Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Hi gad man,

Thanks for the info. I am also going to do a wiw (hack off wall between MBR and bedroom 2 to eat in space from bed room 2)

is the $500 PE complusory?

I am getting a quote soon,will update on the cost of this part.

Hi Tension Z,

I have checked woith HDB before, yes, the $500 PE is compulsory. The engineer had to submit their assessment report and then be physically present to supervise the hacking. I heard that $500 is the min, they will charge even more for Condos.

Anyway, I will be checking with the HDB Tech Officer today about their letter to my ID. If you have seen the structure of the 5 room you will understand how complicated it will be if the whole wall (not part of it) has to be hacked. The MBR and second bedroom door frames are adjoining, if one goes down, so will the other. Also, don't count on the frames being re-usable again, you'll probably need to fork out more to reinstall new ones. The contrator will probably quote more to rebuild the entire wall all over again.

I was actually on site yesterday and went to a few units to kaypoh, there was one unit also having the same idea and the contractor is saying confidently that they are just awaiting for HDB approval...good luck to him as well.

Anyway, let me call the tech officer and I will update the post again.

Yes, no issue of wet clothes dripping from above but will have problem of birds dropping from above :good:

I still chasing HDB for keys. As for ID, decided who to choose but need him to amend some items and pricing before signing with him.

Correct me if I am wrong, but I think wet clothes dripping anf birds dropping should not be an issue (for 5 room units at least). There is a shelter built directly above the kitchen/wash-are windows to shield your laundry from the above mentioned. Not sure if the 4 room units have the same design?

Hi Tension Z,

I have checked woith HDB before, yes, the $500 PE is compulsory. The engineer had to submit their assessment report and then be physically present to supervise the hacking. I heard that $500 is the min, they will charge even more for Condos.

Anyway, I will be checking with the HDB Tech Officer today about their letter to my ID. If you have seen the structure of the 5 room you will understand how complicated it will be if the whole wall (not part of it) has to be hacked. The MBR and second bedroom door frames are adjoining, if one goes down, so will the other. Also, don't count on the frames being re-usable again, you'll probably need to fork out more to reinstall new ones. The contrator will probably quote more to rebuild the entire wall all over again.

I was actually on site yesterday and went to a few units to kaypoh, there was one unit also having the same idea and the contractor is saying confidently that they are just awaiting for HDB approval...good luck to him as well.

Anyway, let me call the tech officer and I will update the post again.

Hi Gad man

Thanks for the info. I am actually at phrase 2 of my ID searching,

I met up the ID for the 1st appt only

so I told my ID about the hacking of the wall but she haven't mention about this.

Will go for the 2nd meeting and let the ID know.

now still waiting for quotation.

Actually meant to be light-hearted joke, but since a serious qns is being asked, let me answer. From picture, looks like bird droppings will not be a problem. Pls see picture.

dsc00800th0.th.jpg

But another problem surface, the shades means no sun to dry clothes in future. I am seriously looking at buying dryer. I guess the dryers are getting popular now.

PUB Gas is selling theirs at $600plus running on gas. Told me it will only need 1hr compare to other electrical ones. Total running cost is $0.80 for 1hr. Electricity is more expensive - at abt $1.20. But I think other brands of dryers are cheaper, so the running cost sort of balance out each other.

Anyone got experience with dryers can share ?

Correct me if I am wrong, but I think wet clothes dripping anf birds dropping should not be an issue (for 5 room units at least). There is a shelter built directly above the kitchen/wash-are windows to shield your laundry from the above mentioned. Not sure if the 4 room units have the same design?

Visited Blk D last nite around 9pm. Warm nite and wanted to see whether it will be windy up there. A bit of breeze at 20th floor; 40th floor is very windy (means no need for aircon for me!).

Also, we noticed a bunch of 'ah beng kia' hanging around Blk C-D void deck; they were at the 12th floor garden from Blk D but could not access the garden as it was all boarded up. I suggest you all keep a lookout for young punks hanging around the blks during the nite , as it can be a ghost town for now and no idea what these kiddos are up to (vandalizing, :) whatever). Some workers spotted working on Blk B entrance scaffolding though. Anyway, don't want events that happen at Tanglin Halt flats to happen here too!

I wonder if the HDB rubbish chute is in 'operation'? At moment there is only one family; dun think the rubbish truck would come as yet? Otherwise, do remember not to dispose leftovers from the gathering into the chutes. Who knows when the chute vehicle would come! ;)

Hi Alister

FYI, we saw 4-legged zikzaks crawling around at 40th storey; watch out for their droppings too!

i think vandalism is unavoidable over time...... :(

probably both gardens might even end up as a "making out" venue for students...

Visited Blk D last nite around 9pm. Warm nite and wanted to see whether it will be windy up there. A bit of breeze at 20th floor; 40th floor is very windy (means no need for aircon for me!).

Also, we noticed a bunch of 'ah beng kia' hanging around Blk C-D void deck; they were at the 12th floor garden from Blk D but could not access the garden as it was all boarded up. I suggest you all keep a lookout for young punks hanging around the blks during the nite , as it can be a ghost town for now and no idea what these kiddos are up to (vandalizing, :) whatever). Some workers spotted working on Blk B entrance scaffolding though. Anyway, don't want events that happen at Tanglin Halt flats to happen here too!

I wonder if the HDB rubbish chute is in 'operation'? At moment there is only one family; dun think the rubbish truck would come as yet? Otherwise, do remember not to dispose leftovers from the gathering into the chutes. Who knows when the chute vehicle would come! ;)

Hi Alister

FYI, we saw 4-legged zikzaks crawling around at 40th storey; watch out for their droppings too!

i think vandalism is unavoidable over time...... :(

probably both gardens might even end up as a "making out" venue for students...

all, pls assist me on some queries here...

1. how much does haulage cost exactly? $450? $900?

2. cement screeding is provided free by HDB (as mentioned by Gadgetman) or do we have to pay for it?

3. any difference in cement screeding and Motar Base Cement Screed?

4. since hacking of wall (whole or partial) requires PE @ min. $500, if it's not mentioned or even mentioned as FOC in contract, are we still liable to pay for engaging PE?

thank you~

Actually meant to be light-hearted joke, but since a serious qns is being asked, let me answer. From picture, looks like bird droppings will not be a problem. Pls see picture.

dsc00800th0.th.jpg

But another problem surface, the shades means no sun to dry clothes in future. I am seriously looking at buying dryer. I guess the dryers are getting popular now.

PUB Gas is selling theirs at $600plus running on gas. Told me it will only need 1hr compare to other electrical ones. Total running cost is $0.80 for 1hr. Electricity is more expensive - at abt $1.20. But I think other brands of dryers are cheaper, so the running cost sort of balance out each other.

Is it better to use PUB Gas?

Heard feedbacks that e.g. even if we don't cook on a regular basis, we're still charged..and it becomes like a "subscription fee"..? :dunno: Yet it's more convenient cos we don't have to worry that gas has finished and water is readily hot when we wanna take a shower...and it's safer... :good:

Any idea?

dsc00800th0.th.jpg

Was shopping around for a dryer too. Space consideration was a priority too since our kitchen is already so small. Also wanted to recycle my top-load washer. Found out that there is only one suitable dryer: Fisher and Paykal. the advantage of this model is that it can be mounted upside down above the washer. This will effectively lower the loading access of the dryer while leaving enough clearance for the top-loader below. I am already quite decided on this model. Does anybody have some feedback on this set?

Hey Gadgetman

How much does the dryer you mentioned cost? Am considering one too.

Thanks(^_^)

all, pls assist me on some queries here...

1. how much does haulage cost exactly? $450? $900?

2. cement screeding is provided free by HDB (as mentioned by Gadgetman) or do we have to pay for it?

3. any difference in cement screeding and Motar Base Cement Screed?

4. since hacking of wall (whole or partial) requires PE @ min. $500, if it's not mentioned or even mentioned as FOC in contract, are we still liable to pay for engaging PE?

Let me take some of your qns...since I have actually gone through some of the process already:

1. Haulage for 5 room is $800, could be lesser for 4-room

2. Cement Screed is FOC, BUT you must declare that you are not laying tiles on the cement screed areas. HDB will only provide the service if you are doing parquest/laminate flooring.

3. Motar base cement screed will be done by your contractor and should be included in your quote. I assume this is the same as the kitchen cabinet base, refrigerator base and the washing machine base.

4. I think no contractor will be willing to eat the additional $500. They will most probably consult with you again later even if it is not mentioned in the contract. Like I mentioned earlier, not many of them may know of this requirement, but I have already gone through and can already confirm that it is a necessity. You may want to bring this matter up with your contractor in the first instance, rather than to wait for eventuality to happen....

Hey Gadgetman

How much does the dryer you mentioned cost? Am considering one too.

Thanks(^_^)

Toa Payoh Courts selling at around $550 I think. Additional $50 for the brackets and installation. Total should be about $600...Cheers!

Hey... talking abt kicthen v small... no one replied me yet wor... where r u ppl placing ur stove?? For my unit, the only place to place the stove is opp the window... but according to fengshui, stove cannot face window leh... HELP... :dancingqueen:

Unfortuantely, I suspect HDB did not give that much thought to Fengshui (and practicality) when they designed our units !! . IMHO, I think they are more concerned with aesthetics. That's probably why we have large corridors and large empty spaces in the lift areas while the real space inside our house is so squeezy. I cannot help but think that if the wide corridors are made a bit narrower, my kitchen could have been much wider. If not for the nice rounded exterior of our first bedroom, we also could have got a more rectangular and a room with more usable space. But I suppose if the HDB hub is just in front of us, we got to look a bit better right? Afterall, are we not like a ready show-piece for HDB?

But back to your question, my stove is located directly facing the kitchen windows. I seriously cannot think of any other place else except those that are really way-off: like next to your fridge or, if sideways can also count, next to your washing machine...Sorry bro, I really don't have any better ideas to share... :unsure:

I sort of decided on a fisher & paykal washing machine, maybe I will take a look at the dryer too.

Your thots are exactly as mind. I think HDB doesn't care abt us folks, they are only concern with how it looks from outside.

Furthermore I think the architect does not stay in HDB flats, all of them stays in condo. If not, why would they design funny layout. I saw a four room flat at Blk 79C where the main door swings towards the place where the TV console will be. Common sense will tell us the main door should swing towards the wall in line with the storeroom.

As for kitchen sink, my sentiments those are the appropriate two places for placing them.

Unfortuantely, I suspect HDB did not give that much thought to Fengshui (and practicality) when they designed our units :dancingqueen: . IMHO, I think they are more concerned with aesthetics. That's probably why we have large corridors and large empty spaces in the lift areas while the real space inside our house is so squeezy. I cannot help but think that if the wide corridors are made a bit narrower, my kitchen could have been much wider. If not for the nice rounded exterior of our first bedroom, we also could have got a more rectangular and a room with more usable space. But I suppose if the HDB hub is just in front of us, we got to look a bit better right? Afterall, are we not like a ready show-piece for HDB?

But back to your question, my stove is located directly facing the kitchen windows. I seriously cannot think of any other place else except those that are really way-off: like next to your fridge or, if sideways can also count, next to your washing machine...Sorry bro, I really don't have any better ideas to share... !!

I sort of decided on a fisher & paykal washing machine, maybe I will take a look at the dryer too.

Your thots are exactly as mind. I think HDB doesn't care abt us folks, they are only concern with how it looks from outside.

Furthermore I think the architect does not stay in HDB flats, all of them stays in condo. If not, why would they design funny layout. I saw a four room flat at Blk 79C where the main door swings towards the place where the TV console will be. Common sense will tell us the main door should swing towards the wall in line with the storeroom.

As for kitchen sink, my sentiments those are the appropriate two places for placing them.

haha... ya, i agree... i went to blk c too and share the same sentiments abt the main door... looks kinda not logical... but anyway, we dun have any choice but to accept the fact n live with it...

As for kitchen, ya, really no other place le.. most likely will be beside the fridge... no choice le...

haha... i'll be meeting one of the ID to see the 3D design on sun morn before the gathering... so excited n anxious... wondering how it will look like...??? :dancingqueen:

Hi I'm new frm 79D and had been reading this forum since Aug. Handled up the loan application on 4Sept and had not heard anything since. :dancingqueen:

gadgetman

if you are concern about Fengshui, install the stove below the cloth rack. Remove the cloth rack and place it above the windows. That the best place. I had been thinkng about it for a long time. Then you will not need a dryer. !!

CraB & ms_white

if there are young punks hanging around the blks which make residents feel uneasy, call the police. The station is just at the corner. Or make them patrol the area every 1-2hrs. :(

Alister & gagetman

still have room for the dryer? I think the electricity bill will go up as well. !!

Alister

Yes, I agree with you. The architect does not stay in HDB flat and does not drive. Maybe they have driver.

Nowadays the HDB's design is in such a way that all your hanging cloth are not expose. But they didn't think that how our cloth will get dry.

The passage to the bedrooms is a waste of space which can use/design somewhere for a balcony.

The carpark is dark and ceiling is low. The parking lots only suitable for a Getz model type of car.

Keep in mind that whatever is inside or outside your house, you had already paid. So before you remove/replace anything during renovation, just think that it's new and it's your money. :(

thank u gadgetman :jawdrop: pls see my reply in blue

Let me take some of your qns...since I have actually gone through some of the process already:

1. Haulage for 5 room is $800, could be lesser for 4-room mine kena $900 for 4rm..why ah? :sport-smiley-004: haulage = upload/download of sand & materials?

2. Cement Screed is FOC, BUT you must declare that you are not laying tiles on the cement screed areas. HDB will only provide the service if you are doing parquest/laminate flooring. i'll be overlaying tiles leh..and it's abt 3k for Motar Base Cement Screed for Entire Living & Bomb Shelter, Kitchen & 2 Bathrms Flr, Kitchen & 2 Bathrms Wall. Only Kitchen Wall won't overlay with tiles..just plaster smooth. Fair or unfair? And Bomb Shelter must have flr tiles?

3. Motar base cement screed will be done by your contractor and should be included in your quote. I assume this is the same as the kitchen cabinet base, refrigerator base and the washing machine base. The bases have been quoted as FOC..so I think it's not an issue.

4. I think no contractor will be willing to eat the additional $500. They will most probably consult with you again later even if it is not mentioned in the contract. Like I mentioned earlier, not many of them may know of this requirement, but I have already gone through and can already confirm that it is a necessity. You may want to bring this matter up with your contractor in the first instance, rather than to wait for eventuality to happen.... noted. will bring that up when i meet my ID tonight for tiles selection..