Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Sob Sob.... I went to my flat yesterday to try to see the fireworks. All I managed to see were the bright lights from the rim of the fireworks. Cant see the fireworks itself!:drunk:! :D Was totally blocked by HDB!:dancingqueen:8| So disappointed..... I wanna cry liao..... :( So high expectations, then now cannot see at all..... :D

Alister, must lombang your flat all the way le....... :unsure:

Hi Zanie,

If it is of any consolation....I must say that this year's CNY fireworks really sucks! We have watched the fireworks three times. Once from our unit at Blk79C, once on-site outside Marina Square and once from the old Blk28. The Blk79 and Blk28 experience aside, even if you were there on site, it is also a terribly dissapointing show. I mean, where are the BIG BANGS???? All we see were small streamers going up and all ending in an anti-climax with no explosions! Excuse me, but what kick does the organsers expect the audience to get out of this??? Or maybe we did not get close enough to the action and have a even better view...but hello...there were also hundreds of people also watching outside Marina Square areas...do the organisers expect to dissapoint so many people by only putting up a great show with just low-level fireworks?? The overall feeling about this year's CNY fireworks is - What a waste of time! Might as well don't do!

BTW, last year's fireworks were really good. It was in your face, spontaneous, with HUGE Explosions EVERYTIME - this is how fireworks should be like and this is how we should usher in the New Year. Come on, we already are deprived of firecrackers, at least give us some good fireworks :notti::notti::notti:

Hey neighbours,

4 e benefit of 'those' dunoe & 'those' 4goten, i'v extracted a post by mi in

Renotalk Forums > Home/Business Renovation Forums > Renovation Ideas & Design Themes > Kitchen & Bathroom

regarding tiles, for your general information ->

Hey,

be it Homogeneous, Ceramic, Marble, Granite or Slate Tiles.

All olso got joint lines, its a matter of How Wide is e Joint?

Standard width shd b 2-3mm bah.

Homogeous tiles r perpendicular (90deg) at e edges, while ceramic tiles r rounded at e edges. S time goes by, e 'white cement' in between e joint will be stained. e white appearance of e joint can b cleaned by 'chemical' & Ceramic tiles's r easier to clean bcos of its rounded edge. Olso, homo floor tiles tends 2 have e kind of 'cut leg' feeling if e 'white cement' in e joint is insufficiently filled s 1 can feel e sharp edges of e tiles.

Below is an xtract frm website, on other properties of common tiles, FYI ->

Ceramic

- Brittle clay material is baked with glaze. This is to achieve a glossy or semi glossy appearance in colour.

Strengths

- Wide variety in colours and sizes, it is also easy to maintain.

- Ideal for bedrooms and living and dining rooms.

Weaknesses

- When chipped, the top glazed surface may reveal the whitish clay underneath.

- Though huge in variety, the designs are usually monotonous and unnatural looking.

Homogeneous

- Brittle clay material with pigmented colouring throughout the whole tile.

Strengths

- Wide variety in colour and sizes, it is also easy to maintain.

- When chipped, it will not reveal significant whitish clay as it is pigmented with the same colour throughout the tile.

- Ideal for kitchen flooring and toilet flooring.

Weaknesses

- Usually spotted with assortment of colours in one single tile.

- Too monotonous in design.

- Not appropriate for a large surface area, as it may look 'cheap'

Marble

- Natural limestone, which is partly crystallized and irregular in colour. Rich glossy appearance with natural grains adding a touch of class to any interior.

Strengths

- Natural grains adds a touch of class.

- Cold to the touch, which makes it very ideal for the climate in Singapore.

- Wide variety in sizes and colours .

- May be polished when surface clouds.

Weaknesses

- Generally porous by nature. Water will seep in if the top protective coat is

strip off.

- High in cost.

- High in maintenance. Not suitable if pets are around.

Granite

- Hard, coarse-grained igneous rock composed chiefly of quartz, mica and orthoclase, which are used for building material.

Strengths

- Relatively tough industrial flooring.

- Relatively classy looking due to glossy surface.

- May also be used for countertops.

- Lower in maintenance compared to marble.

- May be polished when surface clouds.

Weaknesses

- High in cost.

- Dull in design with specks of granite.

- High in maintenance.

Slate tiles

- A fine-grained rock that splits into many layers.

Strengths

- Natural looking floor treatments.

- Offers a lot of varieties in different sizes and colours.

- Rustic in appearance.

- Versatile and may be used in wet and dry areas.

- Will season and 'aged' in time.

Weaknesses

- Not ideal for families with kids around the house as its surface is generally rough textured. It may cause hurt.

- Colours are usually dark and earthy tones. Therefore restricting the flexibility in changing themes or designs, as it will not match easily with a contemporary look.

- Algae may grow on the slabs when the area is wet and sunlight abounds.

:jawdrop:

Edited by jaCKY777

Hey neighbours,

4 e benefit of 'those' dunoe & 'those' 4goten, i'v extracted a post by mi in

Renotalk Forums > Home/Business Renovation Forums > Renovation Works

regarding kitchen cabinet, for your general information ->

According to correct mathematical metric conversions ->

25.4mm = 2.54cm = 0.0254m = 1 inch

12 inches = 304.8mm = 30.48cm = 0.3048m = 1 feet

If $120 pfr for kitchen cabinets, top 10ft & bottom 10ft, then e calculation ->

$120 x (10ft + 10ft) = $2400

If $95 pfr for solid surface worktop, then e calculation ->

$95 x 10ft = $950

Total price for kitchen cabinets = $2400 + $950 = $3350

Note: $3350 does not include other accessories such as cooker hob & hood, backing panel, sink & tap-mixer. Basic items like cutlery tray, dish rack, frosted glass door, handles etc will b included & stated clearly in ur quotation/contract.

But normally, IDs & Contractors, calculate base on approximate of 300mm for 1 feet on drawings (eg. 1 : 100 scale hdb flat floor plan)

But if on site, then gota use e measuring tape, which is more accurate.

:jawdrop:

Edited by jaCKY777

Hey neighbours,

e neighbourhood is so quiet. :lol: Still holiday huh? :lol:

Aniway, for e benefit of new Renotalk members, i'v repost e link below, fyi & necessary actions ->

below is e link to hdbinfoweb website which contains renovation guildlines of hdb flat ->

HDB Flat General Renovation Guidelines

HDB Flat Electrical Renovation Guidelines

below is e link to check whether e ID/contractor is registered with hdb ->

Listing Of Registered Renovation Contractors

below is e link to RADAC website ->

Renovation and Decoration Advisory Centre

below is e link to hdb virtual showflats ->

HDB virtual showflats

Edited by jaCKY777

Hey neighbours,

e neighbourhood is so quiet. :lol: Still holiday huh? :lol:

Aniway, for e benefit of new Renotalk members, i'v repost e link below, fyi & necessary actions ->

below is e link to hdbinfoweb website which contains renovation guildlines of hdb flat ->

HDB Flat General Renovation Guidelines

HDB Flat Electrical Renovation Guidelines

below is e link to check whether e ID/contractor is registered with hdb ->

Listing Of Registered Renovation Contractors

below is e link to RADAC website ->

Renovation and Decoration Advisory Centre

below is e link to hdb virtual showflats ->

HDB virtual showflats

Hi Jacky

Wow thanks a mil for extracting the information. that is truly helpful n am grateful. hee would you be doing the same for all aspects of the house?

Hi Jacky

Wow thanks a mil for extracting the information. that is truly helpful n am grateful. hee would you be doing the same for all aspects of the house?

Hey guinny_cookie,

Welcome to Renotalk! :D

doing the same for all aspects of the house 8|

dis sounds like

- demolishing e walls,

- replacing e floor & wall tiles,

- replacing e concealed piping, inlet & outlet pts,

- replacing e concealed electrical wiring & socket outlet pts,

- replacing e sanitary fittings.

Its kinda of a major reno man. :lol::lol::D

NO 4 mi :P

I'l b doing e mininum reno ;) cos $$$ no enough lei :help:

So how abt u?

Reno status?

Blk C, balloted? 8|

Edited by jaCKY777

HDB just launched a Bi Monthly Selection for Matured Estates including TPY

http://www101.hdb.gov.sg/hdbvsf/eampu02p.n...open&ft=wis

The price is super crazy lor for our flats.... especially the 5 rooms

Count myself lucky that I am able to get a flat :P

Wow ! Half a million for 5 room flat !

Price diff - according to what I remember correctly under SERS

4 Room - $392,000 (max public SP) minus $257,000 (max SERS SP) = $135,000 (52% profit)

5 Room - $532,000 (max public SP) minus $380,000 (max SERS SP) = $152,000 (40% profit)

In terms of %, looks like 4 roomers "earn" more

Warning .... facts might be wrong

Wow ! Half a million for 5 room flat !

Price diff - according to what I remember correctly under SERS

4 Room - $392,000 (max public SP) minus $257,000 (max SERS SP) = $135,000 (52% profit)

5 Room - $532,000 (max public SP) minus $380,000 (max SERS SP) = $152,000 (40% profit)

In terms of %, looks like 4 roomers "earn" more

Warning .... facts might be wrong

Hey neighbours,

i'v jus checked, on a particular unit in blk E, if 1 were 2 select during e

- Balloting Exercise Aug2005, it was priced at $312,700

- Bi-monthly sale 4-room & bigger flats Sector C, Feb2008, its now priced at $382,700

There's a difference of $70,000 :dancingqueen:8|:jawdrop:

Din expect stil got abt 102 units in 79 not selected, mostly lower level units.

Aniway, there still some high levels 75sqm & 90sqm units available.

Edited by jaCKY777

Hey neighbours,

i'v jus checked, on a particular unit in blk E, if 1 were 2 select during e

- Balloting Exercise Aug2005, it was priced at $312,700

- Bi-monthly sale 4-room & bigger flats Sector C, Feb2008, its now priced at $382,700

There's a difference of $70,000 :notti::P:~

Din expect stil got abt 102 units in 79 not selected, mostly lower level units.

Aniway, there still some high levels 75sqm & 90sqm units available.

Hi Everyone.

I am new to this forum and am hoping to know more neighbours and friends from this site 8|

Just went down to the sample flats at 79C earlier. It was so crowded. I did a check on the prices for the various units and find the prices are very high.... In any case, Gong Xi Fai Cai to everyone here. We have already made a paper profit of btw $50k-$70K :)

I'm so glad I got my unit although not it's not a high floor unit :)

Edited by Pooh_75

Hi Everyone.

I am new to this forum and am hoping to know more neighbours and friends from this site zz

Just went down to the sample flats at 79C earlier. It was so crowded. I did a check on the prices for the various units and find the prices are very high.... In any case, Gong Xi Fai Cai to everyone here. We have already made a paper profit of btw $50k-$70K zz

I'm so glad I got my unit although not it's not a high floor unit 8|

Hey Pooh_75,

Welcome to Renotalk! zz

- So wher's ur unit?

- SERS or Balloting Exercise?

- Reno status? 8|

Like dat huh. 8| Dat means many of us r $50k-$70k richer liao. :P

After surfing thru e webby, i kinda like e Repurchased Executive Unit (18yrs old) at Bishan N4C29 Blk 449 #11-513, 186sqm $451k.

Available ethnic quota is Malay - 1, Chinese - 0, Indian & Others - 0.

Even resale olso cant find dis price for dis size of unit at dis area :dancingqueen:

I gues alot ppl wil b eyein on it. 8|

Aniway, its out-of-reach 4 mi liao. :P:P

Edited by jaCKY777

I also went to the show flat today to kpo.. :P , saw quite a number of ppl. I also just checked on the selling price, I think my flat is worth 100K more than I bought 2 years ago.. :dancingqueen:

On another note, does anyone has any comments on Zhong Xiang Nursery\Kindergarten?

I also went to the show flat today to kpo.. 8| , saw quite a number of ppl. I also just checked on the selling price, I think my flat is worth 100K more than I bought 2 years ago.. :dancingqueen:

On another note, does anyone has any comments on Zhong Xiang Nursery\Kindergarten?

Hey Redwyrm,

- so is there anything 2 see in e sample units?

- its jus unfurnished units, for interested parties 2 get a feel of e actual unit size?

i got a shock too when i check on the latest prices......i called my hubby saying that a 75sqm unit in mid level selling about 300k and we were like wah......i went to dig out the price list and compare......it's really scary lor......prices of the units are about 60k higher......i'm sure hdb is aiming at 'desperate' couples who tried so many times to get a flat that they got no choice but to accept the price hike......

it's really crazy...i thought hdb is suppose to provide affordable housing and they want more people to own a flat of their own??? with such pricing, how can that be possible??? it's not as if all of us got high pay increments and have fat fat bonuses leh......60k i can do my house until like palace and buy all my dream furniture, no need to blink my eyes even......

anyway, we're really appreciating this flat of ours even more now...i told my hubby if we gave up during that time, i'm sure we'll have a difficult time to get a house......

really thank God for everything~~~

Hey Redwyrm,

- so is there anything 2 see in e sample units? NO

- its jus unfurnished units, for interested parties 2 get a feel of e actual unit size? YES