Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

anyway thank you alister for letting us view ur unit...have decided to use granite *black galaxy* too and the PD door for the bathrooms too...cant use glass doors .......thanks to hdb for the 'huge' bathroom.....hehe

My pleasure. Good to know another neighbour. Glad u like the black galaxy granite & PD door and will be choosing it. Do remember to invite me to visit ur hse when it's completed.

Good luck and may ur renovation goes on smoothly.

Edited by alister

i just went to take a look earlier today. its a sliding door without bottom track..indeed it saves space .. the shop is at balestier opp balestier hill primary sch..

got acrylic $288

glass - $388

with designs (means dual colour etc) add $40

comes in bronze/silver/white frame for bronze add $20

if interested can call them and they will need to come by ur place to take measurements.

price includes installation

for more info- can call to ask for address and opening hrs

Yuda-97878803

Thanks for the useful info..

:bleah:

Glad to see you had finally confirmed your ID.

Mind PM your quotation.

rachel79 :bleah:

Hey hey, PM me your quotation as well, let me check check if there is hidden costs....

Pmed you. :bleah:

Anyway, I told him to be honest (since I don't hide anything from him too) and asked him about any hidden cost. He told me that whatever is stated in the quotation is what I needed to pay only, excluding electrical works. Thanks for helping me too, tension_z.

Finally settled down on my ID who is Mr. Derek Yu from Unimax Creative. After speaking to 8+ ID, he was still the only one who can give me the assurance. Think Unimax is the only company in Toa Payoh with HDB listing, Radac and CaseTrust status. :dribble:

I met him up last week regarding on what I wanted to do for the renovations. He knew of my budget (around S$18000) and suggested some cost savings tips for me. He told me he would contact me with the final quotations this week. :D

Today, met up with him and initially his renovation was quoted to be S$20000. I told him it was a bit of my budget and I did quite a few changes to my renovation needs and he was more than happy to accommodate to my changes. :bleah:

So after all my changes (trust me, after viewing the real flat, there would be plenty of changes), the final quotation was down to about S$16000. Actually, my renovation was mainly of the basic needs plus a few luxary (eg. wall feature, tv console, MBR wardrobe), I was more than happy with his finalised quotation of S$16000. Then he gave me a discount which I could not resist, he was willing to absorb the 7% GST which amount to about S$1000+. :D

After around 5 minutes of consideration with my other half, we settled on him as our ID. So the final quotation was around S$15000 (excluding electical works). Those who want to see my renovation quotation can feel free to ask me for it.

So happy renovation can start soon! :dribble:

Hey euph0bear,

Design proposal, quotation, contract, verbal & written understanding & comfortablity all olso there, u mus b beli e happy & lokin 4ward e reno.

i wish u smooth reno. :P

Aniway, i olso wana kpo e quotation, PM mi, can?

Hav any1 of u ever wonder how an ID reno co is able 2 absorb GST?

Dis is wat i noe ->

1) ID co with annual turnover less than $1 million - No Need Pay 7% GST to gahment.

2) If ID co annual turnover exceed $1 million, Need Pay 7% GST to gahment.

E co wil absorb e GST by means of using a sister co's name.

eg. XYZ Interior Design is e main co. Sister co is 890 Renovation Contractor

- XYZ Interior Designis e co u consult & obtain ur Design Proposal & Quotation.

- Upon confirmation of Contract, e docs u gona sign on r printed with e letterhead of 890 Renovation Contractor.

- Watever payment u gona make is paid to 890 Renovation Contractor. (vice versa)

- Both co olso under e leadership of e same boss, jus dat latter co may hav not exceed e $1 million turnover, so no nid 2 pay 7% GST.

- In dis case, e latter co can b use 2 'so call absorb e GST'.

Mayb there r other ways. Aniway, its jus fyi :(

:dribble:

Hey euph0bear,

Design proposal, quotation, contract, verbal & written understanding & comfortablity all olso there, u mus b beli e happy & lokin 4ward e reno.

i wish u smooth reno. :dribble:

Aniway, i olso wana kpo e quotation, PM mi, can?

Hav any1 of u ever wonder how an ID reno co is able 2 absorb GST?

Dis is wat i noe ->

1) ID co with annual turnover less than $1 million - No Need Pay 7% GST to gahment.

2) If ID co annual turnover exceed $1 million, Need Pay 7% GST to gahment.

E co wil absorb e GST by means of using a sister co's name.

eg. XYZ Interior Design is e main co. Sister co is 890 Renovation Contractor

- XYZ Interior Designis e co u consult & obtain ur Design Proposal & Quotation.

- Upon confirmation of Contract, e docs u gona sign on r printed with e letterhead of 890 Renovation Contractor.

- Watever payment u gona make is paid to 890 Renovation Contractor. (vice versa)

- Both co olso under e leadership of e same boss, jus dat latter co may hav not exceed e $1 million turnover, so no nid 2 pay 7% GST.

- In dis case, e latter co can b use 2 'so call absorb e GST'.

Mayb there r other ways. Aniway, its jus fyi :dribble:

:bleah:

Pmed you too. :dribble:

Another nice analysis there, jaCKY777. That absorption of GST can help me buy quite a few things too.

Finally settled down on my ID who is Mr. Derek Yu from Unimax Creative. After speaking to 8+ ID, he was still the only one who can give me the assurance. Think Unimax is the only company in Toa Payoh with HDB listing, Radac and CaseTrust status. :dribble:

I met him up last week regarding on what I wanted to do for the renovations. He knew of my budget (around S$18000) and suggested some cost savings tips for me. He told me he would contact me with the final quotations this week. :D

Today, met up with him and initially his renovation was quoted to be S$20000. I told him it was a bit of my budget and I did quite a few changes to my renovation needs and he was more than happy to accommodate to my changes. :bleah:

So after all my changes (trust me, after viewing the real flat, there would be plenty of changes), the final quotation was down to about S$16000. Actually, my renovation was mainly of the basic needs plus a few luxary (eg. wall feature, tv console, MBR wardrobe), I was more than happy with his finalised quotation of S$16000. Then he gave me a discount which I could not resist, he was willing to absorb the 7% GST which amount to about S$1000+. :dribble:

After around 5 minutes of consideration with my other half, we settled on him as our ID. So the final quotation was around S$15000 (excluding electical works). Those who want to see my renovation quotation can feel free to ask me for it.

So happy renovation can start soon! :dribble:

actually the quotation depends on the tiles and amount of carpentary. What kind of tiles are you given and what is the price range that you can choose from?

Pmed you. :bleah:

Anyway, I told him to be honest (since I don't hide anything from him too) and asked him about any hidden cost. He told me that whatever is stated in the quotation is what I needed to pay only, excluding electrical works. Thanks for helping me too, tension_z.

Just browse your quotation. Wish you smooth reno. too.

Just a few qn, did your ID tell how much your homo. tiles range can cost?

Cos the lump sum homo. tile I believe is a 'package', do you have only a few to choose from?

there are many type of tiles(quality wise), rem to go with him to tiles shop and ask the sales to bring down the whole tile and please don't paiseh,step on it bare foot to have a feet. don't just touch touch, see colour than say ok.. lol.

you are doing post form, hence it is cheaper, if you choose solid top, will be more expensive.

did ID show you the diff between post form and solid top?

hmm.. I don't want to ask anymore. hahahaa....

if it stays ard $15 000+++ (exclude lightings), it's good deal.

do update us on the workmanship.

=)

Just browse your quotation. Wish you smooth reno. too.

Just a few qn, did your ID tell how much your homo. tiles range can cost?

Cos the lump sum homo. tile I believe is a 'package', do you have only a few to choose from?

there are many type of tiles(quality wise), rem to go with him to tiles shop and ask the sales to bring down the whole tile and please don't paiseh,step on it bare foot to have a feet. don't just touch touch, see colour than say ok.. lol.

you are doing post form, hence it is cheaper, if you choose solid top, will be more expensive.

did ID show you the diff between post form and solid top?

hmm.. I don't want to ask anymore. hahahaa....

if it stays ard $15 000+++ (exclude lightings), it's good deal.

do update us on the workmanship.

=)

Thanks, tension_z.

The tiles that I can choose from ranges from $2.80 to $3.50 types. Thanks for your advice on choosing the tiles. I will fully test the tiles before choosing them.

I chose postform intentionally one. The solid top would cost an additional $500+. At that point, I was thinking only $500+ difference, should I just stick to solid top. :furious:

I don't mind you asking more. More questions asked would means more knowledge gained for me too. :bleah:

actually the quotation depends on the tiles and amount of carpentary. What kind of tiles are you given and what is the price range that you can choose from?

Hey coco_mybibi,

u r very rite. :bleah:

Pmed you too. :D

Another nice analysis there, jaCKY777. That absorption of GST can help me buy quite a few things too.

Hey euph0bear,

yah, i'd got ur PM, Thks. & I had briefly read thru.

Jus wondering

- r u doin e solid ply postformed worktop with backsplash for ur kitchen cabinets?

- wat is e max tile range u r able 2 select?

fyi,

- postformed worktop is a layer of laminates wrap over solid plys. e profile (front nosing) is rounded. e inner edge which is nearer e wall (perpendicular 2 wall tiles), is sealed by means of silicon sealant. If it is backsplash, them i guess u may b able 2 see 2 lines of silicon sealant. 1 at e jointin pt of e laminates. 2 is e jointin of e backsplash laminates & e wall tiles.

- homo tiles price range is frm abt $2.70 - $3.70 per sq feet. $2.70 = normal homo tiles w or w/o veins, $3.70 = super glossy/shinny tiles w or w/o veins.

Aniway, its jus my views, for ur reference. Pardon mi if i'm kpo. :good:

:furious:

Hey coco_mybibi,

u r very rite. :bleah:

Hey euph0bear,

yah, i'd got ur PM, Thks. & I had briefly read thru.

Jus wondering

- r u doin e solid ply postformed worktop with backsplash for ur kitchen cabinets?

- wat is e max tile range u r able 2 select?

fyi,

- postformed worktop is a layer of laminates wrap over solid plys. e profile (front nosing) is rounded. e inner edge which is nearer e wall (perpendicular 2 wall tiles), is sealed by means of silicon sealant. If it is backsplash, them i guess u may b able 2 see 2 lines of silicon sealant. 1 at e jointin pt of e laminates. 2 is e jointin of e backsplash laminates & e wall tiles.

- homo tiles price range is frm abt $2.70 - $3.70 per sq feet. $2.70 = normal homo tiles w or w/o veins, $3.70 = super glossy/shinny tiles w or w/o veins.

Aniway, its jus my views, for ur reference. Pardon mi if i'm kpo. :good:

Yup, I am doing solid ply postformed worktop with backsplash for my kitchen cabinets. I was thinking to do a solid top, I would need to top up an additional $500+, so is it worth it? For me, I just think of my own budget.

Tiles wise, I answered earlier, my price ranges from $2.80 to $3.50.

Edited by euph0bear

Yup, I am doing solid ply postformed worktop with backsplash for my kitchen cabinets. I was thinking to do a solid top, I would need to top up an additional $500+, so is it worth it? For me, I just think of my own budget.

Tiles wise, I answered earlier, my price ranges from $2.80 to $3.50.

Hey euph0bear,

i kinda slow. Yah saw ur earlier post on e tile range. :good:

Yah. work within ur budget. In terms of pricing, durability, lifespan, esthetic etc u decide e best option which best suits u loh.

Aniway, postform worktop r e in-thing in e olden days. Not saying its no gd, jus dat during olden days >10yrs ago, it is cheaper lah. Mayb solid surface havnt even born yet. :bleah:

My current kitchen worktop is postform worktop, had been using it >10yrs. Stil in good condtion (touch wood hor). In fact, e laminate finish of postform worktop is more resistant 2 scratches etc than solid surface.

Hey euph0bear,

i kinda slow. Yah saw ur earlier post on e tile range. :good:

Yah. work within ur budget. In terms of pricing, durability, lifespan, esthetic etc u decide e best option which best suits u loh.

Aniway, postform worktop r e in-thing in e olden days. Not saying its no gd, jus dat during olden days >10yrs ago, it is cheaper lah. Mayb solid surface havnt even born yet. :bleah:

My current kitchen worktop is postform worktop, had been using it >10yrs. Stil in good condtion (touch wood hor). In fact, e laminate finish of postform worktop is more resistant 2 scratches etc than solid surface.

just want to ask some of u here, did you all choose the homo. type with veins or no veins?

if u r asking mi, then my ans is - havnt lei.

- if u had chose e homo tiles with veins or pattern, u can instruct e Id/contractor/subcon/tiler 2 lay e tiles with e veins or pattern in a specific direction 2 ur preference.

- dat means e tiles' veins or pattern wil hav e same direction of flow.

- even e most expensive tiles 1 chooses, e supplier olso canot guarantee e tiles r 100% in e same size & 100% flat.

- b4 layin of tiles, a skillful & good tiler wil do marking on e tile edge, take in2 considerations of flow direction & tile size or shape. so dat he can match e tiles s close s possible.

- dis is 2 achieve a better appearance of e tile joints.

- on top of these steps, e tiler may insert paper/cardboard in between e tiles wen laying, 2 make e joint more even. This is tediuos work, hardly ppl do liao, nowadays.

- recomended joint gap shd b abt 3-5mm.

- even e above steps r being carried out, there stil wont b 100% even in e joints. Definitely, there wil b some joints which r wider or narrowwr than e others.

- even e above steps r being carried out, there wont b 100% leveled in e tiles. Definitely, there wil some tiles which r slighlt higher or lower than e others.

- there is olso a layer of protective wax on e tile surface. e supplier wil recomends & e contractor shd noes whether To or Not To polish e tile surface, to achieve e best appearance of e tiles.

- after e final chemical wash, some of e white cement in e tile joint might b washed away.

- 1 gota search thru, spot them & instruct e ID/contractor 2 cum & touch up. By means of refilling e gaps with white cement.

- if not, e 'cut-leg' feeling wil b there s homo tiles edge r sharp. Unlike ceramic tiles which r rounded in edges.

- best is not to choose homo tiles which r bigger in size (eg. 800 x 800mm). Reason being if e batch of tiles do warp slightly, it wil b very obvious, compare 2 600 x 600mm tiles.

Aniway, its up 2 individual preference & tolerance & requirements.

e long story above is base on personal knowledge, pls update mi if any1 got better explanations or ans. :bleah:

K. Mi bluff 2 much liao. Continue some other time. :good: