama Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gals_mama 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2010 Hacking wk Kitchen MBR toilet Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
samgalz 2 Report post Posted June 25, 2010 We met up with our id at Soon Bee Huat (Balestier branch). Due to my wk commitment, we had to meet after 5. Luckily id already had the idea of the colours to suit so it took us ard 1 hr plus. We were very happy with the recommendation and the selections. Cant wait to see the tiles up! any sample pics of tiles? so excited for u! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites