alister 0 Report post Posted October 28, 2007 (edited) Hi allWent down to IMM Gain city to get quote for aircon. Let's share where can get best price. Me was attended by Kelvin. All prices quoted in CASH payment.Mitshibushi MXY4A28 (3 x 10BTU, 1 x 18BTU) system 4 inverter, R410 gas, Armaflex class 1, 1/2" insulation, grade 23, drainpipe 16mm, compressor warranty 5 yrs, parts warranty 1 yr, 2 trips - $3,608 w/gstAdd $359 for extra 4 yrs warranty.Mitshibushi MUX3B20 (3 x 10BTU) system 3 non inverter, 3/8" insulation, rest of specs same as above - $1,920 w/gstMitshibutshi MUA18BD single splite (1 x 18BTU) non inverter, 1/2" insulation, rest of specs same as above - $1200 w/gstTotal for 2nd combination (consist of 2 compressors) - $3,120.Remember to tell contractor to extend the 15amp plug from mbr to aircon ledge. This applys only to those with 4rm flat. Ms White, Dino, can share the pricing you get from AllBest ? Edited October 28, 2007 by alister Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
droplets 0 Report post Posted October 28, 2007 My fengshui master came last Thurs to see my flat..sigh...ask us to make quite major changes to our MBR design so now headache loh Could I ask if anybody's permit got approved to just open a doorway between MBR and the adjacent bedroom? Initially wanted to hack but now my fengshui master say sleep in MBR no good, shld sleep in the other room...sianz man.Another thing is the silly pipes for the gas heater. Anyone knows if these can be removed if we not using them? I know that shifting is impossible cos the pipes are all concealed now. Its in the weirdest position now and its likely that we'll bump into them after the kitchen cabinets are put up..hmmm Hi Ikoice, i got my FSM to view my unit today. Think i hv to forego my reno theme cos my living rm, bedrooms are all different colours!! Since already consult so hv to follow lor.. My Id told me that the in/out pipe can be saw off but not completely... will still be able to see the 2 points lor. Actually shifting is possible, you can check with your ID and piping can be conceal too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chrispy 0 Report post Posted October 28, 2007 hi, just want to check with the rest of you here, what do u think of the renovation package for 4 rm at $12888 which comes with sys 3 aircon, hoob and hob, kitchen sink and kitchen solid top? anyone here signed up with something similar to these?any 'experience'?i got a few quotation got this package one but trust me nothing is free lor... they will still take back frm u when u start hiring them. so must get a few quotation to compare with the same things u want how much? and the material they are using...now i also getting headache when soucing my ID cuz i and my wife quite fussy with the design thingy. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sdale 0 Report post Posted October 28, 2007 hihi sdale, nice to meet u! a few of us are also from blk c and even those who aren't are also v close... btw, when is ur wedding??My wedding on mid dec. now only 30% done. Floors are covered with cardboard. think once done will have a open house for all . Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywu 0 Report post Posted October 28, 2007 hi allsorry but to side track a bit.... do ur hv any recommendations for any feng shui master or which FSM are ur engaging coz me aso finding 1 to see the fengshui of my hse Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sdale 0 Report post Posted October 28, 2007 hi, just want to check with the rest of you here, what do u think of the renovation package for 4 rm at $12888 which comes with sys 3 aircon, hoob and hob, kitchen sink and kitchen solid top? anyone here signed up with something similar to these?any 'experience'?This package thingy is crap. 1) they may seems to give you alot of free things but hide alot of other things to charge you during reno. 2) All their materials are of the cheapest grade3) Anything you need to add during the reno, they will chop you like chicken chop, one piece one piece because they earn quite little from the package and this is their chance to get their profit.DO NOT FALL INTO THEIR TRAP......Instead. work out a budget that suits your pocket size. Then stick to it and bargain from there with your ID.Hope two cents worth knowledge will be able to help u.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tension_z 0 Report post Posted October 28, 2007 (edited) i got a few quotation got this package one but trust me nothing is free lor... they will still take back frm u when u start hiring them. so must get a few quotation to compare with the same things u want how much? and the material they are using...now i also getting headache when soucing my ID cuz i and my wife quite fussy with the design thingy. thanks.. I wonder whether they will just do the 12888, if I do nt do any carpentary.I am so tired actually. Been to expo, been to ID firms near our place, been to relative's recommendation...the more I visit, the more confused I am. is there any chance where contractor try to act as a designer?Tsk.The problem I am facing now is ....I have quotations from as low as 19k up to 30k...rather similar requirement...just perhaps maybe the diff. materials the ID use...I also dont know.but as you know, no one will do any concrete drawings when you haven't sign the dotted line.it is like I have to sign based on good gut feel which I haven't develop with any...the most expensive doesn't even come with any aircon or whatsoever.. headache Edited October 28, 2007 by tension_z Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chrispy 0 Report post Posted October 28, 2007 Hi allWent down to IMM Gain city to get quote for aircon. Let's share where can get best price. Me was attended by Kelvin. All prices quoted in CASH payment.Mitshibushi MXY4A28 (3 x 10BTU, 1 x 18BTU) system 4 inverter, R410 gas, Armaflex class 1, 1/2" insulation, grade 23, drainpipe 16mm, compressor warranty 5 yrs, parts warranty 1 yr, 2 trips - $3,608 w/gstAdd $359 for extra 4 yrs warranty.Mitshibushi MUX3B20 (3 x 10BTU) system 3 non inverter, 3/8" insulation, rest of specs same as above - $1,920 w/gstMitshibutshi MUA18BD single splite (1 x 18BTU) non inverter, 1/2" insulation, rest of specs same as above - $1200 w/gstTotal for 2nd combination (consist of 2 compressors) - $3,120.Remember to tell contractor to extend the 15amp plug from mbr to aircon ledge. This applys only to those with 4rm flat. Ms White, Dino, can share the pricing you get from AllBest ?hi alister do u noe how much is Mitshibushi system 3 inverter unit? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
droplets 0 Report post Posted October 28, 2007 thanks.. I wonder whether they will just do the 12888, if I do nt do any carpentary.I am so tired actually. Been to expo, been to ID firms near our place, been to relative's recommendation...the more I visit, the more confused I am. is there any chance where contractor try to act as a designer?Tsk.Tension, you have to know what you want. Contractors/IDs can offer you a very attractive quote but it might not be your ideal. Let them know your budget and tell them what you need, be reminded of hidden cost. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sdale 0 Report post Posted October 28, 2007 Hi allWent down to IMM Gain city to get quote for aircon. Let's share where can get best price. Me was attended by Kelvin. All prices quoted in CASH payment.Mitshibushi MXY4A28 (3 x 10BTU, 1 x 18BTU) system 4 inverter, R410 gas, Armaflex class 1, 1/2" insulation, grade 23, drainpipe 16mm, compressor warranty 5 yrs, parts warranty 1 yr, 2 trips - $3,608 w/gstAdd $359 for extra 4 yrs warranty.Mitshibushi MUX3B20 (3 x 10BTU) system 3 non inverter, 3/8" insulation, rest of specs same as above - $1,920 w/gstMitshibutshi MUA18BD single splite (1 x 18BTU) non inverter, 1/2" insulation, rest of specs same as above - $1200 w/gstTotal for 2nd combination (consist of 2 compressors) - $3,120.Remember to tell contractor to extend the 15amp plug from mbr to aircon ledge. This applys only to those with 4rm flat. Ms White, Dino, can share the pricing you get from AllBest ?Hi, i was also served by Kelvin at Gain City. He quoted me Mitshibushi MXY4A28 (3 x 10BTU, 1 x 18BTU) system 4 inverter, 3500 leh..A small tip. If you have a contractor, Or ID, ask them to contact Gain City to ask for better price. Gain City will give better price for companies than families because they will only get to chop you once....... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tension_z 0 Report post Posted October 28, 2007 This package thingy is crap. 1) they may seems to give you alot of free things but hide alot of other things to charge you during reno. 2) All their materials are of the cheapest grade3) Anything you need to add during the reno, they will chop you like chicken chop, one piece one piece because they earn quite little from the package and this is their chance to get their profit.DO NOT FALL INTO THEIR TRAP......Instead. work out a budget that suits your pocket size. Then stick to it and bargain from there with your ID.Hope two cents worth knowledge will be able to help u.. okie, glad to hear that. I was so tempted by offers every now and then when I see adverts that offer such...but I havent sign with any... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alister 0 Report post Posted October 28, 2007 hi alister do u noe how much is Mitshibushi system 3 inverter unit?I didn't take note but Dino was there with me. I think she asked for the pricing. Maybe she wrote down somewhere. Let's wait for her to login.Hi, i was also served by Kelvin at Gain City. He quoted me Mitshibushi MXY4A28 (3 x 10BTU, 1 x 18BTU) system 4 inverter, 3500 leh..A small tip. If you have a contractor, Or ID, ask them to contact Gain City to ask for better price. Gain City will give better price for companies than families because they will only get to chop you once....... Hi sdale, does the price incl 1/2" insulation upgrade, 2 trips and with GST ? If yes, then you really got a better pricing. I am getting my ID to get a quote from his regular aircon supplier, see if can get better pricing. I think I will also get my ID to call gain city as well. Thanks for your tips.okie, glad to hear that. I was so tempted by offers every now and then when I see adverts that offer such...but I havent sign with any...Tension_Z, it's true. The basic package is really, well ... basic. Eg kitchen cabinet maybe top form, you might want to upgrade to solid top or granite top. That will add money. Laminated flooring maybe AC3, min should get AC4 grade. Homo tiles maybe $2.50 psf, u have to top up the difference. Trust me, there is not much to choose from $2.50 range.They will also chop you on wardrobe, extra feet of kitchen cabinet, feature walls and any additional items. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chrispy 0 Report post Posted October 28, 2007 thanks.. I wonder whether they will just do the 12888, if I do nt do any carpentary.I am so tired actually. Been to expo, been to ID firms near our place, been to relative's recommendation...the more I visit, the more confused I am. is there any chance where contractor try to act as a designer?Tsk.The problem I am facing now is ....I have quotations from as low as 19k up to 30k...rather similar requirement...just perhaps maybe the diff. materials the ID use...I also dont know.but as you know, no one will do any concrete drawings when you haven't sign the dotted line.it is like I have to sign based on good gut feel which I haven't develop with any...the most expensive doesn't even come with any aircon or whatsoever.. headache ya lor... sure got headache one but juz treat it as experience lor... the more u find actually u will start learning wat u actually want and wat to ask them... even when they start talking crap to u... u will also noe... haha~ if u lazing to find like me go to those branded one lor... cuz they wont chop u until too jialet one cuz they need to protect their sign board. "yi fen qian yi fen wor" but now they quote me over my budget liao so i need to start soucing and compare again see whether i got kana chop alot or not.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ms_white 0 Report post Posted October 28, 2007 (edited) Hi allWent down to IMM Gain city to get quote for aircon. Let's share where can get best price. Me was attended by Kelvin. All prices quoted in CASH payment.Mitshibushi MXY4A28 (3 x 10BTU, 1 x 18BTU) system 4 inverter, R410 gas, Armaflex class 1, 1/2" insulation, grade 23, drainpipe 16mm, compressor warranty 5 yrs, parts warranty 1 yr, 2 trips - $3,608 w/gstAdd $359 for extra 4 yrs warranty.Mitshibushi MUX3B20 (3 x 10BTU) system 3 non inverter, 3/8" insulation, rest of specs same as above - $1,920 w/gstMitshibutshi MUA18BD single splite (1 x 18BTU) non inverter, 1/2" insulation, rest of specs same as above - $1200 w/gstTotal for 2nd combination (consist of 2 compressors) - $3,120.Remember to tell contractor to extend the 15amp plug from mbr to aircon ledge. This applys only to those with 4rm flat. Ms White, Dino, can share the pricing you get from AllBest ?hi alister, we've checked on Mitsubishi & Toshiba. Mitsubishi system 3 & 4 inverter @ $2738 & $3538 respectively (incl GST) (12BTU, 2 x 9BTU) & (18BTU, 13 BTU, 2 x 9BTU) - if we don't recall wrongly, Armaflex Class 0, 3/8" insulation, Grade 23 SWG Totalline copper pipe, drainage pipe 16mm, compressor 5yr warranty, repair & parts 1yr warranty, 2 trips, unlimited piping length, only Mitsubishi COMPRESSOR is made in Japan. All else is assembled in Thailand. Toshiba system 3 & 4 inverter @ $2456 & $3456 respectively (incl GST)(12BTU, 2 x 9BTU) & (22BTU, 13 BTU, 2 x 9BTU), all else same as Mitsubishi but fully imported and made from Japan. From next year onwards, no brands will be "Made in Japan". Next year onwards, there won't be any air-con with above 30,000 BTU as well as it will be controlled by NEA. The sales person, Bernard did mention that his prices will go no lower as they're certified under CaseTrust. He did caution that we might be able to get even cheaper prices outside but the quality and parts/material used for installation might not be what we'll be looking for. Even if we top up for it, as consumers we won't know if they've really given us what we paid for. He said something about Best T**h promoting highly on Mitsubishi Heavy as it cools the room faster and it's cheaper cos it's catered more for industrial market. However, Mitsubishi Heavy is managed by another company. Therefore, if your a/c fails or requires attention, Mitsubishi Electric won't be responsible.Oh..erm..before I forget, was told we won't be able to change the BTU division e.g. 12BTU (MBR), 2 x 9BTU (BR2 & 3) unless you top up. Otherwise, it's standard 3 x 9BTU (also known as 10BTU to some). Hope my info is efficient. Edited October 28, 2007 by ms_white Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sdale 0 Report post Posted October 28, 2007 thanks.. I wonder whether they will just do the 12888, if I do nt do any carpentary.I am so tired actually. Been to expo, been to ID firms near our place, been to relative's recommendation...the more I visit, the more confused I am. is there any chance where contractor try to act as a designer?Tsk.The problem I am facing now is ....I have quotations from as low as 19k up to 30k...rather similar requirement...just perhaps maybe the diff. materials the ID use...I also dont know.but as you know, no one will do any concrete drawings when you haven't sign the dotted line.it is like I have to sign based on good gut feel which I haven't develop with any...the most expensive doesn't even come with any aircon or whatsoever.. headache I guess everyone face the same problem in the beginning, loss and of course headache.Maybe you should stick to friends recommendation? At least you can see their house, get their feedback and see for yourself on the work of the ID. Shows at Expo will be a slower route because they will bring you to their completed home and of course show you the good relationship one (those who complain abt them, you won;t get to see). Your friend will give you a better perspective of their ID, what is the good and bad. From there you contact the ID that suits your budget.From there you narrow down on which ID you like the most. How do you determine that?1) Proposed design plan (some are inexperience and the design they give is either not practical or too normal)2) Speed of his work (Some ID take a bloody long time to draw up the propose design plan)3) Clear with price ( able to explain to you every single detail of what he is charging you)4) Explain clearly his design (Everything plan on your house must have their reason, don't let them add in something that serve no reason at all. ex underlighting, may be nice in the beginning but you won't use it in the long runFinally, check in forum like renotalk to see if anyone have any complain about that company you are going to enage.2 cent knowledge. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites