Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

Hey Redwyrm,

if i ans correctly, got marks anot? :P

if i ans wrongly, got detection class anot? 8|:notti:

i noe wat u meant lah. u r refering 2 e approx. 600mm x 600mm adjustable alum window with wire-mesh glass panels.

- S e name suggests, its a window, suppose 2 provide ventilation.

- There is a certain ventilation requirement for buildings, not just toilets, under Building Regulations Act.

- Some 'units' had replaced dis 'adjustable vent' 2 'fixed glass panel c/w exhaust fan'. Eg. coffee shops at ground floor.

hdb flat by rite can or canot? :P

- mayb those who had done dat wld like 2 comment?

- mayb can check with ur ID/contractor :good:

Yes. Correct! 100 Marks. :P

I will ask the HDB ppl and my ID.. :curse:

Dear Neighbours

Hasbro is creating the world’s first Global Monopoly. They are inviting people all around the world to vote for their favorite city so that the city will make it onto the board.

Despite your busy schedules, do go into the website (address as stated below) and show your support for Singapore! (^_^)

http://www.monopolyworldvote.com/en_US/world

Yes. Correct! 100 Marks. :P

I will ask the HDB ppl and my ID.. :curse:

Hey Redwyrm,

i suddenly remember,

window is Natural Ventilation.

exhaust fan is Mechanical Ventilation.

Preferably, in all buildings in SG, Natural Ventilation is adopted. Wen Natural Ventilation is not feasible (confined space), than Mechanical Ventilation is used.

In our case (hdb flat), definitely there is sufficient space for Natural Ventilation. Jus dat some may opt 2 replace e Natural Ventilation (window) 2 Mechanical Ventilation (exhaust fan).

Shd b allowed. jus dat e exhaust fan should not discharge the exhaust air in2 e common corridor or discharge in2 another confined space. :P

Hey Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

For e benefit of doubts for New Renotalk Members & Old Renotalk Members who had 4goten, i'd xtracted e posting frm pg98 & beyond.

For your infomation & necessary actions :P

hey ms white and zanie, i think open door also need some "sop"aka standard operating procedures le...(although i'm christian but cos mil and my grandparents are v particular thus did the following):

1. b4 open door, knock on door 3 times, say gd things like we are v happy with this place, everything is going to be smooth for us..

2. depending on ur dialect (i'm teochew and hb is cantonese), we did the following:

- brought up a bottle of 1l water, 1 guanyin sprig of leaf, 1packet of rice and 1 packet of coarse salt (according to my yeye he told me this is standard requirement to clean the house. salt must be coarse to disperse/chase out all naughty things).

- mix the rice and salt together, start from the inner most room and throw it all the way towards the other rooms, and do the same for other rooms as well all the way to the front door

- repeat procedure but this time, use the water to sprinkle the guanyin leaf all over the house

- after that, all family members can come in(children can only come in at end of sop)

saw some of my colleagues during the dongtu ceremony got place coins in strategic locations to bring wealth and some even say that when u open door, roll a pineapple into the house and place it there for 3 days(wang cai gun gun lai).

altho my yeye and mil did this, i also brought my bible up and me and hubby pray in our house for God's blessings... hope the above helps ;):good:

to all 79ers collecting key.... CONGRATS!:curse:!!!so our next gathering will have more places to go liao? :notti:

anyway, really happy that all my neighbours are getting keys liao!! HIP Hurray!! this calls for a celebration!:P

btw alister, will everything be done in time for ur wife's labour? must ask her to stay at home, leave the reno works to u.... if she dun mind, i have a Medela pis at home, can lend her next year... and also, if u need any bb ger clothes, i really do have some, and am willing to pass it on if u dun mind... all in good condition.... :notti: oh yeah, and must ask wife to eat more salmon and avocado tooo!!

hi ebing..sorry for the late reply!!

the taiwan chinese calendar was from webbie and we used it to check for our wedding date. :D

the auspicious date for 动土 can be found on those "tear daily" calendar. u'll see 宜 for good and 忌 for bad.

if under 宜 got 动土, u may proceed. but must check the time to see if it's 吉, 中 or 凶. and also check whether it clashes with yours and chrispy's zodiac cos both of u are the owners. this method is the most simplified form. if u ask fengshui shifu, some will tell u no need to do anything, some will say must buy oranges, joss sticks, burn incense etc. up to individual's believe. i only check the date for 动土 and did the door opening ceremony on that day @ the specific time..

