Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

after taking your keys, just proceed to the SP services at level 2 and activate the water and electricity...for gas, you just need to call a number which they will give to you...

then, go and open your letter box...you will find some gadget thingy...go to your house, open the gas and water door, somewhere near the lower middle, you will find something which can fit the gadget...remove a screw and fit the gadget in and turn anti-clockwise...

anyway, i asked them if i never use any water or electricity, will there be any charges...they say there will be no charges but there's this 'toilet charges' which is compulsory...it's $3 for 1 toilet, so $6 for 2 toilets...is anybody aware of this??? :dunno:

This is new..never heard of toilet charges before. :yamseng:

Edited by Redwyrm

This is new..never heard of toilet charges before. :yamseng:

There is such a fee actually. It's called a Sanitary Appliance Fee. It is charged at $3 per fitting. So if there are 2 toilet bowl, It will be $6.

Just got my bill that is why I know :dunno:

They will turn on the electricity and water for 3-4 days from the day you collected your keys without activating it. This is for testing any defects. After you activate your account, they will start to charge. Activation can be done via the internet and it takes 3-5 working days to be activated. Hope this helps :D

For faster activation of electricity and water account:-

You may opt for express turn-on electricity and water with at least 3 hours' advance notice, but it comes with an express fee of $50 :good:

Otherwise just wait for the supplies to be turned-on on the next working day for applications made in person at service centres before 3pm.

For gas, need to call 1800 555 1661.

There is such a fee actually. It's called a Sanitary Appliance Fee. It is charged at $3 per fitting. So if there are 2 toilet bowl, It will be $6.

Just got my bill that is why I know :dribble:

it's so weird having to pay such fees...as if we can choose how many toilet bowls we want...like that, sounds like i got to pay to go to my own toilets...hahaha...or maybe i should charge all my guests next time... :yamseng:

For faster activation of electricity and water account:-

You may opt for express turn-on electricity and water with at least 3 hours' advance notice, but it comes with an express fee of $50 :good:

Otherwise just wait for the supplies to be turned-on on the next working day for applications made in person at service centres before 3pm.

For gas, need to call 1800 555 1661.

funny...when we go SP services yesterday, they told us it's immediate activation leh... :D

Whoa! it takes us exactly 40mins to sign & sign to get our keys! From into the room to out of the room. Din expect it to take so long...

Btw, when we went to the power supply yday, i went to confirm with the staff abt the 3 day supply thingy, i asked the counter lady who told us there are no 3 days power supply at all! Instead we need to apply for the utilities first b4 we can have the turn on for our hse. She has also arrange their man to come down to my hse today to turn on the utilities!

When we open our letterbox, we saw the little package from PS. We read it only after we got home and realised there was indeed a 3 day supply!:notti::deal: I couldnt "on" my taps to test at all yday!

Do the PS man still nid to "turn on" our supply when we could do it ourselves?

Will the renovation workers be using a lot of our water?

Whoa! it takes us exactly 40mins to sign & sign to get our keys! From into the room to out of the room. Din expect it to take so long...

Btw, when we went to the power supply yday, i went to confirm with the staff abt the 3 day supply thingy, i asked the counter lady who told us there are no 3 days power supply at all! Instead we need to apply for the utilities first b4 we can have the turn on for our hse. She has also arrange their man to come down to my hse today to turn on the utilities!

When we open our letterbox, we saw the little package from PS. We read it only after we got home and realised there was indeed a 3 day supply!!! !! I couldnt "on" my taps to test at all yday!

wah, the more i read, the more blur i become...

for the water, hubby and i figure it ourselves and turn it on leh...nobody said anything of sending people over to turn on anything leh...

i think it's better to take note of your water meter reading so in case of any misuse, we can know too...

Another thing I want to highlight is pls do check each and every of the tiles. I found quite a number of hollow tiles in my kitchen and both toilets including the floor tiles. I reported my first defect on Sat and they replaced it on the same day. That's fast of them.

Hihi,

I saw that many neighbours who had collected their keys advised that we check for defects carefully.

I wonder if I intend to overlay the toilet tiles, is it still necessary to check every single tile? Afterall, they'll be covered?

Or is it that it forms the base for the new tiles and having them perfectly laid is even more important?

How about the doors and switches? If you intend to change them, can heck care? Cos' my sibling may have to be doing the defect checks on my behalf. Before she kills me for asking her to check tile by tile, I like to confirm the importance. !! Die also must die for worthwhile cause. Hahaha

Anybody asked their ID/contractors before?

Thanks for the advise!

Anyone here know any bank or financial companies that do have any penalty charges for early repayment of renovation loan?

Thanks in advance

Hi Bk79 Neighbors,

Just to check with those who has collected the keys. I will be collecting keys next week;last week of feb. Does the 3 months' service and conservancy charges start counting from the month of Feb onwards? Or it is pro-rated for the month of Feb?

Edited by HarryP

When we open our letterbox, we saw the little package from PS. We read it only after we got home and realised there was indeed a 3 day supply!!! !! I couldnt "on" my taps to test at all yday!

is it "3hr" or "3days"? both makes a big difference...

We didn't meddle with the supply when we got our keys. we waited till the SP (not PS) personnel came to do everything for us. yes, the workers will use our water during construction (not much) but SP personnel will make a record of the meter reading when they're down...meaning to say, any usage of water before we get our keys will not be borne by us owners. therefore, regardless of whether u intend to turn the water by yourself or not, note down the 1st meter reading u see. when ur SP bills come, u can check.

Hi Bk79 Neighbors,

Just to check with those who has collected the keys. I will be collecting keys next week;last week of feb. Does the 3 months' service and conservancy charges start counting from the month of Feb onwards? Or it is pro-rated for the month of Feb?

hi HarryP, there's no pro-rated. likely, either they start charging from feb or from march. check ur billing slip.

is it "3hr" or "3days"? both makes a big difference...

We didn't meddle with the supply when we got our keys. we waited till the SP (not PS) personnel came to do everything for us. yes, the workers will use our water during construction (not much) but SP personnel will make a record of the meter reading when they're down...meaning to say, any usage of water before we get our keys will not be borne by us owners. therefore, regardless of whether u intend to turn the water by yourself or not, note down the 1st meter reading u see. when ur SP bills come, u can check.

hi HarryP, there's no pro-rated. likely, either they start charging from feb or from march. check ur billing slip.

Thanks ms_white for your response. Like that, I shall postpone my appointment till March. !!

Attached is extracted from e link below, regarding overlaying of tiles, might b useful info & knowledge 2 some ->

RenoTalk Forums > Home/Business Renovation Forums > Renovation Works

Hi to all of you, my advice for everyone is that:

Yes, overlaying will be cheaper as you need not pay for the hacking of the existing tiles. But the problem with overlaying is that cement does not stick well on a smooth surface even with chemical adhesive added so theres a possibility of tiles popping out prematurely. You've to decide between saving a thousand plus dlooars & risk having tiles popping out here & there in a year or two or paying a fraction more of the overall amount & having the peace of mind.

Design is all about aesthetics & practicality. Do what you've to. Make the right choices & don't occur extra costs for yourselves.

Even if you folks would like to overlay your existing floor tiles using laminte, I would 100% advise you folks to go for Supreme Laminate Flooring. But before you do overlaying of laminate for the section or place where you wants to cover the tiles, I'll always advice you to hack & cement screed the place first then you lay the laminate flooring.

You also have to make sure that if you're going for hacking, you've to find out the area you're staying in, the timing for hacking & laying of new floor tiles from what time to what time. This is to prevent your neighbours calling the town council & getting yourself fined for nothing as certain neighbourhood area only allows wet works / masonry works to be done during 9am-5pm only.

Hi Sci10109:

We met you this morning @ Blk 79A. I was with my hubby and son and we met at the rooftop garden entrance, then subsequently took the lift together....

Welcome to the forum and the neighbourhood! (^_^) !!

Hi Zanie,

We just got notification from HDB to collect our keys on the 28th!! We can finally go IN to our house.. *phew* After waiting from 2005 till now... !!

Anyone here know any bank or financial companies that do have any penalty charges for early repayment of renovation loan?

Thanks in advance

Hi Redwyrm

you might wanto consider OCBC.

Features are as follows:

Interest rate - 6.25% per annum monthly rest (converted to Flat rate is approximately 3.34% per annum), subjected to an annual (individual or combined) income of $40,000 per annum.

Early Settlement of Loan - There is no penalty after the loan has been serviced for first 12 months. If within the first 12 months, a 1% penalty on the outstanding loan amount will be imposed.

Opening of GIRO Account upon approval and acceptance of Loan - Automatically open a Current Account without any Administration Fees like minimum deposit service fees.

Processing Fees - A processing fee of $200 will be waive

Insurance Fees - An amount of 1% of the approved loan amount will be deducted from the approved loan amount for Insurance Fee.

Hey neighbours,

- for those who dun like my post, pls skip & read e nex post, to prevent being hurt. :bleah:

- for those who njoys gossip (jus like me), feel free 2 carry-on reading. :rofl:

As of 18 Feb 08 midnight, total nos. of applications received for Bi-monthly Sale of 4-Rm & Bigger Flats Sector C = 10,240 (figures taken frm web)

Below is e gossip i'd heard frm a elderly man (retired, noting 2 do) ->

If 1 application gota pay $10, then it wil b $10 x 10240 = $102,400 collected in total :jawdrop:

This is on-top of e recent increase in selling price :)

Total nos. of units available, regardless of type, size, location = 278

Dat means for every unit, there r 36.835 applications.

If 1 manage 2 get a unit @ $350k, 5 yrs dn e rd if he sells, chances is dat he may b making a profit of $50k - $100k or more. Dis applies 2 those speculating ppl with '$$$' backgrnd, not taking any loan.

Therefore e odds -> 1:36.835 for $50k - $100k or more. :idea:

If 1 were 2 buy 4D @ $5 Big & $5 Small, e chances of striking 1st price is 1 in 9999.

If he strikes 1st price, e winnings r $10k for Big, $15k for Small = $25k

Therefore e odds -> 1:9999 for $25k max. :idea:

From these 2 assumptions, which is e 1 with higher winning odds? :unsure:

I gues within 'these 10240 applicants', there bound to have these type of speculating ppl i'd mentioned.

Dun tel mi SG suddenly got so many newly wed, wed sometime ago or goin 2 wed couples? :wacko: