Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Hi, me also from 79C, yrs is 4-room or 5-room, high floor or low floor?

Me is 4-room n my floor is 21-xx

Hi Hi .... mine is 4 rm ... staying on the 3x-xx ..

you shifted in already ?

Hi Hana79,

You're most welcomed! Thanks for showing us your place too... got Jacuzzi shiok sia!

The carpet is those nice to touch kind, not very furry, quite comfy. Supposedly from Japan. Got it from a shop in Joo Chiat, reasonable pricing and good service. Just let me know if you wanna see the carpet... we should be around most weekday evenings and longer during the weekend.

meepok

Hi Meepok,

No probs. Tat jacuzzi arr.. actually I just wanted a(ny) bathtub & i knew contractor oredi order normal built-in tub. I was surprisingly delighted when HB asked, & my contractor so nice, said no probs, can cancel order cos not yet delivered :dancingqueen:.. so HB got it (tub oso serves 2hide > of tat "incompatible" blue-top, peach-bottom bathrm tiles! Now I know y some owners wanna overlay bathrm tiles). I guess it's ok if ur bedrm color happens 2b peach/blue tho..

Sure, been thinkin of gettin carpet.. I'll be waiting4 deliveries frm Fri aftnn & parts of da wkend. Will sms u guys b4 I drop by, Tks!

hi meowie49,

Thank you for the clarification!!...

I also heard that LG TV has got a built in recorder.. is that true?? And is it useful??

MAny Thanks

glenn

my model doesnt come with the built-in recording.. :unsure:

Finally going to handover...

Reno is so tiring and so many hicuups along e way

Juz glad that is done and hope I dun have to move house again

congratz :D

Would like to check with u all who has done the storeroom racks. How did u all do it? Do u all do

(1) 2 racks parallel at the sides placed next to the walls OR

(2) L-shape rack

Which would be better? Would doing 2 racks parallel at the sides of the walls be cramped when we enter?

I called up one contractor whom my wife's relative looked for to do the racks in the past. Their racks are galvanized steell & the layers are also galvanized steel. Used for 8 years already & still ok. Got 4 layers & 5 layers but of course, different pricing. Their racks also standard sizing becos they have been doing for hdb flats for a long time already so they know the standard measurements.

Below is their quotation based on my measurement given to them.

51" (L) x 16" (W) x 78" (H) (4 layers) = $134; (5 layers) = $155 ===> to be placed on side w/o circuit breaker box

39" (L) x 16" (W) x 78" (H) (4 layers) = $110; (5 layers) = $124 ===> to be placed on side with circuit breaker box

For the width, they have 20" too. Based on bomb shelter measurement, 20" width is also ok. The width will then extend to almost the bomb shelter door.

If anyone is interested, i can check if got discount for mass orders. Or i can PM you all the contact. :yamseng:

Hi liverpoolforlife,

We just did the store room L-shape rack for $180. Size: 64" (L) x 48" (L) x 20" (W) x 72" (H). Grey frames with white boards. Quite standard type I suppose. No discount for bulk orders either.

If want to do 64" x 64" is $220. The L-rack will extend wall to wall. As for the 64" x 48", it will leave a gap on 1-side of the wall. This is for you to place your iron board, brooms, ladder, etc.

Congrats Bonkitty!! :drunk:

I believe your stay in TPY would be a long and fruitful one! Time to explore the neighbourhood liao!

Maybe when most of us are settled in, can go for big makan over at Oasis :dribble:

Hi Meepok,

No probs. Tat jacuzzi arr.. actually I just wanted a(ny) bathtub & i knew contractor oredi order normal built-in tub. I was surprisingly delighted when HB asked, & my contractor so nice, said no probs, can cancel order cos not yet delivered :dancingqueen:.. so HB got it (tub oso serves 2hide > of tat "incompatible" blue-top, peach-bottom bathrm tiles! Now I know y some owners wanna overlay bathrm tiles). I guess it's ok if ur bedrm color happens 2b peach/blue tho..

Sure, been thinkin of gettin carpet.. I'll be waiting4 deliveries frm Fri aftnn & parts of da wkend. Will sms u guys b4 I drop by, Tks!

Hi Hana79,

Did the bathtub + jacuzzi cost a bomb? I've also seen a neighbour who did their bathroom with overlaid tiles and bathtub. But not jacuzzi. Looks like those hotel kind of bathroom. Very nice. But then again... BUDGET!

Me no choice... got to live with the ugly blue and orange bathrooms for the time being. Maybe strike Toto then can consider... :notti:

for the window rivets - yes, confirmed must change !!

agreed with u - gg to demolish why still need to change the rivets - waste my money :furious:

especially window is solid and sturdy.

after shifting in very tired so just arrange to change, no mood to reason with them.

changed mine 2 weeks ago - cost me $100.

pls remember to ask yr contractor to give u the form b with all his particulars filled.

this very important as hdb want tis form when u handover.

w....o.....w...... tat's b..e..a..u..t..i..f..u..l.. :good::dribble:

isiz u do stitching? :notti:

hi hi..can PM the contact for your window contractor?

Hi jacky and dracula,

sorry for "flying kite" yesterday... was sick and in bed whole day... wanna go see the installation of TV also cant climb out of bed... 39 degree.. Feel like dying... :(:(

Thanks for the info, carelinwen. :D

Hi Meowie,

Heard u sick ah? Oh dear, me too... doc gave me 2 days MC for fever. I suspect it's cos I been buildin up a sweat everytime I go2 new hse & then, either get into aircon car, eat in aircon restaurant.. I guess u been hangin ard dusty place w ongoing carpentry work & aft tat, didn't u go shoppin? I been running ard in tis HOT weather & if we never drink enough water, lack sleep, sure down 1! Speedy recovery, ok?

Luk fwd 2c u agn if there's any hse hopping Fri aftnn/Sat, do let me know. But we dun hop so many hses la, hop a few, get a drink, hop agn, okie? Tk care! : )

Every home owners in this forum should be more pro-active and alert the police or Toa Payoh NPC 6251 9999, should they spot groups of teenagers or students gathering and fooling around the 8th and 12th floor sky gardens. Only with more residents complaining to the police will they take notice of the problems here and step up patrol.

The police in Singapore is reactive, don't complaint, pretend no problems. As for our home here, all of us should do our part to ensure that this place do not become a breeding ground for teenage delinquency. This will also help ensure our kids have a healthy neighborhood to grow up in.

Hi Pooh75,

Yes indeed! The SPF has got lots to learn from their counterparts in other countries, for example HK. Why only appear to clean up the mess when you could have prevented it in the first place? How? By making more foot patrols in the neighborhoods... in the city... in the vice districts... by making their presence felt... but no, they only do patrol in the air-conditioned comfort of their patrol cars!! :furious:

How often do you see them Policemen doing foot patrols in the city or your neighbourhood?... and I'm not talking about 'patrols' to the kopitiam to tapow makan & kopi siew dai!

I've only seen the patrol cars driving along the small road behind our blocks... that's all... maybe the occasional trip up and down the multi-storey carpark. Never once did I see any of them get down the car to patrol on foot!

I suppose the only sure way to make them appear in droves and in a instant, is to get Dr Chee to hold a peaceful citizen protest with placards and loudhailers!... which he did so, over the Labour Day holiday next to the TPY Library and Bata shop. Since they did not have any placards this time, no uniformed Policemen were visibly present to arrest them.

I suppose we'll have to be more vocal and proactive in complaining to the Police when things get out of hand, especially on the 12th floor. Or maybe someone should highlight this issue to the MP when he makes his next "shake hand & take photo" appearance.

I hope some SPF folks are reading this. Better buck up hor! Don't waste time with that escaped limping terrorist anymore ok? :bow:

Edited by meepok

Hi Meowie,

Heard u sick ah? Oh dear, me too... doc gave me 2 days MC for fever. I suspect it's cos I been buildin up a sweat everytime I go2 new hse & then, either get into aircon car, eat in aircon restaurant.. I guess u been hangin ard dusty place w ongoing carpentry work & aft tat, didn't u go shoppin? I been running ard in tis HOT weather & if we never drink enough water, lack sleep, sure down 1! Speedy recovery, ok?

Luk fwd 2c u agn if there's any hse hopping Fri aftnn/Sat, do let me know. But we dun hop so many hses la, hop a few, get a drink, hop agn, okie? Tk care! : )

you wont believe it.. i got 4days MC.. lol... too bad my project is "objective" oriented.. MC like no MC.. lol.. but yeah.. i am feeling better already... thanks ...

OH... how is ur flooring?? :dunno: Did your ID agree to change for u in the end??

Edited by meowie49

Hi Pooh75,

Yes indeed! The SPF has got lots to learn from their counterparts in other countries, for example HK. Why only appear to clean up the mess when you could have prevented it in the first place? How? By making more foot patrols in the neighborhoods... in the city... in the vice districts... by making their presence felt... but no, they only do patrol in the air-conditioned comfort of their patrol cars!! :furious:

How often do you see them Policemen doing foot patrols in the city or your neighbourhood?... and I'm not talking about 'patrols' to the kopitiam to tapow makan & kopi siew dai!

I've only seen the patrol cars driving along the small road behind our blocks... that's all... maybe the occasional trip up and down the multi-storey carpark. Never once did I see any of them get down the car to patrol on foot!

I suppose the only sure way to make them appear in droves and in a instant, is to get Dr Chee to hold a peaceful citizen protest with placards and loudhailers!... which he did so, over the Labour Day holiday next to the TPY Library and Bata shop. Since they did not have any placards this time, no uniformed Policemen were visibly present to arrest them.

I suppose we'll have to be more vocal and proactive in complaining to the Police when things get out of hand, especially on the 12th floor. Or maybe someone should highlight this issue to the MP when he makes his next "shake hand & take photo" appearance.

I hope some SPF folks are reading this. Better buck up hor! Don't waste time with that escaped limping terrorist anymore ok? :bow:

Well said.

Talking about the limping terrorist, I really :bow: to him. Either he is really that good at playing hide and seek or "uh-hmm" don't know what they are doing..and there are no more update on the progress.. zz

you wont believe it.. i got 4days MC.. lol... too bad my project is "objective" oriented.. MC like no MC.. lol.. but yeah.. i am feeling better already... thanks ...

OH... how is ur flooring?? :dunno: Did your ID agree to change for u in the end??

I tot Liana79b is having the flooring issue or Hana79? :dunno::unsure:

Hi liverpoolforlife,

We just did the store room L-shape rack for $180. Size: 64" (L) x 48" (L) x 20" (W) x 72" (H). Grey frames with white boards. Quite standard type I suppose. No discount for bulk orders either.

If want to do 64" x 64" is $220. The L-rack will extend wall to wall. As for the 64" x 48", it will leave a gap on 1-side of the wall. This is for you to place your iron board, brooms, ladder, etc.

Congrats Bonkitty!! :drunk:

I believe your stay in TPY would be a long and fruitful one! Time to explore the neighbourhood liao!

Maybe when most of us are settled in, can go for big makan over at Oasis :dribble:

Hi Hana79,

Did the bathtub + jacuzzi cost a bomb? I've also seen a neighbour who did their bathroom with overlaid tiles and bathtub. But not jacuzzi. Looks like those hotel kind of bathroom. Very nice. But then again... BUDGET!

Me no choice... got to live with the ugly blue and orange bathrooms for the time being. Maybe strike Toto then can consider... :notti:

Hi Meepok,

No, dun rem costing a bomb. PM me if interested, i go dig invoice cos we looked@ several models (saw diff prices so can't rem) & had2 find 1 tat fits our bathrm length, @same time not too cramp for my height. "Built-in jacuzzi" price is cheaper but u nid ur own/engage a contractor 2build tile wall.

Cos I had invoice longer (b4 our last min. ditch4 jacuzzi), I rem my contractor quoted us $1100 for normal bathtub (incl supply & construct low tiled wall), wch I tink quite reasonable. He even ordered the color 2match.

Generally we trust his tiling work cos contractor in industry almost 2 decades liao. Oso did many of HB's frens' hses. So far my floors luk ok & tat day while waitin, I mentioned to him some units hv uneven/hollow flrs, he say he hadda spend $100+ a container of (special?) adhesive4 tiles (carpenter arrived so i no time ask wat/nid how many container). He say some contractors not willing to spend xtra.. Guess he assumed no inexperienced/careless tiler.

Ei, u made (full) glass screens for bath oredi rite? If u make tub, gotta saw 1/2, man!

I oso gotta live w da ugly blue & orange colors, jus cover up >sore-eye space only. If not, wear shades 2bathe lor, stylo mylo ah! : ) We all wait 3 yrs la, then do nice2 (maybe immune 2 sore-eye blue & orange by then, hahha!)

for the window rivets - yes, confirmed must change !!

agreed with u - gg to demolish why still need to change the rivets - waste my money :furious:

especially window is solid and sturdy.

after shifting in very tired so just arrange to change, no mood to reason with them.

changed mine 2 weeks ago - cost me $100.

pls remember to ask yr contractor to give u the form b with all his particulars filled.

this very important as hdb want tis form when u handover.

I recommend mine - Chye Heng Aluminium Decorations Works - hp 9823613.

Changed 16 fasterners (2 window panes) = $70. Photocopy the form B & hand over to HDB officer the original on handover day. No need to redirect mails as u get to keep ur letterbox keys.

I suspect HDB not knocking down yet. Maybe they r doing something like Tiong Bahru. Change into hostel & rent out for a period of time to get immediate returns.

Bonkitty

So glad to hear ur reno is finally going to be over. Looking forward to visiting ur hse again in future.

Edited by alister

Dear Meowie,

Nothing wrong w my floor tiles. I Hana, u tot I Toppie izit? My unit is v.near urs, rem? Meepok jus mentioned jacuzzi, haha. U see too many hses oredi liao!! Better recover soon, ok? 4D MC, wow! rest up!

Hi all

Friendly reminder --

Remember to pay ur TV licence after u have moved in. I had MDA officer spot check on me 2 mths back & was issued warning.

If u have already paid up in ur old flat & is moving to this new one, u can call them up to transfer the address. That's what I did & it's ok.

Also remember to buy insurance to cover ur new flat contends incase of fire *touchwood*.

Poon_75

How are u & wife. Haven't heard from u for a while. Sorry has been busy with own things & hasn't been in touch.

I tot Liana79b is having the flooring issue or Hana79? :dunno::unsure:

Dear Meowie,

Nothing wrong w my floor tiles. I Hana, u tot I Toppie izit? My unit is v.near urs, rem? Meepok jus mentioned jacuzzi, haha. U see too many hses oredi liao!! Better recover soon, ok? 4D MC, wow! rest up!

dang.... yaya.. paiseh.. sick until blurr le.. :bow:

Edited by meowie49

I recommend mine - Chye Heng Aluminium Decorations Works - hp 9823613.

Changed 16 fasterners (2 window panes) = $70. Photocopy the form B & hand over to HDB officer the original on handover day. No need to redirect mails as u get to keep ur letterbox keys.

I suspect HDB not knocking down yet. Maybe they r doing something like Tiong Bahru. Change into hostel & rent out for a period of time to get immediate returns.

Bonkitty

So glad to hear ur reno is finally going to be over. Looking forward to visiting ur hse again in future.

Hi Alister.thanks for the contact...but is it one digit missing from the hp? :P