together with strawberry_pear's advise -->> http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...843&st=2240 , we used rice, salt (by right shld be coarse but we used fine cos can't find...) and those chinese dried "tie guan yin" tea leaves (this item was added as i read in other thread). if u're buddhist/taoist, u may wanna use the "ang hway" to sprinkle water in the house. we didn't do so cos of religion. after we opened the door, we rolled pineapple and left it in the house for 3 days (very sweet! hahaha!) we bought a new hammer to 开工 too. knock until got some bits lor.

hope i'm not too lo-soh... ;)

Ernest's Benedict's design. shay_d & I find it pretty cool. :P Check it out -->> http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...7987&st=160 :wub:

wah lau..jaCKY777..of all ppl u're asking these questions! u're more experienced than many of all us leh!

dun be lazy..go back to the previous pages to find the answers to ur questions. tsk tsk tsk *shake head* 8|:P:D

1) u only need to bring the things stated in the HDB letter. and u only need to pay & sign & sign & sign & sign & sign & sign & sign & sign & sign...until they ask u to stop. then u'll collect 21 keys for the entire household.

2) u may go to page 72 to check out what i did (according to what strawberry_pear advised) or check out Geomancy/Fengshui forum for the numerous fengshui threads. many ppl do different things so it depends on how deep your beliefs are.

3) do ur defects list within 7 days of keys collection OR before ur renovation begins. check from windows, doors, locks, switch plate, leaking taps/mixers, toilet bowls, tiles...etc...many things can check but depends whether they see the importance to rectify your "defects".

4) sit back and relax while money flow out of your pocket! :P

Congrats!:P! :good:

Yeah, my turn now. I will be collecting my keys on Feb 14 morning. A good valentine present for us :curse: Managed to get hold of my OIC yesterday and today I got to see a collection date liao

BTW, for those who have installed 2 air-con compressors, did you fill in the form and apply for approval to install a second compressor from HDB? My HB checked with HDB and the officer said that there is a need to apply for installation of the second compressor else they have the right to ask you to remove it. So something to take note here.

waoooo.... so lucky! today i just went to HDB to personally hand in my loan letter... hope can collect keys on V day too! hahahah....

also went up to Blk A to see my house... just see door only also happy liao.... yay! reali hope can asap get the keys.

Dear Neighbours

Hasbro is creating the world’s first Global Monopoly. They are inviting people all around the world to vote for their favorite city so that the city will make it onto the board.

Despite your busy schedules, do go into the website (address as stated below) and show your support for Singapore! (^_^)

http://www.monopolyworldvote.com/en_US/world

Done it... :P

But now Singapore is in position no 41 city... so hope many ppl can vote!:curse:

Hey Redwyrm,

i suddenly remember,

window is Natural Ventilation.

exhaust fan is Mechanical Ventilation.

Preferably, in all buildings in SG, Natural Ventilation is adopted. Wen Natural Ventilation is not feasible (confined space), than Mechanical Ventilation is used.

In our case (hdb flat), definitely there is sufficient space for Natural Ventilation. Jus dat some may opt 2 replace e Natural Ventilation (window) 2 Mechanical Ventilation (exhaust fan).

Shd b allowed. jus dat e exhaust fan should not discharge the exhaust air in2 e common corridor or discharge in2 another confined space. :(

haha..actually i was thinking just to change it to 1 piece window pane because 1) it is easier to clean and 2) natural ventilation will be better when the window is opened wide wide.. :P

Sample of Defect List i got from the following link, hope they don't mind.

Defects for HDB unit at:

Address

Living & Dining Room

Does the balcony door panel on the left hand side screech when sliding to open or close?

Does the balcony door have rusty screws on the frame, hinges and lock?

Does the balcony door panel have any dents or scratches in the frame?

Are the main door and gate lock and knob old and rusty looking?

Is the main door is aligned properly? Is there difficulty is locking and unlocking main door?

Does the main door and gate has mouldy hinges

Is the main gate is overall rusty?

Is the main gate easy to close in order to lock?

Are the doorbell switch screws rusty?

Is the main door see thru hole rusty? When looking thru, can you see clearly?

Are there cracks near the balcony frame?

Are there cracks on the wall along the passage way towards the room

Is SCV point outlet is old and mouldy?

Are the screws on the telephone point is old and rusty?

Are the switches near the entrance to the balcony and bedroom is difficult to on or off?

Are the screws on the power sockets rusty?

Does the power box, behind the door, has a cover that is difficult to open or close?

House Hold Shelter

Is the door handle is rusty?

Can the door close smoothly?

Is the door seal is old and flaking?

Is the SCV point outlet is old and mouldy?

Is the power box cover is broken?

Are the screws on the window frame are mouldy or rusty?

Are there any missing screw on the hinges ?

Are there any hollow tiles on all walls of kitchen?

Are the switches are difficult to on or off?

Main and Common Toilet

Is the louver window is difficult to open or close?

Is the window handle bent?

Are there any hollow tiles on all walls of bathroom?

Are there any leaks at the joints of toilet bowl? (indicate with masking tape)

Are there masking tape marks on toilet bowl seat cannot be removed?

Are the magnetic hinges on the top of the toilet door rusty?

Main Bedroom/Common Bedrooms/Study

Are the louvers of window difficult to open and close?

Are there any missing screws on the windows? Any screws not secured?

Are there any rusty or mouldy screws on window hinges and frame?

Is the door magnet is old and rusty?

Are there any cracks and hairline cracks on walls?

Does the ceiling have water mark, indicating seepage?

Is the SCV point outlet is old and mouldy

Are the switches are difficult to on or off

Done it... :good:

But now Singapore is in position no 41 city... so hope many ppl can vote!:P

Voted. ;)

Hey Redwyrm,

ohh, then gota minus marks frm 100 full marks liao. ;)

actually, e window dat cross my mind is e fixed glass panel with exhaust fan.

e 1 u r refering 2 is top-hang or centre-hung alum frame window. (can b seen in those corner units with gable-end walls).

If dats e case, i guess not allowed in toilet. :)

e list below is quite comprehensive but certain items i guess r applicable 2 left-over/unsold flats. Our flats r very new, dun think wil have rusty or mouldy items :good:

haha..actually i was thinking just to change it to 1 piece window pane because 1) it is easier to clean and 2) natural ventilation will be better when the window is opened wide wide.. :(

Sample of Defect List i got from the following link, hope they don't mind.

Defects for HDB unit at:

Address

Living & Dining Room

Does the balcony door panel on the left hand side screech when sliding to open or close?

Does the balcony door have rusty screws on the frame, hinges and lock?

Does the balcony door panel have any dents or scratches in the frame?

Are the main door and gate lock and knob old and rusty looking?

Is the main door is aligned properly? Is there difficulty is locking and unlocking main door?

Does the main door and gate has mouldy hinges

Is the main gate is overall rusty?

Is the main gate easy to close in order to lock?

Are the doorbell switch screws rusty?

Is the main door see thru hole rusty? When looking thru, can you see clearly?

Are there cracks near the balcony frame?

Are there cracks on the wall along the passage way towards the room

Is SCV point outlet is old and mouldy?

Are the screws on the telephone point is old and rusty?

Are the switches near the entrance to the balcony and bedroom is difficult to on or off?

Are the screws on the power sockets rusty?

Does the power box, behind the door, has a cover that is difficult to open or close?

House Hold Shelter

Is the door handle is rusty?

Can the door close smoothly?

Is the door seal is old and flaking?

Is the SCV point outlet is old and mouldy?

Is the power box cover is broken?

Are the screws on the window frame are mouldy or rusty?

Are there any missing screw on the hinges ?

Are there any hollow tiles on all walls of kitchen?

Are the switches are difficult to on or off?

Main and Common Toilet

Main Bedroom/Common Bedrooms/Study

Are the louvers of window difficult to open and close?

Are there any missing screws on the windows? Any screws not secured?

Are there any rusty or mouldy screws on window hinges and frame?

Is the door magnet is old and rusty?

Are there any cracks and hairline cracks on walls?

Does the ceiling have water mark, indicating seepage?

Is the SCV point outlet is old and mouldy

Are the switches are difficult to on or off

Voted. :P

Edited by jaCKY777

Hi neighbours...

anybody fixed or will be fixing glass door to the kitchen?? if yes -->

the 2 walls are not in line so do u have to do a partition wall? and how much were u quoted?

Defects for HDB unit at:

Address

Main and Common Toilet

Are there any "conceal" pipes that is broken??

Are there cements/residues that choke inside the drainage holes??

Voted. :P

Just an add-on to toilet checking. :)

Hi neighbours...

anybody fixed or will be fixing glass door to the kitchen?? if yes -->

the 2 walls are not in line so do u have to do a partition wall? and how much were u quoted?

Hey Liana79B,

- y dun do glass instead of concrete hollow blockwall? Looks more like e open concept.

- if wana do solid wall, might s well do gypsum board partition cum shelving?

- sliding or casement door?

- Conc hollow blockwall approx $120 pfr (materials & labour).

- 10mm thk tempered glass casement door approx $550 (materials & labour).

- 10mm thk tempered glass sliding door approx $750 (materials & labour).

- 10mm tempered glass partition approx $12 psf (materials & labour).

e prices r rough guide, for ur reference & necessary actions.

Edited by jaCKY777

Hey Liana79B,

- y dun do glass instead of concrete hollow blockwall? Looks more like e open concept.

- if wana do solid wall, might s well do gypsum board partition cum shelving?

- sliding or casement door?

- Conc hollow blockwall approx $120 pfr (materials & labour).

- 10mm thk tempered glass casement door approx $550 (materials & labour).

- 10mm thk tempered glass sliding door approx $750 (materials & labour).

- 10mm tempered glass partition approx $12 psf (materials & labour).

e prices r rough guide, for ur reference & necessary actions.

Hi Jacky, you;re :) man.. seems to be able to resolve everyone's reno quote/pricing doubt! :) !!

Edited by droplets

Hi Jacky, you;re :good: man.. seems to be able to resolve everyone's reno quote/pricing doubt! :dribble::dunno:

:lol::lol::lol:

Hey droplets,

s i mentioned, e prices r rough guide. If were 2 really check-out e market rate, i believe it wld b cheaper. :wacko:

All e pricing i'd posted r obtained frm IDs or Contractors during my course of reno hunting. It wld b gd 2 share around but it may not b e most accurate, s every co got their own profit margin. :deal:

Actually, i kinda grateful 2 e neighbour who intro mi 2 Renotalk.

i had

- gained invaluable knowledge;

- got 2 noe tips & lobangs;

- got 2 noe new neighbours;

- got 2 make frnds who r like-minded, eversince. :yamseng:

But e funny thing is, i had yet 2 noe who is she & hubby in dis forum. :lol: Mayb they jus wana b anonymous. i stil remember they told mi they had confirmed 'everythin regarding their reno', its only a matter of gettin e keys & start e 'show'.

Btw, dat was half a yr ago. Latest update is dat i'd saw their main entrance foyer bein laid with pebble wash finish.

If 'U2' r readin my post, wld b happy if u were 2 PM mi. i'm not goin 2 thk u or watever but wana go kpo ur unit. :lol: i believe ur unit oleady completed reno liao, jus waitin 4 e rite month rite day rite hour 2 officially move in. :notti:

:rolleyes:

Hi, guys!

I have been secretly :rolleyes: following this thread ever since I joined RenoTalk. I myself also bought one of the unit in Blk 79A.

Just last week submitted my Loan Application form and hopefully, like all Blk 79A members, we can get our keys asap. :dunno:

:wacko::deal::good:

Hey droplets,

s i mentioned, e prices r rough guide. If were 2 really check-out e market rate, i believe it wld b cheaper. :dribble:

All e pricing i'd posted r obtained frm IDs or Contractors during my course of reno hunting. It wld b gd 2 share around but it may not b e most accurate, s every co got their own profit margin. :notti:

Actually, i kinda grateful 2 e neighbour who intro mi 2 Renotalk.

i had

- gained invaluable knowledge;

- got 2 noe tips & lobangs;

- got 2 noe new neighbours;

- got 2 make frnds who r like-minded, eversince. :rolleyes:

But e funny thing is, i had yet 2 noe who is she & hubby in dis forum. :lol: Mayb they jus wana b anonymous. i stil remember they told mi they had confirmed 'everythin regarding their reno', its only a matter of gettin e keys & start e 'show'.

Btw, dat was half a yr ago. Latest update is dat i'd saw their main entrance foyer bein laid with pebble wash finish.

If 'U2' r readin my post, wld b happy if u were 2 PM mi. i'm not goin 2 thk u or watever but wana go kpo ur unit. :lol: i believe ur unit oleady completed reno liao, jus waitin 4 e rite month rite day rite hour 2 officially move in. :yamseng:

:dunno:

Hi Jac, my unit only 80% complete... ID will hand over the keys in late Feb. :lol: