meepok 0 Report post Posted May 16, 2008 Hi tension, I have seen at the coffeeshop above the Bishan Bus Interchange, got hang a big and fake looking crow cut out of wood. It seems to be working to scare the other birds away. Maybe we can try to past a big crow sticker? Hehe... I think Daiso also selling similar fake crow scarecrows at $2... dunno effective against birds though? But experience quite a few occasion of insects flying on to the windows or rooms for our lower level units... just the other day, someone was burning offerings at the bin behind, next to the playground area... lots of flying ashes coming up into the rooms... u got to take note to close the windows when it happens. Otherwise, headache to clean up... it could get worse come the annual 7th month festival Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mapleleaf 0 Report post Posted May 16, 2008 Wow, still needs drilling..Yup usually diy locks come in 2 pieces.. Currently considering this castle lock and DURO Art338. Btw, the "joint" of the 2 piece lock will be "blocked" by the gate so actually no issue also. Hence, if looking from outside, it looks like a one piece lock. Currently DURO has a promotion too. $148 for one big + one small lock.. http://www.duro.com.sg/promo.html But well, if so many neighbours interested in Castle lock maybe we can do a mass order and see whether can have any discount.. Tell uncle about the DURO promotion maybe can have more discounts.. Hi Yeoman. I am interested in the Castle lock. Will be calling him this weekend. if you are interested I can ask if can have discount if we buy 2. Who else interested. Pls pm me. =) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetman 0 Report post Posted May 16, 2008 no not that exp just google for bird repellance you will find tons of it. I am making myself excuse as we do need to allow other forumners to chat. Have a nice chat, I will still be the out spoken guys coming in occasaionly as usual but forumner do take it openly from my comments.. Have fun. Hi TPY, it is fine to be outspoken and have a different point of view, but I don't think it is right to be so blunt and insensitive that you cause distress to other fellow forumners. It is ironic that you sign off asking people to "have fun" when the post and comments that you make often serve to create the exact opposite reaction from other users of the forum. I personally value this forum as a vehicle to allow residents of Blk79 to get together and improve our neighborly relations. I have met many wonderful and helpful neighbours and we have all become very good friends. I am therefore very dissapointed to know that your insensitive comments had actually caused one of our much valued forum member to stop her contribution and stay away from this forum. Many of our fellow forumners had already spoken up for her, but you just kept silent. Then instead of reflecting on your actions, you have now started another mess all over again. It's very easy to say let's move on and forget about it, but it is only right that you first assume responsibility for your own actions. For this, I feel that an apology from you is due to show us your sincerity. Do give this a serious thought. Regards, Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gui99 0 Report post Posted May 16, 2008 Just installed my castle lock. Looks sturdy and its very convenient cos both inside and outside got keyhole. For those people who needs a solution to keeping the main door open, Mr Low just told me that he has a door closer that allows you to keep the main door open at certain angle. Cost $72. Think i will get from him when my door closer wears out Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Dracula 0 Report post Posted May 16, 2008 Just installed my castle lock. Looks sturdy and its very convenient cos both inside and outside got keyhole. For those people who needs a solution to keeping the main door open, Mr Low just told me that he has a door closer that allows you to keep the main door open at certain angle. Cost $72. Think i will get from him when my door closer wears out Hi, Just wondering is it only castle have 2 keyholes or does other brands have that too? Very blurr lah... Hehe.... thanks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gui99 0 Report post Posted May 16, 2008 Hi, Just wondering is it only castle have 2 keyholes or does other brands have that too? Very blurr lah... Hehe.... thanks. I only went to NTUC and those small shops in TPY to see see look look. So far i dun see any brand has two keyhole. Haven went to homefix to walk walk yet Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Dracula 0 Report post Posted May 16, 2008 I only went to NTUC and those small shops in TPY to see see look look. So far i dun see any brand has two keyhole. Haven went to homefix to walk walk yet Oh.....ah.....hmm.... ok ok. i shall go around and look look see see first. Still got lots of time for me ah. Thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gui99 0 Report post Posted May 16, 2008 Oh.....ah.....hmm.... ok ok. i shall go around and look look see see first. Still got lots of time for me ah. Thanks yeah if you are in no rush... go see see look look first. $128 is not cheap. I need it urgently cos i moved in liao. Yesterday saw one bangla smash my discarded sink at the bin area and took the tap. Then today one thai worker suddenly come out of the staircase door. So decided to get a lock asap Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Dracula 0 Report post Posted May 16, 2008 yeah if you are in no rush... go see see look look first. $128 is not cheap. I need it urgently cos i moved in liao. Yesterday saw one bangla smash my discarded sink at the bin area and took the tap. Then today one thai worker suddenly come out of the staircase door. So decided to get a lock asap Oh my... tat is dangerous. Are you the direct opposite neighbour of yeoman? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CraB 0 Report post Posted May 16, 2008 (edited) Do these look familiar/belong to you? Innovative but dangerous Edited May 16, 2008 by CraB Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meepok 0 Report post Posted May 16, 2008 Hi, Just wondering is it only castle have 2 keyholes or does other brands have that too? Very blurr lah... Hehe.... thanks. Hi Dracula, Duro has the same lock with 2 front/back-facing keyholes also... cost slightly more than Castle... but for Duro you need to self-install... Castle Lock uncle will come fix up for you... I think that shoe repair shop (with a Harley parked infront) next to the 177 furniture shop is selling Duro Locks... but u may want to check out the price from HomeFix or Self-Fix first. Duro should cost about $20+ more than Castle. Think now got promo, buy 1 get 1 free at $140. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yang Guo 7 Report post Posted May 16, 2008 Hi Yeoman. I am interested in the Castle lock. Will be calling him this weekend. if you are interested I can ask if can have discount if we buy 2. Who else interested. Pls pm me. =) my Castle Lock also done by Mr Low. wow his business so good, every new neighbourhood also got his lock..hehe.. hmmm but he is quite firm abt his price $128 (he told me he dont give discount cos if he give, alot of his customer will come back to scold him. he said he prefer happy customer). he told abt 1/2hr to installed mine. he said my gate is not straight, so alignment need to be v exact. After installing the gate, he will paste his sticker at my main power switch. lol what a good and clever way of advertising himself cos his number is at the sticker. Anyway he is a v nice uncle Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
coco_mybibi 0 Report post Posted May 16, 2008 Hello all, I have updated the list below with more new neighbours and yes, the list is getting longer. Please note that I only include those who have pm-ed me with information. I will be sending out the list next weekend. Therefore, I would like to emphasize that for those who has a copy of the old list, you may want to go though and update the information. If so, can pm me so that I can have it updated. For those who wish to be removed from the list and do not wish to have your information circulated, please let me know. For those who wish to be added into the list, please pm me your information (nick, name, blk, unit, email, contact, occupation, ID/ contractor, rom date, ad date, wedding dinner venue, bridal shop, interest, dob) Blk A - sushibabe - rickyer8 - coco_mybibi - apple68 - soudezne - alicia - harryp - skywu - whiteboxer - shivan - darkwing - ryuki Blk B - slog - JenT - bonkitty - twotwobravo - carelinwen & crab - gui99 - indulgence_queen - redcrystal - will&pet - Liana79B - groovygenie Blk C - doremi - meowie49 - bethel - zanie98 - almonddust - m&m - strawberry_pear - gadgetman - josephine Blk D - yingsan - yel - droplets - alister - pink_sea79 - snuffleupagus - ms_white/ shay_d - tension_z - xinni - dino - tweakmax - seaswirl Blk E - mapleleaf - ebing/ chrispy - hobbes - Stay79 - Meepok & Babymaro2003 - Dracula - Darry Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mapleleaf 0 Report post Posted May 16, 2008 Thanks to redcrystal, babymaro, meowie and all for contributing to my quest for lock. =) Btw, just realised babymaro & meepok are sharing the same unit. I know I'm pathetic. heh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gui99 0 Report post Posted May 16, 2008 Oh my... tat is dangerous. Are you the direct opposite neighbour of yeoman? Heehee nope... sad to say i dun even know which unit belongs to Yeoman Thanks to redcrystal, babymaro, meowie and all for contributing to my quest for lock. =) Btw, just realised babymaro & meepok are sharing the same unit. I know I'm pathetic. heh. I shall join you in the pathetic gang... i dun know also Share this post Link to post Share on other sites