gals_mama

Low's Hotel In Amk

Thou we haven sign on with the id, she made an effort to go down take sme measurements and because we running on a tight budget and schedule, she also want to see what are the stuff we need not do. :) I though that was nice of her.

Upon reaching the place, she took out a gadget and using laser, she started taking measurements. She also took photographs of the place. She also advised us not to hack the marble cos still in good condition. She suggested doing a black and white theme to go along with the marbles. We shall see how first. :unsure: I scared if i stay there and dun like the tiles then how ???

I would say that till now, she is detailed and gave lots of advices.

That's kind of her. think of my ID I very "gei sim". 1st time to our flat only take paper, pen and file. My HB was the one hands on using measuring tape plus masking tape and marker to take the measurement.. Haiz!!

Just nw at the id we als keep thinking and thinking. So in the end we not hacking. Only laminate MBR & the gals room. Study room and living room will polish.

Great decision gals_mama!

Thanks thanks, I'm sure ur id will do a gd job and give u a beautiful and cosy hse to stay in. Our decision not to hack is also to save $. :D

Yippee!!! Finally got our keys today! The ex-owner also told us that they didnt cut off the power and water supply so that we can have an easier start for reno. I thot that was nice of them. As we are on a tight schedule, we went Soon bee Huat to look at the tiles and we were :o, so many to choose from. Thot of shortlisting some so that when we meet up with our id, we can speed things up. In the end, we give up. Shall wait for the pro to come and help us.

Tomorrow we will be meeting our id and the wkers at the new hse and hacking will start straight. On Thurs we will select tiles, on Fri will meet up with electrician to discuss the electrical stuff. Suddenly seems so busy and so many things to do!

Yippee!!! Finally got our keys today! The ex-owner also told us that they didnt cut off the power and water supply so that we can have an easier start for reno. I thot that was nice of them. As we are on a tight schedule, we went Soon bee Huat to look at the tiles and we were :o, so many to choose from. Thot of shortlisting some so that when we meet up with our id, we can speed things up. In the end, we give up. Shall wait for the pro to come and help us.

Tomorrow we will be meeting our id and the wkers at the new hse and hacking will start straight. On Thurs we will select tiles, on Fri will meet up with electrician to discuss the electrical stuff. Suddenly seems so busy and so many things to do!

congrats! :) once it starts, cannot slow down! haha

still hotel theme mah?

Congrats gals_mama...

Regarding the utilities, ask yr agent to do a swop (change name) to avoid paying cancellation/activation fee from both parties.

ya, my agent did a swop on the 2nd appt day so that we wun need to payback any utilities bill to the seller. troublesome. the swop will not affect the water and electricity supply.

Jiaooooyoooooo!!!!!!

wooo, here comes the most siong and enjoying part! :sport-smiley-004:

congrats! :) once it starts, cannot slow down! haha

still hotel theme mah?

hehehe... no lah, no hotel theme. Just cosy or should i say no clutter theme. :D

was going through your tblog and can't help but comment because of the trade i'm in

... I also dunno why marble is so precious. Mayb we youngster dunno hw to appreciate :D May said feels gd that we cant feel the grout lines.

marble is precious because it is a natural product by quarying of the granite or marble and because they're natural, minerals deposit over time resulting in beautiful vein lines are what make marble flooring so unique. natural marble can be extremely long lasting, spanning from decades to centuries. jus think of anicent rome, greece and you get the drift. and because they are so hard, u can imagine the works involved a marble / granite block cut and getting your nicely cut 60 x 60 marble slabs into your house. also, you may notice that a marble flooring is always much cooler to touch.

you're right about not feeling the grout lines but that is provided that your marble floor is grinded and polished. usually after installation, the installer will bring in the machine to grind down and follow by 1 or 2 times polish. tiles can't be polished therefore it is almost impossible to do the grouting as flushed as marble

I didnt know that marble cant have juices on it.. sorry to ask this stupid question.. what happen if there's juices on it?

as mentioned, marble is a natural product and by default, they're porous and susceptible to staining. some marbles are less porous, some are more porous. but to best protect your marble floor, is better that you wipe off any spills asap. also, by treating your precious marble floor with a stone impregnator will deter the staining too.

Just nw at the id we als keep thinking and thinking. So in the end we not hacking. Only laminate MBR & the gals room. Study room and living room will polish.

am so glad that you're not hacking, it will really be such a waste. you may want to repolish the marble to bring back the shine though. also, they're products to bring out the original color of the stone so to speak.

EXCITING TIMES AHEAD definitely cause I am definitely feeling all excited too even though I have yet to collect keys. can't wait to see your 3d drawings.

rest assured i will be stalking your blog! ha

Thanks Neomesis for the pro advices. ID also said sai yang to hack. So she will polish whole hse marble then laminate the gals' room and MBR.

welcome...

btw, jus a gentle reminder. once reno starts, i believe your id will protect the marble. seen cases where workers flattened the boxes to lay and protect some small areas on the floor but it got wet. in the end, the marble slab below was stained after removing the wet boxes. usually, marble are "dry lay" to best compliment each marble's veins and patterns before the actual installation, so may be very tough to get a replacement if in the end the marble has to be replaced.

hope it helps!