meepok 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 At first, the guy told me it's illegal to hack through the toilet and the only way to do so is through the living room. You can see the ducting from the middle of the living room all the way to the corridors, you imagine how ugly it was.I also have back-to-back air-con for BR2 and BR3, but both rooms I have thick ductings across the room. By right I had read somewhere that one of the rooms should be clean of any ducting.My floor plan is similar to those of #XX-17 and 19.Can anyone share your feedback?Many thanks.Hi Zephy,It's illegal to hack through the toilet to the aircon ledge??? But I've seen many instances of such construction leh... mine they hacked through from the top of the toilet out, through the concealed partition box with all the sewage pipes and that silver grill covering thingy.I tried tightening it but still leak. Sigh! Also say the "screw liked" thing at the lower portion of the toilet bowl starting to rust. I havent even started using it. Only the workers were using it and they use the water to clean the cement. Its inevitable for water to get to the toilet bowl but the thing already started to rust. As for the door for my MBR toilet, the distance is just enough to open the door without hitting my toilet bowl. Wonder what kind of design did the HDB designer have to have such measurement. Once I fixed up my shower screen, I can even open the toilet door wide cos it will hit my shower screen and break it. In conclusion, a simple activity of visiting the toilet requires me to open the door to a slight angle, close the door then can bath. So marfan Hi Zephy,Liverpoolforlife's way of doing the aircon piping should work for you. Let us know if you want to take a lookHi Toppie,I think the screw and hose already spoilt or worn off liao, or maybe the washer in the hose is spoilt. Best to get HDB to replace or buy a new hose to replace. Or maybe just use the hoses supplied if you're getting those instant heater.I think maybe can paint over those big screws at the bottom of the toilet bowl?? Later I go check and see if they've started to rust or not... As for the 'brilliantly' designed toilet door in the MBR, my suggestion is to remove it and install those bi-fold type of door. Since you have a shower screen on one side, it's safer to get it replaced. One may forget and swing open the door with force and hit the shower screen at the side!! Or worse, hit someone's leg who's sitting on the WC!!meepokHi Meepok,I don't have a bathroom in my kitchen. It's a 4-rm and my running of pipes is quite similar to yours.But do you have a lot of protrusions here and there from the ducting?Hi Zephy,Then your layout should similar to mine... but why the ran the trunking out to the living room? Many of us just ran it through from the toilet leh.... if really illegal then jialat liao... anyone knows if it's really illegal???Mine got those thick trunking in the bedrooms loh... alongside the aircon unit and along the ceiling beams, and trunking inside both toilets as well... but considered 'hidden' in the rooms, can't see the trunkings from outside though.I remembered Tension's MBR trunking was hidden totally from view within a boxed up beam/L-box.meepok Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meowie49 1 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 Hi all,Do u mean the ID drilled 1 hole in the toilet for the air-con trunking? hmmm... My contractor cut the side of my window.. Think canot hack wor... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
RacKel 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 Hi Meowie,You may wanna check with TC if this is within their term contract. I got my $50 back when they charge me $1150 for haulage cos of my granite floor. Went to TC and they immediately call them to return the $50.BTW, today I went to my unit... saw the cement screeding guy working... !! faster ran to buy him some bread n kopi.. hehehe hope he did a good job for my unit.. hmm.. I have 1 question though... That Ah-Di guy told my contractor that our floor is very raised. Hence, more sand n cement is needed. Therefore, either they do lower.. OR we pay 150 bucks to raised the cement level.. Did anyone also face this problem? I know my contractor is not lying.. coz I am around when that Ah-Di made that comment and he also tried to "explain" why that 150 bucks is needed! I feel like a "robert" sia.. ("robert" means carrot head) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meowie49 1 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 (edited) Hi Rackel, Thanks. Will give TC a call and hopefully can get my 150bucks back. BTW, how do we pay for haulage? We will get bill? or what? So far, havent pay a single cent. Even the extra 150bucks is paid by my contractor. And, the contractor had yet to collect anything from me... LoL.. I think I am one of the FEW units to finish flooring without paying anything. Edited April 15, 2008 by meowie49 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meepok 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 Hi all,Do u mean the ID drilled 1 hole in the toilet for the air-con trunking? hmmm... My contractor cut the side of my window.. Think canot hack wor...Hi Meowie,Saw this from the HDB website:Technical Conditions Governing Installation of Air-Conditioners1. No hacking of holes or openings through existing reinforced concrete structures within the unit is allowed for the installation of air-con/condensing unit. 2. No embedment of air-con pipe in reinforced concrete slab, column and reinforced concrete beams. 3. For Precast facade with tiles, a single opening of 50mm x 50mm per panel for the running of refrigerant pipe is allowed. However the flat owner/tenant must ensure that his BCA trained air-con installer check the wall tiles surrounding the location of the opening for the bolts and refrigerant pipes are not delaminated. Delaminated tiles, if any, are to be removed.I suppose as long as no hacking or embedding pipe in the reinforced concrete structures should be alright? But for Zephy's case, they hacked through the living room wall, isn't it the same? Cos looking at my floor plan, both walls are not reinforced concrete structures/beams leh... meepok Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meowie49 1 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 Hi Meowie,Saw this from the HDB website:Technical Conditions Governing Installation of Air-Conditioners1. No hacking of holes or openings through existing reinforced concrete structures within the unit is allowed for the installation of air-con/condensing unit. 2. No embedment of air-con pipe in reinforced concrete slab, column and reinforced concrete beams. 3. For Precast facade with tiles, a single opening of 50mm x 50mm per panel for the running of refrigerant pipe is allowed. However the flat owner/tenant must ensure that his BCA trained air-con installer check the wall tiles surrounding the location of the opening for the bolts and refrigerant pipes are not delaminated. Delaminated tiles, if any, are to be removed.I suppose as long as no hacking or embedding pipe in the reinforced concrete structures should be alright? But for Zephy's case, they hacked through the living room wall, isn't it the same? Cos looking at my floor plan, both walls are not reinforced concrete structures/beams leh... meepokmaybe the workers didnt wanna patch up any toilet tiles.. so say cannot? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
RacKel 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 hmm... may be too early to say. Your ID will definite put this charge in theirVO later. If I remember correctly, your got the same unit as mine, so if your ID charge you anything below $1100 for haulage, your can For me, ID ask me to write a cheque to the haulage guy directHi Rackel, Thanks. Will give TC a call and hopefully can get my 150bucks back. BTW, how do we pay for haulage? We will get bill? or what? So far, havent pay a single cent. Even the extra 150bucks is paid by my contractor. And, the contractor had yet to collect anything from me... LoL.. I think I am one of the FEW units to finish flooring without paying anything. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meowie49 1 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 hmm... may be too early to say. Your ID will definite put this charge in theirVO later. If I remember correctly, your got the same unit as mine, so if your ID charge you anything below $1100 for haulage, your can For me, ID ask me to write a cheque to the haulage guy directokie thanks... BTW, how is ur unit now? move in le?? never open house ar? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Mrs_Png 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 HI,My aircon trunking was done thru the living room... think we must be the stupid ones to believe the aircon guy that it's illegal to go thru toilets ... when we realised that pple are going thru toilets, it's too late to ask them to redo as our wardrobes are upz ... haiz... so actually going thru the toilet is okay ... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tension_z 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 gadgetman, weekday quite hard, haha.. will sms u if I am there for weekdays. I would like to see your carpentry workmanship. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
toppie 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 Hi Zephy,It's illegal to hack through the toilet to the aircon ledge??? But I've seen many instances of such construction leh... mine they hacked through from the top of the toilet out, through the concealed partition box with all the sewage pipes and that silver grill covering thingy.Hi Toppie,I think the screw and hose already spoilt or worn off liao, or maybe the washer in the hose is spoilt. Best to get HDB to replace or buy a new hose to replace. Or maybe just use the hoses supplied if you're getting those instant heater.I think maybe can paint over those big screws at the bottom of the toilet bowl?? Later I go check and see if they've started to rust or not... As for the 'brilliantly' designed toilet door in the MBR, my suggestion is to remove it and install those bi-fold type of door. Since you have a shower screen on one side, it's safer to get it replaced. One may forget and swing open the door with force and hit the shower screen at the side!! Or worse, hit someone's leg who's sitting on the WC!!meepokHi Zephy,Then your layout should similar to mine... but why the ran the trunking out to the living room? Many of us just ran it through from the toilet leh.... if really illegal then jialat liao... anyone knows if it's really illegal???Mine got those thick trunking in the bedrooms loh... alongside the aircon unit and along the ceiling beams, and trunking inside both toilets as well... but considered 'hidden' in the rooms, can't see the trunkings from outside though.I remembered Tension's MBR trunking was hidden totally from view within a boxed up beam/L-box.meepokIf only HDB designer can think more carefully. If the door opening can be from left to right rather then from right to left for the MBR, I guess all pblm wld be solved. My hubby thinks its a waste to remove the door so we have to live with it till we decided that tolerance level has hit the max. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meowie49 1 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 If only HDB designer can think more carefully. If the door opening can be from left to right rather then from right to left for the MBR, I guess all pblm wld be solved. My hubby thinks its a waste to remove the door so we have to live with it till we decided that tolerance level has hit the max.Hmm toppie, if changing the side of the doors will solve the problem, u can arrange with ur ID/contractor to change the way the door is open. !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
meepok 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 HI,My aircon trunking was done thru the living room... think we must be the stupid ones to believe the aircon guy that it's illegal to go thru toilets ... when we realised that pple are going thru toilets, it's too late to ask them to redo as our wardrobes are upz ... haiz... so actually going thru the toilet is okay ... Hi Mrs_Png,Just checked with my aircon guys... it's not exactly illegal to hack thru from the toilet to the aircon ledge, just that they'll need to hack thru multiple walls from the bedrooms to get into the toilet, then out to the ledge. Unless your flat design has the aircon ledge in the MBR, that's a different & less complicated story altogether.For Zephy's case, the wall in the living room below the aircon ledge window is similar thickness to the wall in the toilet. So if it's illegal, then it's wrong to hack thru either walls. Unless they run the pipes out via the window? Can't be leh... My aircon guy say as long as we don't hack thru the thicker structural beams, it's ok. Cos all the walls in our flats are reinforced concrete, much much thicker than those in other places like Sengkang etc, and with more metal rods inside the wall!They actually spent one full day drilling & hacking thru all the walls to install a Sys-3, which by right should have taken half a day to complete. They did not expect the walls to be so thick and hard to drill thru. Now they're scared to install for our 79 blocks!! !! His conclusion is that the other aircon guys maybe smoking the flat owners... just maybe only... cos it's always easier to hack fewer walls, just run the trunking along the walls and try to minimise the number of walls to hack thru?? But most importantly is not to hack any beam structures like those just above the bedroom door frames. I've heard of some units lowering their door frame & cutting short the doors, just to fit in the aircon trunking.meepok Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Redwyrm 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 A lot of TV fans here I also watch Heroes, Lost, Sex and the city (I haven't finish the whole series yet) Prison break or rather going to watch. I ordered the DVDs on amazon and they are now lying around my house. I'm waiting to shift in first before starting cos my current house the TV in my room is just a small 14". Watch also not shoik. Besides TV series, I also have a lot of movies as well... Next time when all of us shift in, can really organise movie marathons... HAHA !!Ya man..since we only upstair and downstair I would recommend Jericho, if you like conspiracy theory, but not sure will be showing in SG. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetman 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 gadgetman, weekday quite hard, haha.. will sms u if I am there for weekdays. I would like to see your carpentry workmanship.Sure, Sure, just sms me when you are available. My timing is not very fix over the weekends but generally speaking, afternoons should be better - around 3.30pm to 4.30pm.There would be a few things I like to show you:- That the bomb shelter tic-tack door can indeed be made to be level- That rectification done to laminate surfaces, if not done professionally, may only worsen the situation. Wanna show you my bookcase door where they changed the laminate without changing the ABS trimmings. Resulted in uneven gaps that needed to be filled in with ugly white fillers- The completed varnished pebbled stone flooring- Same "floating" sensation on my laminate flooring in my MBR - come and think of it, it has actually improved a bit already over time...- Effects of wallpaper in MBR (you can also consider investing in them)- Some homemade DIY solutions to brighten up your homeCheers! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites