Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Hi Strawberry pear,

Can PM me the list of hidden costs and things to look out for?

Hi Strawberry pear,

can I have the list as well?(PM) Thanks in advance.

Hi sorry yel, girl was sick for past few days and thus unable to reply... prior to receiving the loan application letter, we din receive anything so it came as a surprise for us. however, maybe you want to get these things done first cos its needed on the day of flat acquisition/collection of keys:

1. buy fire insurance for new flat from AIA

2. set up joint acc for giro payment of monthly instalment.

I'm staying in blk 33 now... shld there be anything maybe can meet up and discuss?? btw, have you searched for any ids yet?? there's a kind soul from singapore brides who has kindly shared a list of hidden cost and things to look out for when looking for a contractor. shld you need it pls pm me...I'll email it to u... btw, this kind soul's username is hippo... can look for it at singapore brides, home and decor section too

Hi strawberry pear,

How's your girl? Hope she's feeling better now. :) Also hope to you could pm me the list too, many many thanks to you!

Me and FH only started looking for ID recently, so far only got one quote as our busy work schedule has been taking up a lot of our time. Although our search is still at the infancy stage, I must say I'm so glad to have many selfless neighbours here who are willing to share their experience & insights & pictures. Thanks everyone! !! Without all your sharings in some ways or another, I guess I'll be very blur and probably waste unnecessary resources to get things done.

Kudos to everyone! !!

Hi sorry yel, girl was sick for past few days and thus unable to reply... prior to receiving the loan application letter, we din receive anything so it came as a surprise for us. however, maybe you want to get these things done first cos its needed on the day of flat acquisition/collection of keys:

1. buy fire insurance for new flat from AIA

2. set up joint acc for giro payment of monthly instalment.

I'm staying in blk 33 now... shld there be anything maybe can meet up and discuss?? btw, have you searched for any ids yet?? there's a kind soul from singapore brides who has kindly shared a list of hidden cost and things to look out for when looking for a contractor. shld you need it pls pm me...I'll email it to u... btw, this kind soul's username is hippo... can look for it at singapore brides, home and decor section too

Hi Strawberry_pear, can PM me the list also? Thanks in advance! :unsure:

Woah,

Thanks to all who have taken all the lovely photos.. and also allow me and FW have a better picture and perspective of the unit.

Will be starting our engine soon to get our colour theme, setting and mood we want for our new home. Real headache in the toilet

Anyone thot of reducing the size of the kitchen to a smaller wet area and incorporating the dinning into the kitchen area?

I find that having that too long a kitchen abit too much to wash... as me and my FW dun really spend time in the kitchen. And most of the time will be makaning in at our Mums' place.

hmm.. still thinking.. as for the toilet.. I think will be putting glass encase shower screen.. now I have that at home.. reduce wet in the toilet..

Anyway.. will be going down the reno fair..

Thanks all our new neighbours for being so selfless.. and helping many of us bluur kings to start planning !! :jawdrop:

Can say thank you enough :notti:

Hi Darkwing

I did thot abt moving the dining to the kitchen, but we rule it out in the end.

The kitchen is only 5m long. We need to put in the wash basin, hob hood, fridge and washing machine. That leave us to custom made the table as I dun think you can find a smaller table outside.

Because we also have this habit of watching TV programs while eating, the TV will be too far away for us.

Toilet will definitely be putting a tempered glass shower screen.

Woah,

Thanks to all who have taken all the lovely photos.. and also allow me and FW have a better picture and perspective of the unit.

Will be starting our engine soon to get our colour theme, setting and mood we want for our new home. Real headache in the toilet

Anyone thot of reducing the size of the kitchen to a smaller wet area and incorporating the dinning into the kitchen area?

I find that having that too long a kitchen abit too much to wash... as me and my FW dun really spend time in the kitchen. And most of the time will be makaning in at our Mums' place.

hmm.. still thinking.. as for the toilet.. I think will be putting glass encase shower screen.. now I have that at home.. reduce wet in the toilet..

Thanks all our new neighbours for being so selfless.. and helping many of us bluur kings to start planning :jawdrop::(

Can say thank you enough !!

Here's an update on my quote. Hasn't start bargaining yet. Just did some changes to the design.

A. Demolition Works

------------------------

1. Hack off existing wall at mbr (approx 4 ft) - $200

B. Masonary works

----------------------

1. Supply materials & labour to lay 600x600 homogenous floor tiles ****/Dining area (tiles up to $3) 280sqft - $1,960

2. Supply materials & labour to lay 300x300 floor tiles at household shelter - $120

3. Make good of wall at affected area after hacking - $120

4. Supply & construct 1 kitchen cabinet base - $180

5. Supply & construct 1 fridge base - $80

6. Supply & construct 1 washing machine base - $80

7. Supply & construct wall at master bedroom using hollow block - $380

C. Laminated floor

---------------------

1. Supply & lay laminated flooring including skirting at 3 bedroom 307sqft - $1,166

A. Cement screeding for Laminated floor to be done by HDB

D. Timber Works

--------------------

1. Supply & install designer veneer door at 3 bedroom w/o door frame (w door knob & aluminium stripes) - $960

E. Plumbing work

--------------------

1. Supply & install new inlet/out piping for kitchen sink & washing machine - $180

2. Supply labour to install 1 wash basin at master bedroom - $60

3. Supply labour to install 1 kitchen sink - $80

4. Supply labour to install 2 instant heater - $120

5. Supply labour to intall tap fitting - FOC

6. Supply labour to install shower set - FOC

7. Supply labour to install Accessories & mirror - FOC

F. Ceiling works

-------------------

1. Supply & install false ceiling / L-box light holder ****/Dining area - $1,056

2. Supply & install false ceiling / L-box light holder at Master bedroom - $543

G. Painting works

--------------------

1. Painting whole house wall & ceiling with ICI/Nippon emulsion paint (up to 8 colors) - $1,100

2. Painting of doors, frame & piping - FOC

H. Living & Dining

--------------------

1. Design & fabricate full height feature wall at household shelter approx 8ft - $1,500

2. Design & fabricate feature wall on top T V console approx 9 ft - $1,200

3. Design & fabricate featured wall at dining approx 9ft - $1,750

4. Design & fabricate suspended TV console - $660

I. Bedroom 2

----------------

1. Design & fabricate build-in wardrobe approx 6ft - $1,200

2. Design & fabricate low ht suspended study table cum shelf approx 4 ft - $600

3. To construct 4" platform with wooden structure in laminate flooring finish - $750

J. Master bedroom

----------------------

1. Design & fabricate wooden frame sliding doors wardrobe approx 8ft - $1,760

2. Design & fabricate vanite cabinet with mirror approx 5ft - $450

3. Solid surface top 5 ft - $350

4. To construct 6" platform with wooden structure in laminate flooring finish - $1,260

K. Kitchen Doors

--------------------

1. Supply & install 10mm tempered frosted glass panel swing door at kitchen entrance - $750

2. Supply & install fix panel at entrance area - $150

L. Kitchen cabinet

---------------------

1. Design & fabricate kitchen cabinet (approx 36ft top bottom) - $3,600

M. Solid surface

------------------

1. Supply & install solid surface top at kitchen approx 18ft ($70 psf Asuka) - $1,260

($120 psf for black galaxy granite)

($90 psf for china granite)

2. Supply & install wooden frame swing door with frosted glass panel at kitchen - $680

3. Supply & install fix panel at entrance area - $150

N. Cleaning work

---------------------

1. Clearing of debris & haulage - $380

2. Supply * lay corrugated paper for whole house flooring - $120

3. Provide chemical washing for whole house flooring (2 times) - $150

O. Optional items

--------------------

1. Supply materials & labour to lay special effect coating at both toilet wall - $2,200

2. Supply materials & labour to lay special effect coating at both toilet floor - $700

total : $28,505

i went to block C last night and the view is great...wasted i didn't bring my digital cam to shoot some pano...the hp photos aren't too nice...we also tried to sneak to block E to see the 75sqm 4rm unit but it's locked at all the possible stairs entry....

if i go in the day time, will the stairs be unlocked???

it's very scary when it's sooo dark and we can't find the stairs at first....but quite exciting....like ghost whisperer like that....wahaha~~~

will go down again this weekend....

C. Laminated floor

---------------------

1. Supply & lay laminated flooring including skirting at 3 bedroom 307sqft - $1,166

A. Cement screeding for Laminated floor to be done by HDB

Hi Alister,

can advise what's the brand of your laminated flooring?

and oso pm me who is your id.

thanks.

Hello all fellow neighbours... thanks to everyone... it seems that my daughter is a super spreader of the flu virus and now, my mil, dh and I are all down with flu and cough!! and we're going to collect keys tomorrow!:P!

attached is the list of hidden cost list update that I've found on Singapore Brides forum and all thanks to hippo (a fellow forummer) who compiled this list.

Hidden Cost List Update

-----------------------

1. Charge for each additional electrical power point

*** Take note each additional electrical power point in the market nowadays is between $60-$70. Pls be ensure 2 way switch installation only costs $40 for lighting and pls ensure that the contractor has indicated everything clearly. This is what I have checked up before agreeing my electrician to go ahead with the work. My electrician did a good job and the price is reasonable.

*** Take note also each installation of new lighting point is between $30-$40, some contractor may quoted more than $50 per point. Also pls do not ask the contractor to disconnect the power point when it has been done, as this also incurred costs and losses.

2. Cost of aircon wiring, re-wiring

*** The cost of aircon wiring and rewiring is always inclusive together with the air con equipment depends on the model you buy. For instance, a standard LG model costs around $1600 with installation. Pls do not be happy with the free gift the contractor provided together with the air con as the free gift is also one of the hidden costs in it. Nothing is free, pls bear in mind.

3. Quotation at time of signing does not included detailed specs of all materials used eg. acceptable price range for floor tiles given budget

**** You must always ask your contractor to state everything as clear as possible. The dimension as well as the type of floor tiles given. This is important. My contractor did that for us and all are quote accordingly.

4. Cost of clearing of debris and haulage

**** As per conversation with HDB council, the standard cost for clearing of debris and haulage is always at the cost of $215 inclusive of GST. Do not be surprised when contractor quote you more than $500 and do not get convinced by them when they told you the reason why it is so expensive. Some contractor will tends to tell you that they have rented a lorry to collect debris, this is not true. The lorry is provided by HDB who will do the clearing up. The contractor only needs to pay them $215 and everything will be done properly. Reason: HDB pay outsiders to do the clearing and this is liaise with the contractor and the HDB third party, when only a single receipt will be given.

HDB bay contractors will tends to quote more in their hauluge fees, pls take note.

5. Renovation permit costs

*** Renovation permit costs is always provided free when the contractor apply to HDB. There is no costs at all. You may check with HDB itself. Last time HDB used to charge around $200 for permit fees but not now. Policy has changed.

6. Cost of chemical wash

*** Pls take note chemical wash also can be called acid wash is between the cost of $95-$150. This done once or twice depends between contractor and owner. This only done after painting and flooring has completed and before the completion of kitchen cabinet.

7. Remember to check all water hole for any cement or sand. Some contractors may just throw the cement onto the pipe, which in the long run will cause leakage. This is important.

8. Cost of gas piping.

The contractor will liaise with City gas contractor for work to be done and this only incurred the cost of $70 per trip. As for the connection of gas piping to the cooker hood will be done separately on another day. The billing of gas piping will be send to your house by the PUB people and not the contractor .

9. Cost of painting.

The cost of painting is between $1100 - $1600. It normally consists of 5 colors Nippon and colors can be selected and adjustable.

Type and brand of paint, no. of coats and no. of colors. ** Shall always make them state clearly what brand, how many coats, how many colour u are choose etc

10. Installation of bathroom accessories & electrical point.

*** This can be negotiable. You can discuss with the contractor to install these items free of charge at your house. When the contractors said they will bring you to the shop to buy bathroom items, do not agree and follow them. This is another way of hidden costs appearing, as contractors may earn commission from there. Take note. The same goes with the lighting points and bulb. Get these items yourself and ask the contractor to install for you.

For bathroom accessories and lighting, you may go to Jalan Besar or Geylang area to get it. Balestier can be considered but not all. Some places in Balestier tends to quote higher.

11. Low price for kitchen cabinets can mean no frills like stainless steel dish racks etc.

12. When hacking walls, make sure contractors include touching up with tiles i.e. on the area that is being left exposed by the wall that is being hacked off.... otherwise some will charge u separately for those tiles.

13. If you are installing instant heater or ceiling fan, contractor will charge you around $60 each. But can be negotiated and get it FOC.

HDB only collect debris fees on behalf of the town council cost won't be more than $250. you can get the print out copy by HDB from your contractor .

The haulage and buying of sand from the appointed contractor ( you can find their contact pasted at the lift lobby for new flats )should be paid by the contractor or the ID firm engaged .

Some contractor or so call " ID " firm will say the haulage fees is home owner should pay ( bout $ 800 or more )Don get CON . all these should be quote inside the contract under the tiling works .

Resale flats Town concil don't charge haulage fees as there is no more haulage contractor appointed by HDB station there .

Yel, received your msg and w rgds to the haulage and sand, what i did was tell my contractor to give me a rough estimate of how much he charged others based on his experience and we'll work from there.. at the same time, i also try to find out more from my colleagues and seems that market rate now is from $250 to $300...hope it answers ur qn....

btw pple, have another list of where to buy cheaper electrical appliances (also thank singapore bride forummers here for their info), hope that it helps:

Aik Leong

Blk 121 Bt Merah Lane 1 #01-16

Tel 62719365

Hong Liang

Blk 123 Bt Merah Lane 1 #01-16

Tel 62719365

Dav Electronics at Bukit Timah: 64677767(Call for quotation based on models u provide him)

Euromark Electronics

Address:

Blk 4 Lor 7 Toa Payoh #01-119 Singapore 310004

Telephone: 6255 4688

Fax: 6296 7767

Mega Discount Store--> consistent discounted prices and very new range of products.

United Square B1 (opp dessert stall and near food court)

P.S:

Beddings

1. Ackerman and Smith --> have just called on SAt(1.9.07) and found that they have shifted to boon lay.

--> provides a wide variety of brands of beds and promises to match the lowest price possible.. the serviceman was also very helpful and prompt in providing quotation and service over the phone.

Woah,

Thanks all our new neighbours for being so selfless.. and helping many of us bluur kings to start planning :dunno::dribble:

Can say thank you enough :unsure:

Hihi to all dear neighbours who have helped to provide your quotations and advise and pics for us as reference, A BIG THANKS!:deal:! I agree with what darkwing says... thanks for helping us to walk out of blurness!!

To all my neighbours of Blk 79A,

I just received news from my wife who works in HDB that her colleague told her that they will only be giving out the keys of Blk 79A in March 2008! He told her that the contractor haven't even started tiling the toilets yet and 79A is a big blk. Blk C has only 4 units whereas blk A has 8 units double that of blk C! :yamseng:

I think I have to change my target of shifting in to be in time for next year's xmas instead after all the renovation, etc... 8|

Blk C people are so fortunate, got chance to shift in by this year's xmas even! :bangwall:

I can slowly take my time to search for an ID now. 8|

I just received news from my wife who works in HDB that her colleague told her that they will only be giving out the keys of Blk 79A in March 2008! He told her that the contractor haven't even started tiling the toilets yet and 79A is a big blk. Blk C has only 4 units whereas blk A has 8 units double that of blk C! :yamseng:

I think I have to change my target of shifting in to be in time for next year's xmas instead after all the renovation, etc... :dunno:

Blk C people are so fortunate, got chance to shift in by this year's xmas even! :bangwall:

I can slowly take my time to search for an ID now. 8|

wah...march ar??? i planned to have my AD end may 08...

maybe can still pray we can take keys in feb la...now still too early to confirm the actual day where all the works to be completed...

8|

I just received news from my wife who works in HDB that her colleague told her that they will only be giving out the keys of Blk 79A in March 2008! He told her that the contractor haven't even started tiling the toilets yet and 79A is a big blk. Blk C has only 4 units whereas blk A has 8 units double that of blk C! :P

I think I have to change my target of shifting in to be in time for next year's xmas instead after all the renovation, etc... :jawdrop:

Blk C people are so fortunate, got chance to shift in by this year's xmas even! :dribble:

I can slowly take my time to search for an ID now. :)

Hi Shivan, Thanks for the info, can you check for us roughtly when they will release the key for Blk B? Lets hope that the completion date of all the blocks can be earlier... :)

I just received news from my wife who works in HDB that her colleague told her that they will only be giving out the keys of Blk 79A in March 2008! He told her that the contractor haven't even started tiling the toilets yet and 79A is a big blk. Blk C has only 4 units whereas blk A has 8 units double that of blk C! :P

I think I have to change my target of shifting in to be in time for next year's xmas instead after all the renovation, etc... :jawdrop:

Blk C people are so fortunate, got chance to shift in by this year's xmas even! :)

I can slowly take my time to search for an ID now. :)

really!! :dribble: i tot tat we can get our keys in Jan 08 wor... now hope dash liao, still hv to wait until so long ah :ph34r: so envy those tat can get their keys this year.

i even start to look for ID liao, now no need anymore... can wait till end of tis yr then look again... haiz

I think I have to change my target of shifting in to be in time for next year's xmas instead after all the renovation, etc... :ph34r:

Blk C people are so fortunate, got chance to shift in by this year's xmas even! :jawdrop:

I can slowly take my time to search for an ID now. :ph34r:

March 08'? :dribble::):)

I think March '08 is probably the 'latest' expected date to collect keys.....but perhaps a better estimation can be made when people from blk E collect their keys & etc. Probably HDB needs more time to sort out blks A and E.

I think it is better not to delay too long in searching for an ID.....prices do go up in a matter of months.

Shivan, see if can find out a bit more info about the other blocks, like blk B....can't wait to take a lift up blk B ...