Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Strawberry_pear

Thank you for showing us your flat and for your help in "pressurising" the ID yesterday. And thanks for the drinks and the great ideas that you have given us. Let's meet up again when the ID is ready with his designs. (^_^)

Btw, what's the nick of the couple with us yest? Issit Ebing? Coz Ebing's the only one who uses a dog's pic leh... :notti:

Hi Zanie98! Nice meeting you all yesterday! :help: Thanks Strawberry_pear for showing us your flat also :yamseng:

Just a side note, saw the ID who served you. It was the same person who served me also but I don't have confidence in that fellow. After sitting with him for 1+ hr going through all our requirements, he arranged a time for us to go meet up with him to review the plans and quotes and guess what, when we went back on the arranged time, he was not there and his colleague called him up and he couldn't even remember who we were. He has completely forgotten all about us in a matter of 1 wk.

Hope he doesn't do that to you also 8|

Till we meet up again! :dunno:

Oh dear, I need to come-by more often. So many posts.

I have confirmed my ID (through friend's recommendation). The initial quotation that covers basic stuff was $22k. I keep adding more and more stuff and it has ballooned to $35k. Sigh~ must reconsider what I can live with and what luxury items I must let go.

Derrick, dun think it's allowed to remove the bomb-shelter.

zanie, you are right about the leaks and cracks. Everyone better check properly when your time comes - within the unit and surrounding the unit - all must check and report to HDB.

Did I miss a gathering? Got crab buffet or not? (and I don't mean you, Mr Carelinwen). lol

Edited by Mapleleaf

Hi Zanie98! Nice meeting you all yesterday! :dancingqueen: Thanks Strawberry_pear for showing us your flat also :notti:

Just a side note, saw the ID who served you. It was the same person who served me also but I don't have confidence in that fellow. After sitting with him for 1+ hr going through all our requirements, he arranged a time for us to go meet up with him to review the plans and quotes and guess what, when we went back on the arranged time, he was not there and his colleague called him up and he couldn't even remember who we were. He has completely forgotten all about us in a matter of 1 wk.

Hope he doesn't do that to you also :(

Till we meet up again! :D

Hi Shivan

Hehehe... Don't think the ID can forget us after all the sacarsm and threats that we have given him yesterday. You should have seen us (me and hubby, strawberry n hubby) in action yesterday... He really kena :) by us.... Bet you would have laughed your head off.... :o

Can we organise one outing to share information on renovation?

A reno NOOB here......

Yup, 79D 11th floor, neighbour.

My family had received my Loan Application package.

But as both of us are abroad, we are going to seek a deferment.

So worried wo, someone mentioned in this forum that cracks and leaks were seen on the 11th floor possibly due to the garden above.

One thing I'm dying to find out is just how high the 'high ceiling' is.

When we were choosing the unit, they were unable to tell us and so I suppose we just kind of dumbly hand over an extra 10K not knowing exactly what for. Imagine the strength of our faith in HDB! They better not let us down, man!

Do you suppose you can let me know the height of the units when you've got your keys?

Many thanks!

I read the floor plan again and this is what I discovered:

I think yours is high ceiling, whereas mine is low ceiling.

Can we organise one outing to share information on renovation?

A reno NOOB here......

I read the floor plan again and this is what I discovered:

I think yours is high ceiling, whereas mine is low ceiling.

hihi i second the thought of having one pre moving in outing maybe this weekend so tat we can discuss on renovation, share our frustrations and go house hopping to see those that are already under reno...and most importantly to network and foster strong ties within the blk so that in case anything happen, we can help lookout for each other. :(

maybe the venue can be our carpark rooftop garden?? just a suggestion tho

Hey zanie and Shivan,

u are welcome!!! :notti: no need to say thank you bcos next time me and dh will be invited over to ur respective houses right?? and with complementary satay, goreng pisang and laksa too heeheheheh :);)

yup! i am definitely overlaying tiles for my bathrooms. i'm VERY particular abt it..i'm into MBR and bathrooms. ;)

i'm doing homogenus for living and kitchen. bedroom laminated. passageway will be spa-like or something (ID say de..haven't seen the 3D layout yet. we'll tell him what are the areas we dun fancy, if any, after layout's done)

my kitchen wall also will do cement screed and plastered for painting. flooring also will overlay. er..basically, ID's idea la..to suit his concept and colour.

hack partial of a room's wall..tv wall feature, dining wall feature, feature wall for hs shelter, shoe rack wif settee.. :notti:

wow ms white tat'll will coz u a hefty sum:bangwall: ! how much is it gonna be?by the way wat's the cement screed n plastered thingy in the kitchen .... r u gonna cover up all the wall tiles in the kitchen???? care to share yr ID??? !!

Edited by dino

hihi i second the thought of having one pre moving in outing maybe this weekend so tat we can discuss on renovation, share our frustrations and go house hopping to see those that are already under reno...and most importantly to network and foster strong ties within the blk so that in case anything happen, we can help lookout for each other. :good:

Hey zanie and Shivan,

u are welcome!:curse::yamseng: no need to say thank you bcos next time me and dh will be invited over to ur respective houses right?? and with complementary satay, goreng pisang and laksa too heeheheheh :notti:;)

hi guys,

dino fm blk D, I wud certainly wish to join u for the reno update... miz a good part of it if u guys don mind...most importantly we can share some good tips.. after the sess... i m really looking forward to yr reply.. :rolleyes:

Hi all

I am keen to meet up with the neighbours for knowledge sharing on reno. Do include me in.

Cheers !

Hi Everybody,

So good to have all of you sharing bits and pieces of information so that we can make wiser decisions in our renovations and other matters.

I will be confirming my ID maybe tmr as still need to iron out some minor issues. Hopefully can start work soon so that we can move in by Dec or so. :rolleyes:

Hi sushibabe,

I noticed your quotation. Generally it's slightly cheaper than my ID quote. Happy for you leh.... Hence I can only comment a bit lar. Hope it helps u gal... (see those in blue)

Hi neighbours,

me and my guy so busy recently, meeting up with IDs and getting quotes and preparing for our ROM in december....

anyway, just wanna share a quote from another ID i've gotten...this one is so much cheaper than my that ID friend...and it's the cheapest i've gotten besides the other 2 and also waiting for 1 more...

hope you all can help to feedback on this quote...u all think the material used ok anot har???

i will strike off those i dun need and maybe do something else....

Professional Service

1. Design consultation and space planning

2. Design proposal and perspective drawings

3. Selection of colour, material and accessories, decoration advice

4. Site coordination and supervision

5. Submission of permit

A Demolition Works

1. Hack off existing wall at BR 3 $400 - mine quoted $300/wall, i have another quote giving us $150/wall

B Masonry Works

1. Supply materials and labour to lay 600x600 homogenous floor tiles ****/dining area (tiles up to $3.00 PSQ) $1820

2. Supply materials and labour to seal up MBR entrance $300

3. Supply materials and labour to lay 300x300 floor tiles at household shelter $300

4. Make good of wall at affected area after hacking $150

5. Supply and construct 1 nos of kitchen cabinet base $180

6. Supply and construct 1 nos of fridge base $90

7. Supply and construct 1 nos of washing machine base $90

C Laminated Floor

1. Supply and lay laminated flooring including skirting at 3 bedroom $998 - we liase directly with Supreme and got a cheaper price. Both parties (ID & Supreme) are ok to coordinate with each other on the timing.

2. Cement screeding for laminated flooring to be done by HDB

D Plumbing Work (Owner Supply Fitting)

1. Supply and install new inlet/outlet piping for whole house $180

2. Supply labour to install 1 nos of kitchen sink $80

3. Supply labour to install instant/storage heater $120 - initially we thot of using instant heater, but after browsing thru some threads on citygas heater (coz gas heater is cheaper than electric heater) we decided to go for citygas heater. Moreover HDB has done up the installation already. No need to spend extra money.

4. Supply labour to install tap fitting, shower set FOC

5. Supply labour to install accessories and mirror FOC

E Painting Works

1. Painting of whole house with ICI/Nippon emulsion paint (up to 8 colours) $1100

2. Painting of whole house doors, frames and piping FOC

F Ceiling Works

1. Supply and install false ceiling/L-Box holder at MBR $700

2. Supply and install false ceiling/L-Box holder ****/dining area $900

Custom-Made Furniture

G Living and Dining

1. Design and fabricate full height feature wall at household shelter approx 10ft $2200

a. selected laminate finish internal carcass in white PVC finish

2. Design and fabricate feature wall on top TV console approx 5ft $900

a. selected laminate finish

3. Design and fabricate low height TV console approx 5ft $500

b. drawer sets, internal carcass in PVC finish

H Bedroom 3

1. Design and fabricate low height headboard approx 8ft $600

2. Supply materials and labour to construct 6" platform with wooden structure $500

I Master Bedroom

1. Design and fabricate build-in wardrobe approx 9ft $1800

b. casement door opening

c. top storage cabinet, lockable drawer unit

2. Deisgn and fabricate book shelf w/o doors approx 3ft $540

a. selected laminate finish internal carcass in matching PVC finish

3. Design and fabricate low height suspended study table approx 7ft $840

b. drawer sets, internal carcass in PVC finish

J Kitchen Cabinets

1. Design and fabricate kitchen cabinets complete with: approx 26ft $2340

a. door in selected laminate finish and ABS trimmings

b. top and bottom cabinet internal carcass in white PVC finish

c. 1 nos of alumnium frames with sandblasted glass door, s/s dish rack

d. installation of hob, hood (item supply by owner)

K Solid Surface

1. Supply and install solid surface top at kitchen arrox 13ft $910

L Cleaning Work

1. Clearing of debris and haulage $380 - thot this must get from the Haulage person? (my Blk C is Joy). Usually is about $800.

2. Supply and lay corrugated paper for whole house flooring FOC

3. Provide chemical washing for whole house flooring FOC

Grand Total $18, 918.00 * (Quotation does not include any P.E submission)

hihi oda

are u going to this Mr Ker for renov??? :curse: have u view the contractor workmanship?? or is he jus another contractor at the void deck area?? :rolleyes:

Hi dino,

Actually I'm not an owner of the toa payoh flats, my home is at Tanglin Halt 40-storey flat and my reno was done by them. However, I did try balloting for the 40-storey Toa Payoh flats few years ago but was unsuccessful. So came here to this forum to see how are you guys doing. I used to live with my parents at Toa Payoh, kinda miss the estate now although I've moved in at Tanglin Halt. Anyway, Mr. Ker is not those contractors walking along the void deck area, so no worries... ;)

Hi Everybody,

So good to have all of you sharing bits and pieces of information so that we can make wiser decisions in our renovations and other matters.

I will be confirming my ID maybe tmr as still need to iron out some minor issues. Hopefully can start work soon so that we can move in by Dec or so. :rolleyes:

Hi sushibabe,

I noticed your quotation. Generally it's slightly cheaper than my ID quote. Happy for you leh.... Hence I can only comment a bit lar. Hope it helps u gal... (see those in blue)

hi almonddust,

thanks for your comments...i told the ID about the haulage part...i say it's more expensive...but he looked puzzled also...i will ask him again lor...

anyway, the heater part, i also thinking of using gas heater...initally i wanted to use induction hob but scared the electrical bills very high...so my dream kitchen only 80% lor...but if i decide to use gas hob, i will bug my hubby buy me a good oven...to balance myself...wahaha~~~

but so far, this ID not bad...will go and view his projects soon to see the worksmanship....

hihi i second the thought of having one pre moving in outing maybe this weekend so tat we can discuss on renovation, share our frustrations and go house hopping to see those that are already under reno...and most importantly to network and foster strong ties within the blk so that in case anything happen, we can help lookout for each other. :good:

Hey zanie and Shivan,

u are welcome!:rolleyes:;) no need to say thank you bcos next time me and dh will be invited over to ur respective houses right?? and with complementary satay, goreng pisang and laksa too heeheheheh :notti::curse:

hihi 79ers

if u all are meeting up... do let me noe k... thks! ya i think it will be great idea to share our experience.

And it is also a good chance to get to know u all (our neighbours) early... haha :yamseng:

Strawberry_pear

Thank you for showing us your flat and for your help in "pressurising" the ID yesterday. And thanks for the drinks and the great ideas that you have given us. Let's meet up again when the ID is ready with his designs. (^_^)

Btw, what's the nick of the couple with us yest? Issit Ebing? Coz Ebing's the only one who uses a dog's pic leh... :rolleyes:

hey... let me know if u ppl gonna meet up again leh... i'm int to see see l@@k l@@k too...

hihi i second the thought of having one pre moving in outing maybe this weekend so tat we can discuss on renovation, share our frustrations and go house hopping to see those that are already under reno...and most importantly to network and foster strong ties within the blk so that in case anything happen, we can help lookout for each other. :jawdrop:

Hey zanie and Shivan,

u are welcome!:dunno::( no need to say thank you bcos next time me and dh will be invited over to ur respective houses right?? and with complementary satay, goreng pisang and laksa too heeheheheh 8|:bangwall:

Hey Strawberry_Pear

Sure! I definitely will invite you for complementary makan and chilling out. (^_^)

Then wat abt the renotalk gathering this wkend? Is anybody gonna volunteer to organise it? Or can we fix it on Sunday? Ard 2pm?