xinni 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 Oh I asked the air-con salesman last nite this question... An inverter air-con the compressor is always running at a variable speed to maintain your room temperature if u set eg. 24deg... it will constantly be 24deg.. Non-inverter what I understand works like a themostat.. once ur room reaches 24deg u set... the compressor will stop running...once it detect that ur room temperature goes up.. the compressor will turn on again and regulate your room temperature down to 24deg... so it's like on off on off ur compressor... According to that it actually consumes more power everytime it turns on again.... For Inverter the power consumption is more efficient....I think it really depends on your usage of air-con... Inverter is slightly more pricey.. ard $500-$700++ more than non-inverter cost but savings is on the electricity bills.... Can look at this link.. they did a calculation on electricity bills savings...http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=9487http://singapore-aircon-inverter.blogspot.com/I agree with Snuffleupagus.In addition, the non-inverter type has "tick-tick"or "tok-tok" sound every time when the motor re-start.I am going for the Mitsubishi Heavy inverter system 3 (26,000BTU - fan-coil 9K+9K+15K) for my 4rm flat.For long term, the price difference between inverter and non-inverter, you'll recover back in 1 - 3yrs time depending on your usage.The combination is 2 x 9K ON at the same time in the bedrm or 1x15K ON only in the living rm.Also note that to upgrade the fan-coil frm 9K to 15K is abt $100-200 only.Not going for Mitsubishi Electric Starmex 'cause don't wanna pay for the advertisement fees.If you need the how-to-calculate I got from somewhere, PM me. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alister 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 (edited) Hold on a sec... Fridge also got inverter and non-inverter type? Here's the link talking about the Panasonic inverter model. I quite like the design with freezer at the bottom. The salesman told me 70% of the time we will take from the middle & only 30% from freezer, so the design is meant for that. But personally I think the savings does not justify the extra 20% pricing.I am now looking at LG model. Was told by a fridge repairman "made in Japan or Korea" brand does not break down so often and dun buy Toshiba.http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=10283And a useful site on registered fridge and air-con with power consumption and est cost savings.http://els.nea.gov.sg/mels/fridge.asp?page...d&order=asc Edited October 18, 2007 by alister Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetman 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 (edited) What about the brand of the mattress? Has anyone come to this yet?? Which is a better brand??We did not shop around for the mattress, because my wife had already decided on a Sealy long time ago. She was very impressed with a Sealy while staying at an overseas hotel and it was her dream to have one for our new house. Fortunately, there was a recent promotion advertised in the newspaper for a queen-sized mattress from the hotel series. We went to the showroom at Furniture mall and heard that the Corpthorne group of hotels use Sealy mattresses and the Sealy brand is still the best selling posturepedic brand in the USA for many years. That is enough assurance for us and we decided immediately on the spot. Paid $1999 for the matteress with a savings of about $200. Edited October 18, 2007 by gadgetman Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetgal 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 Here's the link talking about the Panasonic inverter model. I quite like the design with freezer at the bottom. The salesman told me 70% of the time we will take from the middle & only 30% from freezer, so the design is meant for that. But personally I think the savings does not justify the extra 20% pricing.I am now looking at LG model. Was told by a fridge repairman "made in Japan or Korea" brand does not break down so often and dun buy Toshiba.http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=10283And a useful site on registered fridge and air-con with power consumption and est cost savings.http://els.nea.gov.sg/mels/fridge.asp?page...d&order=ascFridge is easier to read (pretty straightforward), but for air-con... it really confused me.. For Air-con seems like Daikin has better performance.. 4 green ticks, and for COP dunno the higher figure the better or the lower figure the better. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
REDCRYSTAL 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 hihi droplets,i've chosen Serta Arizona after much consideration as it fits my budget the most and its comfort level is ... wanted to get Simmons initially but its really ex.. Maxcoil Memory foam was second on my mind cos its like tempur and i love tempur(way out of my range as each mattress is at least 2k for single)and have gotten it for my gers(king size mattress cover for them to roll on the floor) cos of its comfort. last but not least, also considered Sealy but cos its new brand, v scared to try... Serta has many different models can compare the list below: 1. Alabama: highest range of model for Serta. V soft and its fully pocketed spring2. Arizona: middle range of model for Serta. Firm but also supports cos its pocketed spring + latex. Other models include Georgia, Atlanta, Minnesota etc... ultimately, u must try on it then can choose what u want.Hi strawberry_pear, can pm me the price for Serta Alabama Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
droplets 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 Here's the link talking about the Panasonic inverter model. I quite like the design with freezer at the bottom. The salesman told me 70% of the time we will take from the middle & only 30% from freezer, so the design is meant for that. But personally I think the savings does not justify the extra 20% pricing.I am now looking at LG model. Was told by a fridge repairman "made in Japan or Korea" brand does not break down so often and dun buy Toshiba.http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=10283And a useful site on registered fridge and air-con with power consumption and est cost savings.http://els.nea.gov.sg/mels/fridge.asp?page...d&order=ascProbably, i'll go for mitsubishi cos the currently fridge last us for 15yrs and still surviving... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
REDCRYSTAL 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 (edited) Hi RedcrystalYou are welcome to visit my flat after I have collected my keys. Just pm me.thanks alister, will pm you after you collected your keys.btw, why aircon dun buy toshiba?what reason?and what is system 2in1, 3in1, very confusing leh!can understand what is system 2, 3 but 2in1, 3in1 Edited October 18, 2007 by REDCRYSTAL Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
alister 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 (edited) Fridge is easier to read (pretty straightforward), but for air-con... it really confused me.. For Air-con seems like Daikin has better performance.. 4 green ticks, and for COP dunno the higher figure the better or the lower figure the better. I think the higher figure is better.A heat pump cooler operating at COP(cooling) 2.0 removes 2 units of heat for each unit of energy consumed (e.g. such an air conditioner consuming 1 kW would remove heat from a building's air at a rate of 2 kW).For engineer people, pls refer to this link and let me know if I am correct.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coefficient_of_performancethanks alister, will pm you after you collected your keys.btw, why aircon dun buy toshiba?what reason?Sorry hah, was talking about fridge. The advise from fridge repairman, so it means he service this brand the most lor. Edited October 18, 2007 by alister Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
droplets 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 (edited) Here's the link talking about the Panasonic inverter model. I quite like the design with freezer at the bottom. The salesman told me 70% of the time we will take from the middle & only 30% from freezer, so the design is meant for that. But personally I think the savings does not justify the extra 20% pricing.I am now looking at LG model. Was told by a fridge repairman "made in Japan or Korea" brand does not break down so often and dun buy Toshiba.http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=10283And a useful site on registered fridge and air-con with power consumption and est cost savings.http://els.nea.gov.sg/mels/fridge.asp?page...d&order=ascthan i better choose between serta, sealy or simmons... was told that home & hotel mattress is of different quality.. Hotel mattress the quality slightly softer but heavier. Edited October 18, 2007 by droplets Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetman 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 thanks alister, will pm you after you collected your keys.btw, why aircon dun buy toshiba?what reason?and what is system 2in1, 3in1, very confusing leh!can understand what is system 2, 3 but 2in1, 3in1 Mine is included in the renovation and its a Daikin Multi-split 3+2 aircon without inverter. Can someone tell me if 3+2 means that I will have two compressors? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
doremi 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 Hold on a sec... Fridge also got inverter and non-inverter type? phew.. anyone went to see Hob&Hood in citygas showroom (near Novena mrt)?.Just wondering if they do have credit card 0% installment or not. Aiks.. forgot to ask this on my last visit (some forum said they do, some said they don't).Any info on where we can see a full range of Hob&Hood like citygas? (some says the price there is more expensive). Been to IMM, but can't see much range/type of Hob&Hood like citygas showroom.hi gadgetgal,my hb and i went to citigas. we were told by a sales auntie dat they hv 0% instalment for certain bank's credit card holder...if i din rem wrongly, she mentioned OCBC and UOB. think u may check with citigas...!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
josephine 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 Ya very exciting to choose and buy hor... Then lagi exciting when you see your bank balance drop and the debts increase! Fridge is on 24/7 so very important to buy one that is cost efficient, and washing machine must check whether both save water and electricity or not. My cousin works in Panasonic, I've asked him whether got lobang but he said staff price only 5-10% off the RRP. He said he know dealer who can give better price as dealer gets bulk from suppliers like Panasonic. If any of you want to compare prices (can be any brand) I can find out from my cousin the contact and give you.Anyway my cousin said don't buy Panasonic washing machines, he said use up lots of water one.hi to all neighbours,my one-penny worth of opinion:- Fridge get Made in Japan. Can last very long. After buy and put into place, dont ON the fridge until 4 hrs later so that the machine can settle down then it will not spoilt so easily. likewise if u wanna shift hse, off it then wait for 4 hrs later before lifting it up for shifting. Yes, there are inverter and non-inverter ones. i just got Mitshibitshi Folio. Freezer at the bottom. Harvey Norman for this model MR CL38J -T has $300 discount (while stock last) Hence its cheaper than those neighbourhood shops (i've checked their pricing). Got $80 robinson voucher also. was told it will use est $11 per mth for electricity bill (inverter liao) But the discounted price is still q ex cos its from Japan and not made in Thailand. -$1599. (blessing from my mother-in-law *grin*)As for washing machine, i heard Thomson is 'lao-zhao-bai' and has proven itself thru the many yrs.. brandt and whirlpool not bad i heard also.. but thomson super ex la... but think i'll get that cos very slim with its top loading design (the drum inside function like those front load). Heard Jap brands not as good as those made in euro countries.. but not sure laas for aircon, to all who are interested, i've chked and seems like Twin City prices cheaper than Gain cxxy. Also Gain cxxy uses class '1' pipes while Twin uses Class 'O' type. Class 'O' is better. Ive asked for the bulk prices, they say will give us $200 worth of servicing voucher. Each service (if you got 3 air-con) is extimated at $40-50. Hence you will be able to have 4-5 FOC servicing. Whether you ON your air-con anot, its good to service so as to keep the machine work longer (not sure true anot! haha) THen ive chk the piping and insulator etc, all same as ALLBEST- copper wiring at 23'' inches. this is impt. As mentioned in previously, i personally feel both Twin City and Allbest can get. prices similiar. (Twin $1-5 cheaper only) but now with bulk we can get servicing vouchers la.. ALLbest cannot. very fixed prices. As for whatever model you want, check up ALLBEST first and then tell/ bargain with TwinCity. eventually if you decide to get with other dealers or Allbest also nv mind. just no $200 vouchers la.. so if u still interested.. then i can collate the CONFIRM list and tell Twin by a deadline say 31OCt? Anyone after that no more vouchers if you still wanna use Twin la.. Allbest is also good btw.. cos it has been awarded CaseTrust. =) hope tis helps you all... JO Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shivan 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 What about the brand of the mattress? Has anyone come to this yet?? Which is a better brand??Hi All,on the subject of mattresses, I recommend the brand Lotus. I bought it from Harvey Norman 2 years ago. Don't think they are selling the brand now. Can try robinsons. Anyway, the first time I tried sleeping on it, it was heaven Feels like your body is floating on it and yet firm enough to not give you a backache.It is hand made from latex and foam. It is Anti-Sagging, dust mite resistant, etc... It even has aloe vera to help you sleep better! You all can also try Omazz which is something like Lotus but i think it is more expensive. My King size mattress cost me $2k+ at that time. It is worth every penny. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
josephine 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 o sorry re the servicing... it shld be 1 fancoil $40. 1 fancoil use one voucher worth $20. Each voucher is in denomination of $20. so if u service 1 fancoil it cost $40 u use $20 voucher. you must pay cash $20. if u service 3 fancoil $40x3=$120. u can use 3 voucher ($20x3=$60) you top up $60. Hope this is clear. Total they will give us $200 worth of voucher for you to use. Explaination for 2 in 1 and system 2, 3, 2+1 etc.... 2+1 is 3 aircon = 3 system also. 2 in rooms and 1 in living. for 2in1= 2 aircon in rooms Only. 3in1 is 3 aircons in rooms only. hope this helps. also mit starmax has 4 checks.. so can consider. =) JO Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetgal 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 hi gadgetgal,my hb and i went to citigas. we were told by a sales auntie dat they hv 0% instalment for certain bank's credit card holder...if i din rem wrongly, she mentioned OCBC and UOB. think u may check with citigas...Hi doremi,thanks for the info!! Will start Hob&Hood hunting based on citygas showroom price. I believe without 0% neighbourhood electrical shop can offer even cheaper. Does anyone know where to find electrical shops where I can see lots of different range and compare prices?. say Balestier, Jln Besar, etc?.Wishing to save time by visiting an area where there are lots of shops to compare prices with. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites